Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

HP HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

The HP Pavilion p7 series PC has been beautifully designed to fit seamlessly in almost any home environment. Whether you're surfing the Web, editing photos, mixing your soundtracks or creating your own home videos, HP Pavilion p7 desktop PCs offer a variety of ways to make your computing experience richer and more rewarding. As you would expect from the leader in consumer PCs, every HP Pavilion p7 PC includes many intuitive features that make capturing and sharing your digital experiences easier than ever. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation90%140 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

HP Home Run

12/12/2012
By ,
Tallahassee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HP Pavilion P7 1423W Desktop PC is great. It is fast and does everything I need from a computer. My only (minor) complaint with the hardware is that it only has four USB ports. (The ad says it has two 3.0 ports, but it has four total ports.) The Windows 8 operating system is another story. The learning curve is...um... escarpment-like. Right now, with only two weeks of use under my belt, I really wish that I had purchased a machine with Windows 7. If you don't mind the challenge of learning the nuances of Windows 8, this is a terrific value on a great computer. I also love the convenience of online ordering and in-store pickup. I ordered in the AM and picked it up the same afternoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wallingford
6 x USB
Posted 08/01/2014
The four ports on the back are USB 2.0, where you want to plug in your keyboard, mouse, and maybe a bluetooth dongle. The two on the front are USB 3.0, where you want to plug in your external HDDs and mobile devices. It took me a long time before I was able to tell them apart, one day I noticed the tiny "SS" which indicates USB 3.0. Six USB isn't enough for me personally, so I implemented a simple and convenient solution. In one of the back ports I plugged in a USB male to USB female, in essence an 2 foot extension cord. To the female end of that I plugged in a 4 port USB hub and taped it to my desk for easy access. The result is 6 USB ports within arms reach, wires neatly tucked behind, and a new total of nine USB ports.
0points
Customer Avatar
55304
There are six total ports
Posted 07/20/2013
There are six total ports - four in back and two in front. To access the two ports in front, slide down the panel under the label titled "beatsaudio".
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Very Fast & Quiet. A Great Value.

03/05/2013
By ,
Modesto, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an IT Tech, I selected this computer for three main reasons. 1. It has an Intel processor. 2. It is built by HP. 3. Price.
After having this one for a week, I went and bought another one! This is a great value for the money! The Intel i5 processor is plenty fast and the motherboard supports a processor upgrade if necessary in the future. The 8GB of RAM is probably enough, however I added 4GB more right away because up to 4GB can be allotted to video. Beats Audio is awesome. My wireless works perfectly and my printer drivers loaded automatically. The 1TB hard disk drive is all I'll ever need and this machine runs amazingly quiet. I even like the included keyboard.
I'm picky, so here are the things I'm not as excited about. There are only 4 rear USB ports and they are all USB 2.0. I had to add a hub to accommodate all my devices. I would have also prefer a USB 3.0 port in the rear for my external hard drive. There are two USB 3.0 ports in the front. The motherboard only has two total DIMM slots, one of which comes occupied. I intended to add two additional 4GB sticks of RAM, but there is only one available DIMM for expansion. More DIMM slots would be nice.
My biggest complaint is that at the time of my purchase, the specifications (on the Wal-Mart website under Additional Features) specify "...1 x VGA-out, 1 x DVI-out". This information is INCORRECT. If you check the specifications for the video i/o ports for the H-Joshua-H61-uATX motherboard on the Hewlett Packard website you'll notice the video i/o ports for this computer are actually: 1 x DVI-I out, 1 x DVI-D out. That is what this computer has. Not 1 x VGA and 1 x DVI. This was a problem for me since I want to run dual SVGA monitors. My last complaint is that the machine was assembled with torx security screws which makes service & upgrades awkward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Very powerful computer for years to come...

11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a big fan of HP after my 2 year old desktop tower died due to a defective SATA controller chip, but I purchased this one after reading many different forums and great reviews. My only complaint was the Norton garbage it came with, do yourself a favor and get rid of Norton and use a free antivirus like AVAST or AVG. Coming from Windows 7, Windows 8 takes a bit of getting used to, but it's been very stable so far. I'm just hoping there won't be any defects with the motherboard like my last HP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great pc

12/26/2012
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First one I picked up would not connect to Wi fi . Second one was a challenge to get it connected but at least it connected . Windows 8 is a bit different to get used to but overall it really is pretty nice to see something different . Pc is lightning fast on start up no waiting 5 mins for it to boot up an finally get to use .Came with a corded mouse an keyboard Not realy happy with that but I did have a wireless setup I used . overall I would say this is one of HP's better Computers .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Not disappointed

02/17/2013
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third HP Pavillion, and I've always been able to replace them and give the old one away. I've never experienced a problem, and this computer is just as competent and powerful as my previous purchases. The i5 processor outperforms my brother's i3 Pavilion at a surprising rate. He also has 8gb RAM and a 1TB hard drive. This processor makes the difference. The only negative to me is my uncertainty about upgrading the RAM--I haven't yet opened the case and I haven't seen it listed in the specs. And Windows 8 does require adjustment. I'm not yet a fan. Overall I love the computer and will keep it for as many years as it remains functional and fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Nice computer, Great price, Meets expectations

01/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our computer crashed and we needed to get a new computer. Our old HP was 10 years old. This new one is Windows 8 and Intel core i5. This is a real nice computer. In order to get to know your computer you need to sit down and go through the demo to really get to know your computer. This help. Easy set up. My husband did that. Came with all the cords and BEFORE YOU PURCHASE THIS COMPUTER DOES NOT COME WITH A MONITOR. You have to order that separately. Yes I would recommend this to friends.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Nice setup

06/13/2013
By ,
02813
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Formatted and installed Windows 7 before even booting into the preinstalled Windows 8, Drivers were not a problem for a resourceful person, you need to do some searching but it can be done. It does not void any warranties and make this system purr. Windows 8 is just a mistake period.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Love it

12/16/2012
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, easy to set up.
This computer is just what we wanted to replace our old aged Dell. Great value for the money. We needed something that had decent performance and would not break the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

I bought this with the intent of making upgrades.

01/06/2013
By ,
Long Beach, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked into various ways to fill my requirements. This was the best base model that fit my needs. I performed major upgrades and now it just rocks.
T
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Lots of power for a low price.

02/16/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent computer for running power hungry apps or games. The integrated graphics are simply amazing on games. Only issue I've had is that the combination of the integrated graphics and windows 8 causes Forsaken World to crash on occasion. But the fault there is mostly on the game since the graphics are very poorly scripted, and the game itself is outdated. Other than that, it will run WoW or LoL on max graphics at around 20-30 fps max. I'm very satisfied with the performance and capability. On par with systems costing 30% more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer for a great price.

02/10/2013
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a computer genius or anything but I have nothing bad to say. I did a lot of shopping around and settled on this one because the price and reviews were the best. I was not disappointed. Also, I kept seeing bad reviews for Windows 8 and was a little nervous about it. However, it turns out that I love windows 8. It is a lot different than the previous versions of windows, but if you know how to use a smart phone you will be able to adapt pretty quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great Computer!

03/10/2013
By ,
Terre Haute, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this computer. Its my second HP computer. Gave the other to kids. I order it off walmart.com save me 40 bucks. Had it sent to store for pick. Didn't take long at all. Its very quiet computer. Getting use to windows 8. Little different then what I'm use to. But I will adjust soon. The only thing I didn't like was I had to purchase some speakers. It didn't come with them. Got them at walmart too. Not that expensive. Logitech speakers. I bought a monitor Acer 19" separate. Its is great too. Everything is perfect. I love HP computers. Hooked my webcam up. Everything is working great. Speed is wonderful, the picture is clear. It has a lot of great apps to download. Its is awesome computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Outstanding so far!

03/11/2013
By ,
Algonquin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started using my HP desktop but so far I am impressed. The processing is quick and the functions work as expected or better than my previous HP. HP will included an adapter for your monitor if you would like to transfer this over. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to use the computer without any internet service provider wires. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to connect with other computers in your home. I am still learning how to use Windows 8 but eventually it will save time. Overall, I would highly recommend this computer. One tip: remember to purchase and plug in your surge protector.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

LOUSY

01/12/2013
By ,
WA state
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WILL HAve to return this pc. keeps lookping , freezes up can't back out of programs. AND WINDOWS 8 IS STUPID. wHO EVER DESIGNED WIN8 SHOULD BE FIRED.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer!

04/21/2013
By ,
Blue Ridge, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was time for me to get a new computer since my old one was about 10 years old. This computer does everything that I want it to and I haven't had any problems with it at all. Love it! Still learning how to get around on Windows 8 but I can do pretty much what I want to. This computer is very fast and has lots of memory. Treat yourself, I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

hp p7-1423

06/09/2013
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really good pc. Good deal for the money. Easy setup and ok instructions to switch to windows 8. Few learning issues with windows but ok.
Major problem I had was a couple of old programs needed to upgrade and I had to purchase software I wasn't ready to upgrade.
All in all though glad I did buy the new pc.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
02/24/2013
By ,
Goodyear, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I did not realize that none of my software will run on Windows 8. It was going to cost more than the computer to upgrade the software so I returned it. The price was OK but it didn't have nearly all of the features I like on the newer computers. For $100 more you can get a Dell that is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
04/06/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this desktop. It was very easy to set up. The computer is lightning fast and it exceeds my expectations. I highly recommend this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great buy..

04/17/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!!! Fun to use and fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Black Pavilion p7-1423W Desktop PC with Intel Core i5-2320 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
02/19/2013
By ,
mn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super upgrade at a good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next