Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The HP Pavilion g6 gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done, and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. It delivers the HP innovation you expect, for a whole lot less. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.112 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation78%91 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop

02/14/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to go through some craziness to get this laptop! I wasn't too pleased with walmart, because they cancelled my order once, because they didn't have it in stock at my local walmart. I called three other walmarts, and they didn't have it either. I finally tried to get it shipped, but then as it turned out, I forgot to change my shipping address! So I had to cancel THAT order! Finally, I called one more store that was about 45 mins away, and they had it! Only one, at that!!! We hurried down there and got it! I am so glad I did get it, because it is totally worth it! Windows 8, for some, is hard to get adjusted to and all I can say is you have to play around with to figure it out. It's an amazing laptop at a great price, lots of space (which I need) and it is really nice looking. It is a greyish bluish color and I LOVE the fact that I can insert a memory card right in the side without having to plug up my camera to the laptop. Well worth the buy! But I would have it shipped, instead of picking it up! My personal opinion though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
03/10/2013
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing much research, I bough this HP Laptop and have been so satisfied with it. Does everything that you would want for home use and student. The set-up was fast and easy. I was very worried about Windows 8 (after reading countless reviews) but let me assure you that it is very simple to learn plus HP includes a free download for a "Start Button" that makes it operate like a Windows 7. Don't pass up new technology because as time goes by Microsoft will phase out updates for older browsers, like they just did for XP and Internet Explorer for XP. Don't be left behind. This is the future. I am 63 and had no problems getting use to it after only 4 days. This is a great computer for the price and all the features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 3 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

HP from now on!

04/26/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being a D***, T****** and I** laptops customer (both personal and business use) over the years (and talking about 10-12 years), I needed to get an updated laptop to meet today's needs. The previous were awesome, great, reliable product. I said "were". I started shopping around for a NEW laptop, and I said, I'll get a L*****... Tried to build the system restore disks and it crashed. It got returned the following day. Got a D***, same thing, only lasted 3 days, and, after it crashed, I've tried the system restore that I've built as soon as I got the D***. It would not pass 4%. Got this one... It makes my heart sing.... I didn't get a T******, but my girlfriend has one for over a year now, and it's like new, no issues #and we are both heavy users, programming, web-conference, etc.#.
So now, I got the HP.... It makes my heart sing...
RELIABLE, RELIABLE, Excellent for the money! Sorry, but I just became an HP fan. Hope will last.
Sorry for the other brands, but my advice to them is not to cut corners that much... It's worth mentioning, they are/were all running Windows 8, same version, so their issues were not necessarily software related.
Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Is this happening to anyone else?

01/28/2013
By ,
Cleveland, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this thing at 1 AM last week because my other computer was shutting on and off and it's to the point of death. So it was working out great and everything but something started to happen that I didn't noticed until I've tried fixing it.
Facebook doesn't work on my computer; I can still see other people's statuses and get notifications, but I cant CHECK them. No notifications, no messages or friends. I thought it was because there was a facebook update, didn't know that it was just like this. Then I tried to get Modzilla, but it wouldn't dare open a file, I don't even know if Windows 8 supported firefox but it should by now...
I tried seeing if I could get on Internet Explorer to see if I could access facebook from there, but it'll crash the second I search for anything. Skype notifications don't show up until you comment, my headphones constantly keep installing and unpluging from the usb port. And so I feel like this might be the computer's fault, maybe not windows 8. But I cannot recommend this computer until I find out WHY ITS DOING THIS?!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good laptop for the price!

12/27/2012
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally bought this for myself and another one for my grandson, but gave him the choice of which one he wanted. He chose the HP because it's faster and he likes to play games. So I asked his opinion and he gives it 4 out of 5 stars. The only problem he's had is that it can occasionally lag when going online. Part of that is the server, I'm sure, and part the HP. So it gets a big thumbs-up from him, and therefore from me. Well worth the price!
My only quibble would be that it doesn't come with any kind of Word software. Since I want a laptop for the purpose of using Word, this would definitely not have made me happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 6 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Very good computer at a good price

11/05/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this computer! I haven't had any problems with it at all. It does everything I expected (I've never owned a laptop though, and my previous computer is old#. I would highly recommend this computer especially for students who have a price budget like I did. The design is sleek, the computer works fast #it has windows 8 also# and overall, it is a wonderful computer. Its lightweight, the battery seems to last a decent amount of time #but that depends on what apps you are running).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 7 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Best value laptop

01/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this is among the best laptops out there. Why? The difference is in the chip. This is my second laptop with an AMD processor. I also have a 6 year old desktop with an AMD Athlon chip that runs like new! Virtually silent. This HP's AMD processor is so cool that the laptop doesn't get hot or even warm. Intel laptops I've had got sizzling hot underneath AND on the touchpad. Also, for this G6 chip, it's a bargain to me. As for HP itself it's a solid pc. I've read some people were unhappy with the web cam on HP's. Let me tell you that they are far better than on most other standard laptop webcams. Most brands are grainy or dark. I don't mind Hp's at all. Makes me look younger. lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop

12/26/2012
By ,
Wilmington, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop for my son (18 yrs old) for christmas as last minute gift when his dell laptop completely bombed out, and so far he loves it, says its every bit as good as his dell maybe better. He is still getting used to it but says it is very easy to use, windows 8 is awesome, great sound, great speed. He says he loves it, so we give a great big thumbs up!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 9 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

First Laptop I Love It!

03/26/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll keep this short and sweet. This is very first laptop. I love the HD camera. I love the track pad. It takes some getting used to, but once you get it it'll make operating it a whole lot easier. Honestly I think I'm more fond of Windows 8 then the actually laptop lol. It takes some getting used to. The only flaw with it is that the battery only last around 4 or 5 hours. Other then that I would tell anyone with half a grand to buy this computer. Hope this is helpful to anyone considering buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop / Great value

04/22/2013
By ,
Boise
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is stylish with its winter blue color and meets all the requirements for a great all around laptop. Much lighter weight than many 15.6" laptops I have used in the past. It's a bit bulky for packing around, but I only need limited mobility so this works great for me. I have noticed a slight grinding sound coming from the hard drive which has me somewhat concerned, but I ran hardware diagnostics and everything checks out. I did buy the warranty from Walmart so if anything goes wrong, I'm covered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

It a great computer , real good cpu

06/07/2013
By ,
Hemet, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this computer it better then I thought it would be. For the price and quality this would be recommend. Real good computer guys . Buy AMD nothing wrong with it unless your high tech geek, but for daily use AMD is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Everything I was looking for.

05/27/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is everything I wanted, I use it for work the speed is great, I ordered it and was able to pick up next day. And Blue is my favorite color that was a plus, I like windows 8!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Couldn't ask for a better laptop!

03/17/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally needed to replace my desktop and decided a laptop was the way to go. I don't love Windows 8 but found ways to get around the Metro screen and get a start menu back! Besides the operating system, however this computer is really nice. The winter blue color is a nice difference from black, and this laptop includes a 10-key pad on the right of the keyboard. The webcam is functional and fun. Overall I am pleased with the purchase, and whoever claims that you shouldn't buy computers from Walmart is just lame! :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
12/30/2012
By ,
Beckley,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We always went with Dell but decided on getting this hp laptop because of the value and color. And so far it's as great as our Dell. Our son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Computer for a Great Price

03/14/2013
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I love the laptop. It's screen resolution is beautiful. It has lots of wonderful capabilities. The only issue I have with it is the volume control...it doesn't get very good volume even at 100. I guess I'll just have to deal with that but it doesn't diminish all the good that it comes with. I love the new windows 8 program it comes with. I'm just beginning to delve into all that it is able to do, but I can tell already that it's going to be a lot of fun exploring all of the features. There is a tutorial on the computer to show you it's features, but I like to do it my way as well. All in all, great product. I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a laptop with a sizeable memory base for not a lot of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Lots of Glitches out of the box

06/25/2013
By ,
McMinnville,Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I admit that I did review this product via Walmart and a couple of other well known computer research sites. They all recommended this computer for college students but I has become disenchanted with it. I purchased it on December 03, 2012 and had a buddy of mine go with me that knew that is would be the best for me . He now regrets that statement due to the fact I have had small glitches since I first got it but it was not till after the 15 day store return that it acted up big. The HP warranty only covers you to send it off to repair which I did it 05/30/12 and got it back . It is not Wal-Mart's fault but HP on the other hand is at fault for not catching the problems before the laptop made it out the door. I know my experience may not be typical but I am sure that before you buy anything do more research than I did. Also watch out for the Walmart Product Care Warranty because it will not pick up till the after the HP warranty goes out . Also I will have to check but I wonder if the company replacing the parts does not void the warranty through Walmart . I will find out and attach to this review
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good Computer - but false advertising

01/29/2013
By ,
Yankton, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Computer works fine. Windows 8 is taking some getting used to. My biggest dissapointment was that it was advertised online as having Office. I looked at the computer on several different days and compared it to other computers at this price. It was a great deal for the price when it included Office. I even called a computer store to find out the price of Office if I had to buy it separately. Based on the price offered at Wal-Mart.com and that it had Office I purchased this computer. When we received the computer, Office is not on it except for a trial. This was 1 of the main reasons I chose this computer and now I have to spend more money to get Office. Disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
02/11/2013
By ,
Inwood, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this laptop after my 10yr old Compaq died. I owned it for 3 days. I couldn't get it to stay connected to my wireless network. I opened my wireless network to the public and sat beside the router but still only had 2 bars of connection. Once connected I would try to open IE and the connection would drop. Windows tried to repair the connection but said there was a problem with the wireless adapter. I returned it to the local Walmart and purchased a different model HP laptop. The new laptop has had no problems with wireless connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Not a good purchase for me

04/11/2013
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked up my computer and went through the long, drawn out set up, and then Windows would not load.
After 40 minutes on the phone with both HP and Microsoft, I was told that there was something wrong with the computer, so I returned it.
I have since bought another one, but I have to say I really hate the Windows 8 system. I usually pick up new systems fairly easily, and never had a problem with other Windows systems (including Vista, which is what is on my old laptop) but I find Windows 8 to be completely counterintuitive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for HP Winter Blue 15.6" g6-2249wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

NOT a fan!

01/30/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Windows 8 may be ok for tablets or touch screens but it is clearly not made for a conventional laptop. Difficult to navigate and very frustrating. The computer itself is a decent value but Windows 8 has insured that I will never recommend this particular configuration to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next