Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Introducing the HP Pavilion Laptop g7 2269wm with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor! This HP black laptop gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. This HP 17.3" laptop PC runs Windows 8 Operating System.
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%52 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

I'm HAPPY with it!!

02/19/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop 4 days ago. It took some getting used to with the Windows 8 but most of it is common sense. There were a few thing I had to Google to figure it out the more I use it the more I love it!! It is very fast and now that I have gotten used to Windows 8, I don't like using any of the other computers in the house. There are still a few things I have to figure out on the start screen. The only thing I don't like about this laptop is not actually a laptop problem its a Windows 8 problem. I use Yahoo for mail and instant messaging. With windows 8 you have to sign up for a Microsoft account and the icon for mail on the start screen can not be set to any other email server. I have gotten over that and just bookmarked what I need that the starts screen menu doesn't have so it is still at my finger tips... Good Luck to all considering this Laptop and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great P/C but windows 8 is really new!!!

11/15/2012
By ,
Sacto CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted more memory and speed with quad core processor, but this windows 8 is like an all new operating system. It is different from Win 7 and the old familiar veiws/screens. Just finding the shut down button was hard and setting up the desk top. There is a steep learning curve here for sure. I found a place on line to get a little tutoring, and you can down load a couple of apps that will make your P/C look/work some what like Win 7. The apps are Classic Shell (free) and Start8 is I think $5 for down load after 1 month free use. I really like this computer as it is a lot lighter than my old smaller laptop and the battery last twice as long before charging, also like 3.0 usb-s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 3 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great product.

11/03/2012
By ,
Missouri Lake of the Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being a desk top user for more than a decade. This is my first lap top. I am amazed at its performance, the processor is really fast. The WI FI works perfectly.
When considering this product, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. 1, Patience.....Windows 8 is unlike anything in my windows experience. Its exactly like, instead of your usual Wal-Mart, you go to a different Wal-mart Store. You know what you want but you have some difficulty finding it. 2. Maybe its just me, but I sometimes hit the touch pad with my thumb when typing an email which changes the page, but I think that's just something to work around. I bought a wireless mouse so I didn't have to learn the touch pad thing. I also bought a case for it.
Again Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+108points
Review 4 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Got a Lemon!

04/02/2013
By ,
Seaford, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure if I'm qualified to write a review. I may have just gotten a Lemon!!
It was easy to set up, it ran great for 12 hours then it stopped. I researched alot before
buying this computer, I loved how big the screen was, great for watching movies or videos, which is what my son loves to do. However, within 12 hours of it being up and running it froze up and the hard drive was making a loud noise and blowing alot of heavy air out the side of the computer.
Nothing on the computer would work, not even the Power button, so I couldn't even shut it down to restart. After about 5 minutes, it was back to normal for about 3 minutes and then it did it again, at this point, we packed it up and returned it. I've always been a toshiba user, so I just returned HP and bought a Toshiba. Again, it's probably a good computer, We just got a Lemon.
One positive note: Since I bought it at Walmart, it was an easy, no effort return. And I had purchased the product insurance through walmart, I called them and they refunded me right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 5 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

GREAT COMPUTER!!!!

05/01/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great laptop it has the latest and greatest software....It comes with Windows 8 which is a big difference from Windows 7 and Vista....But if you play around with it you'll like it, I did and I wish someone would of told me that the email icon is an app so that is why when you go click on it and get into your email it looks different and it does not allow you to create folders to store emails you can only use the ones they have listed. But you need to go into Microsoft Outlook 2013 for your email. And for the internet I typed in MSN and saved it to my desktop I rather use that then the app with the E for exployer but it's really a personal preference. It has everything nothing I can complain about. Great price and nice clear large monitor. I am very pleased with the laptop and Wal-Mart shipped it very quickly ordered on a Tues and received it on a Fri the same week. I didn't have any problems setting it up and if you do just call your internet provider they can walk you through it or remote access your computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Pc

04/07/2013
By ,
Jackson, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Dell Studio 1558 & I will never buy a Dell again. It didn't function well, processor was slower than it was supposed to, speakers messed up, memory card was messed up, and always overheated & shut itself down, and it was only a couple years old. So I went looking online & saw this HP Pavilion g7 which has more speed & ram than the Dell which I paid quite a bit more for.
I have an HP printer and have never had an HP laptop before. So I rolled the dice & took a gamble & it paid off. It's solid, easy to use, super fast processor, great quality screen, and I'm very satisfied with it. I have absolutely no complaints about this at all.
It has Windows 8 on it which is a lot different the Windows 7. I'm getting used to it but I really don't like Win8, I see no improvements over WIN7 with it. That's the only knock on this but it's not the pc's fault. This pc is excellent especially for the price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This laptop has exceeded my expectations.

03/11/2013
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally, I purchased this laptop in Orlando for my college work, However, I now use it on graphic intensive MMO's both FPS and RPGs as well as using a certain search engine's 3D design appilcation and a HIGHLY graphically challenging 3D Instant Messaging Virtual Universe. It will not slow down, except when I turn it off. Then it's really slow. It doesn't do anything until I turn it back on again, then WHAM! The world at my fingertips and the words "Boom! Headshot!" fall from my lips. I Recommend this product for EVERYONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 8 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
11/28/2012
By ,
Frankford, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a full time student and needed a new laptop. Mine crashed mid-semester so I had to make a purchase quickly. The computer is fast and I have never owned an HP before, but am very happy with it. The only issue I have is with windows 8. It takes some getting use to and is made more for a touch screen computer or tablet. There are also a couple bugs that they are working out. I have had to contact HP 2 times for technical support, but it was not due to the computer itself, it was due to the minor bugs in windows 8. When I purchased this, windows 8 had only been out 3 days!! Great laptop though! very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 9 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

4.5 for laptop only not Windows8

11/23/2012
By ,
SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy another laptop as I have disliked them in the past with the touch pad always causing problems by accidently touching it with my hand and they didn't run the games my family likes. This isn't in the case with this laptop. The touchpad seems to be in a good spot and I have yet to hit it with part of my hand. We can play the games we want, it runs well, and it is pretty fast for a laptop. We do have a few issues with it 1# The battery life isn't very long two hours max for what we use it for gaming and internet surfing 2) Two days after having it an update was installed by windows and it caused all kinds of problems. We called tech support and ended up restoring the computer over to a prior date, they tried to save what we had but we were told it is a common problem and we lost everything. 3) Read the other posts regarding Windows 8 it is a huge learning curve and it isn't anything like people are used to, it takes a while to figure it out and #this is my biggest problem, not with the computer but with Windows 8) they force you to sign up for a Microsoft account before you can even access the computer itself, and if you have a private e-mail through your cable company like I do they don't support it so you have to create another account with them or you can't get email which didn't help us since we couldn't use our private email. We went online and found Outlook express for Windows 2007 so we could actually receive email on this computer. We all agreed in our household we could do without Windows 8, it isn't user friendly and it seems like all it wants you to do is take up memory with useless stuff like apps that come preinstalled and we can't get ride of and apps we don't need or want. We are happy with the computer itself and would recommend it, a little bit of time on the internet looking for programs that we could download made it easier to work with Windows 8 as it turned it into Windows 7 in a sense, however I must say we are not a fan of Windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 10 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Fantastic Computer!! BUY IT!

04/25/2013
By ,
Goodyear, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this laptop for a little over a week now and it is great! Many people complain about Windows 8 and because of that I was a little scared of it but after a day I loved it! Youtube has many videos that shows you all the cool stuff it does and how to get around. Windows 8 is very nice in my opinion. It is quite simple once you play with it for a bit. I never really used to play games on the computer but since I have a new laptop I play more often. It plays all my games great with extremely little to no lag. I have played minecraft, portal 2, empire: total war, Sniper: Global Warrior 2, Age of empires 3, The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, and am currently installing The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim which I am positive it will play great just as it has all my other games. Haven't had any major problems with this laptop what so ever. The 17'' high def display is very nice. Makes gameplay and viewing hd video much better. I also run photoshop off my laptop and it works great! I am very pleased with the computer especially for the price! Very fast! Very reliable machine to do what I need it to. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a nice reliable computer. Most definitely worth what I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Had no clue!

05/18/2013
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off I cheated before writting this ;) I read all the other reviews!! Anyway.... I thought because this was my first attempt at buying a brand spanking new laptop (previous 2 were purchased from friends), I can do this I thought w/o a computer genius with me...I hope.
I actually was lucky and got the store mgr to help me (poor guy) I just wanted to not wait forever to open a page and be able to log on fast I wasn't looking for what I ended up coming home with! I mean I got far more then expected for the price. Excellent laptop! BUT he didn't warn me about Windows8 What a crock of yuckiness that I found out after I got home. I had been running XP still on other 3 computers at home! Yes I have a smartphone but it refused to help me with Windows8!!!
Laptop is amazing just make sure you know what windows8 is before you grab any new computer! It does only have a 2 hr battery life which I wish I could change but other than that it is a beauty!
ENJOY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
06/02/2013
By ,
Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop for my less computer savvy husband as a first laptop. He had been wanting one for quite a while, but we had been looking for a good deal on one that really met all the requirements we had. Ultimately, he was looking for a laptop that could manage everything our desktop could, and this computer fit the bill. The quad-core makes the laptop incredibly efficient and fast, and though Windows 8 is a bit cumbersome, with a little tweaking, he has exactly the laptop he wanted. It's a bit bulky in size and definitely has some weight to it, but it's a "home" laptop for us that isn't be transported outside of the house, so it's not an issue. Even though it's reasonably priced, nothing about it feels cheap. All our PC products are HP, and we've never been disappointed. To top it all off, the extended warranty offered by Wal-Mart put me at ease, should he have any rookie laptop user mistakes. I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 13 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

this is a very good computer for its price

03/14/2013
By ,
Amarillo, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after having a Dell inspiron 1521 for over 5 years and then having it go out on me and it really not doing all that great for what I was wanting. I went and bought this after getting my tax return. This computer is meeting more then just my expectations on it. this computer is doing really well on some of the more simpler games that are out there. from from Minecraft to StarCraft 2 even Diablo 3 is holding up awesomely well.
All and all I'm liking this computer.
cons. the touch pad is a little to big and while typing I tend to touch it with my palm.
the keyboard is really nice, but with it moved over to the left some it just something I am going to have to get used too.
the disc drive is something else that they should have really looked at. it quite and everything but the problem I have with it is that it seems really cheap. I have to press really hard on the button to open it and also its feels like I am going to brake it. kinda wish that they didn't add it in. with the way everything is downloaded from online now a days .
but they are just miner things that will just be after thoughts. I highly recommend this computer. for a little over 500 bucks after taxes this computer is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good for a portable computer.

12/30/2012
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the kind of computer it is, I think it's a good deal. To be honest I could have gotten a desktop cheaper than this and had more power but since this is meant to be portable I will give it props for what it can do. The screen is huge the computer can play any game (may lag at big games#
Garry's Mod #300 fps#
BF3 #25 fps# medium settings
Payday the heist #full 300 fps)
Overall, powerfull, big screen, fast, amazing. AMD RULES!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Decent...but some problems

06/15/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop in March(it's June now), and I am satisfied overall with it.
It is my first laptop after being a desktop user since I basically got into computers years ago.
It was meant to be for some mmo games( it runs very good) and schoolwork. My desktop has been getting very slow and is now unmanageable on gaming...or anything for that matter.
This laptop is pretty decent, for example:
PROS:
Nice webcam.
Decent microphone.
Speakers are on the top and sound really good.
Runs fast.
Windows 8(At first confusing but overall a nice add-on.)
CONS:
Heats up fast.(may just be mine)
Loud fan(May just be mine)
Doesn't come with Microsoft Office.
Had trouble with Windows Live Movie Maker(conversion of webcam videos-sound wise for a school project) --- May Just be mine.
And once I couldn't get past the "Welcome" Loading screen for days, until I decided to mess around with it and fixed it myself. Troubleshoot is going to become your best friend. :]
That was a very stressful time, I was going to return it, but glad I didn't. It's a decent laptop for its price, well worth it. I solved this problem by wiping out my hard drive. So... a tip- make sure you save everything somewhere else and not just on your laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
03/07/2013
By ,
Deptford
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had a desktop. This is my first laptop ever. Needless to say I should have done this years ago. The price is just right. And works like a dream. You'll also want to pick up a Logitech wireless mouse as well along with HP Wireless Deskjet #3520e All in one series printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Horrible Customer Service from HP - Bad NIC

06/10/2013
By ,
Rockaway, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As far as Wal-Mart goes, everything went great. HP is a real problem.
After 3 weeks of owning this laptop, the wireless card stopped working. I called HP Tech Support and spend 90 minutes on the phone. After nothing seemed to help, I was given instructions on how to remove and reset the network card. Resetting it did not restore the wifi connection. I was told that HP would replace the card if the reset did not work.
Upon calling back, HP told me this was not true. I would still have to spend more of my time fixing it with them and possibly reset the laptop to factory condition. This means I have to add another 8 hours of my time reinstalling software, data, and updates.
HP is using a Qualcomm card in this laptop. There are forums all over the internet discussing the widespread problem of losing the wifi connection with this particular card. It is not just a wifi interruption, the laptop can no longer locate any wireless networks. HP must be aware of this. I even mentioned it in all three of my calls to HP. On my second call, I asked to speak to a manager. The tech stated there were no managers responding to this issue. Upon insisting to speak to a manager, the HP tech hung up.
I bought Wal-Marts extended warranty and will pursue help from them. If I have to, I guess I'll spend a few more dollars and replace the card myself. I'll never buy anything from HP again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop

03/26/2013
By ,
New Haven, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huge screen, crystal clear graphics. quick boot-up. Seems to run very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Graet computer for entertainment purposes

01/25/2013
By ,
Griffin, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great computer and very simple to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for HP Black 17.3" g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
06/12/2013
By ,
CARRIERE MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS LAPTOP TO ANYONE,, SO EASY TO USE,, NO TROUBLE
AT ALL,, ALSO WINDOWS 8 IS NOTHING TO IT, AND I AM 64 YEARS OLD,, ME BEING
A LITTLE OLDER I DO USE A CORDLESS MOUSE,, GREAT LAPTOP
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next