Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Cannon Safe Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Average Customer Rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%32 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Good not Excelent fairly priced safe.

09/24/2012
By ,
NE FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked up My safe Yesterday. First concern was Can I Handle it? It is listed at 360 lbs. Assocciates loaded it on My truck, My Wife and I unloaded it and moved it through the house using a hand truck, it slid on the carpet fairly easily. I'm old and she's petite so most couples can do this job.
What Did I Get? First important thing is Read The Great Cannon Warranty then the small print which specifically excludes the SAFARI Series.
I am sattisfied not thrilled with the quality of the safe it is welded sheet metal a pro with the right tools could open it like a tin can in half hour or less. How would I get it open after a fire or amateur robber destroying the plastic combination case will require more research.
When traveling I will be comfortable with the thought that My valuables will not be easy for the average burgular to get to. Considering the Price /Quality ratio I would have spent more money to get more security but it will do the job adequately. Call it fairly priced not the Great Deal it looks like at first look.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Excellent value and function

03/23/2013
By ,
Sunny California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend you do some research. I did, and I'm glad. This safe is perfect for MY needs. Not too big, not too small, not too heavy, not too light, good storage capacity, interior is fully lined, with adjustable shelving. Convenient electronic lock - many pro's and con's - combination .vs. electronic. If the electronics were to fail big-time, it's only a few hundred bucks for a locksmith to drill into a safe of this level to resolve the issue. Even in a, heaven forbid, worst case SHTF chaos scenario, unlike a higher-end safe, I can take this one out into the backyard and cut/beat my way into the safe with power tools. Not bad for seven hundred total bones. Freight shipping was scheduled and predictable, no problems. Mini bottle of black touch-up paint included. ONE MINOR PROBLEM - the preinstalled 9volt battery for the electronic lock was dead upon arrival - deducted one notch on the expectations review because of it. 1-800 Cannon support was EXCELLENT. Will be adding a dri-rod dehumidifier and lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Entry level gun safe

03/28/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: low price, good fire protection, just light enough for one person to dolly around, fast access with digital lock, quality paint
Cons: does NOT have a key in case the electronics fail, only has locking bolts on one side, is on the low end of Cannon safes
Overall, considering the cost (safe+shipping), I'd still buy it again. I assumed it would be more secure and have more locking bolts - it doesn't. I assumed there'd be a plan B if the electronics fail - there's not (other than calling Cannon). Higher end safes have a key backup. The interior is nicely done from a visual perspective - but the shelves are made of particle board and are only rated to hold 35 pounds (!) - odd for a gun/valuables safe. I'll have to build custom shelving - not that big of a deal though. I researched the lock - it's made by SecuRam and has a good reputation for reliability. The safe and lock have very good customer support (according to posts in gun forums). As long as you know what you're getting and if it fits your needs, I'd say get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Cannon is really nice...

09/24/2012
By ,
Shelton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a first safe it works really well.. A bit heavy but not too heavy, any heavier then it'll be in competition at the $800-$1200 range. Low on graphics and glitz but thats just fine, its a real good meat and pototoes kinda safe. There's holes in the back or the base to lag into the floor and studs if you want a permanent fixture.. The only drawback, and the only one is, there's no inside power strip for using a humidor... but again for that feature, it would be around $800-1200...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
garden city,ks.
cannon safe good value
Posted 12/01/2012
i purchsed this gun safe today got it home its not a browing or liberity but for the price it seems to be a very good safe for the money very solid and heavy door with 4 locking bolts a plus most have only 3 i plan on in a yr getting another one the only thing i would change is the shelves cant support much weight only 35 lbs and the racks are a pain to get the back rifles out you have to tak out the 1st and 2nd row of guns out but a little reconfiguring it will work out great
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity
09/25/2012
By ,
Greensburg,PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice safe for the price. But this safe has numerous cons. First the picture shows an AR-15 that can be stored on the door organizer. Good Luck with that, the door will not shut with it hanging there. Second the gun racks are not adjustable. So if you have any short rifles they have to be leaned against another gun or against the wall of the safe. My suggestion is to spend a little more money and get a better safe. This safe wil be returned within a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Great safe for the price.

11/15/2012
By ,
Goodyear,AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this safe so far. Nice door organizer it came with. You can also hang rifle on the door. So I hung my shotgun there. Nice easy to put up shelves. Delivery was faster than first scheduled so that was a plus. Only negative thing is safe is front heavy especially when door is open. So if you plan to place on carpet be careful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Good starter safe for the money

11/19/2012
By ,
Harlem, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only problem with the safe is the inside is poorly made using MDF. But its ok for the price. I used the .97 shipping but when I got my safe there was a very large ding in the lower door and the top shelf was broken in two piceses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Thrilled

09/11/2012
By ,
The Bootheel, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this safe in store yesterday, went online to look at the specifications, and returned today to buy. It's exactly what I was looking for, and aside from my son-in-law and I rupturing to get it in the house, it's great. I'm sure that there are better, but for price, fire protection and a 1st gun safe, I'm thrilled. Looked online 2hrs later and the store was sold out. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rose Hill, N.C
Hydrobuster
Posted 09/14/2012
The guys down at walmart were really helpfull in helping me get this safe in my truck unscratched. Its built really well and by the weight of it you can really tell. Good stuff just isn't light and this safe is just what i have been looking for. It will hold all my weapons and anything else i wont protected and secured without breaking the bank. Every home needs a Cannon Safe.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

This is one SOLID piece of security

03/27/2013
By ,
N.W. Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Freight company kept me in the loop and made arrangements to deliver a day early. When it showed up at my place up in the hills it was loaded in a semi truck (crazy truckers :), make sure you inspect it before you sign; mine had a scuff on the back, no biggie. Make sure you get some help to move it into the house, especially if you have stairs to climb, you do not want to drop it on your toe! This is a great investment to protect your goods, check out the cannon website for why this IS better than most other brands. Other places that have this same safe were asking $250-$500 more, this was an awesome deal and it does come with adjustable shelving and a door organizer (stores magazines, pistols, documents, etc). This may be a basic model but it will stand up to anything you can throw at it, including an angry grizzly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Excellent value, quality construction

11/23/2012
By ,
Northeast Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After spending significant time researching on-line had decided on a Canon safe. Walmart's price and shipping sealed the deal. The interior of the safe was easily adjustable to fit my storage needs. The door pouches and hangers handled the gear I wanted most readily accessible. Bolting to the floor was a little challenge because of the position of the rear of the door when opened but was easily worked around. Construction of the safe was solid and well done. Ability to change the lock battery from the outside is a definite plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Price and Shipping cost made this a Great Purchase

10/30/2012
By ,
East Falmouth, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ample storage for my personal needs, it was a solution to a problem of containment for me..
Manufacturers Website had an MSRP much higher, and shipping costs would have broken my budget for my immediate need. I couldn't believe the shipping price for this product with a 350 lbs. shipping weight, and it came from California to My Home on Cape Cod for 97cents...
You Know i didn't break my budget, and solved a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Was everything I expected at this price.

10/23/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this safe. For this price I have to say its an excellent buy. I had it shipped to my home. The hardest part was getting it unscrewed from the pallet. Screws were in at an angle, but I had them out in less than 15 minutes. Had help sons easing it off the pallet and sliding it to its permanent location in my house. That took about another 15 minutes getting it positioned exactly where I wanted. If you are placing yours in an upstairs location of down into a basement then you'll have your hands full. It is top heavy so be careful. Hanging an AR-15 on the door as in the sales photo, well I haven't tried yet. I read a review on here saying 'good luck with that' and I think his comment is probably very appropriate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity
12/03/2012
By ,
Marion, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good safe for the money. I looked at better safes but the cost was 3x as much. Not sure if it would be hard to break into or not but will keep thieves busy and kids safe. I was miffed with the delivery company because the safe was laying on the door when delivered. It had damage on the top and the handle center but will not affect the operation of the safe. I painted the top and Cannon is sending a new handle to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Great Safe, Excellent Service, Good Price

12/17/2012
By ,
Jonesboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price plus free shipping made this purchase an excellent choice. Safe was delivered in accordance with delivery company, not damaged. I did have problems with moving the safe by myself to the perminate location in my home but completed the task on Saturday morning.
I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend this safe to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Excellent Value

11/03/2012
By ,
Fort Mohave, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quality safe at a great price. was everything it was advertised to be. Went crazy looking for the manual til I found it on top of the safe. After that all was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Gun Safe

11/02/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, no compliants. We get in and out of the safe at least twice a day. It's easy and quick to open. The organizer on the inside of the door is an awesome feature!
Only thing I would change is the price... $600 is a bit spendy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity

Good Safe for the price. Free Shipping too.

11/17/2012
By ,
Western North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than what I expected for the price. I was able to wheel it around on a hand-truck by myself. Any bigger and I would have been in trouble ;) Over all I'm pleased. And even happier my toys are safe and secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity
11/25/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and excellent delivery schedule. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity
11/07/2012
By ,
Springerville, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good gun safe for the price, my husband was pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cannon Safari Series Gun Safe, 24-Gun Capacity
03/30/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best bang for the buck I could find for this size gun safe. Arrived in 2 weeks from purchase. No dents/dings, but did have a few minor paint blemishes. Locking mechanism seems solid. Yes there are plenty of safes that are more secure, but this one is good enough to meet my needs and is a great value. Also it was just light enough that my wife and I could move it without too much effort with a good dolly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next