Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Beats by Dr. Dre Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Beats by Dr. Dre Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

The Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (assorted colors) provide powerful sound in a convenient folding design. A travel case is included for easy storage when not in use. A 54" cord length is available on the Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD Headphones to give you plenty of room to move around while wearing them. You can connect your Beats by Dr. Dre Solo Headphones to your stereo system, iPod or MP3 player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%83 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Awful Sound for the Price

11/17/2013
By ,
Lordsburg, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My parents bought me these for my birthday because I thought them to be a good headphone. I was wrong, returned them in a matter of days. You're paying about $180 for the name, $20 for the sound. These seriously lack in bass, despite their description. My $40 Skullcandys that I've had for 4 years beat these by miles. I have glasses and they're very uncomfortable and you can't wear them for prolonged periods. They leak sound like crazy. You can't play these in a quiet room because everyone else can hear your music CLEARLY on the outside of the headphone. They also very poorly block outside noise. I also noticed these are very quiet. I had to turn the volume on my music devices almost to the max to get these Beats to sound as loud as my other headphones on half volume. However these are some of the best looking headphones out there. If you feel like paying $200 to look at them, use them for "swag" and constantly wipe fingerprints off them, go for it. If you want good sound, look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-15points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Murrieta
Yes cord is in wrong area
Posted 12/21/2013
try to switch the cords and plug into other side in device . When i first purchased these I did the same thing . I was worried as heck 200 bucks down the tubes , then switched cord around a boom . fantastic sound
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/21/2013
You could have your cords up side down
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Beats are all the rage with the teenagers

12/18/2013
By ,
Papillion, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my teen-aged daughter's top of her Christmas Wish List. I wish I would have asked what color she wanted but, we can always exchange them for a different color if she doesn't like my choice. The sound quality is amazing. It sounds like being in a concert hall in a great venue. I didn't understand why the kids wanted these until I tried them on at our local Walmart. They sound better than the Bose headphones and they hug the ears more comfortably.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 3 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Great sounding headphones

01/17/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't think I'd jump on the Beats bandwagon, until I actually listened to them. For the music I listen to, they sound great. I've heard people mention the sound quality wasn't as expected but I think it all depends on the genre of music you are listening to. I listen mainly to EDM and Top 40, and it sounds great on these headphones. I wouldn't have paid full price for them, but for $145 I could justify it. It's nice that they fold up too, makes it easy for traveling. Also like the beefy rubber coated cord and the fact that it detaches from the headphones so that means less damage at the connection point from bending of the wire during storage, etc. It's also great that the remote on the cord will control all iPhone functions and has a microphone so the Beats can also be used to take phone calls as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Great sound and fun colors!

07/14/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14 year old Daughter has wanted these headphones for a couple of years. She is very hard on ear buds/phones so we decided to wait until her recent Birthday to get them for her.
She was very surprised and happy to receive them! I got her the aqua blue and she loves the color and the wonderful sound they have. I must say, they have an awesome tone!
I really wasn't sure how to rate the value because I didn't shop around for a better price. I buy pretty much all electronics from Walmart and have always been pleased with their prices, service and quality.
The delivery on these took a little longer than other items as I believe they were shipped from California and came to New Jersey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 5 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Nice, yet pricey!

10/20/2013
By ,
Sunny, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 yr old daughter has been bugging me for a pair of these for a while now and she loves them! She doesn't go anywhere without them! They have great clarity and the click of a button allows you to answer incoming phone calls privately! Hope they last a long time for the price I paid for them as they were not cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florence,sc
Posted 12/08/2013
What type of phone do you use with these?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

I love the different colors!

09/12/2013
By ,
Saint Louis,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Fushia Dr.Dre beats they block all surrounding noise so all I can hear is my music which sounds great by the way. Got em for a very good price as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 7 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Buy THIS PRODUCT!

08/13/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply amazing. Songs sound crystal crisp. Easy To Pack in the included mini duffel. Best head phones I've ever witnessed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 8 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

great head phones

10/26/2013
By ,
Wolcott
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones r a bit on the expensive side but they work great and they look good!!! They r pretty much comfortable so they will be goo for a long plane trip!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 9 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

I love beats!

02/01/2014
By ,
Litchfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend Beats to everyone that loves to listen to music, and not have to hear any sounds around you. The bass is amazing. I love the fact that they are so comfy around my ears, and fit my head without falling off or being too tight. It is a plus that this product came with a traveling case. I use it every time that I am done listening to my Beats. I got the light blue, and the color is amazing. If you cant decide if you want to get them or not I recommend you do. They are totally worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Excellent sound.

02/28/2013
By ,
springfield, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my son. I thought they were a bit overpriced but, my son absolutely loves them. He thinks they sound better than any headphones he has ever had he chance to listen to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 11 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Phenomenal Sound!

12/31/2012
By ,
Bush, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter wanted these for Christmas and when I saw the price I was like WHOA! But got them for her and WOW. What an excellent sound when you put them on! I was amazed at the quality. Guess the kids really know whats good, right?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Review 12 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

11/12/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my son. He loves it tremendously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 13 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Expensive but worth it

01/06/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got these for my son who is trying to get into the production side of the music industry. He loves them! Normally he's calm and laid back. But I actually saw a tear when he opened them.....priceless
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 14 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Had to get them!

02/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the beats for my son on Black Friday for a Christmas present. He opened them on Christmas and listened to them constantly. But on Saturday, December 28th he was hit by a truck in front of our house he was wearing his New Ipod and Beats that he got for Christmas, both were destroyed in the accident. His father and I did not tell him his Christmas presents were destroyed, instead we replaced them. He did find out though that his original Ipod and Beats had been replaced because the colors of the news ones were different from the originals. He of course still listens to his new beats with his new Ipod. His father and I are just blessed to have him. And that is why I had to get them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 15 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

15 yr old daughter loves them.

12/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading several reviews I determined they were overpriced & overrated but went ahead due to "kid pressure". My daughter absolutely loves these things and they are glued to her just like her iPhone is. Still think they are overrated & expensive but my kid sure enjoys them so I guess they were worth it in the end & I know she would give them 5 stars, but she's not the one who had to pay for them either.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 16 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)
01/02/2013
By ,
DAYTON, OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priced a bit too high, but excellent quality and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Not as good as expected

10/20/2013
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These headphones are extremely comfortable to wear, but I wasn't as pleased with the sound quality. For the price, they sound just like a normal cheaper pair of headphones. I do like the built in mic that allows you to talk if they are plugged into your phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 18 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

earphones

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

Great But Very Pricey

02/13/2014
By ,
Hudson, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these on Black Friday for my son. I wasn't happy with how long it took for me to get them. They almost didn't make it here for Christmas, because I had to get that little card and order them online. But they did make it to my local store 2 days before Christmas.
My son is very happy with them.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Beats by Dr. Dre Solo HD On-Ear Headphones with ControlTalk (Assorted Colors)

excellent

02/17/2014
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product to bad I had a late delivery when I paid extra to have it by a certain date and didnt recieve it till 3days later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next