Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

The Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map includes the Nuvi 50 LM 5" GPS Navigator with Lifetime Map Updates and a Portable Friction Dash Mount. The lifetime map updates allow you to stay up-to-date on changing roads and point of interests (POIs). This GPS features a big 5" touchscreen, more than 5 million points of interest (POIs) and spoken turn-by-turn navigation that speaks street names. The 5" GPS is preloaded with City Navigator NT you get advanced mapping and navigation technology that offers fast route calculations and address look-ups. Lane assist with junction view allows you to navigate with confidence while nuvi directs you to the preferred lane along with viewing images of upcoming junctions. The included Portable Dash Mount features a non-skid bottom and pliable base to keep the mount secure on your dashboard. The integrated arm on the Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map can be folded down for easy storage in an automobile console or in luggage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(629 Reviews) 464
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
422
4 stars
157
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation94%593 out of 629reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
277 Questions | 643 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
422
4 stars
157
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great product

08/22/2013
By ,
Pembroke, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to take with me on a vacation to Cape Cod. It worked great, got me where I needed to go, found local restaurants for me, and took me there. Will never go anywhere again without it. The dash mount did not work well with my car. I have a Hyundai Tucson and it wouldn't stay where I placed it. It also left what looks like a grease mark on my dash which wont wipe off. I would not recommend using it unless you have a light colored dashboard (mine is black). The windshield mount it came with worked much better. I bought the car cable separate because it didn't say that it was included, it was included with the package so I returned that. The screen is a good size for those with bad eyes and it has 2 voice options to select from (I chose the one that sounded more like a human than a computer). It was very easy to set up and register online. I would recommend buying a case to keep it in because put put mine in my purse and it got scratched from something in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+189points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo, New York 14211
Canada
Posted 11/29/2013
It doesn't say anything about Canada I travel a lot I need to know if it's available? I have a Garmin I love the device, but it's old and for this price I can't go wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value

12/03/2013
By ,
Tallapoosa, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first gps was a garmin and I led it but when ittopped working I tried a tomtom and I guess because I was use to the garmin I did not find the tomtom as user friendly. So when it stopped working I bought this and found this to be easier to go back to than going from garmin to tomtom. But I just made a trip to Huntsville and before I left home I uploaded the lastest maps and the tomtom would tell you all names of a highway and the garmin does not. So on a couple of roads here the posted name and the garmin name are different. I found out the roads have two names and garmin is correct but because the signs said something different it caused me to miss my turn. So I kind of miss the tomtom naming all the names of a street. But both seem to last about as long before something going wrong with them and both sem to cost about the same. But this one was less than one with same number nuvi 50LM that did not have the bundle so it was the best buy even though I do not use the dash mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Thank God for Journey Mercies - from South - East

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this product (Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount), I read all the reviews and comments from previous users. I had to go back to school in Chicago this summer. The only way for me to cut down on expenses and budget is to drive from Texas to Chi-town. Considering the fact that it was the longest trip I have ever made alone, I was scared. This product was SUPER AMAZING! Locating my hotel room in Memphis was difficult. Due to the road constructions, I had to re-route in different location. I got to Chicago safely. I'm still touring the cities of Illinois with my Garmin. I would super recommend it to anyone. It's not complicated to use. The only thing I did not like about this product is the price. I think it's a bit pricey for a student like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value,Directions Spot On

02/26/2014
By ,
crossville,Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good GPS as far as getting you to where you need to go.I am still learning the split screen.I like the fact the junction shows you where you need to be in the lane.my problem is with the voice.you have two choices,one with the street names being called and one without.The problem is the one giving the street names says them wrong,and only if you know the street or even close to what she is saying are you going to be okay finding it.it is funny in a sic kind of way as you find yourself laughing trying to guess what she means.On the other hand the other english voice just lets you know the route but not the street name your turning onto.I am going to connect up to the garmin site and see if there are more voices to download with voice to street talk.Other than this glitch,this is a all around good garmin.I have no sense of direction and this has helped me on the interstate when the lane changes go crazy like in nashville,all within a mile and you have four lane exit changes,Garmin junction came through or I would have been in Memphis.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Easy to use

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't actually got a chance to use it on the road yet. Pretty easy to operate but downloading the update took a couple of hours. Maybe it was my internet service , but be sure to set aside some time to do that before using. It also came with the suction cup for you to put on the window if you don't want to use the friction mount, a car charger, and usb cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount
12/29/2012
By ,
Vineland NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My original GPS was a Garmin. At the time it cost twice what this did. I replaced it 2 years ago with a larger TomTom that had Lifetime Map updates. Well, what a mistake!! On a trip to RI I missed a turn & the TomTom took me an hour to get back. Another time I was traveling North & it said South. (there are many other examples) Two weeks ago it could not get my husband & I where we were going. Fortunately I had mapped the directions on the computer. I ordered the new Garmin that day. I love that you can put in the ZIP code instead of the city. It recalculates quickly if you miss a turn. It turns on & is ready to go quickly. I've been testing it out. Really haven't gone anywhere I was unsure of, but it showed me a quicker route (with no lights), to my golf course. I'm quite pleased....I know this is more a review saying DON'T buy a TomTom. BTW our oringinal Garmin still works fine too. It's in my husband's car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

love the size & love the lifetime Map updates

11/13/2013
By ,
Seffner, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had another smaller Garmin but it was old and stopped working, I only use this one a few times, but I really like it, the only thing is that when it's giving directions it say stay to the right, when it should say turn right....but I am starting to understand when it says to stay to right, it really means turn to right...colors are great, voice is very clear and directions are good, I like the feature it also shows the speed limit in the area you are currently driving,....as sometimes there aren't enough street signs showing the speed limit....for me it's a great feature...still have to learn a lot more about it, but so far it's good, I hope it last me longer then the other one...I did buy the extended warranty...the case is really nice, the soft one, easy to put in and pull out...I haven't gotten my Insurance as of yet....I hope to get that soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Best Gps EVER

07/02/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IF YOU HAVE NEVER NEVER NEVER OWNED A GARMIN GPS, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH BUYING, PLUS THE PRICE IS GREAT, IT'S EASY TO READ, SET UP IS EASY AND YOU GET LIFETIME MAPS. THE VOICE DRIVING INSTRUCTIONS ARE FANTASTIC (DON'T WORRY IT WON'T SEND YOU OFF A CLIFF). I HAD ANOTHER BRAND WHICH PROVED TO BE HORRIBLE AND OUT IT WENT AFTER 1 FRUSTRATING YEAR.
YOU HAVE TONS OF CHOICES LIKE TYPE OF CAR YOU WANT, VOICES. ETC ETC (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE SQUIRRLY VOICE THO) LOL - TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND. (I PERSONALLY DON'T SPEAK 'SQUIRREL") LOL
FINAL THOUGHTS: DO NOT (!) LEAVE IT IN A HOT CAR EXPOSED (I PUT MINE UNDER MY FRONT SEAT OUT OF SIGHT WHEN NOT USING (DONT FORGET TO UNPLUG IT)! TAKE CARE YOU DO NOT SCRATCH THE SCREEN (I HAVE A SOFT SMALL TOWEL TO WRAP IT IN WHEN NOT IN USE). HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL... ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Easy to use, large 5" screen.

10/26/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features of the Garmin nuvi 50LM are what sold me on it. Online order (free shipping) was delivered only two days after it was placed. Ordered a home wall charger, specifically for the Garmin nuvi 50LM, on eBay for under $6 (free shipping), so unit can be charged both in the vehicle and at home.
Text-to-speech (turn-by-turn directions that speak street names)
480 x 272 pixels WQVGA color TFT with white backlight
Large 5" intuitive touchscreen interface greets you with 2 choices: "Where to?" and "View Map"
Over 5 million POIs plus custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest)
Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls, etc.)
Lane assist with junction view
"Where am I?" emergency locator
Built-in speed limit indicator helps you keep out of trouble
Photo navigation (navigate to Geotagged photos)
Choose QWERTY or ABC keyboard layout
The 5" GPS features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included)
Portable friction mount is an alternative to windshield mounts
Non-skid silicone bottom and pliable base keeps mount secure on dashboard
Garmin bundle GPS with friction mount is easily transferable from car to car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

voice function problem

10/23/2013
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most modern GPS's this one is easy to use. The problem I have with this one is that it loses it's voice. Twice now, in the month I've owned it, it's lost it's speaking function. I've been able to get it back again both times, by resetting the unit. But to do that I first have to save my Favorite addresses, then reset it, then re-load my Favorite addresses to it again.(done by connecting it to a computer) That procedure is going to be a hassle if I'm on a trip and it quits speaking again.
Otherwise I am looking forward to using it on a trip I expect to be taking soon. There is a one year warranty on it so if it continues to lose it's voice function I will likely send it back to Garmin for repair, or replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

great GPS with free maps.

07/21/2014
By ,
R.I.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i got it,I updated maps and firmware., no problem doing so. I've had it for a little while and have a good feeling about it. FRICTION MOUT left a stain on my car dash. so i use the suction cup mount. I haven't put it to the test, but i think it will work great. I will let you know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great GPS for my truck.

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for looking up points of interest. Haven't used it on a trip, but have enjoyed using around town.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

better than "follow my nose!"

11/25/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 1st GPS we've ever gotten. (Very late senior bloomers). I ordered usb cable to download info via the pc. The map, info was very easy to do & went smoothly. Online comparison shopping, I found the Walmart price excellent, to get lifetime maps, mounts, talk, etc. We have found it easy to use, loading destinations, touch screen. For us geezers, ease of use & clear understanding of directions was most important, & it has fulfilled that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Excellent device to purchase for traveling

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used my Garmin this weekend for the first time. Absolutely perfect directions, NO flaws. I Love my new toy. I've shared my experience with co-workers & friends. I definitely recommend this product.
Thank You Garmin for creating this simple device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great GPS but be sure you get the correct map set!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Garmin GPS and I really like the lifetime map feature. Just be aware that there are two different options for this particular model: Lower 48 states **OR** United States and Canada. I missed the specification in the listing that this specific unit was only for the lower 48. Since I travel a lot in Canada, I decided to keep the unit and buy the Canadian map set add-on. Aside from that mistake, I'm very satisfied with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Excellent value, but don't trust the POIs.

07/25/2014
By ,
Delaware County, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent value on a GPS unit, especially with the lifetime maps. I've have one of this model for about a year, and I use it every day, in two different cars. The friction mount makes it easy to switch, and has enough flexibility to it to adapt to most dashboards.
The interface lacks some of the bells and whistles of more expensive models; but let's be realistic: We're talking less than a hundred bucks for a GPS with LIFETIME map updates. I remember when the annual map updates cost that much. If you want accurate navigation on the cheap, forever, and don't care if the thing plays music, then this is the device for you.
One warning, however: The accuracy of the Points of Interest database is less-than-wonderful. I doubt that half the places I asked it to find by POI name have actually been where the device thought they were. It does great with street addresses, however; so what I usually do is find the street address of the place I'm looking for, then enter that address in the GPS.
I should probably add that the POI problem is something I've found to be true of every single auto GPS I've ever used, including some that cost more than $500.00. The POI databases are very rarely accurate, for whatever reason. So in other words, the one in this device is no worse than any other I've ever used.
All in all, this is a very good value for the price.
-Richard the Geek
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Well worth the price

07/31/2014
By ,
W. Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first time I used it I had a hard time understanding the voice instructions. Turning up the sound helped. Mounted on the dash the sun washes out the picture. Had to place out of bright sun. No problem after that. Have not been able to register GPS yet. From other reviews, that may take a bit of patience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Fantastic Unit

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Garmin I purchased from Walmart. The only reason I purchased this one was because this unit came with lifetime map updates. Garmin wanted $89.99 for map updates. The older unit was 4 years old and functioned well but Walmart had this unit for $99.99 which was only $10.00 more for a newer unit with free updates. Good unit and reasonably priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Glad I bought one and it has been a help.

12/21/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just started using this product. Travel quit a bit. Would like more options on travel and also clearer definition of what some of the options mean. For example, I selected "Fastest Time" for a planned trip, then selected "Shortest Route" for the same trip. The shortest route was quicker than the fastest time. So what does fastest time mean? Also, it would be nice to have intermediate changes within the same trip. Like using major routes or not using major routes within one of the travel options. Would like to view entire trip layout before starting.
On one part of our trip, having selected shortest route, Garmin took us onto back roads that were not good roads to travel. It seems that shortest route option is just that, the shortest route, regardless of the road surface or narrowness of the road. We found this to be true even though there were other roads, safer, but a bit longer. I guess I would want more selections within Garmin when using the options selected. I found that using other mapping services in conjunction with Garmin was our better option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

the 5 inch screen really helps

10/27/2013
By ,
st louis, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the 5 in. screen really helps at our age, it is much better also with the graphics
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 465 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next