Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

The Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map includes the Nuvi 50 LM 5" GPS Navigator with Lifetime Map Updates and a Portable Friction Dash Mount. The lifetime map updates allow you to stay up-to-date on changing roads and point of interests (POIs). This GPS features a big 5" touchscreen, more than 5 million points of interest (POIs) and spoken turn-by-turn navigation that speaks street names. The 5" GPS is preloaded with City Navigator NT you get advanced mapping and navigation technology that offers fast route calculations and address look-ups. Lane assist with junction view allows you to navigate with confidence while nuvi directs you to the preferred lane along with viewing images of upcoming junctions. The included Portable Dash Mount features a non-skid bottom and pliable base to keep the mount secure on your dashboard. The integrated arm on the Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map can be folded down for easy storage in an automobile console or in luggage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.496 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(760 Reviews) 595
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
192
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation94%713 out of 760reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
315 Questions | 720 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
192
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great product

08/22/2013
By ,
Pembroke, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to take with me on a vacation to Cape Cod. It worked great, got me where I needed to go, found local restaurants for me, and took me there. Will never go anywhere again without it. The dash mount did not work well with my car. I have a Hyundai Tucson and it wouldn't stay where I placed it. It also left what looks like a grease mark on my dash which wont wipe off. I would not recommend using it unless you have a light colored dashboard (mine is black). The windshield mount it came with worked much better. I bought the car cable separate because it didn't say that it was included, it was included with the package so I returned that. The screen is a good size for those with bad eyes and it has 2 voice options to select from (I chose the one that sounded more like a human than a computer). It was very easy to set up and register online. I would recommend buying a case to keep it in because put put mine in my purse and it got scratched from something in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+251points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo, New York 14211
Canada
Posted 11/29/2013
It doesn't say anything about Canada I travel a lot I need to know if it's available? I have a Garmin I love the device, but it's old and for this price I can't go wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value

12/03/2013
By ,
Tallapoosa, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first gps was a garmin and I led it but when ittopped working I tried a tomtom and I guess because I was use to the garmin I did not find the tomtom as user friendly. So when it stopped working I bought this and found this to be easier to go back to than going from garmin to tomtom. But I just made a trip to Huntsville and before I left home I uploaded the lastest maps and the tomtom would tell you all names of a highway and the garmin does not. So on a couple of roads here the posted name and the garmin name are different. I found out the roads have two names and garmin is correct but because the signs said something different it caused me to miss my turn. So I kind of miss the tomtom naming all the names of a street. But both seem to last about as long before something going wrong with them and both sem to cost about the same. But this one was less than one with same number nuvi 50LM that did not have the bundle so it was the best buy even though I do not use the dash mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

This Thing is GOOFY

09/13/2014
By ,
Santa Clarita, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tried out the NUVI 50LM for the first time today, and it routed me all over the place, and mostly in the completely opposite direction of where I wanted to go. I had been to this destination before which is 26 miles southwest of my home. The NUVI kept trying to send me east to Pasadena, but I wanted to go southwest to Encino, CA. Because it was steering me in the wrong direction, the nagging from the GPS got more than a little bit irritating.
The voice I was using did not announce street names, so I changed to a voice that did. I used the GPS a second time today, with the new voice, and tested it to see if it could route me home correctly, and it worked fine. I used it a third time today, and it almost worked right. I used the feature for finding a gas station I had been to before, and it routed me to the station, but wanted me to go another quarter mile beyond it. ???? Your guess is as good as mine.
On the other hand, this GPS is very easy to set up and save your favorites. The points of interest feature is very good too.
I'll try it again tomorrow for a 40 mile trip to Beverly Hills. If I get the goofiness again, this GPS is going back to Wal Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

some good. some not so good.

08/15/2014
By ,
Macomb, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display is brilliantly clear and easy to read. the non-skid dashboard mount is excellent, and lane view is a must have. Takes the guesswork out of exit lanes. However.....my 5 year old Garmin displayed miles to go, arrival time, and elevation at the same time. This one makes me chose just one of the above choices. Speed limit appears to read only on interstates, with no reading on surface roads. Doesn't make sense. my old one gave constant readings that were correct within mere feet of speed limit changes. Plan on trying to work out the bugs, but the speed limit display problem could be a deal breaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value,Directions Spot On

02/26/2014
By ,
crossville,Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good GPS as far as getting you to where you need to go.I am still learning the split screen.I like the fact the junction shows you where you need to be in the lane.my problem is with the voice.you have two choices,one with the street names being called and one without.The problem is the one giving the street names says them wrong,and only if you know the street or even close to what she is saying are you going to be okay finding it.it is funny in a sic kind of way as you find yourself laughing trying to guess what she means.On the other hand the other english voice just lets you know the route but not the street name your turning onto.I am going to connect up to the garmin site and see if there are more voices to download with voice to street talk.Other than this glitch,this is a all around good garmin.I have no sense of direction and this has helped me on the interstate when the lane changes go crazy like in nashville,all within a mile and you have four lane exit changes,Garmin junction came through or I would have been in Memphis.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Not recommended for RV use

09/02/2014
By ,
Killeen, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned a Tom-Tom GPS which has worked admirably with my RV. I drive a 40" Class A Winnebago Motor Home with a 2010 Saturn in Tow. I got tired of paying for updates of maps, so I decided to purchase a new device with lifetime updates. Based on a poor review of the Tom-Tom, I decided I would try the Garmin. I took delivery in Columbia, SC. I tested the unit WITHOUT the Motor Home, and it selected a route that took me through downtown Columbia. My Tom-Tom took me on the bypasses AROUND Columbia. I definitely do not need a GPS device that routes me through downtown while I am driving such a large vehicle. I looked for settings that would correct the issue, but found none, so I returned the Garmin to the store. Additionally, the graphic perspective of the Garmin was very unrealistic, nowhere close to that I had experienced with my Tom-Tom. Tom Tom also offered many useful options under settings which were not available with the Garmin. I have since ordered a Tom-Tom device with lifetime updates. I should have known better! I liked the Garmin Friction Mount, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount
12/29/2012
By ,
Vineland NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My original GPS was a Garmin. At the time it cost twice what this did. I replaced it 2 years ago with a larger TomTom that had Lifetime Map updates. Well, what a mistake!! On a trip to RI I missed a turn & the TomTom took me an hour to get back. Another time I was traveling North & it said South. (there are many other examples) Two weeks ago it could not get my husband & I where we were going. Fortunately I had mapped the directions on the computer. I ordered the new Garmin that day. I love that you can put in the ZIP code instead of the city. It recalculates quickly if you miss a turn. It turns on & is ready to go quickly. I've been testing it out. Really haven't gone anywhere I was unsure of, but it showed me a quicker route (with no lights), to my golf course. I'm quite pleased....I know this is more a review saying DON'T buy a TomTom. BTW our oringinal Garmin still works fine too. It's in my husband's car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

nice GPS system

11/01/2014
By ,
sumter sc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this gets me where i want to go and that is what counts with me, i remember the old days when you were driving and had a map in your hand trying to figure out where to go -- remember those old days well forget about them as this will take you where you want to go --- so far no problems, the biggest disappointment was that it didn't come with an instructual manual -- your going to have to go on line and print it out --- but be prepared for poor service and confusing instructions on how to get the manual and for that fact alone this will most likely be my last garmin. this is a good product but they need to do a better job setting things up so average people can understand them --on a sale of 1-5 and five being the best i give garmin a 2 ---they do have a good product but your going to have to accept bad service and instructions along with it --so this will be my last garmin i will buy something else next time
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Thank God for Journey Mercies - from South - East

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this product (Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount), I read all the reviews and comments from previous users. I had to go back to school in Chicago this summer. The only way for me to cut down on expenses and budget is to drive from Texas to Chi-town. Considering the fact that it was the longest trip I have ever made alone, I was scared. This product was SUPER AMAZING! Locating my hotel room in Memphis was difficult. Due to the road constructions, I had to re-route in different location. I got to Chicago safely. I'm still touring the cities of Illinois with my Garmin. I would super recommend it to anyone. It's not complicated to use. The only thing I did not like about this product is the price. I think it's a bit pricey for a student like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

love the size & love the lifetime Map updates

11/13/2013
By ,
Seffner, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had another smaller Garmin but it was old and stopped working, I only use this one a few times, but I really like it, the only thing is that when it's giving directions it say stay to the right, when it should say turn right....but I am starting to understand when it says to stay to right, it really means turn to right...colors are great, voice is very clear and directions are good, I like the feature it also shows the speed limit in the area you are currently driving,....as sometimes there aren't enough street signs showing the speed limit....for me it's a great feature...still have to learn a lot more about it, but so far it's good, I hope it last me longer then the other one...I did buy the extended warranty...the case is really nice, the soft one, easy to put in and pull out...I haven't gotten my Insurance as of yet....I hope to get that soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Best Gps EVER

07/02/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IF YOU HAVE NEVER NEVER NEVER OWNED A GARMIN GPS, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH BUYING, PLUS THE PRICE IS GREAT, IT'S EASY TO READ, SET UP IS EASY AND YOU GET LIFETIME MAPS. THE VOICE DRIVING INSTRUCTIONS ARE FANTASTIC (DON'T WORRY IT WON'T SEND YOU OFF A CLIFF). I HAD ANOTHER BRAND WHICH PROVED TO BE HORRIBLE AND OUT IT WENT AFTER 1 FRUSTRATING YEAR.
YOU HAVE TONS OF CHOICES LIKE TYPE OF CAR YOU WANT, VOICES. ETC ETC (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE SQUIRRLY VOICE THO) LOL - TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND. (I PERSONALLY DON'T SPEAK 'SQUIRREL") LOL
FINAL THOUGHTS: DO NOT (!) LEAVE IT IN A HOT CAR EXPOSED (I PUT MINE UNDER MY FRONT SEAT OUT OF SIGHT WHEN NOT USING (DONT FORGET TO UNPLUG IT)! TAKE CARE YOU DO NOT SCRATCH THE SCREEN (I HAVE A SOFT SMALL TOWEL TO WRAP IT IN WHEN NOT IN USE). HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL... ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Easy to use, large 5" screen.

10/26/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features of the Garmin nuvi 50LM are what sold me on it. Online order (free shipping) was delivered only two days after it was placed. Ordered a home wall charger, specifically for the Garmin nuvi 50LM, on eBay for under $6 (free shipping), so unit can be charged both in the vehicle and at home.
Text-to-speech (turn-by-turn directions that speak street names)
480 x 272 pixels WQVGA color TFT with white backlight
Large 5" intuitive touchscreen interface greets you with 2 choices: "Where to?" and "View Map"
Over 5 million POIs plus custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest)
Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls, etc.)
Lane assist with junction view
"Where am I?" emergency locator
Built-in speed limit indicator helps you keep out of trouble
Photo navigation (navigate to Geotagged photos)
Choose QWERTY or ABC keyboard layout
The 5" GPS features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included)
Portable friction mount is an alternative to windshield mounts
Non-skid silicone bottom and pliable base keeps mount secure on dashboard
Garmin bundle GPS with friction mount is easily transferable from car to car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Easy to use

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't actually got a chance to use it on the road yet. Pretty easy to operate but downloading the update took a couple of hours. Maybe it was my internet service , but be sure to set aside some time to do that before using. It also came with the suction cup for you to put on the window if you don't want to use the friction mount, a car charger, and usb cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

voice function problem

10/23/2013
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most modern GPS's this one is easy to use. The problem I have with this one is that it loses it's voice. Twice now, in the month I've owned it, it's lost it's speaking function. I've been able to get it back again both times, by resetting the unit. But to do that I first have to save my Favorite addresses, then reset it, then re-load my Favorite addresses to it again.(done by connecting it to a computer) That procedure is going to be a hassle if I'm on a trip and it quits speaking again.
Otherwise I am looking forward to using it on a trip I expect to be taking soon. There is a one year warranty on it so if it continues to lose it's voice function I will likely send it back to Garmin for repair, or replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

better than "follow my nose!"

11/25/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 1st GPS we've ever gotten. (Very late senior bloomers). I ordered usb cable to download info via the pc. The map, info was very easy to do & went smoothly. Online comparison shopping, I found the Walmart price excellent, to get lifetime maps, mounts, talk, etc. We have found it easy to use, loading destinations, touch screen. For us geezers, ease of use & clear understanding of directions was most important, & it has fulfilled that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Well worth the money.

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The GPS works very well. It reroutes quickley in the event you miss a turn. The only problem I had with it was when I flew from Arizona to California. I rented a car in California and connected my GPS. I was unable to enter any California addresses. I was able to access the map, which was the local area. On the "enter an address" screen, I could only enter Arizona addresses. Using the map, I was able to find my hotel. After checking in, I restarted the GPS, and behold, I was finally able to enter California addresses. This was more than an hour after initally turning it on at the Monterey airport. Overall it does a good job for the money I spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

A Great Product

11/24/2012
By ,
Stevens Point, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the GPS because I always seem to get lost. This product is one I would recommend. I used it on Thanksgiving to get to a destination I was unfamiliar with. I placed it on the passenger seat because I didn't have time to connect the dash mount. This product doesn't come with directions on how to use it. I would suggest taking a few minutes to familiarize yourself with this GPS. If you go to Garmin.com you can print the manual. I may just do that to see what else it can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

the 5 inch screen really helps

10/27/2013
By ,
st louis, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the 5 in. screen really helps at our age, it is much better also with the graphics
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great Deal

12/31/2012
By ,
Washington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Garmi nuvi was in need of a map update, with a one time update costing $50 or lifetime updates for $90...decided to check out what a new Gramin would cost and found for a little more than the price for the lifetime update, I could get the Garmin nuvi 50LM with lifetime updates and a larger screen to boot...too good of a deal to pass up..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Just what I needed

10/05/2013
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had Navigation service with my Sprint phone but it was no longer included in the bundle. I had come to rely on this service so I needed a replacement. I could have kept the service at a additional cost but I am so glad I went with Garmin. It does all and more than what I had and the response time to update is so much quicker. The size of screen is great and the Lifetime Updates along with the two different types of mounting make this a great bundle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 596 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next