Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

The Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map includes the Nuvi 50 LM 5" GPS Navigator with Lifetime Map Updates and a Portable Friction Dash Mount. The lifetime map updates allow you to stay up-to-date on changing roads and point of interests (POIs). This GPS features a big 5" touchscreen, more than 5 million points of interest (POIs) and spoken turn-by-turn navigation that speaks street names. The 5" GPS is preloaded with City Navigator NT you get advanced mapping and navigation technology that offers fast route calculations and address look-ups. Lane assist with junction view allows you to navigate with confidence while nuvi directs you to the preferred lane along with viewing images of upcoming junctions. The included Portable Dash Mount features a non-skid bottom and pliable base to keep the mount secure on your dashboard. The integrated arm on the Garmin NUVI50LM GPS With Lifetime Map can be folded down for easy storage in an automobile console or in luggage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(601 Reviews) 436
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
403
4 stars
150
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation94%567 out of 601reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
253 Questions | 621 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
403
4 stars
150
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great product

08/22/2013
By ,
Pembroke, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to take with me on a vacation to Cape Cod. It worked great, got me where I needed to go, found local restaurants for me, and took me there. Will never go anywhere again without it. The dash mount did not work well with my car. I have a Hyundai Tucson and it wouldn't stay where I placed it. It also left what looks like a grease mark on my dash which wont wipe off. I would not recommend using it unless you have a light colored dashboard (mine is black). The windshield mount it came with worked much better. I bought the car cable separate because it didn't say that it was included, it was included with the package so I returned that. The screen is a good size for those with bad eyes and it has 2 voice options to select from (I chose the one that sounded more like a human than a computer). It was very easy to set up and register online. I would recommend buying a case to keep it in because put put mine in my purse and it got scratched from something in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo, New York 14211
Canada
Posted 11/29/2013
It doesn't say anything about Canada I travel a lot I need to know if it's available? I have a Garmin I love the device, but it's old and for this price I can't go wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value

12/03/2013
By ,
Tallapoosa, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first gps was a garmin and I led it but when ittopped working I tried a tomtom and I guess because I was use to the garmin I did not find the tomtom as user friendly. So when it stopped working I bought this and found this to be easier to go back to than going from garmin to tomtom. But I just made a trip to Huntsville and before I left home I uploaded the lastest maps and the tomtom would tell you all names of a highway and the garmin does not. So on a couple of roads here the posted name and the garmin name are different. I found out the roads have two names and garmin is correct but because the signs said something different it caused me to miss my turn. So I kind of miss the tomtom naming all the names of a street. But both seem to last about as long before something going wrong with them and both sem to cost about the same. But this one was less than one with same number nuvi 50LM that did not have the bundle so it was the best buy even though I do not use the dash mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Good Value,Directions Spot On

02/26/2014
By ,
crossville,Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good GPS as far as getting you to where you need to go.I am still learning the split screen.I like the fact the junction shows you where you need to be in the lane.my problem is with the voice.you have two choices,one with the street names being called and one without.The problem is the one giving the street names says them wrong,and only if you know the street or even close to what she is saying are you going to be okay finding it.it is funny in a sic kind of way as you find yourself laughing trying to guess what she means.On the other hand the other english voice just lets you know the route but not the street name your turning onto.I am going to connect up to the garmin site and see if there are more voices to download with voice to street talk.Other than this glitch,this is a all around good garmin.I have no sense of direction and this has helped me on the interstate when the lane changes go crazy like in nashville,all within a mile and you have four lane exit changes,Garmin junction came through or I would have been in Memphis.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

love the size & love the lifetime Map updates

11/13/2013
By ,
Seffner, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had another smaller Garmin but it was old and stopped working, I only use this one a few times, but I really like it, the only thing is that when it's giving directions it say stay to the right, when it should say turn right....but I am starting to understand when it says to stay to right, it really means turn to right...colors are great, voice is very clear and directions are good, I like the feature it also shows the speed limit in the area you are currently driving,....as sometimes there aren't enough street signs showing the speed limit....for me it's a great feature...still have to learn a lot more about it, but so far it's good, I hope it last me longer then the other one...I did buy the extended warranty...the case is really nice, the soft one, easy to put in and pull out...I haven't gotten my Insurance as of yet....I hope to get that soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Easy to use, large 5" screen.

10/26/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features of the Garmin nuvi 50LM are what sold me on it. Online order (free shipping) was delivered only two days after it was placed. Ordered a home wall charger, specifically for the Garmin nuvi 50LM, on eBay for under $6 (free shipping), so unit can be charged both in the vehicle and at home.
Text-to-speech (turn-by-turn directions that speak street names)
480 x 272 pixels WQVGA color TFT with white backlight
Large 5" intuitive touchscreen interface greets you with 2 choices: "Where to?" and "View Map"
Over 5 million POIs plus custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest)
Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls, etc.)
Lane assist with junction view
"Where am I?" emergency locator
Built-in speed limit indicator helps you keep out of trouble
Photo navigation (navigate to Geotagged photos)
Choose QWERTY or ABC keyboard layout
The 5" GPS features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included)
Portable friction mount is an alternative to windshield mounts
Non-skid silicone bottom and pliable base keeps mount secure on dashboard
Garmin bundle GPS with friction mount is easily transferable from car to car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

voice function problem

10/23/2013
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most modern GPS's this one is easy to use. The problem I have with this one is that it loses it's voice. Twice now, in the month I've owned it, it's lost it's speaking function. I've been able to get it back again both times, by resetting the unit. But to do that I first have to save my Favorite addresses, then reset it, then re-load my Favorite addresses to it again.(done by connecting it to a computer) That procedure is going to be a hassle if I'm on a trip and it quits speaking again.
Otherwise I am looking forward to using it on a trip I expect to be taking soon. There is a one year warranty on it so if it continues to lose it's voice function I will likely send it back to Garmin for repair, or replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Best Gps EVER

07/02/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IF YOU HAVE NEVER NEVER NEVER OWNED A GARMIN GPS, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH BUYING, PLUS THE PRICE IS GREAT, IT'S EASY TO READ, SET UP IS EASY AND YOU GET LIFETIME MAPS. THE VOICE DRIVING INSTRUCTIONS ARE FANTASTIC (DON'T WORRY IT WON'T SEND YOU OFF A CLIFF). I HAD ANOTHER BRAND WHICH PROVED TO BE HORRIBLE AND OUT IT WENT AFTER 1 FRUSTRATING YEAR.
YOU HAVE TONS OF CHOICES LIKE TYPE OF CAR YOU WANT, VOICES. ETC ETC (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE SQUIRRLY VOICE THO) LOL - TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND. (I PERSONALLY DON'T SPEAK 'SQUIRREL") LOL
FINAL THOUGHTS: DO NOT (!) LEAVE IT IN A HOT CAR EXPOSED (I PUT MINE UNDER MY FRONT SEAT OUT OF SIGHT WHEN NOT USING (DONT FORGET TO UNPLUG IT)! TAKE CARE YOU DO NOT SCRATCH THE SCREEN (I HAVE A SOFT SMALL TOWEL TO WRAP IT IN WHEN NOT IN USE). HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL... ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount
12/29/2012
By ,
Vineland NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My original GPS was a Garmin. At the time it cost twice what this did. I replaced it 2 years ago with a larger TomTom that had Lifetime Map updates. Well, what a mistake!! On a trip to RI I missed a turn & the TomTom took me an hour to get back. Another time I was traveling North & it said South. (there are many other examples) Two weeks ago it could not get my husband & I where we were going. Fortunately I had mapped the directions on the computer. I ordered the new Garmin that day. I love that you can put in the ZIP code instead of the city. It recalculates quickly if you miss a turn. It turns on & is ready to go quickly. I've been testing it out. Really haven't gone anywhere I was unsure of, but it showed me a quicker route (with no lights), to my golf course. I'm quite pleased....I know this is more a review saying DON'T buy a TomTom. BTW our oringinal Garmin still works fine too. It's in my husband's car
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

better than "follow my nose!"

11/25/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 1st GPS we've ever gotten. (Very late senior bloomers). I ordered usb cable to download info via the pc. The map, info was very easy to do & went smoothly. Online comparison shopping, I found the Walmart price excellent, to get lifetime maps, mounts, talk, etc. We have found it easy to use, loading destinations, touch screen. For us geezers, ease of use & clear understanding of directions was most important, & it has fulfilled that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great GPS system

11/13/2013
By ,
Pahrump, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched to Garmin from another GPS system and I am more than happy. The system I had was charging for updates and with the new Garmin I don't have to pay for that, so I would recommend that if you are looking to purchase a GPS system, go with the free updates. I am also very happy with how rapid the online order was processed. I ordered in the morning and the order was shipped that evening and I received it a few days later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

the 5 inch screen really helps

10/27/2013
By ,
st louis, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the 5 in. screen really helps at our age, it is much better also with the graphics
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great for the price!

10/26/2013
By ,
Sewanee,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although a bit different than my Nuvi 265 love the 5" screen. Quick start book not very helpful--outdated but Customer service was EXCELLENT. Very patient and detailed in instructions. Would call again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Just what I needed

10/05/2013
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had Navigation service with my Sprint phone but it was no longer included in the bundle. I had come to rely on this service so I needed a replacement. I could have kept the service at a additional cost but I am so glad I went with Garmin. It does all and more than what I had and the response time to update is so much quicker. The size of screen is great and the Lifetime Updates along with the two different types of mounting make this a great bundle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Glad I bought one and it has been a help.

12/21/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just started using this product. Travel quit a bit. Would like more options on travel and also clearer definition of what some of the options mean. For example, I selected "Fastest Time" for a planned trip, then selected "Shortest Route" for the same trip. The shortest route was quicker than the fastest time. So what does fastest time mean? Also, it would be nice to have intermediate changes within the same trip. Like using major routes or not using major routes within one of the travel options. Would like to view entire trip layout before starting.
On one part of our trip, having selected shortest route, Garmin took us onto back roads that were not good roads to travel. It seems that shortest route option is just that, the shortest route, regardless of the road surface or narrowness of the road. We found this to be true even though there were other roads, safer, but a bit longer. I guess I would want more selections within Garmin when using the options selected. I found that using other mapping services in conjunction with Garmin was our better option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great GPS!!!

11/26/2013
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left Jersey to go Upstate New York and used my new Garmin GPS and it led me straight home-like if it was driving it itself!!! I had no problems it was so easy to understand and follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great buy!

05/22/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice purchase. Love the larger screen and that it has a picture on the right of the actual exit signs, etc... very helpful at confusing interchanges. Included dash mount is great too. This was a birthday gift for my husband and he loves it! Very satisfied with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Highly recommended

03/10/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had another Garmin model for quite a few years, until recently the battery in it gave out. This one is even better than my old one. On major thoroughfares, it displays both the speed limit and my rate of speed so you know both at a glance. Also displays what street the next intersection is - very helpful. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

A Great Product

11/24/2012
By ,
Stevens Point, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the GPS because I always seem to get lost. This product is one I would recommend. I used it on Thanksgiving to get to a destination I was unfamiliar with. I placed it on the passenger seat because I didn't have time to connect the dash mount. This product doesn't come with directions on how to use it. I would suggest taking a few minutes to familiarize yourself with this GPS. If you go to Garmin.com you can print the manual. I may just do that to see what else it can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great GPS for GA with a Friction mount

11/28/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this elsewhere before seeing the Bundle advertized at Walmart. This has the friction mount which is needed especially if you live in Ga, Al, Miss because the windshield mounts are illegal inmany states, including above. Easy GPS to understand & operate. I am 60 yrs old & found it easy to do. Directions are clear and screen is easy to see. Never have to pay for updates
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+180points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
Does it come with vehicle power cable?
Posted 06/02/2013
Does this bundle come with vehicle power cable and USB cable? Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount

Great Deal

12/31/2012
By ,
Washington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Garmi nuvi was in need of a map update, with a one time update costing $50 or lifetime updates for $90...decided to check out what a new Gramin would cost and found for a little more than the price for the lifetime update, I could get the Garmin nuvi 50LM with lifetime updates and a larger screen to boot...too good of a deal to pass up..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 437 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next