Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Otterbox OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Otterbox OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

The Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case offers three layers of protection so you don't have to fear the inevitable drop or accident. The two-piece polycarbonate inner layer snaps together around the device to form a secure foundation. The inner layer includes a built-in screen protector that prevents scratches while interior memory foam pads cradle the device to provide added shock absorption. The outer layer is made up of rugged silicone that wraps around the inner layer to absorb impact. The Defender Series comes with a ratcheting belt holster that can also double as a viewing stand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%74 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

ATRACTIVE AND PRACTICAL COVER

07/21/2013
By ,
Independence,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THESE PEOPLE DID THEIR HOMEWORK, THIS IS A WELL DESIGNED AND STURDY CASE WITH OUTSTANDING PROTECTION. IF YOU WANT THE BEST; BUY IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

The best protection for serial phone droppers

10/02/2013
By ,
Republic, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the 5th device I have used an Otterbox Defender on, and I have never broken any device on which the case was installed. I drop my phone often. Too often. The only part of this case I do not like is the hard plastic screen protector. I typically remove the protector and replace it with a Zagg invisibleSHIELD.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

good protector for phone

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Otterbox seems to be of good construction and true to its description. The only thing I don't like about it is how thick it is but that is what protects the phone so I really can't complain. Fits the phone perfectly. Really like the purple color.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Perfect fit, good protection.

07/06/2014
By ,
Arizona Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As is usual with OtterBox, good fit and protection. I just wish they were a little more competitive in price. But, that being said, you do get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

OtterBox

03/14/2014
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A salesman suggested one of these for my wife's iPhone, she loves it, I liked it, and when I got my Galaxy, got one too. It's really tough -- dropped my phone on a tile floor with no damage or even a mark -- and worth every penny. Only downside; it's a bear to open if you want to change the SD card.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Great protection for phone

11/01/2013
By ,
Hookerton,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wouldn't own a high tech product without the protection of an otter box. They are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Inspect the item at the desk!!!

02/01/2014
By ,
Southwest Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good thing I opened the package at the desk. It was apparent that this was a returned item. The belt clip was broken off. I showed this to the attendent and they went on the floor, found another like product and exchanged the broken holder with a good one. Walmart has a very liberal return policy and you need to be aware that the product you're buying may be a return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Works well. Very protective.

08/21/2013
By ,
Ventura County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little difficult to open up the first time, but once you get used to the latches it opens easily. I like the tripple layer design. Fits phone perfectly. Only downside is that the screen protection traps lots of dust between the screen and the protector, so you need to clean it once in a while, depending on your tolerance. Small price to pay for scratch protection.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Not what I was looking for

05/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read all the reviews and it sounded like this was the case to get. It was rather expensive, but the big problem was I guess I didn't know what I'd be getting. I have no doubt it would protect the phone--it looked like I'd need a jackhammer to make a call though. I learned my lesson though and got something a bit more feminine. Just don't get too swayed by all the reviews. If you want tough, this is your baby. If not, move along.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Worth the $

09/07/2013
By ,
Wentzville, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my wife's phone after I bought one for my Samsung. I had a problem applying the screen cover. It has two pull tabs that you remove after it is placed on the screen. One of them left an adhesive residue on the cover. I sent an e-mail to Otterbox and they sent me a replacement screen.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Galaxy S3

02/07/2014
By ,
Memphis tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Love the case!

10/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the Samsung Galaxy S III I knew I needed a case but wasn't sure what I wanted. I love the colors and the sturdiness of the case/cover. Many members of my family also have the Otterbox cases for their Samsung cell phones! Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

works very well

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It fits perfect on my galaxy s 3 if I had to say anything bad about it is that it's a little difficult because it's such a tight fit to put it on the phone but I'm not complaining because it definitely does its job protecting my phone I have a 16 month old daughter no more than 5 minutes after I put the case on it took my phone and threw it onto our brick porch and it doesn't even have a scratch on it very thankful my daughter has broke many many phones of mine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Great case and on Walmart.com so much cheaper

09/19/2013
By ,
McDonoug, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so bad with my phone about dropping it. The otterbox case seems to protect it very well.
I have only had it a short time, but I have dropped my phone and it was ok. It was almost twenty dollars cheaper on walmart.com than in stores. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

It's what you need

03/26/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since my best friend has one of these products, I knew it was a little bulky but would do exactly what I needed most: protect the valuable investment of my cell phone. Was a snap to put together, has no negative impact on usability of the phone, and seems like it will last for as long as I need it. You can find cheaper products, but personally I wouldn't take a chance on them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Good, But i will have to buy another in due time.

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have dropped my phone 2 or 3 times and it kept my phone safe, the screen did not crack, as Otterbox has said their product specializes in. Though the rubber on the round edges is starting to loosen already and soon it wont hug around the inside liner and i'll have to buy yet another case. this one was an expensive purchase for my budget, I expected it to last longer than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Very good fit and excellent protection

02/07/2014
By ,
Kingsport, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good fit and excellent protection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

Thumbs up for the Defender case

01/10/2014
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research my wife and I opted for the Otterbox cases (Defender for mine, Commuter for hers). They add weight and bulk but protect effectively. I needed a beltclip to keep hands free.
Every solution is a compromise but these offer excellent quality and performance. One positive is the phones are much easier to hang on to.
Recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

The Cell Phone Case was exactly what I wanted

02/25/2014
By ,
Elberton, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was pleased with the Otter Box Cell Phone Case. The Walmart employee in Avon Park, Florida was most helpful. She put my phone in the case for me. I am sorry that I didn't get her name because she is certainly a Credit to Walmart.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OtterBox 77-21086 Samsung Galaxy S III Defender Series Case

great protection

06/24/2014
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the built in screen protector & the rubber back the covers the case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next