Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Bissell Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

The Bissell Big Green 86T3 Deep Cleaning Machine is designed to clean better and dry faster than the leading rental cleaners. The rotating DirtLifter PowerBrushes provide more dirt-removing power to help remove tough spots and stains. The Green Machine carpet cleaner features a long-reach hose and a six inch tough-stain tool to make cleaning stairs and other hard to reach areas easy and less strenuous. The deep cleaning carpet cleaners included flow indicator monitors water and solution levels and lets you know when it's time to check the tanks. The large capacity tanks give you more time between refills. The Green Machine carpet cleaner also features a handle that adjusts to any height for easy maneuverability and folds for convenient storage. Perfect for homes with children, high traffic or multiple pets, this Bissell Big Green 86T3 Deep Cleaning Machine can tackle any carpet job.
Average Customer Rating:
4.819 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(281 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation98%87 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

As good as described!

09/04/2014
By ,
Tempe, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The other reviewers are right. With just one swipe of the Big Green on my carpeting, my somewhat (I thought) dingy carpet -- two cats, one dog who has had vomiting issues lately -- was restored to its original cream color, almost as if it were brand new.
I never liked having professional cleaners come in for the carpeting because the front door stay opens, my dog will run away any chance he gets, the cleaner will have to go into the room where I locked the cats so I'd have to catch them and move them elsewhere. And sometimes, after paying for the carpeting to be professionally cleaned, the carpet looked about the same as it did before the cleaner arrived. It ended up paying $100+ for nothing.
Renting the Rug Doctor was a hassle (renting it, getting it in and out of my car, etc.), and time would be ticking till I had to return the machine or pay for another rental day.
Walmart's discount ($90 less than the amount Bissell and its authorized stores sell the Big Green on their Web sites! [at the time of this posting]) made buying the Big Green worthwhile.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Powerful

09/13/2014
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is so powerful that I don't think you could get more suction without pulling out your carpet. This machine gives professional results- the best for your buck hands down. You won't believe how clean your carpets can get. Spend the extra money and buy this machine, you won't be disappointed.
Take a look at the comparison video on You Tube against a Rug Doctor to see real results.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Awesome! Amazing!

05/22/2013
By ,
Selah, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is just simply amazing!!! I so love my new toy! It pulled 15 years worth of dirt and pet dander, etc out of the carpet in 3 or 4 passes and made the carpet 5 times lighter then it was. Yes it is a little bulky and it won't quite reach all the way to the edges of the walls, however the hose attachment works great for that (the hose attachment did use more cleaning solution) and it left the carpet just as dry as the machine itself. The cleaner also pulled sand/grit/rocks out of the carpet from who knows where (I vacuum the carpet on a daily basis) and it pulled out dog hair from a bloodhound that died almost 3 years ago (since she died I have cleaned the carpet with a hoover cleaner at least 3 times). In the attached picture you can see on the left the edge where the cleaner did not get and the clean streak in the middle of the floor with the dog laying on the edge of it. (The carpets were dry at this time and had been vacuumed 2 times). Since then I have used the hose/attachment and cleaned up the edges and they look just as clean as the rest of the carpet. I love this cleaner, the attachments, and the products you use with them. It was also easy to figure out how to use, and clean up at the end of using it. My husband even described this cleaner as amazing (he is very picky person on appliances was very very very skeptical). I used the Bissell professional 2x cleaner and it worked great and did not smell "flowery" or artificial at all. When I vacuumed the carpet after it was dry (about 2 hours) the vacuum pulled up tons more hair and grit that the cleaner pulled up. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this cleaner and highly recommend it! Anyone who has pets, kids or old carpet needs this cleaner - it is well worth the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Big Green Clean puts Stanley Steam to Shame!!!

09/26/2014
By ,
Peoria,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just moved into a new home. The carpets needed to be replaced. I knew this after having a professional cleaning company out. The carpets did look better but not great. I got online and saw this BGCM product and the reviews and decided to give it a try. Since I have 5 dogs I had nothing to loose even if I had to buy a new carpets for all the rooms. After setting this unit up and going over the carpet a few times. The soil came out and left no marks where it was easy to spot before. The carpet looked 95% newer then when I had the carpet cleaners out the week before. I was Shocked! I want to use this machine for my other house as well now. Rug Doctors similar units can't keep up with BGCM unit. Rug DR. you can only pull them. BGCM you can push forward and backwards getting double penetration on your floors. Walmart sells this unit for the best price around. Thanks for carrying this product at such a great price Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Works wonderfully!

09/12/2014
By ,
Azusa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a significant amount of carpeting, just shell out the extra money for this machine, it will be well worth the expense. I upgraded to this from the Proheat model (upgraded from some other household version). While the smaller ones can be "ok", they always left more water on the carpet than I though they should, and filling those tanks after a 9x9 section gets old really fast and slows down the whole process. This machine moves quite a bit of water, suctions it out very well, and the big tanks really speed up the whole process. I followed the suggestion several others made about using only half the detergent recommended, and it did the best job I'd ever seen on the carpet. 5 year warranty.
The only real cons are that it is a bit heavy, but not too bad pushing back and forth. Nothing extends out the front to sneak in a little ways under furniture, but given the weight, would just be something that got broke. They provide a hose and hand tool for that though. And... there is still no "speed up cause I'm bored and tired button!" ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Great Machine

08/05/2014
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is truly amazing. It sucks stuff out of the carpet we could not even see. Two tips: First, use about HALF the cleaning solution they tell you to use. When you see how much it costs you will realize how much money Bissell makes off this stuff. The instructions say to use 2 caps in the tank, we used one after the first day and it cleaned just as well with less soap residue left in the carpet. Second, if you really want your carpet clean, you need to do a rinse after the cleaning. We found that filling the tank with hot water alone and going over the whole carpet again removed the soap residue and pulled more dirt and lint out of the carpet. The wand for cleaning the stairs works pretty well also but takes a lot of hand pressure to work right.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best I've used, period!

08/19/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little sceptical paying $400 for a carpet cleaner for my home but while my dog is house trained, he still get sick occassionally and can't always control it. I've owned two smaller consumer type cleaners that never really removed all of the stain. My dogs most recent bout with intestinal issues left several large, and very dark stains that nothing would do much more than smear around. I had to wait a week for this cleaner to arrive so the stains were well set in. A few minutes later and the only way to tell there was ever any stains there was because that area is now much cleaner than the rest of the carpet. A real plus for me is that you can fill the clean water tank, add cleaner, and just use it until its used up, you don't have to empty it after each use. All I do is turn it on, clean the mess, and empty/clean the dirty water collector. So far...money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Very good machine but heavy

09/10/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before purchasing I did a lot of research on this machine as it is an expensive cleaner from others available on the market. I've used it so far on two houses complete with carpet. I have to admit it did a much better job than any other machines that I've rented and better than the professional carpet cleaner we've used. We also cleaned three cars with the machine. The hose is just right for the stairs and the automobiles. It is heavy so it may not be the machine for the family that can't carry it up or down the stairs. My wife would have a hard time with it as she has RA. Being able to use it in a forward or backward motion is a plus. So far I can't complain as we have had it for two weeks but will have to wait and see if it was worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Product cleans great

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item has many reviews, all I really wanted to add, was the error listed on Wal-Mart.com, it says this item has a 1 year warranty, but it actually has a 5 year limited warranty. I called Bissell customer service and they confirmed that it indeed has a 5 year warranty whether it is bought directly from them or from any certified reseller.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best deep-cleaning machine around!

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Rug Doctor machines and even the cheaper in-store Bissell Pro Heat 2X units with built-in heaters. This machine smokes both of them. It cleaned stains that were in the carpet when I bought this house four years ago. It cleaned recent stains including chocolate. It even showed me that my light-colored carpet in one room is supposed to be a slightly lighter, brighter color.
This thing doesn't have or need a water heater like low-end units. You fill it with hot water and formula and it is ready to go. If it had a heater, it might actually cause problems. I am still amazed at how well this cleans without a heater.
The only downside I can see for this unit is the weight. It is around 53lbs if I remember correctly, but that is not an issue for me personally. For a smaller person or one who is new to deep-cleaning, this may be an issue. Still, it is worth the weight for the quality of cleaning.
A distant second downside would be the cord length, but upon comparing to a normal vacuum, it is about the same. I have been spoiled by a Dyson DC41 that has a VERY long cord. Long enough to do my 1400sqft home without changing outlets. I wish this had that!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

So glad I spent the extra $$

10/15/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This machine is a work horse! I have used residential grade Bissell steam cleaners all of my adult life. This one outshines them all. Just cleaned the carpet in my son's room and this cleaner got out some very stubborn stains that my residential grade cleaner could not. I love the larger tanks. I'm able to clean longer between refills. If your the kind of person who likes all the bells and whistles then don't buy this one. But if you like all the bells and whistles to be in the motor and suction and ease of operation then this one's for you. 5 yr guarantee and I didn't even mention the ease right out of the box!!! I didn't have any assembly to do. Just filled it with hot water and I was on my way. If you decide to give this one a try, I don't think you'll be sorry!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best Thing Going-Get It!

01/29/2013
By ,
Cottage Grove, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually rent a Rug Doctor and saw Walmart had them for sale. My intent was to purchase one, but bought Big Green after reading the reviews. Works fantastic! Had a spot where I foolisly sprayed WD-40 on my study chair to get rid of the squeeks. I've cleaned that carpet 3-4 times with the Rug Doctor, thought it was there to stay. Two passes with Big Green and it was gone!
Shorter pile carpet was almost dry when I finished cleaning, plush pile was only slighly damp-dried completely within 4 hours. Big tanks. Fewer trips to fill/dump than Rug Doctor.
Get the premium Bissel solution. It has a protectant. Got a new dog and she had an accident. It sat on top of the carpet until I could soak it up. Never went into the carpet.
We have light carpet, 2 Collies (lots of hair). Picked up (or left in easy to pick up little piles of hair) stuff Rug Doctor just plain missed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Great purchase for a pet owner

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented PetSmart machine twice. I was thinking about hiring a carpet cleaning company. Then I thought to myself is it feasible to keep renting carpet cleaning machines with two canines. The choices were to buy a carpet cleaner or remove the carpet, so I decided to buy the carpet cleaner. After much research, I decided upon the Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine. It comes fully assembled. It is user friendly. The power cord is nice and long. It only takes a minute to discard dirty water. I can clean one great room before needing to discard and refill. The carpet dries quickly. It really cleans the stains and dirt out of the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Worth Every Penny

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past few years, I have gone through three different carpet cleaners from several brands. They all worked okay for a short period, then broke. It is a necessity to have a carpet cleaner with pets. I use a carpet cleaner at least once a week. After my third carpet cleaner broke, I caved in and decided to spend the money on a quality machine. I am in love with the Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine. Out of the box, I could tell this Bissell is a higher quality machine. It feels sturdy. After the first use, I immediately noticed how much cleaner my carpet is. My carpet dries in a matter of hours after cleaning. My carpet was always wet for an entire day or two after using any of my previous carpet cleaners. I am glad I spent the money on the Bissell Big Green carpet cleaner. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

The other reviews capture it. Great machine!

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rented the machine a few times from Ace hardware and was impressed enough to buy one. Only major drawback in my opinion is the lack of ability to get closer to the wall in the front like you'd be able to with a wand. The main advantages over the Rug Doctor are more power, having a separate removable clean water container (no need for fill buckets or having to tip the machine over to empty it), and the ability to go in both forward and backward directions. Also, the upholstery attachment is easy on-off. More money than the high end home carpet machines but far superior. Next step up from here would be a commercial box extractor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

DEEP CLEANS BETTER THAN EXPECTED

11/10/2014
By ,
Mesa. AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether it's a previously professionally cleaned carpet or a very old and deeply soiled one, this machine performed outstandingly well. I read the reviews, then bought it and checked it out myself and found the reviews to be very accurate.
This machine really does outperform other machines, including the Rug Doctor and the so-called "pros" too. Plus it's is easier to maneuver, empty and refill than the Rug Doctor. Rug Doctor cleans only on the pull stroke; this one cleans on both the push and the pull strokes. Rug doctor has just a back and forth brush action; this machine has a brush roller - like many vacuum cleaners have. It deep cleans very well. It also outperforms the Dual-V Hoover machine.
When it was used to just touch up a carpet that had been previously professionally cleaned several times - and by a well known non-soap, truck mounted system - we were amazed how much extra dirt was pulled up and how much brighter the carpet looked. It also brought surprising new life to a neglected old carpet that had lots of soil and pet stains.
One of the advantages of having my own "Big Green" is I can work on my carpet a little at a time, which is a big advantage if you have health limitations like I do. You can't do that when the pros come to your house!
Deep pet odors can sometimes return after the pros have gone. With this powerful machine, you can touch up areas as needed - instead of calling them back again and paying for another expensive visit. And for the cost of having the pros come several times you can buy your own "Big Green" and you'll likely do a much better job of cleaning your own carpet - and as often and whenever you need to.
I whole-heartedly recommend the Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Awesome machine for the money!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have learned that by spending a few extra dollars to buy commercial strength equipment, we save money in the long run! Commercial strength equipment last longer and works better. The Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3 is well worth the investment. We live in the woods and a lot of dirt is tracked in by us and our dog. This shampooer was easy to use, left carpet almost dry, and did a wonderful job cleaning! Our basement carpet is a very light color and we thought it had been ruined by a flood and a cat that went into renal failure who began urinating all over the floor. Not wanting to go through the hassle of trying to move a pool table, we decided to try to clean it instead. The carpet is now back to it's beautiful natural color, absent of stains, and smells fresh and brand new! We read that this machine may be a little hard to maneuver. My back was broke in 3 places and my better half has partial paralysis in one leg and neither of us had any trouble maneuvering the machine. We also cleaned 3 sofas and a chair, returning them all to look almost like new! I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Just as good as professional cleaning

09/29/2014
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have paid for a company and rented rug doctors but this the best. Cost is the same for hiring someone and no rush to complete in 24hrs. So glad I got it so affordable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Great Job and easy to Use

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carpets were terrible... Did a great job and was easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Easy to use, cleans great, built to last

11/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After first use, very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next