Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Bissell Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

The Bissell Big Green 86T3 Deep Cleaning Machine is designed to clean better and dry faster than the leading rental cleaners. The rotating DirtLifter PowerBrushes provide more dirt-removing power to help remove tough spots and stains. The Green Machine carpet cleaner features a long-reach hose and a six inch tough-stain tool to make cleaning stairs and other hard to reach areas easy and less strenuous. The deep cleaning carpet cleaners included flow indicator monitors water and solution levels and lets you know when it's time to check the tanks. The large capacity tanks give you more time between refills. The Green Machine carpet cleaner also features a handle that adjusts to any height for easy maneuverability and folds for convenient storage. Perfect for homes with children, high traffic or multiple pets, this Bissell Big Green 86T3 Deep Cleaning Machine can tackle any carpet job.
Average Customer Rating:
4.807 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(326 Reviews) 322
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
291
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation97%118 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 90 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
291
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

As good as described!

09/04/2014
By ,
Tempe, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The other reviewers are right. With just one swipe of the Big Green on my carpeting, my somewhat (I thought) dingy carpet -- two cats, one dog who has had vomiting issues lately -- was restored to its original cream color, almost as if it were brand new.
I never liked having professional cleaners come in for the carpeting because the front door stay opens, my dog will run away any chance he gets, the cleaner will have to go into the room where I locked the cats so I'd have to catch them and move them elsewhere. And sometimes, after paying for the carpeting to be professionally cleaned, the carpet looked about the same as it did before the cleaner arrived. It ended up paying $100+ for nothing.
Renting the Rug Doctor was a hassle (renting it, getting it in and out of my car, etc.), and time would be ticking till I had to return the machine or pay for another rental day.
Walmart's discount ($90 less than the amount Bissell and its authorized stores sell the Big Green on their Web sites! [at the time of this posting]) made buying the Big Green worthwhile.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Powerful

09/13/2014
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is so powerful that I don't think you could get more suction without pulling out your carpet. This machine gives professional results- the best for your buck hands down. You won't believe how clean your carpets can get. Spend the extra money and buy this machine, you won't be disappointed.
Take a look at the comparison video on You Tube against a Rug Doctor to see real results.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Awesome! Amazing!

05/22/2013
By ,
Selah, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is just simply amazing!!! I so love my new toy! It pulled 15 years worth of dirt and pet dander, etc out of the carpet in 3 or 4 passes and made the carpet 5 times lighter then it was. Yes it is a little bulky and it won't quite reach all the way to the edges of the walls, however the hose attachment works great for that (the hose attachment did use more cleaning solution) and it left the carpet just as dry as the machine itself. The cleaner also pulled sand/grit/rocks out of the carpet from who knows where (I vacuum the carpet on a daily basis) and it pulled out dog hair from a bloodhound that died almost 3 years ago (since she died I have cleaned the carpet with a hoover cleaner at least 3 times). In the attached picture you can see on the left the edge where the cleaner did not get and the clean streak in the middle of the floor with the dog laying on the edge of it. (The carpets were dry at this time and had been vacuumed 2 times). Since then I have used the hose/attachment and cleaned up the edges and they look just as clean as the rest of the carpet. I love this cleaner, the attachments, and the products you use with them. It was also easy to figure out how to use, and clean up at the end of using it. My husband even described this cleaner as amazing (he is very picky person on appliances was very very very skeptical). I used the Bissell professional 2x cleaner and it worked great and did not smell "flowery" or artificial at all. When I vacuumed the carpet after it was dry (about 2 hours) the vacuum pulled up tons more hair and grit that the cleaner pulled up. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this cleaner and highly recommend it! Anyone who has pets, kids or old carpet needs this cleaner - it is well worth the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

How did I live without this thing?

03/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is incredible. So glad I followed the advice given in so many of the reviews here. I considered the Rug Doctor, but read that some had compared the 2 and this one has much quicker drying time. I can attest that the carpet does dry pretty quickly. I also like the fact that this machine cleans going both forward and backward. If I can one small con it is that it does not heat the water. Yes, you can put hot water in it, but it doesn't remain hot for very long. That said, I have zero regrets buying this. It has saved me quite a bit from having to repeatedly pay others to come in and clean. If you are considering buying a carpet cleaner, while this one may be more costly than others you might be considered, I can promise you will not regret the purchase. It is 10 times better than those others and well worth the investment.I also take some comfort in them creating a reliable product due to the fact they have backed it by a 5 year warranty. Not too many other there willing to do that.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Very Disappointed

03/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3 online, as it was not available in the stores near me. After receiving the item and opening the box, which obviously looked as if it had been opened before and re-taped closed, I found the hose was broken. The way the hose was packaged in the box there was NO way it could have gotten broken during shipping. Either it was packaged broken or someone had this shampooer prior to me. Also, the bottle of carpet shampoo was missing that was suppose to be in the shampooer compartment. Called Bissell for a replacement hose to be sent, however they were worthless to talk too. Had to return the item to the store as instructed. When you pay over $400 for a carpet shampooer, you expect to receive a NEW carpet shampooer in a box that has not been previously opened by someone!!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Big Green Clean puts Stanley Steam to Shame!!!

09/26/2014
By ,
Peoria,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just moved into a new home. The carpets needed to be replaced. I knew this after having a professional cleaning company out. The carpets did look better but not great. I got online and saw this BGCM product and the reviews and decided to give it a try. Since I have 5 dogs I had nothing to loose even if I had to buy a new carpets for all the rooms. After setting this unit up and going over the carpet a few times. The soil came out and left no marks where it was easy to spot before. The carpet looked 95% newer then when I had the carpet cleaners out the week before. I was Shocked! I want to use this machine for my other house as well now. Rug Doctors similar units can't keep up with BGCM unit. Rug DR. you can only pull them. BGCM you can push forward and backwards getting double penetration on your floors. Walmart sells this unit for the best price around. Thanks for carrying this product at such a great price Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best I've used, period!

08/19/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little sceptical paying $400 for a carpet cleaner for my home but while my dog is house trained, he still get sick occassionally and can't always control it. I've owned two smaller consumer type cleaners that never really removed all of the stain. My dogs most recent bout with intestinal issues left several large, and very dark stains that nothing would do much more than smear around. I had to wait a week for this cleaner to arrive so the stains were well set in. A few minutes later and the only way to tell there was ever any stains there was because that area is now much cleaner than the rest of the carpet. A real plus for me is that you can fill the clean water tank, add cleaner, and just use it until its used up, you don't have to empty it after each use. All I do is turn it on, clean the mess, and empty/clean the dirty water collector. So far...money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Great Machine

08/05/2014
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is truly amazing. It sucks stuff out of the carpet we could not even see. Two tips: First, use about HALF the cleaning solution they tell you to use. When you see how much it costs you will realize how much money Bissell makes off this stuff. The instructions say to use 2 caps in the tank, we used one after the first day and it cleaned just as well with less soap residue left in the carpet. Second, if you really want your carpet clean, you need to do a rinse after the cleaning. We found that filling the tank with hot water alone and going over the whole carpet again removed the soap residue and pulled more dirt and lint out of the carpet. The wand for cleaning the stairs works pretty well also but takes a lot of hand pressure to work right.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Works wonderfully!

09/12/2014
By ,
Azusa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a significant amount of carpeting, just shell out the extra money for this machine, it will be well worth the expense. I upgraded to this from the Proheat model (upgraded from some other household version). While the smaller ones can be "ok", they always left more water on the carpet than I though they should, and filling those tanks after a 9x9 section gets old really fast and slows down the whole process. This machine moves quite a bit of water, suctions it out very well, and the big tanks really speed up the whole process. I followed the suggestion several others made about using only half the detergent recommended, and it did the best job I'd ever seen on the carpet. 5 year warranty.
The only real cons are that it is a bit heavy, but not too bad pushing back and forth. Nothing extends out the front to sneak in a little ways under furniture, but given the weight, would just be something that got broke. They provide a hose and hand tool for that though. And... there is still no "speed up cause I'm bored and tired button!" ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Product cleans great

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item has many reviews, all I really wanted to add, was the error listed on Wal-Mart.com, it says this item has a 1 year warranty, but it actually has a 5 year limited warranty. I called Bissell customer service and they confirmed that it indeed has a 5 year warranty whether it is bought directly from them or from any certified reseller.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best Thing Going-Get It!

01/29/2013
By ,
Cottage Grove, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually rent a Rug Doctor and saw Walmart had them for sale. My intent was to purchase one, but bought Big Green after reading the reviews. Works fantastic! Had a spot where I foolisly sprayed WD-40 on my study chair to get rid of the squeeks. I've cleaned that carpet 3-4 times with the Rug Doctor, thought it was there to stay. Two passes with Big Green and it was gone!
Shorter pile carpet was almost dry when I finished cleaning, plush pile was only slighly damp-dried completely within 4 hours. Big tanks. Fewer trips to fill/dump than Rug Doctor.
Get the premium Bissel solution. It has a protectant. Got a new dog and she had an accident. It sat on top of the carpet until I could soak it up. Never went into the carpet.
We have light carpet, 2 Collies (lots of hair). Picked up (or left in easy to pick up little piles of hair) stuff Rug Doctor just plain missed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Very good machine but heavy

09/10/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before purchasing I did a lot of research on this machine as it is an expensive cleaner from others available on the market. I've used it so far on two houses complete with carpet. I have to admit it did a much better job than any other machines that I've rented and better than the professional carpet cleaner we've used. We also cleaned three cars with the machine. The hose is just right for the stairs and the automobiles. It is heavy so it may not be the machine for the family that can't carry it up or down the stairs. My wife would have a hard time with it as she has RA. Being able to use it in a forward or backward motion is a plus. So far I can't complain as we have had it for two weeks but will have to wait and see if it was worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Frieze carpets? Say hello to almost new!

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this after long research between competitors. The one thing that was holding us back was nobody mentioned how this unit worked on Frieze carpets.
We bought our home 1 year ago and they obviously had a professional clean prior to moving in but after a year you started to see banding and heavy traffic patterns from where the previous owners had their furniture. The banding was from the professional's carpet wand where it had left excess yuck still in the carpet. We attacked the carpets doing what the instructions said by running it till the water went clear. On Frieze carpeting I didn't think we were going to see great results but still wanted the best clean I could get. Well the machine far exceeded what we though it would do. It looks new other than the wear. Got a fix for that?!? heh
The only fault I will give it is the smell from the bissell cleaner gave me a Monster headache that lasted a full 24hrs. Nothing to do with the machine really but if you use the cleaner, open windows, doors, anything. Hard to do when it's 10F outside I know. But wow this stuff is really intense. I'll be waiting till spring to clean with it again so I can open the house and put on my micron filters face mask.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Awesome machine for the money!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have learned that by spending a few extra dollars to buy commercial strength equipment, we save money in the long run! Commercial strength equipment last longer and works better. The Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3 is well worth the investment. We live in the woods and a lot of dirt is tracked in by us and our dog. This shampooer was easy to use, left carpet almost dry, and did a wonderful job cleaning! Our basement carpet is a very light color and we thought it had been ruined by a flood and a cat that went into renal failure who began urinating all over the floor. Not wanting to go through the hassle of trying to move a pool table, we decided to try to clean it instead. The carpet is now back to it's beautiful natural color, absent of stains, and smells fresh and brand new! We read that this machine may be a little hard to maneuver. My back was broke in 3 places and my better half has partial paralysis in one leg and neither of us had any trouble maneuvering the machine. We also cleaned 3 sofas and a chair, returning them all to look almost like new! I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

WOW

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got mine yesterday and then spent about 3 hrs cleaning 2 rooms. I have 3 dogs 3 cats and 3 kids who all at times make messes. This machine while big and heavy cleaned the carpets so good. I would stop and hollar at my kids to look at the difference between where i had already done it and not. Can't believe how dirty my carpets were and how CLEAN this got them. One thing i found out the hard way in the clean tank is cardboard and a small container of soap lol I had to dig mine out of some nasty water
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

best ever machine

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared pricing between walmart & Lowes & Lowes price was $100. higher. Next before buying this machine, the most money ever spent on a shampooer, I read ALOT of the reviews, all positive reviews, Then went to Lowes to rent the machine. Even tho its heavy, its the best cleaner. Was really shocked at how easily the carpet came clean with little effort, more shockingly the carpet was'nt soaked, practically dry. Have never used the upholstery tool but that was also a plus in getting this machine. This is my last machine plus a 5 yr. warranty. Usually anything you buy its only 1 yr. WONDERFUL
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

So glad I spent the extra $$

10/15/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This machine is a work horse! I have used residential grade Bissell steam cleaners all of my adult life. This one outshines them all. Just cleaned the carpet in my son's room and this cleaner got out some very stubborn stains that my residential grade cleaner could not. I love the larger tanks. I'm able to clean longer between refills. If your the kind of person who likes all the bells and whistles then don't buy this one. But if you like all the bells and whistles to be in the motor and suction and ease of operation then this one's for you. 5 yr guarantee and I didn't even mention the ease right out of the box!!! I didn't have any assembly to do. Just filled it with hot water and I was on my way. If you decide to give this one a try, I don't think you'll be sorry!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Best deep-cleaning machine around!

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Rug Doctor machines and even the cheaper in-store Bissell Pro Heat 2X units with built-in heaters. This machine smokes both of them. It cleaned stains that were in the carpet when I bought this house four years ago. It cleaned recent stains including chocolate. It even showed me that my light-colored carpet in one room is supposed to be a slightly lighter, brighter color.
This thing doesn't have or need a water heater like low-end units. You fill it with hot water and formula and it is ready to go. If it had a heater, it might actually cause problems. I am still amazed at how well this cleans without a heater.
The only downside I can see for this unit is the weight. It is around 53lbs if I remember correctly, but that is not an issue for me personally. For a smaller person or one who is new to deep-cleaning, this may be an issue. Still, it is worth the weight for the quality of cleaning.
A distant second downside would be the cord length, but upon comparing to a normal vacuum, it is about the same. I have been spoiled by a Dyson DC41 that has a VERY long cord. Long enough to do my 1400sqft home without changing outlets. I wish this had that!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Does the job well

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and cleans really well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine Carpet Cleaner, 86T3

Super suction

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace Hoover steam vac. Had just done carpets with hoover one week prior to getting the Bissell. I picked up more dirt than the Bissell which was done one week ago. Unbelievable suction. The carpets are dry within a couple of hours instead of overnight. Best machine we ever owned.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next