Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

The Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike is a great full suspension bike. The frame of this black 24" Next Bike is designed to handle the toughest trails, or enjoy cruising with friends or family. This Next Mountain Bike for boys features a Shimano 18-speed drive train and easy to use grip index shifters. The black 24" Next Bike is equipped with V-brakes for added safety. In addition, the Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike is easy to assemble means that boys will be out on the trail in no time. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation78%46 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Good bike but can be taller than expected.

08/17/2013
By ,
hudson valley, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I reviewed other bikes and this looked better than the rest with the price. We needed a bike for a tall 9yr with gears so he can go up hills. This was easy to assemble, the cables are already attached so I didn't have to do any fine adjusting. The only big issue I had is that with the rear shock directly below the seat, I could not drop the seat all the way down because the rear shock is in the way unlike other bikes with a full hollow tube and no rear shock. (plus can't carry a water bottle) I guess he will just have to grow into it. The kickstand was a little poor and has a hard time holding up the bike. Another part I didn't like was that there was no quick disconnect for the front wheel maybe that is safer but at least the front wheel will not be easy to steal. He does beat the kids on the block with the 20" dirt bikes, so I think it was a good move. The post may seem to have some concerns but I am just trying to inform the readers and think for the price it was a good overall bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great even for a Women

01/12/2013
By ,
Romeoville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 26 year old 5.5 135 pound women, I went to Walmart to seek out a bike that would last me. I narrowed the search down to this bike priced at $99 and the 24in pink women's Mongoose Mountain bike priced at $139. I rode them around and tested 4 other bikes for about 2 hours. I was not as worried about the price as I was about the workmanship and quality of these chines made bikes. Parts made of steal or aluminum so there will be a lack of rusting and nice shocks to absorb bumbs and such. I just got it but I am so happy with my choice, I will change/update this posting if the bike breaks down from manufactures defect and not from user abuse. My 1st bike was a Huffy that I got when I was in 4th grade and it lasted me through Junior year of High School till stolen. I got another bike after that, that fell apart 1 week after owning it. I am excited to try out this brand of bike "Next"! It came in black and a beautiful rust like orange, I wanted black so it was not going to be targeted by thief's and scrappers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

It looks cool & costs 75% less than a road bike

12/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quite frankly I bought the bike this evening based on looks and it’s completely assembled ready to go. I’m 5’5” and need a bike with a 25” step over height. I normally race motorcycles so test riding bicycle’s seems pretty vulnerable with the skinny tires and suspect gear shifting. I’ve tried to build 3 different bicycles that feel as intuitive as my motorcycle but work the way a cycling road bike should. When pay day rolls around I’ll take it to a professional cycle mechanic to get it properly fitted and swap out the WalMart bells and whistles for sturdier and higher quality Shimano components which will end up running me another $300. I’m going to riding in a 7 day 545 charity event in 5 months and I figured I’d better start training. I’ve tried three other bikes trying to build the perfect combination between something that I like the look of and something both light enough and durable enough to put 2,500 road miles on it in the next 6 months. Ironically, it would have been cheaper to just go buy a Cannondale road bike 7 months ago but that’s not my style. Once the the Wally World special is fitted and I’ve put 600 to 700 miles on it I’ll post a second review. Cheers!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Each bike was rusty

12/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were very disappointed to discover after researching and deciding which bike to buy, that EVERY Next PX 4.0 bike was rusty! The rust was primarily on the screws going into the hand brakes and around the pedals. Please inspect closely any bike you consider purchasing of this brand.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
Due to outside storage
Posted 12/17/2014
The problem with the rusty screws is not the product itself, but it is because Walmart has them assembled in November and then stores them outside in the garden center so they get wet. Just notice this the next time you have to go to the store and you will probably see bikes lined up in the garden center. Purchased a bike last year for my daughter and drove to three stores before finding the bike we wanted which had been stored in an area so it did not have rusty screws.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Bike is OK but the tire blew up on third use

04/29/2013
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe I just got a defective tire, but the front tire was leaking air and when I pumped (to about 50 psi; range on tire indicated 45-60 psi) before third ride on the bike, it just burst (made quite a loud pop). Now waiting for another tire. Needless to say, my son was quite unhappy to have to ride his old 20-inch until the new tire arrives.
It was also quite hard to adjust the front brakes (the tire wobbles sideways a bit too much) and front derailleur (gear-shifter); rear wheel was mostly OK though rear derailleur had to be adjusted a bit (went up only to 5th gear so the high-gear screw had to be loosened a bit).
Finally, there is a part that looks like possibly a water bottle holder but isn't and is not described in the manual and doesn't fit anywhere on the bike. I've assembled enough bikes that I'm quite positive it's unnecessary but I'd rather not have leftover parts (one can never be too sure)...
Otherwise the bike is quite nice and I probably would buy it again despite the issues.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike, really heavy

04/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for a 12 year old because I thought it looked cool, and he certainly agreed! That was was my primary concern, but it's actually a nice bike especially considering the price. It's got a full suspension and Shimano shifters that are easy and smooth to operate. Certain gear combinations result in a ticking sound from the chain but that happens on any bike. Just keep the chain on the center chainring and you'll have 6 very usable speeds with no noise. I like the quick-adjust seatpost as well. The only negative is the weight - this bike is very heavy but that is to be expected from a steel frame, and aluminum bikes are much more expensive. The rider probably won't notice the weight but I sure do when trying to load it into the truck. Still, I'm happy and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
11/05/2012
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how you can switch the gears. It's also great for doing tricks on. It works well on my gravel driveway and through the bike trail in the woods by my house. I've had it for 5 months and I haven't had any problems. I really like this bike. It's a nice bike and the best one I've owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

This is a great entry level mountain bike.

10/26/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has many features only found on much higher price bikes, like a quality shifter and Shimano Derailleur. I bought it as a starter bike for my grandson. I guess we will see how it stands up, but the workmanship is good. I heartily recommend this bike, a good value for your dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
06/11/2013
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have an 11 year old who is on the smaller size and this bike is the perfect size for him. He is able to change gears easily and the bike is not too heavy for him to maneuver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

great for the price

03/24/2013
By ,
atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gears take a little coaxing and gentle movement, but other than that, great bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Sturdy mountain bike, nice design

11/22/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy mountain bike with a nice design. Springs help make impact softer for the rider. Purchased this as a gift. Free shipping. Great quality. Saw this assembled at the Walmart store and sat on the seat to make sure it was sturdy and comfortable. Looked at a lot of other bikes before deciding on this one. It's a little pricier than the others, but like I said, it's quality and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike for the money

04/26/2013
By ,
Annapolis, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9-yr-old son has had this bike for about 4 weeks now and has been on it almost every day even if only for 15 minutes and he really likes it! Its a cool looking bike and seems pretty sturdy. A lot of the other bikes we looked at that looked similar to this bike in terms of style were a lot more expensive. I did the online order with store pick-up and we drove over and picked it up the very next day. It was VERY convenient and didn't cost anything extra AND the bike was already put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

A "Real" bike for kids.

07/19/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what kids really want. The gear shifting is almost second nature. The all black finish and sleek design will have all the kids wanting to try it. It's powerful enough for adults as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike for my 9-year-old!

04/25/2013
By ,
Haverford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The smile on the face of our son when he first saw it says it all.
Although it seems a little heavy, it is going to be primarily used as a neighborhood bike, not a mountain, racing bike. Its sturdiness is probably a plus.
We have only had it for a couple of weeks, but so far it has been great. Well-built, assembled perfectly and great looking. Seems like a very good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

What a Great Bargain

03/23/2013
By ,
Gold Beach Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has all the basics of a bicycle for enjoying around the local area.
It's price is really spot on for an 18 speed rugged bicycle.
It is not a sporting bicycle but neither is the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Cool bike!

06/10/2013
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bike because it is easy to shift. It goes fast & has shocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Nice starter mountain bicycle

03/11/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised to find this bicycle at Walmart. The paint schemes simple and understated and similar to the flat denim black on my Harley. For the price, it was a very reasonable deal. My son loves it--the gears are very manageable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Love it

08/07/2013
By ,
Houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great had it for like a month now I use it all over the neighborhood park it's great easy to put together and runs smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

So far, so good

11/08/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only reason I haven't given it five stars is that we haven't had it long enough to know how it will last. My 11-year-old son was thrilled, as he saved the money himself, and this was the nicest bike he could afford. So far he's really enjoying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
10/30/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for a young child
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next