Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

The Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike is a great full suspension bike. The frame of this black 24" Next Bike is designed to handle the toughest trails, or enjoy cruising with friends or family. This Next Mountain Bike for boys features a Shimano 18-speed drive train and easy to use grip index shifters. The black 24" Next Bike is equipped with V-brakes for added safety. In addition, the Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike is easy to assemble means that boys will be out on the trail in no time. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Next PX 4.0 24" Mountain Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation79%45 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Good bike but can be taller than expected.

08/17/2013
By ,
hudson valley, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I reviewed other bikes and this looked better than the rest with the price. We needed a bike for a tall 9yr with gears so he can go up hills. This was easy to assemble, the cables are already attached so I didn't have to do any fine adjusting. The only big issue I had is that with the rear shock directly below the seat, I could not drop the seat all the way down because the rear shock is in the way unlike other bikes with a full hollow tube and no rear shock. (plus can't carry a water bottle) I guess he will just have to grow into it. The kickstand was a little poor and has a hard time holding up the bike. Another part I didn't like was that there was no quick disconnect for the front wheel maybe that is safer but at least the front wheel will not be easy to steal. He does beat the kids on the block with the 20" dirt bikes, so I think it was a good move. The post may seem to have some concerns but I am just trying to inform the readers and think for the price it was a good overall bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 2 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great even for a Women

01/12/2013
By ,
Romeoville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 26 year old 5.5 135 pound women, I went to Walmart to seek out a bike that would last me. I narrowed the search down to this bike priced at $99 and the 24in pink women's Mongoose Mountain bike priced at $139. I rode them around and tested 4 other bikes for about 2 hours. I was not as worried about the price as I was about the workmanship and quality of these chines made bikes. Parts made of steal or aluminum so there will be a lack of rusting and nice shocks to absorb bumbs and such. I just got it but I am so happy with my choice, I will change/update this posting if the bike breaks down from manufactures defect and not from user abuse. My 1st bike was a Huffy that I got when I was in 4th grade and it lasted me through Junior year of High School till stolen. I got another bike after that, that fell apart 1 week after owning it. I am excited to try out this brand of bike "Next"! It came in black and a beautiful rust like orange, I wanted black so it was not going to be targeted by thief's and scrappers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 3 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Bike is OK but the tire blew up on third use

04/29/2013
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe I just got a defective tire, but the front tire was leaking air and when I pumped (to about 50 psi; range on tire indicated 45-60 psi) before third ride on the bike, it just burst (made quite a loud pop). Now waiting for another tire. Needless to say, my son was quite unhappy to have to ride his old 20-inch until the new tire arrives.
It was also quite hard to adjust the front brakes (the tire wobbles sideways a bit too much) and front derailleur (gear-shifter); rear wheel was mostly OK though rear derailleur had to be adjusted a bit (went up only to 5th gear so the high-gear screw had to be loosened a bit).
Finally, there is a part that looks like possibly a water bottle holder but isn't and is not described in the manual and doesn't fit anywhere on the bike. I've assembled enough bikes that I'm quite positive it's unnecessary but I'd rather not have leftover parts (one can never be too sure)...
Otherwise the bike is quite nice and I probably would buy it again despite the issues.
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 4 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike, really heavy

04/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for a 12 year old because I thought it looked cool, and he certainly agreed! That was was my primary concern, but it's actually a nice bike especially considering the price. It's got a full suspension and Shimano shifters that are easy and smooth to operate. Certain gear combinations result in a ticking sound from the chain but that happens on any bike. Just keep the chain on the center chainring and you'll have 6 very usable speeds with no noise. I like the quick-adjust seatpost as well. The only negative is the weight - this bike is very heavy but that is to be expected from a steel frame, and aluminum bikes are much more expensive. The rider probably won't notice the weight but I sure do when trying to load it into the truck. Still, I'm happy and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 5 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

This is a great entry level mountain bike.

10/26/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has many features only found on much higher price bikes, like a quality shifter and Shimano Derailleur. I bought it as a starter bike for my grandson. I guess we will see how it stands up, but the workmanship is good. I heartily recommend this bike, a good value for your dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 6 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
11/05/2012
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how you can switch the gears. It's also great for doing tricks on. It works well on my gravel driveway and through the bike trail in the woods by my house. I've had it for 5 months and I haven't had any problems. I really like this bike. It's a nice bike and the best one I've owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 7 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
06/11/2013
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have an 11 year old who is on the smaller size and this bike is the perfect size for him. He is able to change gears easily and the bike is not too heavy for him to maneuver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 8 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Sturdy mountain bike, nice design

11/22/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy mountain bike with a nice design. Springs help make impact softer for the rider. Purchased this as a gift. Free shipping. Great quality. Saw this assembled at the Walmart store and sat on the seat to make sure it was sturdy and comfortable. Looked at a lot of other bikes before deciding on this one. It's a little pricier than the others, but like I said, it's quality and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 9 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike for the money

04/26/2013
By ,
Annapolis, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9-yr-old son has had this bike for about 4 weeks now and has been on it almost every day even if only for 15 minutes and he really likes it! Its a cool looking bike and seems pretty sturdy. A lot of the other bikes we looked at that looked similar to this bike in terms of style were a lot more expensive. I did the online order with store pick-up and we drove over and picked it up the very next day. It was VERY convenient and didn't cost anything extra AND the bike was already put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

A "Real" bike for kids.

07/19/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what kids really want. The gear shifting is almost second nature. The all black finish and sleek design will have all the kids wanting to try it. It's powerful enough for adults as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 11 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

great for the price

03/24/2013
By ,
atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gears take a little coaxing and gentle movement, but other than that, great bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 12 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Love it

08/07/2013
By ,
Houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great had it for like a month now I use it all over the neighborhood park it's great easy to put together and runs smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike for my 9-year-old!

04/25/2013
By ,
Haverford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The smile on the face of our son when he first saw it says it all.
Although it seems a little heavy, it is going to be primarily used as a neighborhood bike, not a mountain, racing bike. Its sturdiness is probably a plus.
We have only had it for a couple of weeks, but so far it has been great. Well-built, assembled perfectly and great looking. Seems like a very good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

What a Great Bargain

03/23/2013
By ,
Gold Beach Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has all the basics of a bicycle for enjoying around the local area.
It's price is really spot on for an 18 speed rugged bicycle.
It is not a sporting bicycle but neither is the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 15 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Cool bike!

06/10/2013
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bike because it is easy to shift. It goes fast & has shocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Excellent bike for the price

08/15/2013
By ,
Coleman
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only downfall is I'm 5'1" and 24" is a little small and 26" is too big otherwise excellent bike. Definately recommend it to everyone. Light weight and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Nice starter mountain bicycle

03/11/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised to find this bicycle at Walmart. The paint schemes simple and understated and similar to the flat denim black on my Harley. For the price, it was a very reasonable deal. My son loves it--the gears are very manageable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
07/29/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike for my 10 and 9yr old boys rugged frame and good balance decent trail rider excellent on road.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 19 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great Bicycle

01/04/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas for an 11 year old boy, it went together easiily, it is a great looking bike, rides well, he has no problems with it. This is a wonderful choice for a new bike for a child, he was very thrilled with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
10/30/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for a young child
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next