Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

NEXT 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

The PX 4.0 Mountain Bike is a great full suspension bike. The frame is designed to handle the toughest trails, or enjoy cruising with friends or family. It features a Shimano 18-speed drive train and easy to use grip index shifters. The PX 4.0 is equipped with V-brakes for added safety. In addition, its easy assembly means that boys will be out on the trail in no time. Great news! If you select Site to Store delivery, you can call your local store as complimentary assembly may be offered at that location.
Average Customer Rating:
3.861 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation75%54 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Good bike but can be taller than expected.

08/17/2013
By ,
hudson valley, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I reviewed other bikes and this looked better than the rest with the price. We needed a bike for a tall 9yr with gears so he can go up hills. This was easy to assemble, the cables are already attached so I didn't have to do any fine adjusting. The only big issue I had is that with the rear shock directly below the seat, I could not drop the seat all the way down because the rear shock is in the way unlike other bikes with a full hollow tube and no rear shock. (plus can't carry a water bottle) I guess he will just have to grow into it. The kickstand was a little poor and has a hard time holding up the bike. Another part I didn't like was that there was no quick disconnect for the front wheel maybe that is safer but at least the front wheel will not be easy to steal. He does beat the kids on the block with the 20" dirt bikes, so I think it was a good move. The post may seem to have some concerns but I am just trying to inform the readers and think for the price it was a good overall bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great even for a Women

01/12/2013
By ,
Romeoville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 26 year old 5.5 135 pound women, I went to Walmart to seek out a bike that would last me. I narrowed the search down to this bike priced at $99 and the 24in pink women's Mongoose Mountain bike priced at $139. I rode them around and tested 4 other bikes for about 2 hours. I was not as worried about the price as I was about the workmanship and quality of these chines made bikes. Parts made of steal or aluminum so there will be a lack of rusting and nice shocks to absorb bumbs and such. I just got it but I am so happy with my choice, I will change/update this posting if the bike breaks down from manufactures defect and not from user abuse. My 1st bike was a Huffy that I got when I was in 4th grade and it lasted me through Junior year of High School till stolen. I got another bike after that, that fell apart 1 week after owning it. I am excited to try out this brand of bike "Next"! It came in black and a beautiful rust like orange, I wanted black so it was not going to be targeted by thief's and scrappers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Bike is OK but the tire blew up on third use

04/29/2013
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe I just got a defective tire, but the front tire was leaking air and when I pumped (to about 50 psi; range on tire indicated 45-60 psi) before third ride on the bike, it just burst (made quite a loud pop). Now waiting for another tire. Needless to say, my son was quite unhappy to have to ride his old 20-inch until the new tire arrives.
It was also quite hard to adjust the front brakes (the tire wobbles sideways a bit too much) and front derailleur (gear-shifter); rear wheel was mostly OK though rear derailleur had to be adjusted a bit (went up only to 5th gear so the high-gear screw had to be loosened a bit).
Finally, there is a part that looks like possibly a water bottle holder but isn't and is not described in the manual and doesn't fit anywhere on the bike. I've assembled enough bikes that I'm quite positive it's unnecessary but I'd rather not have leftover parts (one can never be too sure)...
Otherwise the bike is quite nice and I probably would buy it again despite the issues.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Not good

07/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has too many dants or some part missing
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Bike broke in 3 days

07/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike was not worth spending my money on it was broke in 3 days!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

zero stars

07/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality bike
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

very disappointed 2 bikes in 24 hours

06/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we purchased this bike for my son, got it home, double checked the assembly and tire pressure on it, road it out of our drive way got to the neighbors driveway and the tire/inner tube blew. Called and they told us to return it. Went in the next day, gave another bike, got it home double checked everything. he road it down to our ball fields just down the street from our house. as it was just parked on the concrete with no one near it, the front tire popped. So back to wal-mart, the manager was great I talked to him about it said he doesn't get it they have been selling bikes like crazy no recalls. So in the end he gave us another brand of bike and ate the difference since we live out of town and had to keep driving in. So hear is to hoping no issues.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
11/05/2012
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how you can switch the gears. It's also great for doing tricks on. It works well on my gravel driveway and through the bike trail in the woods by my house. I've had it for 5 months and I haven't had any problems. I really like this bike. It's a nice bike and the best one I've owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

awesome bike for an awesome price

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 49 year old male bike rider who has had trouble in the past finding bikes that I could ride. I am only 5-4 and the 26' bikes are just to tall for me. I searched and searched for a new bike to use and I just could not find one. Went to Walmart a month ago and found the Next PX 4.0 Boys mountain bike ( I know what your thinking) A boys for a man. I know I thought the same thing until I brought it home and rode it for the first time. it shifted flawlessly, rode like a dream, and fast. I took the curves like I haven't in a long time... Walmart down the street from where I live takes very good care of their bikes and never stores them outside. My bike still had all the plastic on it, 'IE' seat handle bars and so on. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a low priced Mountain Bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

bike assembly

07/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Problem: it was assembled in haste and we had a problem with the tire and brake adjustments. It seemed that the wheel was crooked.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

This is a great entry level mountain bike.

10/26/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has many features only found on much higher price bikes, like a quality shifter and Shimano Derailleur. I bought it as a starter bike for my grandson. I guess we will see how it stands up, but the workmanship is good. I heartily recommend this bike, a good value for your dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Good bike

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this bike. It was easy for him to learn to switch gears and has been great on the trails as well as around the neighborhood
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike, really heavy

04/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for a 12 year old because I thought it looked cool, and he certainly agreed! That was was my primary concern, but it's actually a nice bike especially considering the price. It's got a full suspension and Shimano shifters that are easy and smooth to operate. Certain gear combinations result in a ticking sound from the chain but that happens on any bike. Just keep the chain on the center chainring and you'll have 6 very usable speeds with no noise. I like the quick-adjust seatpost as well. The only negative is the weight - this bike is very heavy but that is to be expected from a steel frame, and aluminum bikes are much more expensive. The rider probably won't notice the weight but I sure do when trying to load it into the truck. Still, I'm happy and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Great

07/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is great for my 10 year old son!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

birthday gift

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its great, i gave it to my little brother for his birthday he loved it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Rim bent after 2 days

06/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son liked the bike, however after 2 days the rim bent and we had to take it back. Read some other reviews and other people had the same problem.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black
06/11/2013
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have an 11 year old who is on the smaller size and this bike is the perfect size for him. He is able to change gears easily and the bike is not too heavy for him to maneuver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

My son loves it

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves it!!! It is the perfect for his hieght and rides very smooth
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Next PX 4.0

06/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike for the money. My son loves it. We put it together and it was fairly easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 24" Next PX 4.0 Boys' Mountain Bike, Black

Each bike was rusty

12/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were very disappointed to discover after researching and deciding which bike to buy, that EVERY Next PX 4.0 bike was rusty! The rust was primarily on the screws going into the hand brakes and around the pedals. Please inspect closely any bike you consider purchasing of this brand.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
Due to outside storage
Posted 12/17/2014
The problem with the rusty screws is not the product itself, but it is because Walmart has them assembled in November and then stores them outside in the garden center so they get wet. Just notice this the next time you have to go to the store and you will probably see bikes lined up in the garden center. Purchased a bike last year for my daughter and drove to three stores before finding the bike we wanted which had been stored in an area so it did not have rusty screws.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next