Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hyper Bicycles 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Hyper Bicycles 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

With this 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, you can get out and enjoy the great outdoors in style. The 29" MTB Bike has an aluminum frame with front and rear suspension, oversized 29-inch MTB wheels, knobby tires and front disc brakes. The men's bike in black also features a comfortable padded seat and mountain handlebars. The 29" MTB Bike has 21 speeds to choose from, giving you excellent performance power. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Hyper Explorer 29" Mens Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation83%53 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 90 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Amazing bike for the price!

07/06/2014
By ,
Highland, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike when I was just getting into mountain biking because I wanted something new that didn't need to be fixed. I didn't want to spend thousands on a bike like those crazy people do and I found this one at Walmart. I did my research and eventually bought this one. I am very very happy with my purchase. I have ridden it hard and ridden it a lot. I have had it for 1.5 years and a couple months ago I took it on the Slick Rock trail in Moab, UT. The only things I have replaced on it was one tube and a chain. Other than that it has needed no maintenance. The value of this bike is amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

29" Hyper Explorer Mountain bike, Black

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So if your reading this you are considering this bike to purchase and you are probably on a budget just like me. I didn't have crazy expectations for this bike or any bike from a corporate chain store but you search for the best for what you can afford.
I found this bike for my 200.00 budget and I've had it for a couple of weeks now and have put maybe 10 miles on it and it has been great. Riding on trails, off trails and making my way through the woods I have really enjoyed this bike. Most reviews of the negative side I read and some positives seems like people have faith in someone else's ability to assemble a mechanical components. Well let me tell you if you get this bike or any bike from a place that throws them together day after day as fast as they can, take the time to look it over yourself and make sure it's assembled right like nuts, bolts and cables are tight and lubed. I did this and I haven't had one problem with this hyper. I've beat it up and really rode this bike and haven't found any issues other that the derailleurs need minor adjustment. Clean it after each ride and keep the basics clean and lubed. I would buy this bike again and it's been great so far.
Yes the parts aren't top of the line but a couple of years ago they were. So with anything take care of it and it should last. I'd say the only upgrades needed it better tires but I'll ride until these go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Excellent Bike for the price

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike. The gearing shirts very smoothly and the brakes work excellent. My only problem is that the person who assembled it before I got it shipped to my house made the rear suspension too tight which resulted in a really stiff shock, so I have to get it adjusted but its rlly not that big a deal. I've had it about a week now and it rides so smooth and amazing. I do recommend getting aluminum pedals as it comes with standard plastic ones.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Looks great, but far from it

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upon first seeing this bike, it looks great, and at a sub-$200 price point, it looks like an incredible value. Full gears, and front and rear suspension. It looks like a really solid bike. Unfortunately, an economics will confirm this, since the price point is so low, that results in low quality parts, and assembly. I'm no bike specialist, and my initial use of this bike was only 2 miles a day on paved roads. However, after a few days I see that the front shocks are creaking and squeaking. I take it to a bike shop, and they instantly ask how much I paid for this bike. You can see the parts used on this bike are quite cheap. The creaking I was experiencing was an internal problem in the shock, and cannot really be fixed without replacing the bike. Not only that, it's just a safety concern. I will be spending a little more money, but getting a bike that will be more durable and will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great Bike

06/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bike, feels very high quality, I opted to put it together myself and i think my brake might be a little tight, but besides that it is very nice and solid. As a 29" bike it feels quite different from the 26" i had for several years, and on my old bike the gear shifter broke so it was always on the highest setting, and the highest speed on a 21 speed 26" and the highest on a 21 speed 29" are very different. The 29" is harder in my opinion, but the fact that I can shift on this one makes up for it. :P When shifting gears it doesn't skip and it doesn't have "gaps" between gears like some other bikes, and it can also go very fast quite comfortably. Also handles off-road quite well, handles bumps like a champ. Handles quite differently from my previous 26", so it takes some getting used to at first but overall I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Comfortable and fit for a paved bike trail

10/05/2013
By ,
Houston Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the purchase of this bike and have had this for about 3 weeks. I began to ride again almost 18 years after my high school days. I looked up all the expensive options in bike stores at Performance bikes and Bike barn and eventually settled on this because the price was very competitive. At the end it was down to Walmart and Target which had a very similar choice so I would have probably bought from Target but by now I was only choosing between models and this one appealed to me.
The bike comes almost built up, needing only the front wheel, pedals and handle bar fitted. The aluminium frame is sturdy but I won't say it will last decades, particularly since the suspension is the complex 4 link. The gears tend to slip a bit on the rear derailleur but this can be taken to a bike shop to have adjusted. If you plan to use this bike on the road than I would suggest replacing the knobby tyres to slick tyres, I plan to do this soon.
The only sore point on this bike for me was that there are no bottle cage screw bosses on the tube so I had to buy bottle cage adapter from amazon. Other than that this is a perfect and good quality 29" bike for the price at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike
Posted 03/13/2014
I need to know what size diameter is the seat post, i need to order a new one, but i want to make sure it will fit in the post hole in the frame...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

great buy!!!

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought this bike for my boyfriend for father's day and he loves it. Would recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great bike for a bigger guy

05/28/2013
By ,
North Vernon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is quality built. I am a large guy (6'4" 280lbs) and this bike suits me just fine. The shocks are impressive and the gearing worked well enough to ride straight out of the box. (Although I will be taking it to a shop to have the gearing tuned as it seems to take a while to catch the gear selected). The frame is sturdy, although the weight restriction is 275, I have no after-thought about stressing the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Rugged bike for good price, with few issues

05/09/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bike. Got this as a gift from my family, when our little one started using a "big boy" bike with no training wheels. And, so it started with trips to bike trails and brisk neighborhood rides.
I outfitted this thing with a bunch of useful gadgets, specifically the rear rack, rear cargo bag, front/middle cargo bags, bottle cage, and installed an aftermarket Bell seat with a bit more cushioning and shorter overall length.
This bike cuts through rock, dirt and mud with ease. I'm a tall guy, and this monster has no issues carrying my height/weight on the trails. It is light, as the construction is all-aluminum. I love the disc brake in the front, it's very responsive and a lot neater than clamp style brakes.
Suspension is absolutely superb, this bike absorbs shock so well that it almost feels like a light motorcycle.
Speed shifting has its issues however. It's sort of a hit or miss, and sometimes shifting up and down a few times, with fine thumb adjustment until it gets smooth, may be required. Once you are in the gear you want and it works smooth, everything is fine... But on the trails, it's constant up and down, so getting into the exact gear you want can get tricky. Although effortlessly operated, the overall construction of shift switches worries me a little bit, as they are made of somewhat thin plastic.
Overall, this is a great bike. This was purchased very well pre-assembled, and kudos to Walmart for great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Harrisburg, PA
Accessories - answer
Posted 05/15/2013
Actually, the rear rack I bought for this bike is available right there at Walmart in the bike accessories department.
Here it is, by Schwinn: http://www.walmart.com/ip/17248454?wmlspartner=wlpa&adid=22222222227015514284&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=&wl3=18151288870&wl4=&wl5=pla&veh=sem
0points
Customer Avatar
Moberly, MO
simply question
Posted 05/12/2013
you say you bought a rear rack, and rear cargo bag. please, i'm curious to know what exact one of these you bought. as in the past for me, its hard finding certain rear racks that fit certain types of bikes. a link would be most helpful if you would, please?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Super bike for EASY FLAT rides

09/21/2013
By ,
York, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, i bought this bike in a Wal-mart store for $200 then found Wal-mart.com had it for $180! Had to return one to the store and then boght it again on line.
Second, this bike looks good, and was nice to ride for the price. Great for riding around my town or on our local rail-trail. I decided to buy this bike after reading the reviews. I should have listened to the reviews that said DO NOT TAKE THIS ON TECHNICAL TRAILS. I will attest to those reviews. The first technical trail i took it on (which was rated as moderate), I litteraly beat the bike apart. The rear wheel bearings were trashed (not strong enough for trails) and I even damaged the crank bearings.
I took it back the next day and went to my local bike shop and got a cheaper "better" bike.
Again, this bike is great for roads and flat trails, not for technical, rocky, or trails with roots etc...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great bike for the price. Walmart assembled great.

04/05/2013
By ,
Appleton Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK i read all the existing reviews and others from the 26 inch Hyper Mountain bike. This is a very well built bike. I ordered it on line and waited for it to arrive at the store. Then i called and asked them to assemble it for me. I also spoke to the bike tech that was going to be putting it together for me. I had mentioned that Walmart does not get very good reviews on bike assemblies. John the bike tech assured me that he would do his best an putting it together and also asked when i would be coming in to pick it up so he could make any adjustments for me. The bike was built when i picked it up with nothing needed to be adjusted. The pedals are kind of cheap, but the seat is better that expected. I also ordered this item when the price was $219.95. The price dropped to $199.95 while i was waiting for it to arrive. I called customer service and they made the price adjustment. The people at the store can not adjust walmart.com products. I did however purchase the extended 3 year warranty for an additional $19.00. That was because of all the negative reviews i read about this bike. So far i love the bike. It has a lot of great features for a bike priced below $200.00. Money well spent. Walmart did a great job putting it together as well. 5 stars and 2 thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great bike for the price

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6 foot 1, 245 and this is a very solid and sturdy bike. It has everything a $500 plus bike has. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Best bang for the buck

06/04/2013
By ,
Orange, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start off by saying that this is a very solid bike for anyone interested in starting out mountain biking. I chose this for certain key features; front/rear suspension, 29" rims, front disc brakes and the Shimano parts. It's hard to find a mountian with all these features in this budget price range so this definitely get points for being a good value.
First the good. Like I said, the bike performs as you would expect it too. I've taken it on paved roads, dirt roads and off-roads and the suspensions were firm and doing their jobs. The gear shifters are levers that feel comfortable to use with your thumb and index and for the most part, reliable--though I did unhook my chains once while switching on an especially bumby road.
Now the bad (sort of). For $200 this is a budget bike no matter how you look at it. This is especially glaring when I put it next to my Northrock mountain bike. Unlike my Northrock bike, this bike does have a "cheapnest" feel to it; the gears are not as smooth, the tires are not as wide or thick, the peddles are plastic, even the kickstand doesn't feel smooth when retracting it. Other things I've noticed is that the fork squeaks a bit and there are not holes for water bottles.
I know what you must be thinking, this guy doesn't like the bike but in fact I love this bike! It does everything you need (basically) and it's cheap. For what you paid for this is a good deal. Real mountain bikes cost $2k-$6k so don't expect performance quality when you buy it. Like a Corolla, it'll get you where you want to go but it's no Lambo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great bycicle for the money

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would rate this bycicle a perfect 10 for the pricing. I would recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

nice bike

07/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

We Will See How Long This Bike Holds Up

07/15/2013
By ,
Metro Atlanta, Ga.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me prefix my choice of not choosing this bike because of only the shimano rear gears being a little difficult to operate. I don't know how long they will last. I they last then this will be a great bike for the long haul. Other than that I can't say yes till more time is put in.
I have ridden this bike a few times for about 45 minutes at a time, and I have had issues with the rear gears switching. The front gears work with no issues. I like the suspension, it really works great and makes for a smooth ride. The rear gears are the only thing that seems to be an area of uncertainty. I have ridden on multiple terrain surfaces and really like the ride during these outings. I guess I will do a little more research on the shimano gears. At a 29" span, this is a true "ABs" workout machine. Get ripped using this MTB.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

Great Bike for tall & overweight

07/16/2014
By ,
Breckenridge, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was somewhat leery about purchasing this bike because I am 400+ pounds and 6'3". I however took the chance (also was very concerned about spending $200) and could not be happier.
This bike is awesome. It is great for my height and weight. The tires to squat somewhat, but no other issues with it. I have been using it now for 3 weeks and cannot complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

bike

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
only riding once for 4 miles
Easy to assy and so far very happy way the bike works and ride
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

nice but scrathed up

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very nice bike but packing was poor, bike shipped fast the only problem was that it had alot of scratches right down to the bare metal and through some of the decals I bought it for my son and he didnt complain to much needs to be packed much better
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 29" Hyper Explorer Mens Mountain Bike with Full Suspension, Black

great bike

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome mountain bike smooth ride
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next