Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Enjoy your media in stunning Blu-ray full HD 1080p with the LG Blu ray Player BP125. You'll bring the cinema experience home with external HDD playback, which provides one-touch access to images, music and videos stored on external hard drives. This Blu-ray disc player offers full HD 1080p upscaling for regular DVDs. It also provides playback for DVD discs, USB and HD-grade movie files. Dolby Digital/True HD sound will make you feel like you're sitting right in the movie theater. So just sit back — and enjoy the show.
Average Customer Rating:
4.212 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
135
3 stars
31
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation90%434 out of 481reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
135
3 stars
31
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

great product lousy shipping

11/30/2012
By ,
Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive ordered from walmart numerous times and never had a problem, but this time i ordered this player and its great..my problem is how it was shipped, it was shipped without a shipping box..it came to my home in its original blu ray box with my address label slapped on the blu ray box and receipt paper tucked inside the lid of the blu ray box..even the fed ex guy said hed never had a shipment like that before..after this I doubt i will chance doing another order online again..i will get it directly from the store..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 2 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Can not go wrong for a $39 Blu-Ray Player

12/03/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, the last time I bought a Blu-ray player (two years ago) it was a $39 Magnavox. It has worked flawlessly, though is a little slow on ejecting disks and starting the disk. I bought this LG for $39 just to see how it compares.
Amazingly, this DVD player is about 2/3 the size of a standard Blu-ray player. It's tiny and light weight. It's so small that the power supply is not in the unit - it is in the power cable. That seemed strange to me, but hey - it works fine.
I am particularly impressed with the speed of the unit. It is at least twice as fast as my 2 year old Magnavox. It loads and plays and ejects Blu-ray discs much faster. It even has a button on the remote to go straight to the main movie and play it (thus skipping the previews). So far I am very satisfied with this $39 purchase. Upconversion to 1080p from regular DVDs looks great. Blu-rays look stunning, as always. It has a front USB jack for playing multimedia files - but I haven't messed with that yet (if I ever will).
I am a little nervous about how small and lightweight this little device is. We'll see if it can take the test of time. For $39 - I don't know how you could go wrong.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Plays Data BDR discs and USB HDD with video files

11/30/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the price, you can't beat the functionality of playing BD-R, BD-RE playback with either BD compliant structure or plain Data Discs with movie files. Played MKV, AVI, MP4, and M2TS streams. Also can read 500GB to 750GB USB HDD (portables, powered by the USB itself), but can't read my 1.5TB portable and 3TB external; just wishing. It played my HDTV recordings from Windows Media Center, converted from WTV to DVR-MS to MKV. I don't know the reliability of these players but if you need a cheap one with many playback features, then this is it. It's another story if you want Netflix streaming, 3D playback and other network features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Review 4 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Firmware can render your player useless --Have fix

01/09/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I went to update the firmware on the device by downloading the file from LG's website. After applying it and rebooting it went into a blue screen with update failed try again. After trying to re-download the file and everything else I could not get past this.
So I found on another forum someone had the same issue. They mentioned to download the firmware for the BP120 instead from the CA site (Google BP120 firmware to get the link). The file will be called LG_BD_7200M51.ROM. Rename this LG_BD_7300M51.ROM and apply it. It will fix the issue and you should get the home page. Next download the BP125 firmware, this time rename it from LG_BD_7300M51.ROM to LG_BD_7300M51.ROM. Apply the update and power the unit back on. This will fix the issue and you will have the updated firmware.
LG needs to do a better job and offer next day air on a replacement if they keep messing the firmware up. There are lots of people that have this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Played first BD but not 2nd BD disc that we tried

01/02/2013
By ,
IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first blu-ray disc played without any problems other than a slight glitch which resolved itself at one point in the movie. The 2nd blu-ray disc we tried wouldn't even register as a movie and wouldn't play. Checked online support and found a firmware update. Downloaded it to a usb per the instructions and then tried to update the BD player to see if it would resolve the issue. The update failed. The screen instructed us to try again and contact customer support if it continued to fail. Contacted customer support after several failed attempts at loading the update and they weren't much help. They did offer to send an upgrade disc but there isn't a guarantee the patch will even address the problem with this specific disc and what happens the next time there is an update. It is stuck on the failed update screen at this point even after powering off and also tried unplugging the unit. We have a LG DVD player that frequently freezes while watching movies which is part of the reason we decided to go ahead and upgrade to a BD player. I should have known better than to purchase this brand again. Will be returning the BD player a.s.a.p.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Great beginner model

12/08/2012
By ,
Easton,PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a great entry level blue ray as far as cost goes. It is also small so you don't need much room. It only has an HDMI hook up so make sure you have one on your tv before buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+18points
Review 7 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!!!

12/25/2012
By ,
Spokane WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It all started from the day that it arrived at my house... I ordered it for my husband for christmas and every single time that I have ordered ANYTHING online it has always came in a regular brown card board box with the product box inside of that one. Well, because of that I wasnt worried that my husband answered the door when the fed ex person knocked on the door. Everyone in this house had ordered stuff off the internet so I didnt think twice anyways The blu ray player was for my husbands xmas gift and when he opened the door the fed ex guy handed him the blu ray player box as if he had just gotten it off the shelf at walmart anyways when he hooked the stupid thing up it wouldnt play the blu ray disc's it would play the dvd's just fine but not the blu ray's. My hiusband spent almost 2 hours on xmas eve on the phone with LG and they didnt know a thing they just kept going around and around in circles. So no I wouldnt recommend this product what so ever I am taking the stupid thing back to walmart as soon as the store opens!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 8 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

It goes above and beyond!

11/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is great! It supports bitstream, 7.1 dolby and dts audio. I would say the best thing about this player is that it supports hd movie playback from external drives, MKV, AVI, and MPG all work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+71points
Review 9 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Disappointed

11/26/2012
By ,
Calif
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having menu problems with a Toshiba HDMI dvd player, I was hoping to pair this with my new LG HD tv which I love, but I'm very disappointed with it's performance. I mostly play finalized recorded dvd media on a 2nd unit, to extend the life of my DVD recorder. I know the formatting is different from dvd and I'm a novice at blu-ray but I was unable to get anything but a picture with black bars or letter boxes or a very fuzzy full screen picture. The LG tv aspect settings seem to be over driven by the the player so I wasn't able to make any adjustments there. I called the India based script driven customer service and they weren't able to solve the problem. It seems to play commercial dvd's ok but the picture is no better than my dvd player. I'm returning this ASAP. Also note unlike most players, for better or worse this 12v DC with a corded transformer. This unit would be good for anyone who uses it as a blu-ray player only.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 10 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Great deal.

12/10/2012
By ,
Coralville, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a Black Friday deal and so far it has worked fine. I've played both blu-rays and dvds in it with no problems. It's a small unit and takes up very little space. I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

The thing is NOT for everyone.

03/11/2013
By ,
Southern Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It runs on a DC converter (as like that on a cell phone charger) so I unplug it when it gets turned off (but it does not say to unplug it), because I know the DC converter keeps running with the player is turned off.
It will get stuck some times for simple reasons, like put in a USB device while a DVD is not finished playing and the player can not adjust to such confusion, so I have to eject the DVD and then the USB worked fine.
Plus an old DVD will not play as HD as the up-convert does not perform miracles.
But I am still happy with it as it is low cost and it does play blu-ray HD very nicely, and it plays an old DVD fine, and the USB option is quite cool, also I am a single man who can deal with the silly complications like pulling the plug after each use.
So if you have a family member who has trouble changing batteries or if you have a family member who panics because the electronics needs tinkering sometimes - then they might need a more perfect player than this one.
Otherwise I like the player and I use it often and works okay - FOR ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Not worth the trouble, Doesn't play all Blu-ray's!

11/24/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one at black friday for the price i thot it was a fair deal for a blu-ray player with No Apps or Internet access, took it home powered up fine and seemed to be doing it's job but when i tryed to play blu-ray's only about 1 out of 4 actually read and when it didn't it would say error and eject it out and i know it's Not my blu-ray disks because there is no scratches on any of them and they work great on my other player so i took it back paid $20 more and got the $58 LG BP225 instead and have not had a problem since!.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Wow!!!
Posted 11/26/2012
Bought one as well; no issues thus far.
+5points
Customer Avatar
It plays every one I've tried
Posted 11/26/2012
It plays every one I've tried, perhaps your unit was defective?
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Be Aware it doesn't include necessary cord

11/26/2012
By ,
Evansville, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Blu-Ray player for the price. No problems playing discs and the picture quality is excellent. Just be aware that it doesn't come with the necessary HDMI cable to connect it to the TV. I got lucky I already had one. If you don't you will need to buy one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Review 14 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Meets and Exceeds what I was expecting

02/17/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually, with electronics, you truly get what you pay for. Fortunately for me, this was not the case at all. I bought this Blu Ray player for my children who are the most abusive little things in the world. Not wanting to shell out a king's ransom for a children's "movie viewer," I selected this little gem from LG. What a great decision! It plays movies as expected and has taken a fair amount of abuse already (my three-year-old decided she wanted to put a movie in by herself and ripped off the protective panel where the discs are placed - I fixed it with no problem). I'm sure it wouldn't take a throw across the playroom, but I'm not sure I know of many electronics that would. I don't expect it to last long, but not because of what it is. My kids are just destructive!
The picture quality output is nice and the picture doesn't look any different than an expensive player. I would highly recommend this product as it does exactly what it should with none of the bells and whistles. If you want wifi, hook a PC to your TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Great Value

12/25/2012
By ,
McHenry, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed an inexpensive Blu-ray player since it will be in a location not used much. It is easy to set up and use, and for under $40 the price point was perfect! A good gift idea.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 16 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Very inexpensive, works well

12/07/2012
By ,
DFW, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for about $40 which included a HDMI cable. It was a steal for that price. The player is no-frills (no WIFI, Netflix, apps, etc), it just plays DVDs and Bluray, and reasonably well for that matter. One little unexpected perk is its ability to play video or audio files off a USB port. One can put files on a USB drive and plug it in the port in the front of the player. No apparent lag when done that way, in contrast to the not always reliable video streaming over a wireless network (for example using Plex or some other media server).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 17 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player
12/10/2012
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this blu ray player for cyber Monday thinking it was a fantastic deal being under $40. With a very large DVD collection, I liked the thought of still being able to play all of the movies that I've collected over the years in HD without having to buy them again in a different format. This blu ray player will play MAYBE 20 minutes of a DVD before freezing and continuously attempting to read the DVDs until you're forced to shut it off or unplug it. Some DVDs wouldn't even play at all because it couldn't read them. I thought maybe some had scratches or imperfections that were causing problems, but the player has this issue even with brand new DVDs right out of the packaging. Even for a cheap $40 this blu ray player isn't worth the trouble. I will definitely be returning this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Piece of garbage - won't play anything.

01/14/2013
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this on Black Friday and used it that night. Worked fine. Hadn't used it since then until last night. Now it won't even register on my TV (says "not support"), won't play DVD or Blu-Ray and home screen won't even show up on my TV. I've tried both of my HDMI cables on my streaming device, and both work fine, plus I've tried all four HDMI ports on the back of my TV and all work fine with the streaming device. Therefore, it is for sure something with the player.
My recommendation: stay far, far away from this hunk of junk. Not worth the hassle. Spend the extra money on one that actually lasts longer than ONE use. SMH. Apparently many, many people have had issues with this model (not just those who got it from Wal-Mart).
I'm waiting for a response from LG technical support right now. We'll see what happens.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 19 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player

Great Inexpensive Blu-ray/DVD/Cd Player

01/23/2013
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player installed easily and works beautifully. For anyone who has a "Smart TV with WiFi," this Blu-ray Player is all you need. To have it handy for reference, I also went on-line and printed the Owners Manual. This I recommend to all purchasers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 20 for LG BP125 Blu-ray Player
12/08/2012
By ,
Olympia Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just puchased this model as well as the bp325 3d blu-ray player. I took the 3d player back last week for no picture. today I hooked up this model and it wouldn't read any disc. I called the 1-800lg support number on the box and they told me "you don't want this model. It's a basic model mass produced for black friday" I couldn't believe they said that but I should've known. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
1-20 of 268 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next