Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pyle Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Pyle Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

The Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch with Chest Strap has everything you need to get started with cardiovascular training - running, jogging or any kind of strenuous exercise. The Pyle Heart Rate Monitor Watch is equipped with a 1/100 second stopwatch, an alarm function and an LED backlight for easy night usage. In addition, it also includes a heart-rate monitor chest strap and data functions including maximum, minimum, average and present heart rate monitoring. The Pyle Sports Heart Rate Monitor Watch also comes with a target zone setting. You can also use the Pyle Heart Rate Monitor Watch to keep track of your own unique user settings, as well as things like calories burned during your cardiovascular workouts. There is even an energy-saving function designed to extend the longevity of this Heart Rate Monitor Watch with Chest Strap.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation64%18 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

You get what you pay for.

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Pyle heart rate monitor would be better if the beeping was able to be disabled.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

So far, so good

08/18/2013
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this product for about 2 weeks, using it everyday. I wanted to make sure to use it for a period before my review.
8/18/2013 - At first, I was having issues that the low reviewers were having. It was reading my "at rest" HR at like 240. LOL! I would try to wet the pads with my finger and was a little unsure to were to actually place it. No matter what I tried, it was WAY off. Finally it stopped reading at all. I was boxing it back up when I decided to change the battery in the chest band. That seemed to fix 90% of the issues. The watch battery seems to be ok but the chest one is really weak and old.
After a period of trial and error...here is what I found you need to have it work properly. First, replace the battery in the chest band. Second, don't bother with wetting it with your finger. Just hold each pad under a lightly running faucet. (Try not to soak the center with the battery part) once you are working out, your sweat will keep it reading properly. Third, for the ladies, place this monitor right under your breast. If you are larger chested like me....without getting all TMI, place this as far under "them" as possible. (I can't even tell I have it on.) Once you have it on, you have to press the "mode" button once and then you will see the heart icon start flashing...you should see a reading within seconds. The instructions with this thing are lacking but play around with it when you are not stressed or in a hurry to go anywhere =)
To check to see if the reading is accurate, count your pulse for 15 seconds then multiply that times 4. This should be approx. what the Heart Monitor is reading. I have noticed this thing is pretty accurate. (make sure your pads are wet and the placement is correct...this makes all the difference)
I am VERY pleased with this purchase. You can't beat the value!
I hope to update review in around a month. Good luck!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kernersville, NC
How to use the Calorie Counter/Workout timer
Posted 08/19/2013
Thought I would add this, even though the reviewer under me already returned theirs.
1 - You must have your kg weight/age input entered.
2 - Must have the chest strap on and working (this means you are seeing your hr reading).
3- You press the "mode" button (bottom, left button) 5 times ...it will be right after your "low hr" setting (should see a tiny stop watch picture at top and numbers below that look something like this "0:00")
4 - When you start your workout: be at this place on your watch, press the "start/stop" button (top, right button) and work out.
5 - When finished: press the "start/stop" button (top, right button) and then the "set" button (bottom, right button). This screen will show you your kcal reading.
6 - To reset for your next workout, press and hold the "set" button.
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch
07/09/2013
By ,
CSPG - CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive heart rate monitor and this looked like it would meet my requirements. The watch portion worked ok but it never could pick-up or receive the signal from the chest strap. I tried changing the batteries but this didn't help. I finally returned the item for a refund and will look for a different heart monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

A useless heart monitor

07/05/2013
By ,
Salisbury, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This heart monitor is both erratic and very inaccurate. If your intent is to use it to monitor your performance as you exercise, the reading are so erratic and inaccurate as to render the device useless. Much more of a concern, if you are using the heart monitor to check your pulse rate while you are recovering from heart surgery or ailment, the readings are inaccurate and are frequently well below your actual heart rate giving you the illusion that you are exercising within a safe training zone when in actuality you may be well above and in the danger zone. As such, this device is a liability.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Not what I expected

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only reason why I am giving this product a low rating is that the user setting is difficult to understand which the setting for the age or weight is. In addition, it does not calculate steps or miles. Therefore, I will return this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Great Value!

06/21/2013
By ,
Sacramento Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as advertised. I use it at my local fitness club and so far it doesn't suffer from any interference from any of the exercise machine electronics. The price was unbeatable and it feels like a quality made product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Great value

07/24/2013
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having used hrms in the past I was familiar with the features and functions, still, I found the instructions lacking. Others I've used gave spurious readings from my pacemaker. This unit is not effected by the functioning of my pacemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Good product

08/03/2013
By ,
Tucson AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use - very simple, not complicated. Weight has to be entered as KG not pounds and don't much care for that but I found an online conversion tool so makes it easier. Doesn't do a lot of fancy stuff but for keeping track of heart rate, time exercised and the calories burned seems to do a pretty good job. I originally bought a fancy wireless and it was way too erratic in the calories burned, this seems to be more consistent. I use it everyday when exercising. Like the idea of being able to figure out how many calories I burn during a DVD workout vs guessing or doing a bunch of calculations. Would recommend to a friend - in fact I have!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Didn't work, returned

07/29/2013
By ,
Georgetown, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the manual, set it up fine. My first attempt at heart rate, I used a towel to dampen the sensor as it said. It first read correctly, but then kept giving me erroneously high rates. After that, it quit working at all. I'd get the sensors wet before my workout, it would blink like it was trying to find my heart but couldn't. I do BeachBody workouts, so I'm later dripping with sweat yet it can't find my heart rate. I returned it to the store. Waste of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch
06/24/2013
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works great during workouts
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Great!!

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great is the only reaction and term I can use to express my satisfaction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

good product

04/10/2014
By ,
siloam springs ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as advertised
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch
04/02/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work. I will be returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Fell Apart Day One

12/31/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never got a chance to try this watch out to review its performance because after I set it all up and tried to put it on my wrist, the plastic band broke like it was dry rotted or something. So disappointing!! Had to return it for a refund, which went well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Great monitor, great price

01/06/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, affordable, and reliable. A little confusing at first but as long as you read the instructions you'll figure it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

way more than I expected

12/15/2013
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with this item. I was worried because it was such a cheap price but it works like a charm. Does every thing its supposed to. The chest belt is comfortable. Be sure to wet your belt at the electrode areas. And to track calories you have to put the stop watch going.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Not accurate at begining.

12/30/2013
By ,
WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit works good only after it gets good and wet with sweat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch

This watch is a joke!!!

09/28/2013
By ,
Berlin N.H.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You need to put t belt on your chest to get your heart rate, I'm not doing that, I will return this watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch
08/17/2013
By ,
cary, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Couldn't figure out how to get the calorie counter to work and/or stay on so i returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pyle PHRM34 Heart Rate Monitor Watch
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5