Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pyle Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Pyle Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Take a step towards improving the sound quality in your vehicle with this Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit. The supplies that you will need for a complete installation are included, such as 90' of 4-gauge power wiring and 16-gauge speaker wire. The 4-Gauge Installation Kit is also equipped with RCA audio cables, as well as fuses, a water-resistant in-line fuse holder and power terminals for simple hook-up. The Amp Install Kit offers the convenience of longer cables such as 20' 16-gauge blue remote turn-on and 20' 12-gauge speaker wire so that you have plenty of material to begin your work. The kit also has two ring terminals and two space terminals that easily hook up to your power source. The flexible cables and wires that are offered will allow you to maneuver in tight spots for simple installation. The Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit will have you prepped and ready to add your new amplifier and speakers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%20 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Trolling motor

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this to wire a bow mount trolling motor. I used all the "4" ga wire and the fuse. Probably more like 6ga which worked fine for my use. You can't find a better value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Functions exactly as promised

01/11/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I needed 8-gauge or better for my application. If you consult an AWG size table, you'll see 4-gauge cable should be .20" thick, while 8-gauge should be .13" thick. After reading the reviews here, I measured the copper myself and found it to be about 13/64", which translates to .20" thick.
This cable kit worked as intended and made my set-up process quick and easy. The only thing I would have changed about it is to tip the RCA cables in copper or brass rather than the gimmicky gold plating.
Higher-quality cable is certainly available, but not in the price range of this kit. For that and for the ease of installation this kit made possible, I'll give it a full 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

gets it done

11/18/2012
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this kit for a 300 watt amp and 2 tens. This kit has all items needed for a complete install (no extra trips to the store for this or that). The crimp conectors were not to my liking, so I crimped and then soldered. Use tin snips to cut the 4 guage wire and handle/install the fuse holder with care.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Perfect kit

03/10/2014
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had all the supplies we needed and was a great price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Mostly plastic insulation for an overrated amp kit

01/03/2014
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 4 AWG power cable is not as big as my other 4 gauge power cable from a different company. Looking at the cross section, the cable is most plastic insulation and little copper. The kit is rated for 1600W yet the fuse is only 60 amps, limiting it to about 800W RMS in ideal case. Based on the actual cable included, I guess they know there is no real need for a bigger fuse.
I did not even bother to look at the other stuff before I quickly returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Buy this kit if you want a 8 gauge kit.

01/13/2014
By ,
Monterey Park
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a 8 Gauge kit not 4. But for the value 8 gauge kit with fuse holder, RCA, Speaker wire, & terminals, it's still not a bad deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

ITS OK

01/15/2013
By ,
tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
THEZ wires are ok at best the 4 gag and ground are not what they say they are there more like 8 or 10 so if u wont good wire try sonicelectronex or onlinecarsterio they are great web sits I order from there all the time but if you are only powering a low powered sub they would work fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Great price all that was needed

08/24/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sure this item could be picked to death, but for a Pyle Chopper series 1400 Watt PLA-2200 going into a super cab pickup, it had everything we needed and plenty of wire length. Plenty big enough for our installation at 30 to 60% less than anything else copared. Crimp fitting for the amp to ground connection a hair on the small side, but one snip to split it and it fit around a seat mounting bolt easy enough. Have since bought another for another amp install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Not a 4ga battery cable

07/25/2013
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For an installation kit this is acceptable but if you need a true 4 gauge battery cable try a different one as this one is nowhere near that diameter in wire but the insulation is thick and flexible to ease in installation. Other than that it is what it is...A cheap installation kit to get an amp installed in your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

great value for the money

12/11/2013
By ,
APO AE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The amp wiring kit was better than I expected. This was money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

No complaints

11/08/2013
By ,
Gatlinburg, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased to hook up an amp in my 91 miata. More wire than I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

not

10/25/2013
By ,
co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a true 4 gauge. With all the insulation its four gauge not the actual wire. But it works fine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

Okay

10/09/2013
By ,
Garrett IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything was great except the wire crimps they don't crimp good. I needed to use ones I already had
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

product met expectations

08/10/2013
By ,
Brandon, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The free in store pick up is very convinient
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit
07/15/2013
By ,
Allentown, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wiring works well but RCA plugs are defective. Had to purchase another RCA plug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit

easy istallation

07/16/2013
By ,
Rancho Cordova, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
made the hook up real easy and it sounds great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit
01/20/2013
By ,
hawley pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i will never buy this product again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pyle PLAM40 4-Gauge Amplifier Installation Kit
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5