Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Black & Decker Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

The Black & Decker Coffee Maker is an ideal kitchen accessory for an active, on-the-go lifestyle. With this black single serve coffee maker, you can use coffee grounds or pre-packaged coffee pods to brew directly into the 16-ounce thermal mug that fits most car cup holders. Convenient one-touch operation and useful features like a removable filter basket with included permanent filter will make your morning coffee ritual a breeze. This coffee maker with mug has both dishwasher-safe parts and an automatic shut-off feature. With a two-year warranty, the Black & Decker Coffee Maker is a wonderful investment for any busy professional on the move. The single serve coffee maker also makes an excellent gift for coffee enthusiasts and loved ones.
Average Customer Rating:
4.034 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%74 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Love it. Better than K-cups

12/24/2012
By ,
Harrison Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both love this because we can make our coffee fresh one cup at a time without the excess packaging and expense of K-cups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great single serve coffee maker

04/09/2014
By ,
Toluca Lake, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought this for my boyfriend as he drinks coffee every morning. Since we have recently just moved into a new place I decided I wanted to buy him a coffee maker as for a year or so he had been just drinking instant coffee because our last place we lived we did not want to buy a coffee maker so that our roommate could pretty much abuse it. The design is very sleek however it was very light and the switch was weird to press (it did not make a click noise), so I was a little skeptical at first. However, the moment we plugged it in, that little coffee maker started steaming and was dripping coffee in less than a minute! My boyfriend was floored to how quickly this coffee maker was able to produce a fresh brew. He use to have to heat up his instant coffee for 5 minutes for it to get to the heat he wanted but this black and decker did it in 3 minutes. I am truly amazed and for the price? totally amazing! Yes it does not work with k-cups but it works with coffee pods as well as ground coffee. I did read the reviews and learnt some tips from other customers to help make our experience just as great! LOVE IT! get it, you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Travel Mug Comes Broken

08/22/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this coffee maker last week to use at school, and was so excited about it. I drink a lot of coffee and as a Biology major coffee in the morning is a must. I was looking forward to the fact that it came with a travel mug for me to take my coffee on the go and drink it while I am in class. But I was very disappointed that the travel mug is faulty. Not only does it not have a closing feature where you drink from but as I drank the coffee from it once I got halfway done it started spilling from the outside of the mug underneath the silver band on the mug. THAT is NOT okay. Also, when I called the Customer Service Warranty people they told me that I would have to damage my coffee maker by cutting the cord off to send to them and PAY THEM to get the product replaced. That is ridiculous, all that needs to be replaced is the mug, and in general NO ONE should have to pay them to replace what they sold broken. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Back to walmart
Posted 11/07/2013
I never call the 800 #'s, I bring it directly back to the store and get a new one or not. Its better that way! Walmart takes anything back even used hair color that didn't work on your hair.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/27/2013
Hi biostudent, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40763548 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Coffee, Tea or just Hot Water

10/06/2013
By ,
Green Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this little coffee maker. I enjoy hot tea and my husband like coffee. We have two travel mugs that works fine with this, just leave the lid off while it is brewing. If you just need a cup of hot water, it hot in just a few minutes. No more having to use a tea pot on the stove or running the microwave for several minutes. Just what I was looking for. The Auto off is a bonus on this little machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black
09/09/2013
By ,
Windsor, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for work. He likes that he can make a cup of coffee and not a whole pot. This uses coffee grounds or SOFT pods. You can not use the hard pods in it. It took me a while to locate the soft pods and there is only one manufacturer that makes them at this point. It will work for what he needs it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great for 1 or 2 cups of coffee.

01/02/2014
By ,
Stuart, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister had one and liked it so well I now bought one. Great for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Easy to use and clean

01/23/2013
By ,
Fairfax VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There aren't many single cup coffee makers that can use ground coffee (or single coffee packets) instead of the prepackaged K-Cups. This is the only one I found that is tall enough that I can use my stainless steel insulated travel mug instead of the cheap plastic handle-less mug that comes with it, AND has an automatic shutoff. It's inexpensive, relatively quiet, easy to use and clean, and doesn't take up much space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great for the solo coffee drinker

11/14/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this about a month now. Brews a 16oz. cup of coffee under 3 minutes. The durability of the hinged plastic cover on the brewer is, so far, my only concern. I can see it breaking under too much force. Other than that, one caution is advised. The metal band on the travel mug gets extremely hot in the brewing process.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Good coffee maker for my purpose

06/05/2013
By ,
Penn Yan, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the coffee maker. The only problem I have is the cup that came with it. It is very HOT after the coffee has brewed. It looks insulated but apparently isn't. But I have been using a different insulated cup with handle. Doesn't take up much space on my counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/05/2013
Hi Senecashore, thank you for providing your feedback. We apologize that this product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40720098 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Compact, single serve.

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted this for travel. Great size. Fast really hot water. Other thermal mugs and tall cups fit. Only negative is the plastic odor. Ran vinegar and water through several brew sessions. Seemed to minimize this.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great bang for the buck!

04/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought about spending big bucks on a Keurig and decided to try this cheapo. Darn; I'm frugle and smart. Great product. I just bought a 2nd for my office I like it so much!
Recommends this product? Yes
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great single cup brewer

04/16/2014
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for, right size and simple to operate. Great price and space saving too, will recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

GREAT!!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Quakertown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is the coffee drinker, and he loves it! He used to go out for a cup now & then, especially weekends. This saves a lot of $$$, not to mention the time & gas to go out for a cup! He said the coffee tastes great! He uses about 3 tbsp. ground coffee. The permanent filter is very nice too, saves us from having to buy them, and he's never had any grounds in his coffee. You can also use it for plain hot water, but I've only done that a couple times. It's just very convenient, it doesn't need to be plugged in to keep the coffee warm--just a fresh hot cup any time he wants it. He's only had this about a week, so I can't talk about durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Wondrful little coffeemaker for a single person

03/07/2014
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No carafe to wash: makes a great 2 cups of coffee, and it stays warm for about an hour while I have my computer time in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

I love this thing.

04/10/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fresh, hot coffee straight into my travel mug in minutes. Takes up very little counter space, and no hot plate to burn the coffee. You can even put your milk and sugar in the mug before you brew the coffee, just be sure to put less water in the coffee maker to account for the space in the mug taken up by the milk and sugar. In fact, you can brew the coffee with the lid on the travel mug.
I know others have complained about the quality of the included travel mug, but I cannot speak to that as I have never used it. I have only used a travel mug that my son bought me 11 years ago for Christmas and it works perfectly. One caution, if you use the coffee maker with your own travel mug and the lid on, make absolutely certain that the lid is in the open position if it is the type that you can close. Otherwise, big mess.
I was initially disappointed that the coffee maker did not have a clock/timer to start the coffee automatically in the morning, but brewing 16 ounces of coffee only takes a few minutes, so it isn't really a problem. Plus, my next cup of coffee is as fresh as the last.
I really like the included permanent coffee filter [Which is huge.], despite the fact that it sometimes leaves very fine coffee grounds at the bottom of the mug. It prevents the calls of, "Honey, do we have any more coffee filters?", and the failed attempts to use paper towels in their place.
My one criticism of this coffee maker would be that the openings that you pour water into are on the small side. My guess is that the designers didn't consider this a problem because they tested it on a counter-top with no cabinets above the coffee maker. I measure the water by filling my (well rinsed) mug and then dumping the water into the maker [I drink my coffee black. Don't do this with milk and sugar.], forgoing the measuring line that the instructions say are inside the water tank. So any difficulties in this area are probably my own fault any way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

great buy

07/22/2013
By ,
La Salle, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use, makes great coffee. Only need 2 tablespoons of coffee grounds to make a slightly strong container of coffee or use less if you don't like strong. Great value for the price. The two year warranty is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Good Coffee Maker

03/25/2013
By ,
Lakeville, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perfect size since I'm the only coffee drinker in the house. I thought it took k-cups from the description, but it also takes 'soft pods' and I wish it showed how much water was in it, there's not a way to measure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Morrison, CO
ENOUGH WATER?
Posted 07/15/2013
Put the water in the cup first. Pour water from cup into reservoir. Always the right amount of water except a small amount disappears in heating process.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

Great single cup coffee maker

03/22/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy with this purchase! I wanted a single cup coffee maker that used ground coffee and this is perfect. I like that I can use the cup that comes with it or many of my other insulated coffee cups. Makes a nice cup of coffee in less than 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

great coffee maker

05/23/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this coffee maker for about 4 or 5 months and it gets used every day. it only takes a few minutes to brew a cup and that in it's self is worth it. I like the mesh filter that it comes with, keeps me from having to buy replacements. The coffee is not scalding hot, but in all reality; who wants to burn thier mouth everyday? by the time I get to work (an hour after the coffee is brewed) it is still hot. Well worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Black Mug, Black

The coffee maker is great. The cup stinks.

05/16/2013
By ,
Rolla, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The coffee maker is great. The cup stinks. The top does not seal and leaks when you drink from it. I had to go back to Walmart and spend $8.00 on a good cup. They should have given me a good cup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next