Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Black & Decker Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

This is an ideal coffeemaker for an active, on-the-go lifestyle. Use coffee grounds or pre-packaged coffee pods to brew directly into the 16-oz. thermal mug that fits most car cup holders. Convenient one-touch operation and useful features like a removable filter basket with included permanent filter will make your morning coffee ritual a breeze. This machine has both dishwasher-safe parts and auto shutoff.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation86%90 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Love it. Better than K-cups

12/24/2012
By ,
Harrison Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both love this because we can make our coffee fresh one cup at a time without the excess packaging and expense of K-cups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Better than a Keurig for a quarter of the price!

07/15/2014
By ,
Niskayuna, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use a Keurig at my job, and while I love the convenience, I don't like not being able to make a stronger mug of coffee. Having a basket, rather than a pod, allows you to adjust the brew exactly to your liking. It's easy to use and the coffee is the perfect temperature, (and hotter than my previous coffee maker.) As the coffee grounds absorb some of the water, I've found that if you measure out the water to about 1/2" of the top of the cup, which you then pour into the coffee maker, you'll have just the right amount of room for creamer.
I'd have gladly given it 5 stars if it didn't drip for a little while after the brew is complete, which makes a little bit of a mess. I just end up putting in a ramekin or custard cup to catch the drips once I take the mug out. Also, the cup that comes with the coffee maker leaked at the lid. Like a lot. I've got a ton of travel mugs, so I just tossed the one that came with it.
If you like the ability to make a strong cup of coffee this is the perfect choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Mug,

10/23/2014
By ,
Murphy,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The good:
Unit is physically small
Comes with a 16 oz mug
Makes good tasting coffee
Easy to clean basket
Has "on" switch and pilot light
Turns off automatically after brewing
Can use ground coffee from a can
Does not require you to use a paper filter
Is ascetically pleasing
The draw backs:
Forget the coffee pods thing,can't find them in store or on line
Everything is K cup now,not a problem open the K cup and
empty the continence into the brewing basket. Or just use
your favorite brand of ground coffee straight from the can.
You will need to experiment with the amount of coffee you
put in the brewing basket. As a suggestion start with two level
teaspoons for 16 oz. Them add or subtract as desired.
Care is required when filling the coffee maker with water as not to
spill it down the side, especially the "on" switch side. Problem
solved with a 16 measuring cup. the provided mug is not spill
proof with a "always open" sipping slot in the lid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Travel Mug Comes Broken

08/22/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this coffee maker last week to use at school, and was so excited about it. I drink a lot of coffee and as a Biology major coffee in the morning is a must. I was looking forward to the fact that it came with a travel mug for me to take my coffee on the go and drink it while I am in class. But I was very disappointed that the travel mug is faulty. Not only does it not have a closing feature where you drink from but as I drank the coffee from it once I got halfway done it started spilling from the outside of the mug underneath the silver band on the mug. THAT is NOT okay. Also, when I called the Customer Service Warranty people they told me that I would have to damage my coffee maker by cutting the cord off to send to them and PAY THEM to get the product replaced. That is ridiculous, all that needs to be replaced is the mug, and in general NO ONE should have to pay them to replace what they sold broken. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Back to walmart
Posted 11/07/2013
I never call the 800 #'s, I bring it directly back to the store and get a new one or not. Its better that way! Walmart takes anything back even used hair color that didn't work on your hair.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/27/2013
Hi biostudent, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40763548 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Great Single Cup Coffee Maker

07/11/2014
By ,
Saratoga Springs, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a B&D personal brew and go coffee maker years ago and I loved it. It finally gave up after a few years of faithful use and I purchased a Keurig. I loved it but the k-cups were getting way to expensive so I started using a refillable filter. I moved into a small apartment and the maker was just to big for my small kitchen so I started my search for something smaller and came across this.
I could no longer get my the previous model in any stores. I could only order it online so after searching I found this one which is just about the same thing just in a different form. It has performed to my expectations just as I hoped it would. I can add more or less grounds for whatever my taste may be in the morning. It brews hot and fast. After reading some of the negative reviews I just had to put my two cents in about some of them.
1. Yes the mug that comes with it is not the best, but you're purchasing a coffee maker not a mug. The mug is just an added bonus. I could tell the mug wasn't the best, the moment I took the lid off, that's a no brainer. I use my own mug as I always have a few floating around my kitchen.
2. Coffee pods are hard to find. Yes they are. Most pod makers have come, and gone just as quickly the last few years. So, just use your regular ground coffee. Why complain because you can't find pods. There's always a store that has at lease one brand of pods. You can always order them online if you really want them that bad.
3. The maker doesn't take K-cups. It is not advertised as having the option of using K-cups.
4. It leaves sludge in the bottom of my cup. That's because of the filter. Almost every permanent filter I have used does that. You have to use a courser grind on the coffee. The permanent filter is not a paper filter it doesn't get some of the finer particles out.
5. Don't know how much water to put in. Just fill the mug you are going to use and guess what. you now have the right amount of water.
6. You can't turn it off. It's auto shut off. You should not have to shut if off. If for some emergency you have to turn it off, pull the plug.
7. You can only brew 16 ounces instead of one cup. Easy fix. Use one 8 oz. cup and fill it with water and pour it in and guess what. You now have one cup.
8. 185 degrees is not hot enough for a proper brew. Well then I guess you need to spend a little more than 25.00 for coffee maker to get your proper brew. It's not a professional coffee maker. Most people are pretty darn satisfied with what they brew.
9. It seems cheap and flimsy. Hello!!!! It's only 25.00. Are you going to be tossing it around the kitchen? If it's just sitting on the counter how much abuse are you going to do to it.
10. Makes to much of a mess to clean. How? You remove the filter, tap it inside of the trash can and the grounds come out and then you wash it. Simple.
My personal opinion it's a great product. It works just as good as my previous model that I had years ago. Use it in good faith and enjoy it. Some complaints are just because people refuse to read directions or use common sense. You can't blame B&D if you get home and open it and something is broken. The way things get thrown around in shipping it's a wonder more stuff isn't broken. Just take it back and exchange it for a new one. That's the great thing, We can do that. If it breaks and you call them and they tell you to cut off the plug and send it to them, then that's for their own record to prove that you are not trying to scam them and get a second product. I had to do that with a keurig when it acted up after a month. Not a problem.
ENJOY IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Pierce, FL
Great Review!
Posted 09/13/2014
Great review! People can be so petty sometimes! Ugh!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Easy to use and clean

01/23/2013
By ,
Fairfax VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There aren't many single cup coffee makers that can use ground coffee (or single coffee packets) instead of the prepackaged K-Cups. This is the only one I found that is tall enough that I can use my stainless steel insulated travel mug instead of the cheap plastic handle-less mug that comes with it, AND has an automatic shutoff. It's inexpensive, relatively quiet, easy to use and clean, and doesn't take up much space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker
09/09/2013
By ,
Windsor, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for work. He likes that he can make a cup of coffee and not a whole pot. This uses coffee grounds or SOFT pods. You can not use the hard pods in it. It took me a while to locate the soft pods and there is only one manufacturer that makes them at this point. It will work for what he needs it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Great single serve coffee maker

04/09/2014
By ,
Toluca Lake, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought this for my boyfriend as he drinks coffee every morning. Since we have recently just moved into a new place I decided I wanted to buy him a coffee maker as for a year or so he had been just drinking instant coffee because our last place we lived we did not want to buy a coffee maker so that our roommate could pretty much abuse it. The design is very sleek however it was very light and the switch was weird to press (it did not make a click noise), so I was a little skeptical at first. However, the moment we plugged it in, that little coffee maker started steaming and was dripping coffee in less than a minute! My boyfriend was floored to how quickly this coffee maker was able to produce a fresh brew. He use to have to heat up his instant coffee for 5 minutes for it to get to the heat he wanted but this black and decker did it in 3 minutes. I am truly amazed and for the price? totally amazing! Yes it does not work with k-cups but it works with coffee pods as well as ground coffee. I did read the reviews and learnt some tips from other customers to help make our experience just as great! LOVE IT! get it, you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Coffee, Tea or just Hot Water

10/06/2013
By ,
Green Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this little coffee maker. I enjoy hot tea and my husband like coffee. We have two travel mugs that works fine with this, just leave the lid off while it is brewing. If you just need a cup of hot water, it hot in just a few minutes. No more having to use a tea pot on the stove or running the microwave for several minutes. Just what I was looking for. The Auto off is a bonus on this little machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Good coffee maker for my purpose

06/05/2013
By ,
Penn Yan, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the coffee maker. The only problem I have is the cup that came with it. It is very HOT after the coffee has brewed. It looks insulated but apparently isn't. But I have been using a different insulated cup with handle. Doesn't take up much space on my counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/05/2013
Hi Senecashore, thank you for providing your feedback. We apologize that this product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40720098 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Brews a nice large 20 oz. cup of coffee.

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It makes a great large cup of coffee or tea, I have had no trouble with it, the cup works great too no leaks at all.
It is nice you don't have to buy filters anymore and if you only drink one large cup of coffee or tea at a time it's perfect.
It say's it takes pods, the pods are the filters full of coffee not the new type k-cups ect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Great bang for the buck!

04/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought about spending big bucks on a Keurig and decided to try this cheapo. Darn; I'm frugle and smart. Great product. I just bought a 2nd for my office I like it so much!
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Great single cup coffee maker

03/22/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy with this purchase! I wanted a single cup coffee maker that used ground coffee and this is perfect. I like that I can use the cup that comes with it or many of my other insulated coffee cups. Makes a nice cup of coffee in less than 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Good Coffee Maker

03/25/2013
By ,
Lakeville, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perfect size since I'm the only coffee drinker in the house. I thought it took k-cups from the description, but it also takes 'soft pods' and I wish it showed how much water was in it, there's not a way to measure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Morrison, CO
ENOUGH WATER?
Posted 07/15/2013
Put the water in the cup first. Pour water from cup into reservoir. Always the right amount of water except a small amount disappears in heating process.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Perfect on my desk

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker. It sit on my desk and I am always ready to have a cup of coffee. This makes a perfect cup of coffee and stays warm for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Great for the solo coffee drinker

11/14/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this about a month now. Brews a 16oz. cup of coffee under 3 minutes. The durability of the hinged plastic cover on the brewer is, so far, my only concern. I can see it breaking under too much force. Other than that, one caution is advised. The metal band on the travel mug gets extremely hot in the brewing process.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

great coffee maker

05/23/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this coffee maker for about 4 or 5 months and it gets used every day. it only takes a few minutes to brew a cup and that in it's self is worth it. I like the mesh filter that it comes with, keeps me from having to buy replacements. The coffee is not scalding hot, but in all reality; who wants to burn thier mouth everyday? by the time I get to work (an hour after the coffee is brewed) it is still hot. Well worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

great buy

07/22/2013
By ,
La Salle, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use, makes great coffee. Only need 2 tablespoons of coffee grounds to make a slightly strong container of coffee or use less if you don't like strong. Great value for the price. The two year warranty is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Perfect for a fresh cup whenever you want

11/21/2012
By ,
Canyon Lake, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more coffee sitting in the pot and getting overdone. This is the perfect answer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker CM618 Single Serve Coffee Maker

Love this little coffee maker

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found myself traveling to Las Vegas, where the big hotels do not provide complimentary in room coffee. I ordered this little single cup coffee maker for travel. It packed right in my carry on and I could take my favorite coffee and brew to my taste. No $4/cup charges and no weak hotel "brown water." Love it. Light weight and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next