Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Samsung Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Average Customer Rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%50 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
96 Questions | 172 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Good product for the price

12/16/2012
By ,
Miami,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it is refurbished this item,
it still looks like brand new and works very well.
The price is right for the product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Best bang for your buck.

11/27/2013
By ,
Dallas, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to replace my existing home entertainment system. I got a number of different systems, before I ended up with this one. I really didn't want to spend over $200 and I wanted one that would give me the option for netflix built in. I first went with the same manufacturer I had before, Philips (wifi built in). I wasn't really pleased. The netflix system froze a number of times. I replaced it with RCA. This didn't have the wifi in but could connect to a wireless system for wifi still. That system was sluggish between the remote and the system. It seemed that when I pushed a button on the remote it wasn't as responsive as I liked plus the buttons seemed to stiff. I replaced it with this model and I have been very pleased with one exception. The center speaker in this system gives off a buzz; I'm working that out with walmart now. That aside I'm sticking with this one and for the price I paid, I've very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Hit or Miss, Refurbished

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure how a refurbished Home Theater can be checked out without first seeing if it is working right, follow me here, Home Theater, Blu-ray player, 5.1 channel, HD 1080 LED flat screen TV (me) now you plug in, and you would think that some one would have checked to see if the HDMI plug in is working so you can see your movies in 1080 HD, the only working plug is the RCA video out 480I picture, so now it has to be replaced, had to take it to a local Walmart, and now wait 2 weeks for a replacement to be shipped to me, I'm very unhappy, not at Walmart, as they were very nice about the way they handled this, its Samsung, you have to wonder why they have so many of this model refurbished Home Theaters that they can have then on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Awesome product, Refurbished= Defect.

04/10/2014
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good quality product completion , awesome sound , and has more than I expected , as I can see files directly from my computer , accepts almost all formats of video , USB, netflix , pandora . It is a great product , of course I do not give you all the stars because as it is a Refurbished product, which had expected a defect .
The rear optical audio input has problems connecting my computer and the audio goes back and forth , as if was disconnected , call technical assistance and hath attended I had no idea how to solve the problem, recommended me to take my pc repair , when that's my job , repair computers lol .
Try to put the latest firmware , but since I had it installed, and I could not reinstall it again , reset the computer to factory settings letting down the stop button for 8 sec, and nothing followed with the same problem .
Search google some solution for this and nothing . Looks like I'm the first who really wants to get right to the problem.
I hope the next firmware upgrade , if not .. I do not care. Anyway I can watch my videos directly from my computer and impressive audio quality .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Fixed
Posted 04/11/2014
Now is fixed, change the drivers on mi audio card, works perfect, this is the best ewer, i want change to 5 stars, but is impossible lol.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Great system, a little bit of a hassle to set up.

05/17/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The system itself is great: The sound, the picture, the look of the system. However, I ended up going a whole week without having the whole system set up like I wanted. It was a chore trying to find the proper wires to extend the speakers because it is so thin. I have a very small living room too and I still had to extend the wires.
Now that it is all set up and I don't have wires all over the floor, I am pleased. But be forewarned, expect to have to extend the wires.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

great features for the price

07/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product, just like new if you buy it refurbished, Great sound, nice design. I would recommend you by a digital audio cable if you want to hook up your Xbox/Ps3 or cable box to it. The Aux cables don't support 5.1 surround sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Excellent product high qualify low price

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really recommend this product, it came earlier than expected. it was well packaged. When I connected was very easy and it converted my regular TV in a Smart TV, the quality sound was excellent, it comes with an option that automatically regulate the distance from where the front and rear speakers are located. Great sound, great product, low price, it's awesome !!
totally recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

A great system!

12/29/2013
By ,
southwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit as a Christmas present for my husband. It took no time to get it up and running. The main reason we wanted a home theatre system was the music from the shows we were watching was over powering the speech. We were constantly asking, "what did he say"? It was driving us nuts. Now we can enjoy our big screen tv and hear everything clearly. Oh, and a bonus is our Direct Tv remote now controls everything. We bought a Bose speaker that was supposed to take care of the problem we were having but it didn't work. We spent $400.00, what a waste! Plus there was this tiny little remote that was getting lost between the seat cushions. This is a great system and I would highly recommend this to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Good Value & Meets Expectatiions

11/20/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If connecting a satellite receiver to the unit, a digital optical cable is a must. There is a port for this optical cable on this unit and it connects to a DirecTV HD DVR satellite receiver. I am not sure if Dish Network or cable boxes have this port.
Great sound quality. Plays blu ray movies. Has an HDMI port as well.
Quality of the unit was excellent even though it states it is refurbished. "Refurbished" can mean that a product may have just been returned to the store with absolutely nothing wrong with it except that it was returned. There is no problem existing with this unit. I would buy another refurbished item such as a TV with few reservations. They're the same quality or better than the original.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bradenton fl
brighthouse cable boxes connect hdmi
Posted 08/24/2013
Just tell Brighthouse what you need. I know some of the cable boxes have 2 HDMI. I plug my vizio via hdmi into cable box. Works very well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Refrbished Samsng Ht -em35

10/20/2014
By ,
Panama City, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great! good price!
still learning how to use, hence the rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Pretty nice system for the money!

12/26/2013
By ,
Lebanon, Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sounds good, great picture on the BluRay. Would be a 5 star rating except I received my unit and the wire for the sub-woofer was missing. This normally would not be an issue, except that is takes a plug to connect to the head unit and you can't just run a speaker wire. After calling Samsung, they told me that since it is refurbished, I would have to purchase the wire. This really upset me and after going up the ladder at Samsung, they agreed to send me the wire. Beware of refurbished product from Samsung, if there are pieces missing, they will try to make you buy the piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Great sound

10/07/2014
By ,
st. louis mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything worked properly and the sound quality is very good. A few minor cosmetic blemishes that I expected on a refurbished product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Sounds is Really Good

11/25/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I purchased this refurbished Samsung Home Theatre because we wanted a Blue Ray player. So far, we like this system. The sound is really awesome and we like the fact that we can get to Netflicks and Pandora through the blue ray system! So far so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Awesome Home Theater!

04/22/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a Philips Home Theater at first; I was NOT happy so I returned and purchased the Refurbished Samsung Home Theater system. So HAPPY that I did. The setup was easy. The SOUND is INCREDIBLE while watching dvd(s). Its like being in an actual 'movie theater'. When not watching dvd(s), the system is also used to provide the sound when watching TV. I would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Fantastic sound for a 200 watt system.

11/02/2013
By ,
Byron, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost returned this product had I read the owner's manual before installing this product. I asked the question on how many watts. Someone replied 500 watts. I thought this was a heck of a deal. Once I installed the product, I started reading the specs and was dismayed that it only had 200 watts. I was going to return it with a scathing letter referring to deception. However, I turned the system on and was impressed with the sound and picture. I had a good buy in spite of what I felt initially of a deceptive "bait and switch." Kuddos to this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

its ok

12/27/2013
By ,
Chebanse, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew it was a risk buying it refurbished. I lik it but when I go to watch a movie, its lik a 5min process to get it going. I'm still struggling with it if I use the buttons directly on the system and always end up having to grab the remote and shut it off and restart it all while using the remote this time. The remote can be complicated too. More so technical I guess. When making a selection, u hav to use the "enter" button. Cant jus push play even if that option is already highlighted. It has netflix, pandora, vudu, and some other neat features on the main movie screen. I hav not used any of them so I really can't say if I like them or not but its nice to have options lik that. It does hav to hav internet plugged directly in for all that to work also. Overall, I lik it. I'm easy to plz and wanted it to save the speakers on my tv. Ocassionally ill hav it loud for movies and it sounds great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Worth The Money

11/28/2012
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't go wrong with this investment. It's worth every dime. The sound is exceptionally profound, and you can feel every ounce of dramatic effect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Good deal on a refurbished unit.

05/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were not able to purchase a service plan with this purchase. When we opened the box, we discovered that every speaker wire had been cut. Apparently the "refurbishing" missed this. LOL It's a great product, and a good price. Works fine now....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

5 stars & excellent quality for price

04/05/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are thrilled with this home theater system, if it was refurbished, the repairs were impeccable.
Everything works, we have every port filled (and could actually use a port switch, but that's another review)
The Blu-Ray/DVD player is silent & smooth, plays discs that skipped on our old player flawlessly.
The sound is awesome & the color-coded plugs are fantastic.
As other reviewers have stated, we did have to extend the rear surround speakers, but this was very easy to accomplish with heat shrink and a box knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Great for everyday sound

05/10/2013
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were not so sure about buying refurbished, but were pleasantly surprised. Ordered it online. Love the new texting feature, they send you a text when it gets to the store. Came in on time. Got it home, it really is a nice system. Sounds great for movies or just normal TV. Good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next