Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Samsung Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Average Customer Rating:
3.787 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%38 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Good product for the price

12/16/2012
By ,
Miami,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it is refurbished this item,
it still looks like brand new and works very well.
The price is right for the product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Awesome product, Refurbished= Defect.

04/10/2014
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good quality product completion , awesome sound , and has more than I expected , as I can see files directly from my computer , accepts almost all formats of video , USB, netflix , pandora . It is a great product , of course I do not give you all the stars because as it is a Refurbished product, which had expected a defect .
The rear optical audio input has problems connecting my computer and the audio goes back and forth , as if was disconnected , call technical assistance and hath attended I had no idea how to solve the problem, recommended me to take my pc repair , when that's my job , repair computers lol .
Try to put the latest firmware , but since I had it installed, and I could not reinstall it again , reset the computer to factory settings letting down the stop button for 8 sec, and nothing followed with the same problem .
Search google some solution for this and nothing . Looks like I'm the first who really wants to get right to the problem.
I hope the next firmware upgrade , if not .. I do not care. Anyway I can watch my videos directly from my computer and impressive audio quality .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Fixed
Posted 04/11/2014
Now is fixed, change the drivers on mi audio card, works perfect, this is the best ewer, i want change to 5 stars, but is impossible lol.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Best bang for your buck.

11/27/2013
By ,
Dallas, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to replace my existing home entertainment system. I got a number of different systems, before I ended up with this one. I really didn't want to spend over $200 and I wanted one that would give me the option for netflix built in. I first went with the same manufacturer I had before, Philips (wifi built in). I wasn't really pleased. The netflix system froze a number of times. I replaced it with RCA. This didn't have the wifi in but could connect to a wireless system for wifi still. That system was sluggish between the remote and the system. It seemed that when I pushed a button on the remote it wasn't as responsive as I liked plus the buttons seemed to stiff. I replaced it with this model and I have been very pleased with one exception. The center speaker in this system gives off a buzz; I'm working that out with walmart now. That aside I'm sticking with this one and for the price I paid, I've very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

A great system!

12/29/2013
By ,
southwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit as a Christmas present for my husband. It took no time to get it up and running. The main reason we wanted a home theatre system was the music from the shows we were watching was over powering the speech. We were constantly asking, "what did he say"? It was driving us nuts. Now we can enjoy our big screen tv and hear everything clearly. Oh, and a bonus is our Direct Tv remote now controls everything. We bought a Bose speaker that was supposed to take care of the problem we were having but it didn't work. We spent $400.00, what a waste! Plus there was this tiny little remote that was getting lost between the seat cushions. This is a great system and I would highly recommend this to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

5 stars & excellent quality for price

04/05/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are thrilled with this home theater system, if it was refurbished, the repairs were impeccable.
Everything works, we have every port filled (and could actually use a port switch, but that's another review)
The Blu-Ray/DVD player is silent & smooth, plays discs that skipped on our old player flawlessly.
The sound is awesome & the color-coded plugs are fantastic.
As other reviewers have stated, we did have to extend the rear surround speakers, but this was very easy to accomplish with heat shrink and a box knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Pretty nice system for the money!

12/26/2013
By ,
Lebanon, Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sounds good, great picture on the BluRay. Would be a 5 star rating except I received my unit and the wire for the sub-woofer was missing. This normally would not be an issue, except that is takes a plug to connect to the head unit and you can't just run a speaker wire. After calling Samsung, they told me that since it is refurbished, I would have to purchase the wire. This really upset me and after going up the ladder at Samsung, they agreed to send me the wire. Beware of refurbished product from Samsung, if there are pieces missing, they will try to make you buy the piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

What a bargain!

03/30/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a Blu-Ray setup to replace an older Sony surround unit and this fit the bill. The installation was a snap and the sound quality once I got everything adjusted has exceeded my expectations. Always had good results from Samsung products so hopefully this will stand the test of time. For the price it can't be beat, or even touched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Sounds is Really Good

11/25/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I purchased this refurbished Samsung Home Theatre because we wanted a Blue Ray player. So far, we like this system. The sound is really awesome and we like the fact that we can get to Netflicks and Pandora through the blue ray system! So far so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

its ok

12/27/2013
By ,
Chebanse, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew it was a risk buying it refurbished. I lik it but when I go to watch a movie, its lik a 5min process to get it going. I'm still struggling with it if I use the buttons directly on the system and always end up having to grab the remote and shut it off and restart it all while using the remote this time. The remote can be complicated too. More so technical I guess. When making a selection, u hav to use the "enter" button. Cant jus push play even if that option is already highlighted. It has netflix, pandora, vudu, and some other neat features on the main movie screen. I hav not used any of them so I really can't say if I like them or not but its nice to have options lik that. It does hav to hav internet plugged directly in for all that to work also. Overall, I lik it. I'm easy to plz and wanted it to save the speakers on my tv. Ocassionally ill hav it loud for movies and it sounds great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Fantastic sound for a 200 watt system.

11/02/2013
By ,
Byron, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost returned this product had I read the owner's manual before installing this product. I asked the question on how many watts. Someone replied 500 watts. I thought this was a heck of a deal. Once I installed the product, I started reading the specs and was dismayed that it only had 200 watts. I was going to return it with a scathing letter referring to deception. However, I turned the system on and was impressed with the sound and picture. I had a good buy in spite of what I felt initially of a deceptive "bait and switch." Kuddos to this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Its a good home theater system.

04/14/2014
By ,
Window Rock, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far it has been working great. Ask me this question in a year or so. At least its work better than the RCA Home Theater System I bought back a few months ago. The tray for the DVD/CD is stuck and does not open. Check my records for the things I bought from Walmart and you will find it.
If you can do something about my RCA product, I would appreciated it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Good Value & Meets Expectatiions

11/20/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If connecting a satellite receiver to the unit, a digital optical cable is a must. There is a port for this optical cable on this unit and it connects to a DirecTV HD DVR satellite receiver. I am not sure if Dish Network or cable boxes have this port.
Great sound quality. Plays blu ray movies. Has an HDMI port as well.
Quality of the unit was excellent even though it states it is refurbished. "Refurbished" can mean that a product may have just been returned to the store with absolutely nothing wrong with it except that it was returned. There is no problem existing with this unit. I would buy another refurbished item such as a TV with few reservations. They're the same quality or better than the original.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bradenton fl
brighthouse cable boxes connect hdmi
Posted 08/24/2013
Just tell Brighthouse what you need. I know some of the cable boxes have 2 HDMI. I plug my vizio via hdmi into cable box. Works very well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Could have been good, but wasn't - AVOID!!!

01/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For years my dad bought refurbished under the philosophy it's better than new because the bugs have already been figured out and fixed. And, you're saving money and there's a warranty.
Maybe in the old days. This past year I have been so burned with refurbished, "scratch and dent", etc, that I'm done with it. More time, effort, and money than it's worth.
I bought this system and took it home. Eventually got around to yanking the old system out and setting this one up. Initially, sounded great with Pandora. Then, hooked up youtube and synchronized it to my phone where I could control it. Awesome feature and video was full screen and sounded great. Turned on TV and the sound over HDMI connection was perfect.
Then I decided to show my wife why I bought a BluRay with the surround sound. Put a brand new DVD in we had watched a couple days earlier and it just stuttered and sounded horrible. Tried two more good quality DVDs I knew worked and the same thing. Obviously I figured out what was wrong with it initially and why it should have been "refurbished."
After having to then unhook everything and pack it up, I wasn't about to do that again. Went to Best Buy and bought a better Samsung unit with wireless rear speakers.
Moral of the story: Save yourself the trouble and just buy new.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Piece of junk

12/22/2013
By ,
Arvada, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since when does a surround system only have two speakers work on TV, radio and CD 's. The only time all speakers work are when you play a DVD or Bluray, speaking of DVD, it has never worked! From the very 1st DVD I tried to play, it froze up in the 1st frame and wouldn't go any further. It was a horrible mess to set up and then to have it not work was at the least to say, extremely disappointing!! The sound (what sound?) is terrible, sounds like it's coming out of a tin can. It's definitely going back, or trash, whichever comes first. Word of advice - don't waste your money or time with this piece of junk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Awesome Home Theater!

04/22/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a Philips Home Theater at first; I was NOT happy so I returned and purchased the Refurbished Samsung Home Theater system. So HAPPY that I did. The setup was easy. The SOUND is INCREDIBLE while watching dvd(s). Its like being in an actual 'movie theater'. When not watching dvd(s), the system is also used to provide the sound when watching TV. I would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Great product

03/13/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was shocked with the amount of features.blue ray/DVD Netflix pandora plays all the movies off my thumb drive too. Good sound from the speakers too. On the bad side some of the wires are a bit short and the have plugs so if you want to extend them you will need to add wire somewhere in the middle but not that big of a deal to me. Tons of features for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Sound is horrible!

03/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is a buzzing that comes from the middle speaker at all times,The voices when watching something is so quiet and the rest is so loud.Definitely returning! (which is a bit of a hassle)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Samsung Surround Sound DVD,CD & BlueRay System

03/13/2014
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the system I purchased. My son in law set it up for me. After some "training" on how to use it, I am absolutely loving the effects and sound coming from it when we watch movies. Makes you feel you're there in the big theater. So, now its movie night at Grandma's.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

Direct Network Connection required

03/13/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I loved the product and the price, but had to return it because it required direct internet connect. NO WIFI! so i wasn't able to use it. Walmart returned the item with no problems:)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-EM35 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player, Refurbished

An excellent value for the money

03/08/2014
By ,
Ste. Genevieve, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are enjoying our Samsung home theater with blu ray player. It is not equivalent to a higher cost unit, but it is certainly adequate for our needs and fills our living room with great sound. We did run into an issue with the remote also controlling our television and vice versa, but we separated the two and it seems to be working fine now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next