Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Sony Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

With all the elements for terrific sound built right in, there's no need for a subwoofer with this Sony all-in-one sound bar. So there's no worry about connecting or finding room for a separate subwoofer. The SA-40SE1 Sony sound bar is designed to complement 40" HDTVs. Simply connect the supplied analog cable from your television to the Sony all-in-one sound bar and plug the power cord into a wall outlet. Most universal remote controls can also be programmed to operate the Sony sound bar because it uses standard remote codes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%18 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

good purchase experience but bad product

08/28/2013
By ,
St.Louis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For starters purchasing off Wal-Mart.com was easier than I thought. I received free shipping so I did not have to go to the store, which would have been fine to avoid shipping cost.
Unfortunately, the product did not meet my expectations. The sound was weak and hollow. There was no bass or strong mid level. I would have received better sound by decent shelf speakers.
Back to the purchase process, I was easily able to return this to my neighborhood Wal-Mart. I brought the packaging and my e-mail receipt and they took it back without hassle. I recommend purchases through Wal-Mart.com just not this product.
I ended up buying the POLK Audio with wireless sub woofer. It was about 30% more but it sounds 100% better plus connected to my DIRECT TV remote without a problem. I had gone through about a dozen codes for the Sony and never found one that worked.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
09/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sound bar about 2 weeks ago and completely love it. I hooked up a ps3, cable box and blu-ray player to it and switching back and forth between units is so simple, 1 button and your unit is on. I have a good size living room and the sub is actually at a -2 and center is at +4 and my wife and I just love the sound quality. I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a home theatre without all of the speakers and wires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/04/2012
The unit did not work. I wanted to replace a sound bar that had problems with the remote. I could not get get this unit to work at all and retured it.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/21/2012
Hello,
I was wondering how you were able to connect those three devices and to switch back and forth with just one button? I can connect it to my cable box and hear the tv audio through it but when I want to play my blu ray player I have to connect it directly to the player to hear that audio. I can't connect it directly to the tv cause the connections on my tv doesn't support for it. Is there some way you were able to do it differently or do I just need a tv that has audio out on it?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Good clear sound.

09/10/2013
By ,
Palacios,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a window AC near my chair and have always had to turn the volume on the TV up high to hear clearly, due to the speakers on my LG 42in. having such small speakers. Turning up the volume too high made the speakers distort the sound and actually made it harder to understand what was being said. The Sony SA40 contains 6 speakers which project the sound straight at you with good clarity and although it will get very loud, I don't have to use much volume to clearly hear what is being said and with no distortion. My wife is hard of hearing and she loves the fact she can now hear the set clearly too. Should have bought one of these a long time ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
12/31/2012
By ,
Victorville, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because I have a 55" Sony HDTV the sound bar did not do for me what I expected it to do. This sound bar is for a 40" - didn't know that the size of the TV made/makes a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Didn't work at all

12/20/2012
By ,
Schererville, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased many refurbished items and this is the frst one that didnt meet my expectations... I hooked the sound bar to my tv and it didnt work at all...very disappointec
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Overall average sound quality

06/30/2013
By ,
Plano, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound is OK, no deep base but will suffice for a smaller room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Great product to boost you TV sound.

02/08/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to connect. No regreats here.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Not a good buy

12/11/2013
By ,
Westchester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After going through the pain of purchasing this item on Black Friday (when I could not complete the transaction with five different attempts) I finally was able to complete the buy the next day. The item arrived early and the set up was easy. But the unit kept turning off and I had to reboot. Also, the sound was very disappointing....best for 40 inch tvs and no higher than that. I will be returning this item to the store and do not recommend that anyone should purchase this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
01/04/2013
By ,
orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product and great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Great sound quality for the money!

04/02/2013
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to connect. All equipment and wiring included. Remote a little awkward, but easy to learn. Would highly recommend this equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

GOOD SO FAR

12/08/2013
By ,
lAUDERHILL,FLORIDA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SO FAR I AM SATISFIED WITH THE SOUND,,,THIS ONE IS 37.5 INCHES WIDE AND OK FOR MY 50 INCH TV IN LIVING ROOM BUT,,, A LITTLE TOO WIDE FOR USE IN MY BED ROOM 40 INCH TV ,,I AM WAITING FOR AOTHER ONE VISIO 32 INCH WHICH IS 31.5 INCHES WIDE ,ALSO ABOUT HALF THE PRICE ,,,THEN I WILL COMPARE THE SOUND OF THEM
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
01/04/2013
By ,
Cartesville Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
08/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sound bar was supposed to sync with my Sony Bravia television. Speakers on the t.v. project to the back and the sound quality is poor. I hoped the sound bar would help, but to operate it, I had to use ANOTHER remote control rather than use my Sony television control to adjust the volume and to mute the sound. I tried all options available but could not get it to work the way it was supposed to, so I returned it. Thank you, Wal Mart, for taking it back without question.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

excellent upgrade

12/05/2013
By ,
Troy, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased a 40 inch TV for a really great price 249.00, fantastic picture but the sound quality wasn't the greatest, purchased the sound bar which greatly improved the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Connection instructions could be improved.

12/13/2013
By ,
Harlingen, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Problems with the connections. Needed adjustments in my TV for the unit to function. Also, the "batteries included" were not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Poor Sounbar

12/14/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product came broke.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Great Product for the monry

12/13/2013
By ,
Granite Falls N.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the Sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

Great Soundbar

09/14/2013
By ,
ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my 32" Samsung TV in our bedroom due to the speaker sound was terrible on the TV. This soundbar is just right for our large bedroom. Doesn't blast out sound but does give the TV a great sound. Pleased with purchase. Setup was a snap. Plug into Tv and sound bar and you are set. Good addition to TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished

small dent but pretty good sound- lacking bass

12/25/2012
By ,
presque isle me
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we received our sound bar and there was a small dent in the face of it. It is lacking bass but okay sound, it does however have some white noise issues, it is quite temperamental.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony SA40-SE1 2.0 40" All-in-One Sound Bar,Refurbished
06/06/2013
By ,
New City, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar provides everything I expected and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next