Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Featuring a four-bar linkage and a full-suspension frame, this 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Bike offers a comfortable and controlled ride while providing a stable base. Tough climbs are no longer an issue with the optimal 21-speed gearing on this red Mongoose Men's Bike. This 26" Mongoose Bike also features a suspension fork that smooths bumps and increases control while riding. With a Shimano rear deraileur, this 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Bike also allows for precise shifting, making it easy to use for almost any bike rider. Twist shifters on this red Mongoose Men's Bike also allow you to change gears easily while the three-piece crank offers wide gear range. Linear pull brakes featured on this 26" Mongoose Bike also allow for great braking power. This 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Bike has alloy rustproof rims, steel handlebars, a padded seat and standard pedals.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation75%12 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Pretty darn good.

11/25/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike the day after black friday, for some reason it was still on sale. I had ordered a NEXT bike, and it was too small for me. Then I tried another NEXT bike and it came broken so I decided to try this one. I have to say I love it, changes gears great, tires are decent, shocks are amazing.
However the seat is a pain in the.. well.. where you sit. I replaced the seat with a cruiser seat and now it's super comfortable to ride around. Took it on the trail at my local park today where its very bumpy and full of roots, could barely feel the bumps like I could on my old bike. The metal pedals are a big plus too.
Btw I am a 5'7 female. I generally dislike woman's bikes, so I got a men's and this one fits me perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Meh

03/04/2014
By ,
Louisa, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My low rating of this bike has more to do with Wal-mart than it does the bike. I ordered this bike site to store and expected to get a brand new bike with all the pieces. What I got was most of a bike that had obvious damage to the box from it having been opened before. I brushed the box damage as having been bumps and such from shipping however, once I pulled the bike from the box I found noticeable tool marks all over the bike and the bit that hold the handle bars to the rest of the frame was missing.
That said, I did manage to get most of the bike put together and it looked very sturdy. I'm planning to go back to the store and get one that is already assembled so that I can be more certain of getting a brand new bike and not something that got sent back by someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Mongoose Ledge 2.1 blue bike

09/08/2013
By ,
South Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had problem with two different Huffy bikes...So I took it back upgrade too the Mongoose Ledge 21 bikecycle..I got it home and rode it one time and found the front and back tires was out of true, well I mean they was not line up..So I took it too bike shop to have the tires line up staright..Guy said at the bike shop lot of cheap bike you buy they never come with the tires line up staright. Now it's going to cost me another 35.00 to get the bike right..The bike it now only three days old, I talk with a guy in the bike department..He told me that when they load the trucks at Wal-Mart center they lay things on it, to save room on the truck..He said they maybe the reason the wheels are out of line..I hope that the only problem I will fine wrong at the time..I know it was rubbing the brakes pretty bad on the front and back...I didn't was too wear out the brake pads. I get my bike back in three days..Wish they had someone in the bike department at wal mart who could do it. Since it still under warrant. Well just say before you buy the bike be sure to spin the tires in the front and back tires too see if they are in balance and not hitting the brake pads. Good luck in that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

great bike

08/21/2013
By ,
susanviile, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is a great value. For only $119.00 this bike stacks up to a bike my brother paid $500 for. Definitely a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1

01/23/2013
By ,
Jonesboro, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike! It was a gift for my son. Now I ride it move then my son. Smooth ride and gear change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red
08/23/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike for myself (5'8 180 pounds) to just ride around then I realized I could take it off rode after a few weeks of doing very flat no stone ATV trails after doing that the right crank fell of completely (the side without the gears) it will no re tighten and I believe that the inside spindle is stripped because thin metal flakes fall out once I re-tighten it.
Next after I put super glue on the nut it worked for about a week then the front tube popped possible ripping the tire ( which for now i found no holes) after i replaced it the crank started to fall off again.
I took my bike back but they claimed they don't have to parts to work on the bike there and they also said I had the bike to long to return it so lucky I bought the Warranty or else I would be able to get my money back. They sent a gift card no questions asked and I got to keep the bike. I'm going to buy a new Mongoose Ledge 2.1 and replace all with new ones of those that broke on the old Mongoose basically I think that if your are buying this bike that you get the warranty and save yourself the trouble off running into broken parts and eventually just a broken bike. I still think this bike is great for the price and since it was from a department store I was expecting something special and wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Good structure design, valuable, perfect character

08/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend and I bought bikes at the same time. He bought a $99 bike which is only a little cheaper than this one. But this bike is definitely far more better than his. Not only for its characters, but also for its color, shape, structure, shock absorbers. The structure is designed to be flexible for avoiding shocking both on front and back wheels. Nice bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

bike

10/10/2013
By ,
bronx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am an adult; 6 feet 180 pounds. I was able to put it together. The shocks are really basic, nothing pro. I got a flat as soon as I did a bunny hop into the grass. I recommend this bike for a kid or a woman. Its not a pro bike. Great bikes are still $400 and up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

absolute garbage

07/08/2013
By ,
Tahoe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike because I couldn't afford a higher quality bike at the time and needed transportation to work. I've had it for a week now and a new part has broken every single day. The front wheel was put on backwards. The interior, where the spokes insert, wasn't lined with thick rubber and the front tire went flat a soon as I filled it with air and rode it out of my driveway. The left pedal fell off on my way to work. I fixed it using a wrench...thinking it didn't come right from the factory. Then it fell off again today.
Buy this bike if you want to waste your money and be angry
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red
10/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, but Walmart really needs to get some people who know how to assemble them *correctly*! At the very LEAST, they could tighten the bolts so the handlebars don't rotate downward while you're riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red
09/10/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After we spent a couple of hours putting the bike together, we realized the gears were broken! Had to take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red

Not a sturdy bike

08/30/2013
By ,
Annapolis, Md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very disappointed and in fact will be returning it. I was very displeased in the cheap made bike
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Bike, Red
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5