Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Lose weight in comfort with the Golds Gym 390 Recumbent Bike,Cycle Trainer 390 R. With a chair-like seat, you'll get added support so you can work out longer and reach your goals. The 16 workout applications of this Golds Gym Recumbent Bike make it easy to start your training. The resistance and time length of each workout are pre-determined so all you have to worry about is pressing start. A built-in weight-loss program will help you lose weight in only eight weeks. With the Cycle Trainer 390 R Exercise Bike, you'll enjoy incredible comfort and maximum results with this recumbent exercise cycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation82%150 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
91 Questions | 155 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Cycle: Great Machine, but .....

10/23/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October/2012: I initially bought a Gold's Gym exercise machine on sale at Wal-Mart. It was discounted from $247.00 to $199.00. However, the machine I bought was: GGEX61709.2 serial number. What I did not know is this machine had no LCD back lighting, so I could not see the scene at all, unless I shined a flash-light on it. The fan was very weak too. I could not feel it on my face. So, I took it back fully assembled and no box. I saw on-line Wal-Mart had another machine that looked exactly like the one I bought, except for some yellow coloring trim, and LCD panel lighting. This machine is: GGEX61712 serial number. So, I bought that one for $247.00 (not on sale for $199.99). Yup, I had another hour to putting together another cycle. However, I now can see the screen clearly without a flashlight. It is not real bright, but very unusable. The fan is stronger, and I could feel it on my face. There are a few more training options too. So, for $47.00 more money, I got a machine I love. I also bought a 3-year maintenance contract for $28.00. I highly recommend it. OK, you will read a lot about people being upset about loading batteries. Yes, you have little screws to take out from battery cover plate, and that is annoying. Plus, batteries get used up fast. So, I bought the AC/DC Adapter. WARNING: Do not send off to the card advertisement for the Adapter that comes with your new cycle. It cost me $37.00 with S/H and tax. You can get these adapters from Wal-Mart for $18.00 plus tax. I highly recommend the adapter, and as stated I highly recommend the Wal-Mart maintenance contract. These are great machines for the price. Tom, retired LEO in Orlando Florida
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great piece of exercise equipment for home

01/02/2014
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase. It wasn't difficult for my husband to put together. All the pieces were plainly marked and packed separately. The pedaling is very smooth and quiet. It is easy to understand the different programs. It would be nice to have a better explanation of weight loss program in the manual. It is very stable. I have it sitting on carpet and I don't feel any instability while pedaling. I haven't yet purchased the adapter to use instead of batteries, but I believe I will. The display is easy to read and understand. The adjustment is not difficult to do. It is holding tight after it is adjusted. I am using it to help improve movement in my knees. It seems to be easy on my joints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

I should have spent a little more, but not online

06/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first ever purchase of an exercise bike. I thought I have reviewed all the features that I wanted carefully. There are several features on this product that I thought they are primitively designed. For one, the small two-peed cooling fan inside the panel was too noisy and annoying that I couldn't stand to leave it on after a few seconds. Second, the wheels couldn't be rolled. They were skidding along the carpet most of the time when I tried to move it. Third, the lock-knob couldn't seem to lock the seat extension bar in place no matter how much tightening I had to make. The lock slid along the bar once I tried to roll it to another location so I have to keep making readjustment every time I moved it. I think I know what to look for in my next purchase in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Excercise bike for the price

11/12/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received it 2 weeks ago. Easy to assemble works great.
Cons: only thing is its alittle difficult to adjust the seat for different peoples heights. If your a single user this bike is great, if multiple users, you might want to consider a moving seat this one telescopes at the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Very happy with the features and performance

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my daughter and I are using this bike every day. I am using the weight loss program. So far it has been very good. Not too strenuous to start, but ramping up so as to challenge me and get me into better shape. My daughter, who is already in fairly good shape, has gone directly to the pre-programed courses and is being challenged nicely. The only criticisms I have are that it was a little difficult to put together and I wish the seat location was more easily adjusted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
11/01/2012
By ,
La Jara, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was easy to assemble. I have been using it for 1 week and I love it. The panel gives me the time, speed, calories burned, distance, and heart rate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Good Bike

10/30/2012
By ,
Wharton, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is okay except for one thing. The seat adjustment moves back and it periodically needs to be repositioned and tightened again. No matter how much I tighten the knob after adjusting it, the seat always needs to be fixed the next time I use the bike.
As a picky side note, if you are used to intense workouts where you burn 1000+ calories in an hour, this bike is not for you. I have only been able to top 600 calories in an hour so far and I was working HARD. Of course, I am aware that not all exercise is creating equal, so yes, it does what it is supposed to do - but if you want intensity, go with an elliptical or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390R

03/13/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the $$$. I was really surprised when I got it set up and started using it, I did have to adjust it but the ride is smooth. Nice advantages of being able to hook my MP3 player to it (rocking and riding..LOL) and having the built in fan. I do wish the fan was a bit adjustable for differences in height, but I'll survive. I did purchase the AC adapter for it instead of using the 4 D batteries that are needed for the computer, fan and speakers. Definitely a great product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Exercise Bike, however

02/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Gold's Gym Cycle trainer 390 is a great recumbent bike but do not try to install screws with washers without a ratchet, the manual says a wrench will work but the machine will wobble a lot if you do it this way, also check the packaging when you it, if the pedals or others part seem tied in plastics weirdly return the bike for a new one, this will save you a lot of trouble, also the right pedal screws in clockwise but the left pedal screws in counterclockwise. If installed correctly, the machine will not wobble and the pedals will be good and tight, make sure to use a wrench for the pedals, do not hand tighten or they will break off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Recumbent Bicycle for Under $300!

12/25/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 75-year-old mother so she can stay in shape over the winter (she has COPD). My husband and I set it up easily (took about an hour), got her on it and she tried it out and we tried it out - I would purchase one for myself, it's so good. Easy to understand, lots of variety in programs or you can just use the manual system and keep it at a low tension on the pedals, if you are just building up strength. I'm very pleased with this and so is my mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

good choice

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just started with this and so far think its a great choice
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Lot's of great features for an exercise bike.

11/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Real quiet and sturdy machine with great features. Took awhile to put together, but I did it by myself and several steps said to get another person to help. I was home alone and did not want to wait. I think I will really use and enjoy this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

great machine

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together and incredibly silent... you can watch tv while using it or use it at 4am without waking up the entire family
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Wish it had a book holder.

11/05/2012
By ,
Glide, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the seat is much more comfortable than the other bike I was using, the pedals placement force my knees to go higher and makes it a more difficult workout and harder on my knee joints.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
12/11/2012
By ,
Brenham, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned it for 2+ years. Great machine. 30 minute workouts daily. Start with level 2 and progress up to level 12 during my workout. Only negative is the seat moves at higher resistance. A redesign is needed for the seat positioning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Display Cannot Be Read

01/24/2014
By ,
Kansas City, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The equipment seems well made, but the LED display cannot be read easily. It is not backlit. I saw this flaw in reviews, and I ignored it. I wish I had not. It seems like a defect. I contacted the company. No, that is it. No backlight on the display. All of my other equipment, regardless of price, all have backlights on the display. The box shows a bright blue light on the display. That picture is incorrect. The company sent me a new console. Same thing--it cannot be read easily. If you care about tracking your time, distance, etc., this is not the cycler for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
The Villages, Fl
Customer
Posted 02/27/2014
Great bike, I would give it a 5 star rating based on quality and pricing....... I had a question when when on assembly and needed to have a part replaced, they were quick to respond and most helpful. Now that the bike is assembled it works great. Prior to purchasing the 390R, I looked at several other bikes in the price range and I am very happy with my decision.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
11/13/2012
By ,
Newman, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gold Gym Cycle trainer was easy to assemble. Broke down the second day after purchase. Called for a part to repair it and got the run around for three weeks so I returned it to the store for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
11/11/2012
By ,
Buffalo, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband back late September 2012, the box was damaged, my kids picked it up and brought it to our house, finding 8 pieces broken. Called the toll free phone number to have it replaced and they told me to put it together, give them the part numbers, they would ship out the parts, then a technician would come and replace the parts. That is all fine but, why should I put it together just to have it completely disassembled to replace all the broken pieces. It is now November and we still haven't received all the parts. Who knows if we will even keep it.....I am ready to throw it in the trunk and return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Glad I picked this one.

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, sturdy, user friendly, comfortable seat, easy to adjust for various leg lengths, easy to read "control panel", great size, many various preprogramed workouts and the option to make-up your own workouts. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Very well built bike for the price.

06/07/2014
By ,
Vancouver, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike comes in pieces and needs to be assembled. If you follow the instructions carefully, it shouldn't take more than 30 minutes. Very sturdy bike, clear and concise instruction manual. Would be good if the AC adapter for the display was included but batteries work well too. Have used the bike daily for two weeks now and it is a very sturdy unit. The built in programmes are excellent and it has speakers so you can plug in your mp3 player etc. I would recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 170 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next