Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Lose weight in comfort with the Golds Gym 390 Recumbent Bike,Cycle Trainer 390 R. With a chair-like seat, you'll get added support so you can work out longer and reach your goals. The 16 workout applications of this Golds Gym Recumbent Bike make it easy to start your training. The resistance and time length of each workout are pre-determined so all you have to worry about is pressing start. A built-in weight-loss program will help you lose weight in only eight weeks. With the Cycle Trainer 390 R Exercise Bike, you'll enjoy incredible comfort and maximum results with this recumbent exercise cycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.937 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
51
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation82%156 out of 191reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
51
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Very capable exercise bike

09/22/2012
By ,
Katy, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike about a year ago to have an option when I'm not able to get out on my trail/road bike during daylight hours. It's performed very well. I use it 2-3 days a week for about 90 minutes each time. It's quiet enough that I can use it early morning or late nights without waking anyone in nearby bedrooms. This is a very capable exercise bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Cycle: Great Machine, but .....

10/23/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October/2012: I initially bought a Gold's Gym exercise machine on sale at Wal-Mart. It was discounted from $247.00 to $199.00. However, the machine I bought was: GGEX61709.2 serial number. What I did not know is this machine had no LCD back lighting, so I could not see the scene at all, unless I shined a flash-light on it. The fan was very weak too. I could not feel it on my face. So, I took it back fully assembled and no box. I saw on-line Wal-Mart had another machine that looked exactly like the one I bought, except for some yellow coloring trim, and LCD panel lighting. This machine is: GGEX61712 serial number. So, I bought that one for $247.00 (not on sale for $199.99). Yup, I had another hour to putting together another cycle. However, I now can see the screen clearly without a flashlight. It is not real bright, but very unusable. The fan is stronger, and I could feel it on my face. There are a few more training options too. So, for $47.00 more money, I got a machine I love. I also bought a 3-year maintenance contract for $28.00. I highly recommend it. OK, you will read a lot about people being upset about loading batteries. Yes, you have little screws to take out from battery cover plate, and that is annoying. Plus, batteries get used up fast. So, I bought the AC/DC Adapter. WARNING: Do not send off to the card advertisement for the Adapter that comes with your new cycle. It cost me $37.00 with S/H and tax. You can get these adapters from Wal-Mart for $18.00 plus tax. I highly recommend the adapter, and as stated I highly recommend the Wal-Mart maintenance contract. These are great machines for the price. Tom, retired LEO in Orlando Florida
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great piece of exercise equipment for home

01/02/2014
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase. It wasn't difficult for my husband to put together. All the pieces were plainly marked and packed separately. The pedaling is very smooth and quiet. It is easy to understand the different programs. It would be nice to have a better explanation of weight loss program in the manual. It is very stable. I have it sitting on carpet and I don't feel any instability while pedaling. I haven't yet purchased the adapter to use instead of batteries, but I believe I will. The display is easy to read and understand. The adjustment is not difficult to do. It is holding tight after it is adjusted. I am using it to help improve movement in my knees. It seems to be easy on my joints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

DON'T BUY IT!

08/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just got the brand new batteries in and buying this bike is a bad mistake!! A horrible clicking noise begins and continues EVEN WHEN YOU ARE NOT USING THE MACHINE. You have to unscrew the battery console and take the batteries back out to make it stop, which means you can't use the resistance features on the bike. Others claim you need to buy a battery pack from Sears or other locations to make it work because the batteries drain in a few days. Now I have to call the manufacturer to see what can be done. Do not buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Not bad for personal use

07/15/2014
By ,
Pennington, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced my Proform recumbent bike with the Gold's Gym recumbent. While it does not seem to be as sturdy as the Proform I had, it was easy to assemble and has a nice selection of programs to use to help vary the workout. We'll see how it holds up over time, but the value for the money seems very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Does the job for fraction of cost.

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It certainly does what I needed it for: exercise. Setting it up took probably 2 hours... Suggest having the store set it up for you, since its cost isn't all that much anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Pedal Resistance Feature Didn't Work - Can't Fix

07/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product was defective out of the box. Got it home and took 2-half hours to assemble. Instructions state not to pinch wires during assembly, but is very difficult not to do when assembling. When assembly was complete, installed batteries and machine started making continuous clicking noises. Started pedaling and changing resistance levels - no change in pedaling. Called Customer Service who was very kind and helpful and led me through some diagnostics after saying I had to disassemble the handlebar, console, and post assembly to check if wires were bent, misaligned, or broken. They had me check some internal parts, then determined the resistance motor had to be replaced. They said would ship one out and I could replace it. I asked for a Technician to be sent out who could repair/replace the part then make sure everything worked. They checked stock and found they were out of stock and didn't have an ETA for replacement part. Warranty is only 30 days and they said it might take 60 - 90 days for part to come in. Since it was a gift, I'm keeping it as a "1-speed" bike to exercise on, but won't be using the 20 features I bought it for. Very quiet and solidly built bike, otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

So far, so good.

12/17/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this item online and found the lowest cost at Walmart. It was super simple to put together despite the directions suggesting two people are needed. I'm a girl and by myself I had it put together in about an hour an a half and that is with a 4 year old "trying to help". I purchased the AC adapter versus using batteries because as much as I'm using it I did not want to have to keep replacing the batteries as to do so requires a flat head screwdriver.
I haven't tried the different settings other than increasing and decreasing the resistance but from just reviewing the operating instructions it seems pretty logical.
So far I am very happy with this product, the operation, the size, and even the assembly time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Excercise bike for the price

11/12/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received it 2 weeks ago. Easy to assemble works great.
Cons: only thing is its alittle difficult to adjust the seat for different peoples heights. If your a single user this bike is great, if multiple users, you might want to consider a moving seat this one telescopes at the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Very easy assembly, comfortable ride

08/11/2014
By ,
Leesburg Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It only took half an hour to assemble. The instructions were very clear and easy to follow. This is a very comfortable bike and the time flies past very quickly once you start the ride. Great exercise for us seniors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great workout bike

08/07/2014
By ,
Avondale, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this bike for my Brother who just had a total knee replacement. He needed it for the motion of the knee. This is exactly what it does and it has worked out really great for him. He not only rides it for the exercise of the knee but also to get off some excess pounds. Thank you for the wonderful product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
11/01/2012
By ,
La Jara, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was easy to assemble. I have been using it for 1 week and I love it. The panel gives me the time, speed, calories burned, distance, and heart rate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Good Bike

10/30/2012
By ,
Wharton, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is okay except for one thing. The seat adjustment moves back and it periodically needs to be repositioned and tightened again. No matter how much I tighten the knob after adjusting it, the seat always needs to be fixed the next time I use the bike.
As a picky side note, if you are used to intense workouts where you burn 1000+ calories in an hour, this bike is not for you. I have only been able to top 600 calories in an hour so far and I was working HARD. Of course, I am aware that not all exercise is creating equal, so yes, it does what it is supposed to do - but if you want intensity, go with an elliptical or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390R

03/13/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the $$$. I was really surprised when I got it set up and started using it, I did have to adjust it but the ride is smooth. Nice advantages of being able to hook my MP3 player to it (rocking and riding..LOL) and having the built in fan. I do wish the fan was a bit adjustable for differences in height, but I'll survive. I did purchase the AC adapter for it instead of using the 4 D batteries that are needed for the computer, fan and speakers. Definitely a great product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Exercise Bike, however

02/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Gold's Gym Cycle trainer 390 is a great recumbent bike but do not try to install screws with washers without a ratchet, the manual says a wrench will work but the machine will wobble a lot if you do it this way, also check the packaging when you it, if the pedals or others part seem tied in plastics weirdly return the bike for a new one, this will save you a lot of trouble, also the right pedal screws in clockwise but the left pedal screws in counterclockwise. If installed correctly, the machine will not wobble and the pedals will be good and tight, make sure to use a wrench for the pedals, do not hand tighten or they will break off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Recumbent Bicycle for Under $300!

12/25/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 75-year-old mother so she can stay in shape over the winter (she has COPD). My husband and I set it up easily (took about an hour), got her on it and she tried it out and we tried it out - I would purchase one for myself, it's so good. Easy to understand, lots of variety in programs or you can just use the manual system and keep it at a low tension on the pedals, if you are just building up strength. I'm very pleased with this and so is my mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Wish it had a book holder.

11/05/2012
By ,
Glide, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the seat is much more comfortable than the other bike I was using, the pedals placement force my knees to go higher and makes it a more difficult workout and harder on my knee joints.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike
12/11/2012
By ,
Brenham, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned it for 2+ years. Great machine. 30 minute workouts daily. Start with level 2 and progress up to level 12 during my workout. Only negative is the seat moves at higher resistance. A redesign is needed for the seat positioning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

A well designed exercise bike for any age.

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I are enjoying our Gold's 390R Recumbent Exercise Bike. We bought it mainly for use in our rehab therapy program. My wife who recently had a scope of her knee and my having a total knee replacement. It is comfortable to sit on and easy to adjust the length of pedal distance. The cooling fan has two speeds and with a touch space on the control panel. It is totally quiet while peddling. WE are both in our eighties and find it very user friendly. The big bonus is the sixteen fitness programs. Mild exercise to weight loss training. We enjoyed assembling the bike with the well illustrated booklet---It took us approximately three hour to assemble. (Remember-we are both in our 80's). Happy Peddling--
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

My wife is using it

03/02/2014
By ,
Post Falls, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife wanted something to help her get exercise. I'm a cyclist, but I can't get her on a bike. The answer, a recumbent bike. Found this Gold's Gym unit on-line and had it shipped to our local Walmart for pickup, which went smoothly. Box was in perfect shape when loaded into my truck.
At 93 pounds, it was too heavy for me to haul up the stairs, so I emptied the box in my garage and took the bike up piece by piece. Flywheel unit, was still heavy, but manageable for this 63 year-old guy. Lots of parts, but they were all present. Good instructions. Took a couple of hours to assemble, but went together well and works fine. My wife's used it every day, and particularly likes being able to track calories expended.
Seems solid and well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 178 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next