Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Lose weight in comfort with the Golds Gym 390 Recumbent Bike,Cycle Trainer 390 R. With a chair-like seat, you'll get added support so you can work out longer and reach your goals. The 16 workout applications of this Golds Gym Recumbent Bike make it easy to start your training. The resistance and time length of each workout are pre-determined so all you have to worry about is pressing start. A built-in weight-loss program will help you lose weight in only eight weeks. With the Cycle Trainer 390 R Exercise Bike, you'll enjoy incredible comfort and maximum results with this recumbent exercise cycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
54
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation82%163 out of 200reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
95 Questions | 172 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
54
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

BEST BIKE I'VE EVER PURCHASED!!

06/08/2014
By ,
KENNESAW, GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I made this purchase. Walmart was nice enough to assemble with no additional charge. I have had the bike for two weeks and love it!. I love the fact that I can either use the pre-set functions or chose time intervals that I want. This is a very sturdy piece of equipment and doesn't take up much space, like I originally thought. It gives a great workout. I purchased D-batteries to put in it, but also ordered the adapter, because I don't ever want to be without use and can just connect it up when they fail. I would definitely recommend this piece of equipment, especially to someone wanting to invest in their weight loss or cardio workout.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Assembly

04/08/2014
By ,
Gaithersburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice easy to assemble
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Comfortable, Quiet, Great Features for the Price.

03/17/2013
By ,
North Attleboro, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a friend put this together for me. It took him one hour and not a single issue. He didn't even look at the instructions for but 5 minutes. The fan can go on high and is quite good and silent. I am 5 feet 2 inches and it does hit me in the face. It would be cool to have it adjustable but it's not. The seat is very comfortable and has a nice high back. The pedals are smooth and have a super quiet motion. The computers programs go by 8 weeks. You pick the week you are on and the day. It tells your heart rate, miles pedaled and calories burned. I would imagine getting the adapter is better than killing batteries over and over because the batteries run everything - fan, mp3, computer. I understand why some say a tall water bottle will not fit in the water bottle holder as the computer is very close to the top...they should have styled that better. This is an inexpensive, super bike for the money. I highly recommend this and other run well over $300 for the same features.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great design, very nice machine

05/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The makers went to some trouble to be sure this bike was easy to assemble. The parts were all well organized and nicely packaged and labelled. All bolts had blue loctite already applied to help assure that they stay tight under use. You'll just need a phillips screwdriver and an adjustable wrench; the required allen wrenches are supplied. Anybody that can tighten a bolt can assemble this.
After assembly mine worked well, just as it should. The distance from the seat to the peddles is adjusted by loosening one knob and sliding the bottom frame sections apart. This looks harder than it is. In fact it does not require lifting the unit, and this adjustment is fairly easy.
The little fan directs a breeze at your face. It has two speeds but isn't adjustable for direction. I haven't tried the mp3 player yet, or any of the pre-programmed workouts.
Overall this unit seems very stable and sturdy. There is plenty of adjustability and it can accommodate people way shorter and way taller than my 5'11" frame.
So far I am very happy with it, and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great bike for at home workouts!

01/13/2014
By ,
Edwards, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase! This bike is reminicent of the bike I have used at the gym in the past. I love the ability to use the preset workouts! The bike seems very sturdy and of very good quality.
I would recommend getting the AC Adapter - I did and it is so nice to be able to plug it in and not worry about changing the batteries. (FYI - the plug in on the bike for the adapter is behind one of the battery compartment covers and there is a slot for the cable to run through).
The screen is not backlit, but in a decently lighted room, it is not much of a problem. Bike seat is comfy and adjusting the length to fit each individual is easy to do.
The instructions recommend 2 people to assemble the bike, and while it would have been easier with 2 people, I was able to assemble it by myself in about an hour. Only additional tools needed are a phillips screwdriver and an adjustable wrench.
Very happy with this purchase and worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Resistance level stuck right after first power on

08/18/2013
By ,
Chandler, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to say the bike looks great and if it actually worked we would have kept it. I have knee problems and bought this bike because of the wide range in resistance levels along with some of its other features. It took us about 2 hours to put together and requires 2 people to do it. When I first sat in it and pedaled it (off - had not put the batteries in yet) it was perfect smooth and my knees were no where near hitting the bars same for my 6' husband. Note adjusting the seat is not very simple it gets stuck and the whole machine slides over instead of just the seat.
But the real problem happen after we turned it on. Somehow the resistance went from being smooth and comfortable to stuck on a super hard setting. Not even my husband could use it. we tried everything manual settings, resist settings up and down, turning it off, taking batteries out and nothing worked. I will be taking this back for a refund in the morning. Really disappointed it doesn't work after 2 hours of assembly.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

So far so good

01/26/2014
By ,
Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this exercise bike for my wife who has knee problems.
NOTE: if the box looks worn or damaged, don't accept it. The first one I got had a tired looking box and was damaged. I was lucky enough to have to repack it and return it to Wal-Mart. This wasted about an hour and a half of my time, but no one seemed to be too worried about that!
The assembly instructions were excellent and the second bike went together fairly easy.
After the bike was together, I noticed the 4 D-cell battery requirement. WHAT??? How CHEAP is that?
I went on line and ordered the 6-volt adapter for $23. BTW, there are no instructions with the adapter or in the bike assembly package.
I found that the adapter plugs into the cavity for the D-cell batteries AND THEN WHAT??? Is it just supposed to hang on the outside of the bike and look like junk???
I gave this bike 4 stars because it seems to be well engineered EXCEPT FOR THE POWER APPLICATION. Just a little bit more engineering for a power outlet at the rear of the bike would have made this exceptional...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Buy - Major body portions assembled

01/18/2013
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cycle provides me (80 year old grandmother) with much needed exercise on days that I cannot be outside performing gardening chores. My son assembled the bike in about 1-1/2 hours. All major body parts were pre-assembled. Instructions were the best you can get - all hardware was inclosed individually in a plastic sheet with each piece identified. This allowed removal of each piece from its encased plastic as needed while leaving remanning undisturbed until needed. I've never seen such great organization in something requiring assembly. The bike is very sturdy. Seat adjustment requires only loosening a bolt under the seat. I purchased the separate power accessory as I did not want to continually replace batteries. The power cord is a little short--would have been better if it were 8 feet instead of 5. I found Wal-Mart's price $100.00 less than the identical bike at other stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Convenient

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am currently pregnant and found myself being too tired to make it to the gym. I bought this indoor cycle because it was recumbent and had preset workouts. The preset workouts are great, however there is no option to set your own workout. You have to pick one of the preset workouts. They are all 30 minutes. I was pretty in shape before pregnancy and wanted to ensure I stay healthy during pregnancy. This is a great because I can exercise before or after work in the comfort and convenience of my home. The fan works well, the screen is visible (thought it doesn't really light up), I add an extra cushion for my behind but all in all it works great. I'm also looking forward to continued use after the baby comes for recovery. It was fairly easy to assemble although you need at least one other person besides yourself to put it together. I'd recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Wow, I am very pleasantly surprised!!!

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have back problems and am about 50 pounds overweight. I bought the bike because I cannot walk on a treadmill without hurting my back.
I am a 61 year old female and with the help of my 20 year old roommate we assembled the bike together. The instructions were easy and the hardware parts were well labeled. We actually enjoyed putting it together.
It is quiet, quiet, quiet. I originally put it in the living room so I can use it during the evening without disturbing the downstairs neighbors, but I was very surprised that you don't hear anything while using it.
It is very comfortable to sit in and puts no pressure on my back, so I can use it without hurting myself.
This is a great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Broke after three days.

03/24/2014
By ,
Corona, CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping to use this bike for a very long period of time. So long in fact I purchased the additional three-year warranty. Being six-foot eight inches tall this was one of the few bikes I actually fit on so I think I did pay a bit more that others ($269) for the "Golds Gym" name but sice I fit on the bike I thought it was worth it.
It took about an hour and a half to put together and the instructions were straight-forward.
Using the bike was like any other, just start pedaling and set the routine or resistance. The bike worked well for the first two days then on the third I wasn't able to increase the resistance and not wanting to jump through a bunch of hoops I returned it and purchased a Shwinn Airdyne 2.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great exercise bike!

12/17/2013
By ,
Jonesboro, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginning with the easy to follow instructions, parts clearly labeled, setting up the bike wasn't to difficult. There are some challenging workout programs on the bike. The fan on the bike is in a good spot, the pulse handles are easy to work with. The back support is probably the best feature for us. The bike is very quite even when pedaling fast. The display is easy to read and follow your workout program. The bottle holder comes in handy with my water there for sipping. Its cool because I can also plug my phone to the input jack on the console that also has built in speakers. Overall, we are very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Works great

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy although it took about an hour and a half. Everything works good and it runs quiet.The only down side is the adjustment knob to slide the seat back and forth has to be turned
down pretty tight to keep it from slipping and is then hard to loosen. Bought it to exercise my knee
after a TKR and it works great for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

AWESOME!!!!!

06/07/2013
By ,
Clinton IOWA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have lost 120 lbs in 2 years riding this bike. Started with 5 minutes now ride easily an hour. The seat is so comfy I lose track of time when watching TV and riding bike. I have an older version which had a battery cover problem which I fixed by ordering the power cord from Walmart for under 20 bucks. I do not use all the fancy training options just the read out of time, distance, and calories. I started at 300 lbs am down to 170 and this bike took me through the entire journey..never broke a piece !!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Forest Grove, Oregon
Please tell me more
Posted 11/12/2013
Hi, I see your review and wanted to ask you a few questions. First off, I am a 40 year old Stay at home Dad. While I work my rear end off around the house chasing my 6 year old daughter around, cleaning up after her and doing all the house work, I have gained a significant amount of weight due to a foot condition called Plantar Fasciitis. Its the swelling of the arch tendon that goes back to the heel. It is extremely painful and caused by my heavy frame. I tried our elliptical but I cant hold my weight on my feet without severe pain. I am hoping this cycle trainer will help me to lose 100 pounds. My current weight is 260 and I am only 5 foot 8 inches. I need to get back to at least 180. 160 would be ideal. I want my life back. Please tell me more about your experience with this cycle trainer. Did you adjust your diet much? What workout was the most effective? Any information you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you - Skippy
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

awesome!

10/28/2012
By ,
San Diego,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A self gift for birthday: took 2 of us to assemble.
Also I guess I use too tall a waterbottle( doesn't
fit. While ordering, they should suggest the four
D batteries it needs for the display(it also takes
your pulse, shows calories burned, mph & distance)...
I had it delivered, they could've saved my gasoline!
I haven't riden a bike of any type in approx a decade.
In the 2 1/2 weeks, I'm up to 6 miles under 30 minutes.
My twin and sister have exercise bikes so I feel
I can compete against them...I lost 80 pounds so
I need to tone up my muscles I forgot I have.
This is soooo awesome! Oh yeah, it has tiny wheels
to relocate, it's easy to do!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Broke after 3 months of light use

09/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit started to make a light thumping sound at around three months.( 30 minutes use per day.) It got louder and louder and you could feel the constant thump with your feet on the pedals. I suspected it wouldn't last, so I had purchased the 3 year service agreement. It turns out that the whole pedaling mechanism needs replacing. I got an e-mail stating that it cannot be fixed and an e-card refunding my purchase price less the cost of the service plan. The e-card can be used at Walmart or Sam's Club or for on-line purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Great Bike at a great value

12/27/2012
By ,
Merrimack, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the 390 R cycle trainer for about 2 weeks now and am extremely satisfied with the product. With the detailed instructions assembling the bike took about 30 minutes. There are 2 sized nuts and both appear to be metric so you'll need an adjustable wrench to tighten them along with the 2 allen keys provided in the set.
I really like the rigidity of the Gold's Gym product line and the bike is very stable and secure when pedaling. I researched the differences between power 390 and the Cycle Trainer 390 R and found the power 390 only has 12 resistance levels with 12 preset workouts compared to 16 of each with the Cycle Trainer 390R.
I've been through the first 5 preset workouts and they have kicked my butt. I'm a healthy man in my mid 30's who exercizes regularly and I was very pleasantly surprised at how challenging each workout is. The greatest resistance I've reached is level 8 for 60 seconds and my quads were burning. The pulse rate monitor and iPod connector are ideal accessories.
I was disappointed with the LCD display having no backlight. I also didn't like that you have to use 4 D cell batteries and have ordered the 6 volt AC adapter.
http://www.walmart.com/ip/16472415?adid=22222222227000790336&wmlspartner=wlpa&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&veh=sem
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

Best exercise bike value for your money

09/09/2014
By ,
Batesville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will take a minimum of one hour to assemble, most likely two if you are watching TV while doing so. Had to swap the front "foot" with the rear, because the directions say to put the one with the leveling feet on the front. The one here in the picture, on Wal-Mart online, is assembled incorrectly, you can see the leveling feet on the rear support. One of the screws holes on the tube supporting the display didn't line up exactly right, but went ahead and tightened it, a little cross threaded. It is extremely quite, and can definitely hear the TV. I like that the resistance can be changed electronically, rather than turning a knob and guessing. I like the programmed workouts, that automatically change the resistance. I'm 6'4" and it is adjust plenty long enough for me. The seat seems comfortable, although it sways with me if I pedal hard, probably due to my weight of 230lbs. I click off the 30 minute workout quite easily, and can see this to be a machine that will see more use than the treadmill that I finally sold. I have a healing broken ankle and this machine is easier on the impact. There are cheaper machines but I don't think you will get the quality, and can't see spending more for bells and whistles on the more expensive machines. This one has a plug for the MP3 player. I would advise ordering off of eBay a plug in for the display rather than the D sized batteries. You can get one for about $7 on eBay, postage included. Why didn't they include it?? I guess a buck is a buck. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

As advertised

09/17/2014
By ,
Springfield , Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
40 minutes to put together taking my time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Cycle Trainer 390 R Recumbent Exercise Bike

RETURNED TO STORE!

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bike has major issues and I had to immediately return it to the store.
Batteries keep running when you are not using the bike, draining energy, and causing
bike to have a loud clicking noise even when not in use. Display never lit up or worked.
Does not come with electric charger. Was a major annoyance to spend 2 hours assembling
only to find out electrics aren't working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next