Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Swann Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Swann Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

The Swann Home Security in a Box is a Do-it-Yourself monitoring System with two cameras for home or business. View and record from up to four cameras simultaneously during the day or night, indoors or outdoors. Included are two all-weather, high resolution 400TVL cameras with powerful night vision to 32'. Add two more cameras of your choice for full four-channel monitoring. Set and forget by recording continuously from two cameras for 60 days onto a massive 500GB hard drive, even longer with motion detection. Fight back against crime by deterring intruders, protecting your property and knowing what's happening at all times. This is an affordable yet state of the art solution for any home or business wanting complete protection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%40 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Excellent product at a very reasonable price.

12/31/2012
By ,
Bucks County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system was a breeze to set up and install with clear and consice instructions. The image quality in daylight is awesome and the night vision is very good. The software makes it very easy to set up and the options for camera setup and recording are perfect for the homeowner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 2 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Affordable, effective.

01/31/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good. I've had it for 2 weeks now. I haven't used the on-line or motion detection features but the hard copy manual that comes with this seems straight forward. I have it running four cameras. It replaced a Clover system which cost more and had problems from the start. The night vision is only good for a few feet in total darkness but these are all that way. They work fine at night on a lighted area. This powers a monitor all day with a four split screen. It works on a TV and also a computer monitor. The best way to operate it is with a mouse (included) and on screen menus. These are intuitive. You can copy recordings to a thumb drive should the need arise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Security camera

12/16/2012
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for price. Setup instructions need work. Can't setup wifi and smart phone unless you call tech support. Called them 3 times and finally have the system operating the way I want. Overall it's great for the price. Lets see how long it last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 4 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black
12/16/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was asaulted by my front neighbor on black Friday since that day we were taking turns sleep at night because him and his brother threaten to destroy our home with handgranaides. We decided to buy this product to be able to sleep a little better at night,, "boy!," did it helped us big time . We were able to record the different vehicles and men who were being sent by the neighbors to intimidate us so we would not prss charges. We find our selves broke but at ease in our home now. I strongly recomend this product it could save ur life.....
Thank you,
Elvia
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 5 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black
04/07/2013
By ,
Crossville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product performs as stated. Be prepared to go to Radio Shack for needed cables to meet your needs. Cables are provided with good measure with the cameras but from DVR to Video they are lacking. A call to tech service for a final check on your installation will be needed and recommended.
Tech service is average and usually out of the country. A modem connection is needed in the long run. I used VGA cable (like monitor connections) and it worked well. My monitor is for customers to see that the place is being recorded, it works well.
All and all, once you give yourself time to set everything up and understand how things work, which takes time, you will find it a good purchase for a two cameras, capable to handle 4 cameras, and work well. So far so good for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Decent system for the money.

01/01/2013
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You will need to call tech support to set up viewing on your smart phone or computer via the internet. It is a little complicated, but tech support will walk you through it easy enough. The cameras are just "ok" for night viewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Great system, just have a little patience

04/03/2013
By ,
Anderson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation of cameras and hiding wires was the time consuming part (to be expected). On one camera, I needed an additional 60 foot of cable to wrap around the exterior of the house, so I didn't have to drill holes and go thru non-accessible spaces. I didn't have time to ship one in and the local stores did not have, but found a compatible cable w/adapter at Radio Shack and got it installed that same night. YOU MUST HAVE A MONITOR HOOKED UP TO THE DVR to set the date/time, record functions, etc. We are a house of laptops and I-Pads, with no home unit/monitor, so our system was hooked directly into the router. I could not set any functions from these "remote" units thru the Internet, so I ran a video cable to our bedroom TV and used the system remote control to do the setup. This turned out to be nice because we can lay in bed and check the exterior of the house when we hear noises. I also go out of town and it's nice to keep an eye on things. Cust Serv is helpful and almost a must if you want "easy" instructions and not have to read over and over though they have Australian hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Was everything I hoped it would be

02/04/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was simple to hook up, moderately difficult to setup (for most people), I have not contacted technical support, so I cannot comment on that.
As far as the difficulty in setting up, that is to be expected with networking, and if you don't know anything about networking, I am sure you may have to call technical support.
I have setup everything except the "web" interface, and I am very satisfied. I have motion detection setup, and I can use my phone to view the cameras in real time, which is all I needed at this time. The motion detection area setup per camera is a great feature.
Overall, with the price paid for what this system can do, this system gets an excellent rating from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Great system, complete & no monthly bills!

02/20/2013
By ,
Hot Springs, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The front of our house and street has kicked up a lot lately. It makes me nervous to hear all of the commotion going on (doors slamming, cars idle forever, tires squealing). So even though I cringed at shelling out the bucks, I bought this system for the front of our house to keep an eye on things. I have no knowledge of how to set up a home security system so I went with a kit type of set up. This 'kit' comes with everything you need and I thought it was very easy to install and set up. We happened to have an older computer sitting around, so we used that monitor. It says you can also use one or two t.v.s . It comes with two cameras and they are pretty good. I can definitely see where you could get hooked and want more from these cameras as they only have night vision to 32 feet and no sound. For what we wanted they are fine. I did have to move them from being attached to our house to up in the trees closer to the street for a better picture.
The internal options give you the ability to set the motion detector to certain parts of the frame and certain sensitivity if you like. This worked out great because I was able to block out the areas where the bushes blow in the wind, but keep the sidewalk and street. I ended up bringing the sensitivity setting down so it wouldn't record every bird that flew by.
This system gives me peace of mind and of course that's priceless. I can't see incurring a monthly bill for security, especially when there are great systems like this one. Even if I upgraded the cameras, it wouldn't mean a monthly pay out.
Also this system is capable of connecting to your internet modem and providing updates/alarms to your phone or tablet. I have not yet tried this option so I can't speak to that.
The DVR has a great capacity and of course if you do catch anything illegal you have it in digital form and can email to TPTB.
I would recommend this to the novice homeowner who wants to know what's going on outside.
I can tell you I slept like a baby knowing this system was recording all night long for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Garbage

12/15/2012
By ,
COLUMBIA CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Total waste of money. 1 cable was defective, missing a connector. One 60 foot cable was 45 feet long. DVR did not work when I tried to start it up. The final insult was when I called Swann and I was told that to get longer cables I had to go to Radio Shack online to order them. I had it 4 hours and returned it for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 11 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Not worth the money

02/03/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off, the cords are not hidden, as it shows in the picture and there is not detail about this in the information about the system. Second, the "night vision" does not go anywhere near 32 feet, without having some kind of light. Third, the customer service at Swann is ridiculous. They do not know what they are talking about and cannot help you set up anything. And fourth and final problem I found with this system (which in turn has made me never want to buy anything Swann again), is that it says you can set up the system so you can view your cameras from your smartphone or another computer outside of the home but, it won't do it and the CSR at Swann don't know how to do it. I would not recommend this to a friend or family member. I wouldn't want them to get jipped.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

More than I expected

02/24/2013
By ,
columbus, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was supper easy the picture quality is great in the day the night vison is limited to about 20 feet with good picture quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

it is a great product but the price in the store

01/11/2013
By ,
61111
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is a great product but the price in the store was not the same as online and was a pain to return the store bought one and order online version
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Great basic system

01/31/2013
By ,
Ogdensburg, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this system a little over a week but it seems to work just fine. It was very easy to set up and it records as it should. I called customer service for a bit of technical support and was very pleased with the experience. I was only on hold a few minutes before a very courteous and knowledgeable staff member answered. I was quite impressed with the call. You certainly can't beat the price of this system and the value received. The cameras are basic with resolution on the blurry side but acceptable for simple monitoring of areas. I used the motion detection mode and it worked flawlessly. I have not configured the remote access due to security concerns with Universal Plug and Play vulnerability. Overall I am very happy with the purchase and would recommend it to anyone wanting a simple starter surveillance system. Bravo Swann!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Great unit for the price!

01/28/2013
By ,
South Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product came quickly and well boxed. The assembly is extremely easy unless you run it through the attic as I did. Still wasn't too bad except for having to crawl around in confined and dusty spaces. Did the drop down in a closet so that was pretty simple, Probably had it up and running in 2 hours.
Picture quality is pretty good for entry level cameras, falls off a little at night. The cameras are probably more useful for the entry points into the house than for wider angles. I like that I can watch on my laptop via wifi connection! I'm recording in alert mode with motion detectors.
I am very happy with the purchase and I'm going to get a couple more cameras.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black
04/03/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it is a good system. I only use the recorder to monitor so I have no comment on the phone or email options.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Not what was pictured/blogged about

05/08/2013
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After reading the reviews from other people and seeing the images the camera captured, I was surpirsed to see it was not what I expected. I did some other research after purchasing this product that was so well rated and discovered the cameras are best used in small rooms or hallways....The camera angle is so narrow you would need numerous cameras to capture a large area outside....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 18 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Great camera for keeping an eye on things.

02/04/2013
By ,
Port Allegany PA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the cameras for a few weeks they are great for keeping an eye on things they cover a big area and the picture is clear. I would recommend to anyone that wants to keep an eye
on things. It is a great price for what is in the bundle you have everything you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

Exactly as described.

02/10/2013
By ,
omaha,ne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item for the money.
Replay alittle slow but does work.
Record and all features work as expected.
Connections alittle touchy but will connect if pressed tight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Swann Home Security in a Box, Black

awesome

03/13/2013
By ,
covington, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really love this,security camera, all what they say and more. very good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next