Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GPX Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

GPX Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

The Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator is designed to reduce soil compaction, water run-off and puddling. This manual lawn aerator is made from steel and allows you to provide your plants' roots with better access to air, water and fertilizer. The Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator helps promote growth of flowers and plants. By breaking down thatch and promoting the growth of strong roots, this manual lawn aerator also strengthens your plants' tolerance to drought and heat stress. Professionals recommend aeration in both spring and fall, depending on the type of grass.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Tap it to unblock it...

03/05/2014
By ,
Clermont, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great piece of equipment. I had a choice hire a heavy motorized aerator at $80 for four hours. By the time I would have hauled the thing home set it up, figure out how to use it, do my yard, packed it away and taken it back I would have taken a lot more than four hours. Or buy a manual tool, which I could use at my leisure for a fraction of the cost and have it to keep forever.
I read the reviews and purchased the Yard Butler. I give it 5 stars if there were more I would give it more. This is not a tool for the faint hearted as it takes real manual labor.
Step it into the ground and it pushes out earth plugs and leaves a hole, brilliant! My first two steps produced four wonderful holes then one of the prongs jammed up with dirt. I spent 6 minutes jabbing at it with a screwdriver. I had read the reviews and expected this, so carried on undaunted. Another 8 holes and it jammed up again. 7 more minutes unplugging with a longer screwdriver! A further 12 holes and a further 5 minutes worth of unplugging one of the prongs. This was plain ridiculous. I was unplugging it more than aerating the soil. $80 was looking like a quicker and better deal.
Then it came to me. Don’t jam the screwdriver into the prong chamber to unblock it, a couple of good taps with the handle of the screwdriver against the prongs vibrated the blockage out. Even better, the sturdier wooden handle of my hammer would tap the blockage right out. That was it, hammer handle in hand there was no stopping me. While still a pain blockages took seconds not minutes to clear. They really should sell this tool with a prong mallet.
Second thing I learned: work side to side to cover a wider area and work backwards so as not to flatten the wonderful holes you are creating. This is a wonderful must have work out tool which does exactly as it is intended to do if you use the tap out technique I suggested. I did my yard in 3 hours over two days. Saved money and got fit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Very happy with this core aerator!

03/22/2014
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews before I bought the item but still was not sure what I was getting into with it. The space I was going to do is 25' x 40' and it's taking a lot of hours...I might have rented a power aerator had I known how long it would take but I would want the manual one to use on 'trouble spots' later, anyway. I'm glad to say the tool has exceeded my expectations. Someone had said to be sure to clean it out and oil it after each use and that is good advice...I let it sit overnight and the mud had hardened in it so I had to clean it out with a screwdriver. But it is easy to use and really pops those plugs of earth right out. After many years without aerating this area, I thought it would be very hard to push into the ground but it isn't at all. It's good exercise, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Not what I was hoping for

10/24/2013
By ,
Cleveland Ohio suburb
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've used this product a couple of times with very limited success.
I always push the devise down fully to the ground with very little presure needed.
If the ground is fairly dry, it seems to "pull out" thatch & dirt plugs most of the time and they are ejected out the top of the tubes and fall on the ground. Sometimes I have to push down in two or three spots before a plug will be ejected from the tubes. It apears that each ejected plug, consists of 3 mini 1" sections (thatch & dirt, thatch & dirt, thatch & dirt), instead of one 3" plug of mostly dirt and a bit of thatch top ! However, it appears leave 3" deep holes each time.
But, if the ground is fairly damp, this devise is almost useless. It does make 3 inch deep "holes" in the ground. However, absolutely NO dirt plugs get ejected (even after 5 or 10 push downs), but the tubes are filled with dirt. I assume that (after the tubes get initially filled) all of the dirt is just pushed strait down (below the 3 inch depth of the metal tubes). I was not expecting this, and wonder if this situation is really that healthy for the grass roots, since that ground below the "plug holes" becomes even more compacted.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Great product

07/22/2013
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this aerator once and it took me around one hour to aerate 5000 Sqft lawn. Works easier than you might expect. The advantage of this tool is that you can aerate just the trouble spots. Water your lawn the day before aerating but not too much! If your soil is clay and it is too wet every single core will stick. If soil is too soft it won't push the core out but you don't need to aerate that area. One tube was clogging more than the other one and I used a sander to smooth the inside. It did the trick and both tubes are fine now.
Clean, wash, and make inside the tubes SHINY after each use. Dry well and use WD-40 or any grease to protect from rusting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator
02/22/2013
By ,
Phoenix, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine - just still a LOT of work. If you have a space less than 800 square feet it is a good investment vs renting a machine from Home Depot or a "ren-a-center". It still took me (900 sq ft) about 2 hours to do an equivelent job to a rental. BUT - I OWN IT> So - figuring two - three sessions per yaer - it will pay for itself.....as long as I can still walk...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Perfect...unless you have 1000+ s/f of lawn

07/07/2013
By ,
Rocklin, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After using this thing, the difference in my 500 square foot lawn is miraculous. Core or "plug" aeration is way better than using a "standard" aerator, which just pokes holes in the ground and can actually compact the soil further since nothing comes out of the ground. The Yard Butler coring aerator extracts uniform 3" x 1/2" plugs from the ground and deposits them on the lawn (where they should stay, according to the manufacturer's instructions, so they can release micronutrients back into the soil). It took me around 2 hours to thoroughly aerate, and was a bit of a workout, though nothing anyone under 80 with 2 decent legs couldn't handle. When finished, the lawn looked as if 1000 miniature Schnauzers had simultaneously taken a dump on it, but results were apparent almost instantly. The lawn is now uniformly green, water no longer puddles, and the texture of the grass is vastly improved. Moreover, the heavy-gauge steel construction and strong welds on the tines make this thing virtually indestructable. The cost was less than renting a traditional aerator and the results were visibly superior. This thing will be used every 6 months or so for years to come. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

St. Augustine lawn w/heavy clay...Huntsville, Tx

09/13/2013
By ,
Huntsville, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works as described with the exception of heavy clay. Areas of my lawn was suffering due to compacted soil. Cored those areas and the Saint Augustine is thriving. The only downfall is some parts of my lawn are composed of heavy clay. You must irrigate the heavy clay soil to the right moisture content. Too much water and the core aerator will not pull plugs of soil (the tines will clog up with heavy clay and will just act like spikes instead of pulling plugs). If the area is dry to the bone, then it's difficult to even drive it an inch in the ground. With the right amount of moisture, it will drive all the way and pull plugs and the tines may get clogged from time to time. I just clear the plugs with a screwdriver. The rest of the lawn that doesn't have heavy clay was easy to do with no clogging.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

does exactly what it is supposed to do

03/05/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked very well on small lawn. easy to use. got clogged up only one time due to small rock getting stuck in it, but was easy to get out with screwwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Great little tool

12/02/2012
By ,
Marana, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this was sturdy, and worked as advertised. It took me about half an hour to aerate our 900 sqft lawn. I watered the grass prior to starting, and as I stepped along, new plugs kept pushing the old ones out. It never jammed on me. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Good tool

10/16/2013
By ,
new
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for a smaller yard. It's labor intensive (hence good for smaller yards) but did a great job. I had no problems with bending prongs or dirt getting stuck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Good for what it is.

09/05/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You must understand this is a tool used for manual labor. I think it is wonderful at what it is supposed to do, blisters, sweat and all. I have apparently hard soil which routinely caused one of the spikes to clog. This is not a problem of the equipment and I feel it performs as advertised. I would buy it again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

i need one.

04/13/2013
By ,
55060
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when will be available.thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

So far.. So good!!

08/10/2013
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to help with some problems areas in my lawn. The device works very well and is easy to use. I don't think it replaces a professional job... but it does seem to help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator
02/25/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never used this before but my lawn was crying for some attention. It was easy to use & worked well. Would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Butler Manual Lawn Coring Aerator

Get Ready for some work

10/09/2012
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great. If you have a big lawn though, be ready for a work out. Must have moist soil and a stick ready to get any rocks out. Lawn looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.