Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProForm Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

ProForm Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Burn calories, lose weight and feel great with the Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill. Featuring a Custom Weight-Loss Workout Center, this treadmill allows you to preset your time, minimum speed and maximum speed, so you can get a great workout on your own terms. With iFit Technology, you'll reach your goals with personalized programming, online tracking, workouts powered by Google Maps and more! Plus, quickly adjust your intensity level with QuickSpeed and Quick Incline Controls.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%36 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great Treadmill for our home gym

03/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pro-Form 520 ZN is very well-made. The base is sturdy and the belt is wide enough to run on with plenty of room to move. The speed and incline adjust at the push of a button. The programs are easy to use and add variety to the workouts. I really like plugging in my I-pod and having all my favorite music right there.
We have only had the treadmill for one week, but I am confident we made a wise choice and purchased a well-made product that will last many years.
We did get very frustrated with the Home Delivery and Assembly service. The main issue with this service is their lack of communication. The trucking/delivery service needs to improve on this and communicate with the customer from the date of pickup from Walmart to the home delivery date. We were beginning to wonder if we were ever going to get our product. However, the assembly team was very professional and did a great job. This is a great feature as my husband does not like putting things together, and the product is really heavy. Well worth the wait!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Good value overall.

02/18/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value overall.
1. Very heavy, about a 1.5 hr assembly time, 2 people. Do not pull the black wire tie thing out of the left leg!!! It serves a purpose, I found out after I pulled it through but it all worked out anyway. It is used to pull the connector through for the display module.
2. Lots of features, fan, speakers, etc.
3. The treadmill operation itself is very quiet, however, when you start running on it the shocks are hard plastic and they slam over and over onto the bottom deck. This is way noisier than the treadmill itself. You think they could have come up with something a little more quiet with all the technology these days.
For the money not bad, but I have only had it a week so we will see in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Working Great!

02/13/2014
By ,
Seymour, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this treadmill at our local Walmart store about a month ago. My husband did most of the unloading because this was REALLY HEAVY and we took it upstairs too! Assembly took about an hour and a half and I helped hold parts in place. It has been working perfectly ever since. I walk 4-5 times a week and use the incline and sometimes a program. My husband does the same. We have both been very happy with it. The fan is not great, but not a big deal. We turn it off and unplug it after every use, a treadmill technician said to do this bc it protects it from power surges/outages (which we have many in East Tenn). I recommend this treadmill. We did buy the extra warranty since I had read these reviews that were all over the map from great to terrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Have to pay more for the "extras" after purchas

03/20/2014
By ,
Tn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, the side was cracked when we got it. It was only cosmetic so it wasn't worth the return. Second, the reason I wanted this treadmill was because it came with the ifit programs. Found out that you have to pay $10 a month to actually use them. REALLY? Not happy about that at all but still not ready to return. After the fourth use the belt slid sideways and was not usable. I'm not adjusting a belt on a treadmill I JUST GOT! Back to walmart it went!!! I'm trying to get my old treadmill back that I sold before I got this one. Hope I can. It was a Golds Gym! I'll be going back to them one way or another!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

good value for the price

01/20/2014
By ,
locust grove, ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to be exactly what we were looking for so far. Husband is in the 215 lb range and can easily rub on it, without the belt slipping, and it has shocks, so the treadmill doesn't shake the whole house when he runs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Jaks Mom

01/12/2014
By ,
Orland Park
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest after the reviews I saw about this treadmill I was ready to tell my husband to take it back. All I wanted was a treadmill that was QUIET! I had purchased a Pro Form many years ago, with the warranty from Wal Mart/Sam's Club. The first Pro Form I purchased kept calibrating and I called the warranty company and they asked me how much I use the treadmill, l said everyday and asked me how much I weigh...yikes! I am not over weight.. LOL. They honestly said we cannot send someone to fix it so they sent me my $500.00 back. Really this is true...this treadmill has been running for probably 15 years plus after they sent my money back. So, within the last six moths the treadmill was still so loud. OK for awhile but the smell was there everyday. I said, I think I deserve a new treadmill. So...I could not believe how quit this treadmill is and I am extremely happy. The fan is not that good, but oh well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Pro-Form - good brand

04/05/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Pro-Form before but we moved too many times and the last time we decided not to move it with us. It held up to all the moving including upstairs, downstairs, house to house. I loved my other treadmill and so far this one has matched it.
I would recommend the delivery and set up. I did it with both of my machines. I didn't have to worry that anything was not done properly. It was definitely worth the extra money. One guy, one hour and it was running perfect. He tested everything and showed me how it worked before he left.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Good Treadmill for the most part.

05/29/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this treadmill about 5 months ago and have used it 10-15 times. The last 5 times or so it has started squeaking whenever you adjust the incline. So far, that is my ONLY dislike. I love that you can customize it by your personal weight, workout length and # of calories that you would like to burn. I don't like have to change the speed and incline myself every few minutes. I'm hoping to purchase the iFit live module soon so that I can create a workout exactly the way I want! That will be awesome.
Good:
Not too noisy, compared to treadmills I've used in the past
Very large and clear display
Automatic workouts change every minute (keeps me from getting bored)
Wide track
Folds up very easily
Nice speakers
Not so good:
Squeaks when adjusting incline
Fan only blows on you if you are right up next to the front
Heart rate monitor isn't very accurate
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great treadmill for a decent price

04/20/2014
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was looking to purchase a treadmill I compared probably 10 treadmills. This one stood out mainly because of the name Pro-Form. I know that they put out good quality equipment for a decent price. What sealed my decision with this treadmill was seeing a video that someone posted on YouTube. Once I saw that the motor was nice and quiet and it also had wheels to roll I was convinced to buy it.
The positives of the treadmill are endless. For one it's nice and quiet, that means a lot to me because I live in a apartment and I have neighbors under me. I use my treadmill in the morning and at night. I asked my neighbors if they could hear it and they said no. As far as the features they are great. They have great workout programs that fit any fitness level.
I love the MP3 input I plug my iPhone in and just run for hours. You will need to purchase a MP3 adapter if you don't have one which I did from Walmart for about $3. It also comes with a fan that keeps you cool. The only negative of this experience was delivery. This treadmill is 200lbs and when it was delivered I had to help the delivery guy bring it in the house because he was alone.
Also a big negative is the description of this product says Assembly Available. Well Walmart never sent anybody to assemble the treadmill, even though I called two times. Luckily I'm a guy that has some sense of how to put things together. The total time to put it together was roughly 2 hours.
I did need help from someone to hold the left and right frame up so I could attach them to the console board. Someone had to hold them up while I screwed in the screws, other than that I pretty much did everything else on my own. If you're someone that is not mechanically inclined you might want to make sure that Walmart does send someone out to assemble it for you.
Besides that issue the treadmill has been wonderful. I use it twice a day to run about 10 miles a day and so far I have had no issues at all.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Early review just picked up yesterday

09/15/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So this a good treadmill so far. For 600 bucks it better be. Assembly was no problem for just one person. Its very sturdy and easy to use. 2 people to get the thing into the house would be better but I managed to muscle it in on my own. Other than that I assembled it by myself in about an hour. I would recommend this to most anyone. Its very robust and the manufacture warranties the motor for 25 long years and the frame forever. One year on everything else.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Better options out there

11/21/2012
By ,
rockford
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can get similar treadmills for this price range with a better motor. If you notice, the motor is advertised as 2.8 hp, but it's really a 1.8 CHP motor. (you can contact Proform, they will verify this) For the same price, you can get a 2.25 CHP motor from their other models. If oyu plan on walking only, this may be for your but you should just get the better model for the same price.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pelham, AL
You are wrong
Posted 06/25/2013
I just called Proform and this unit has a 2.8 HP / 2.25 CHP motor
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great value

02/02/2014
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Requires two people to assemble and one needs to be handy to understand the assembling instructions. A couple of parts were wrongly marked( left as opposed to right). It is definitely a great value given the features it has. A comparable treadmill at sears was around $800. So far I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

love this product

04/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My whole family loves the fact that this treadmill is easy to operate and allows us all to work out at our own pace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Exactly what I needed

03/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a great treadmill, pretty quiet has more than enough features, and went together very easy when I put it together by myself. I bough this model because of the bells and whistles and for the warranty it comes with. The ssupport for it is very good as I've already called in because when I assembled it, I found a 1 inch cut in the belt and the display was placed on crooked. They sent me new ones with out hassle. It does have a kind of cheap look and feel, but I think most treadmills under a thousand will.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Early Review of the Product

10/03/2012
By ,
Osceola, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spend a decent amount of time researching treadmills before purchasing this one. After getting it home I opened the box in my van and brought all the small parts in first. I was able to bring the motor/base in on my own (5' 10" 190lbs, 43 years old). I had my 10 year old son "assist" me putting this together and it took somewhere in the range of 1-1/2 to 1-3/4 hours. I have worked as a mechanic and have worked on computer equipment so I know how to use a wrench and screw driver. Everything assembled well but I had some concerns.
1. The Wire harness barely made it to the top of the left arm, When I finally plugged it into the console, the console wire was long enough so it all worked out.
2. I seemed to have some issues with bolts on the right side. I felt I had to give it a bit more elbow grease. (and yes, everything was lined up) The screws used could have been better quality or machine screws.
The advertising stated it had a "2.8 HP Mach Z Motor" but the box states it is a "2.25 CHP motor", when I brought this to the attention of Icon (the manufacturer) customer service, they explained it is the same motor. So compare prices with other 2.25 CHP motors. Walmart offers the older model (Golds Gym, also made by Icon) for $79 less! Also check the equivalent NordicTrac model at Sears. Also go to the Icon website to see they manufacture many different brands, comparison shop!
So far I really have no complaints about the treadmill except maybe for the fan. It sounds like it is rubbing against something. Plugging your ipod into it required a Stereo audio cable, it is not like a dock/ipod cable end. I understood that when I purchased it but it's probably something you should know if you don't have one. Personally, earphones are probably better.
I haven't tried out Ifit so I cannot comment on that but it sounds like an interesting feature. Aside from that, the treadmill has several programs and I find the Speed/Incline buttons on the console to be convenient. Overall I am happy with the product, I hope to return after using it for a while to complete the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Good features just read the instructions

03/25/2014
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this this past Sunday and needed to people to move it around. You can put it together yourself, but it would be helpful to have a extra pair of hands. The base has some good weight to it. Took about 2 hours to put together by myself. Only used a few times so far but seems that it will hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Good treadmill

03/14/2013
By ,
Longview, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Treadmill is very sturdy. My husband weighs 220 and was able to run on a incline with no problems. Just as previous reviews, it really takes two people to build it. It is a little time consuming ( took us a little over an hour ) to put it together. I would recommend to put a rug or mat underneath it because it will scratch your floors.
I would recommend this to other people. This treadmill compares to a professional one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Treadmill

03/27/2014
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for the cost
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great treadmill!

03/26/2013
By ,
Gastonia, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this treadmill at the Walmart on East Franklin Blvd in Gastonia, NC. The assembler there was awesome, I bought it on a Thursday night and he had it ready for me on that Saturday like he promised. I love the fact that I can connect my iPod to this treadmill and listen to the music through its speakers instead of putting earphones on. It's definitely less of a hassle. It also has a 2 setting fan which puts it over the top of the cheap treadmills because others usually do not have one. The belt is pretty quiet and I love that it is wide enough to have me and my small dog on it at the same time! I posted a video of me and my dog on the treadmill to prove that we use it together. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pro-Form 520 ZN Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great Treadmill for a beginner

07/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently purchased this treadmill in June. Treadmill was in stock so I was able to take it home the same day I purchased it. My husband & son brought box in house for me. I basically put it together myself without any problems & took me a little over an hour to do. This is my first time buying a treadmill for at home use. I love how it automatically changes the speed & incline in the pre workouts & it also gives a warning sound when speed is about to change. I love that its ifit compatible but wished it came with an ifit module. I will be buying the ifit module soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next