Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Nikon Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

When life is action-packed, you need a camera that takes great photos and HD movies without interrupting the fun. The super-fast, super-easy L610 Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera hits the mark. Zoom in close with a 14x optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens. Optical VR Image Stabilization keeps the shot steady (even if your hands are not). You won't have to worry about camera settings — Easy Auto Mode on the 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera makes all the control decisions for you. The high resolution 16.0-megapixel CMOS sensor on the L610 Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera lets you shoot with confidence in challenging lighting conditions. You'll create brilliant photos and Full HD (1080p) movies — indoors even without a flash, during sunsets, on cloudy days, beside nighttime cityscapes and more. Fire off action sequences at 1.9 frames per second (up to 4 shots).
Average Customer Rating:
3.437 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation66%47 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Excellent Value

12/19/2012
By ,
Windber, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a Nikon Coolpix L11, which we used for about four years. It was an easy camera to use, light and reliable. This newer L610 has given us the same type of service with greater flexibility, more detail and enhanced features. We expecially like the telephoto and low light performance and the video capabilities. One of the best features is that it still uses AA batteries. The new high performance AA batteries work very well and have good duration. More importantly, they're easy to replace in a pinch, especially when outside the US. The L610 is a little heavier and larger , but well worth it when considering the performance. The camera package includes updated editing software for a computer. Because the lens is larger and more susceptible to damage than the L11, we purchased a small carrying case. While it doesn't have all the GPS and wireless features of some of the more expensive cameras, it does what cameras are supposed to do - take great pictures with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

great little camera for the price

05/04/2013
By ,
Newton, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the compact size and the way it fits my hand. Pictures are sharp. The primary drawback is the relatively short ALKALINE battery life, which is a problem with most AA powered cameras. Be sure to use quality lithium batteries or good rechargeables and you won't have any battery problems. Good zoom range. I purchased a hard leather Nikon case which protects the camera and lets me just stick it in my pocket, so it's always ready. I like the zoom range for photographing birds, butterflies and flowers. Very good macro mode for close-ups. I have not tried all the features available and I am not a professional. I have not tried nighttime shots as yet. I was looking for a handy little camera to replace a different brand digital camera that I owned and this fits the bill, but again be sure to use lithium batteries or good rechargeable ones. I stick a couple of spare batteries in my pocket when I go bird-watching just in case I need them. I bought this from my local Wal-Mart store and the price is very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

BEST FOR THE MONEY

01/04/2013
By ,
KAPAA, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EVEN EASIER TO USE THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. GREAT CLEAR PHOTOS AND VIDEO.
YOU MUST USE LITHUM BATTERIES OR THE CAMERA DIES QUICKLY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Pretty good camera, so far

12/28/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a lot of learning to do with this camera. But the one gripe I have right now is that battery life is super short.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Good camera for the price.

11/27/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice camera with good feel to controls onboard. It is also right size for portability and my size hands...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera
02/26/2013
By ,
Old Bridge, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera. Take the time to get to know all the settings and it will take great pictures. Use lithium batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Nice camera

02/21/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took this camera to Vegas. It took great pictures and was easy to use. I hardly had to use the flash, that was great for taking pictures inside. I only gave it for stars because it has so many slections to choose for taking pictures it was hard to use, but with use it should become easer. And sometimes it was hard to get it to focus. I really think this is a great camera and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera
01/26/2013
By ,
denver. co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well in low light. video very good. photo quality good. better than most small cameras, i am hard on cameras so end up buy one every year. easy to use.
battery life ok, i have had cameras with better life.
my only problem is the wrist string is on the left side not good for one hand shots with right hand.
will see if the camera wears out or i break it first.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

very good zoom power

01/21/2014
By ,
Lodi, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
camera zooms really good. it would be better if it didn't go through batterys so fast. I took
200 pictures and I went throught 7 sets of batteries. So if you buy this camera, be sure to purchase them in large quantities and carry them with you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Nikon Camera

12/19/2013
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera was Regular priced at $179.99 and Sale priced at $99, but don't know the actual" Retail price", so I expected it to be a whole lot better that my Canon 12.1 mega pixels but the truth is mines takes clearer pictures and is more stable. But my son is a photographer at his school so this will come in handy for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

GOOD CAMERA

12/16/2013
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Iv had 3 point and shoot camera and this is the best one so far.
Its not a $500.00 camera .But will do the job.
No good for fast moving like sports.
But like I said its not a $500.00 camera.
Takes great pics outside and inside in low light
Great zoom on this.
Eats up battery but all do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Great camera for the price.

01/15/2013
By ,
Means KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the camera, especially the zoom on it. Great camera for everyday use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

if the subject is moving forget it

05/26/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
in store I was really impressed with the pictures this camera took so I bought it my first time actually using it was yesterday at a wedding and I only got 1 good picture, every other picture was blurry the shutter speed is soo slow I even tried the sport setting and pictures were still blurry. its a great camera if u only wanna take still photos which isn't what I want so im taking it back today
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pa
I got the same
Posted 12/12/2013
Iv had six cameras now point a shot and they all do what you are talking about.
I don't want to go out and spend $700 0r $800 on one.
The old 35 mm would stop anything.
Let me ask you did you find one that works?
With out braking the bank
Please let me know.
Thanks Ron
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

I love it and it takes amazingly great pictures

12/26/2013
By ,
Hudson NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend it to any one. Its so easy to use and to set up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Clear Camera but Bad Battery Life

12/09/2013
By ,
Boston MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Takes great pictures and love the video button, but it went through three changes of AA batteries in two weeks. Going to return this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Not worth it

03/12/2013
By ,
Swansea, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this camera online for vacation. I did not have very high expectations for a $150.00 camera, however it was not what I expected or wanted. It took great pictures, but took way to long to process each shot before youcould take another. And the flip up manual flash... Why? Definitely not worth the extra $50.00 over the many other budget cameras they sell. I even exchanged it for $79.00 camera that works much faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
Faster Memory Card needed for Nikon L610
Posted 03/19/2013
You're right — this camera is somewhat slow to write pictures but largely that can be improved by getting a faster (newer) SD card, a class 10 that does 45MB transfer speed works best but at minimum you'll want an SD card that can do 30MB per second (especially if you need to shoot video). As for the manual flash, the low light capacity means you don't always need flash unless you're shooting moving people or pets in a low-lit environment where you will see blurring if the lighting isn't decent (for minimizing blurring it is also helpful to increase the ISO). The good thing about this camera, in any event, is that when you do use the flash it will go a lot further, up to 19 feet, yet at the same time it doesn't have a narrow, blinding focal area that will glare off of subjects' the way some very small camera flashes do.
In general, Easy Auto (with heart icon) works better than the Auto/program mode for capturing the best shot on this particular camera. Finally, this camera is also fairly quick to eat through AA batteries. Nikon should have included lithium AA's for some 400+ images, as opposed to just 40 images on a set of alkalines. (There is a place in the menu to set it to rechargeable or lithium batteries.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Great little camera

03/17/2013
By ,
Southern Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera based on the specs, the most important one being the use of AA pen light cells. No dead battery worries. I would have preferred a slightly smaller size but compromised to get the 14x optical zoom. It is still small enough to be easily carried and takes great pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Does the job but requires backup batteries

12/16/2013
By ,
Havertown, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fine for a knock around camera
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

An excellent value and great picture quality.

02/16/2014
By ,
Mtn. Home, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent value and great picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nikon Black COOLPIX L610 16 MP 14x Optical Zoom Digital Camera

headache

01/11/2014
By ,
mpls, mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ordered this as a package deal from Wal-Mart, the camera came with pictures already on it, the new batteries worked for about 4 pictures and then ran out of juice, the memory said it was full after 4 pictures, its big and bulky...as soon as I can figure out how I will be send the stupid thing back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next