Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kenwood Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kenwood Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Upgrade your vehicle's audio with the in-dash Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver. It features CD/MP3 playback and a front AUX input for a simple connection to MP3 devices. The included 6-1/2" round, coaxial, 2-way speakers provide a higher performance sound than a factory speaker would offer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%69 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

great sound great price

12/22/2012
By ,
mt vernon il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it was alot better than i ever expected
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Great value,easy process.

12/26/2012
By ,
New Port Richey FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Kenwood PKG-MP18 Is Great!

12/31/2012
By ,
Wilmer, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than I had hoped for, this car stereo with 6 1/2" speakers is great! It has a removeable face-plate and the speakers even came with new wire, which I really needed because my old infinity speakers had a different hook-up and the new wires came ready to hook up the new speakers on one end. Great sound and the options on this are amazing. The only thing it didn't have is a remote, which I probably wouldn't use anyway. The CD player is easy to use and I haven't had any problems at all. The speakers come with covers too and their own screws. I got it online for 10 dollars cheaper than they had it in the store and got it within a couple of days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle
12/25/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stereo was a Christmas gift for our son, so he just got it. He and my husband put it in on Christmas day and it worked very well. It has great sound and was easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle
01/21/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb audio quality for the price. It has many audio control features that will allow you to customize the stereo to your exact audio preferences. Instalation can be done at home as well. Instead of spending money to get it installed you can install it. The only issue we ran into was the wiring harnass for the stereo and we had to seek assistance from a car stereo specialist. Only issue I`ve found so far is when you turn it on every time, after about five seconds the screen reads "CALL" and the music stops and I have to hit the power button to return to the music. However, overall this product is definetly a bang for your buck and will turn any car into a supreme stereo system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 6 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Good car stereo for the money

01/10/2013
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did not want to spend a lot on the car stereo since I am installing in a 1984 Totota pickup truck. I had seen other people's ratings and thought it was worth trying. For an online price of $60 including speakers I thought this was a good deal. I just installed the unit and it works extremely well. Sounds good and has CD player and auxiliary input. The only minor issue is the speaker cover and metal insert. I installed the speakers into the door panel and one speaker was attached using the 'interior holes' that allow the plastic part to be screwed in place with the speaker and the second speaker was installed using the 'slotted' screw attachment. Using these 'slots' the plastic cover is not attached with screws and needs to be 'pushed' onto the speaker. It is not very secure and falls of easily. I am now in the process of attaching with an alternate technique to ensure it doesn't happen again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Receiver is great, Haven't tried the speakers yet

01/14/2013
By ,
Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bundle for the price...Kenwood makes good quality equipment, matched with Wal-mart's prices you can't beat it. The bundle came with pretty good instructions, just know that you will have to buy additional connections made specifically for your car and possibly the filler if you are replacing the factory system. Use Youtube for helpful instuctional videos before you plan on installing and it will save you a LOT of time!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle
12/10/2012
By ,
LONGISLAND NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BROUGHT THIS FOR MY HUSBAND & HE LOVED IT. & THE PRIZE WAS RIGHT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle
01/02/2013
By ,
Georgetown,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great car radio for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Good value, good power in head unit.

02/10/2013
By ,
PDX, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't installed the speakers but plan to replace the OEM fronts in my wagon that sound distorted. Head unit went into my Honda Prelude and a huge improvement over a 12 yr old Aiwa head unit that never had enough power (but one of the few firsts to play MP3 files way back then). Brought my 6x9 speakers back to life is the subjective impression I got. Yes the display seems out dated as most displays are 'dot' oriented when this one is 'slash' like a cheap digital alarm clock so less refinement in terms of 'display resolution'. But for the money when this is sub-$50, hard to beat. Radio reception for me was improved as well. Glad I got it for head unit, speakers should be a decent replacement over OEM set, but I'm not expecting the speakers to be a huge upgrade, nor should anyone else unless they are replacing distorted speakers like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Good package for $ 59 for the radio

01/01/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The head unit (radio) is an excellent value as a factory Replacement.The speakers in the package on the other hand are horrible. Toss the speakers out and just use the radio. Volume on speakers was low and poor sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Way better than stock stereo

01/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my moms car and installed it that same day and I loved it. The next day I went and bought another one for my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Great

01/01/2013
By ,
Bay City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this in my jeep .....love it along with the boss 6x9s my jeep will make the guy pull up next to me at stop light ears bleed.....LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Great quality and value, stop looking and buy

01/02/2013
By ,
Conway, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always liked Kenwood products. I installed these in my Mustang and was not at all surprised to find that both the head unit and speakers are quality products. I have Bang and Olufsen speakers in the front and didn't have any speakers in the back. Figured I'd get the package deal, didn't expect the speakers to be that noticeable over the B&O's (the speakers they put in the new Bentleys) but low and behold they make their presence known and sound way better than I expected for an entry level speaker. They're driven by a JL Audio amp and seem to have no problem handling some power. Save your money and buy this bundle, it's better than most Sony or pioneer products you'll find
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Great purchase!

02/28/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit as a replacement for the original. Found this unit on Walmart.com for a great price with the added speaker pair. Selected pick up option, and was pleasantly surprised to get a credit as it was ten dollars cheaper in store that day! After installation, the unit works well, and provides clean crisp sound. Easy to read display in red. I really like the the digital eq display. It's cool, once you figure it out. Note: the manual may be needed for many at first to navigate the dial. After that you'll be fine. Highly recommend this set to anyone looking for an inexpensive above average, standard car radio. Speakers are great as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

not what i expected from kenwood

01/02/2013
By ,
fort smith, ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
speakers work fine, stereo comes on but will not send any sound through speakers at all
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 17 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

great price for great stereo

01/11/2013
By ,
Apex, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After Christams this package was on sale for around 55 bucks. For a Kenwwod stereo with speakers I could not pass up and replaced my old Kenwwod stereo that had a CD player that quit working. Since it was a fairly recent Kenwood I was replacing it literally took me 5 minutes. The new stereo slid in to the old stereo opening with no wiring needed. Sounds great, Easy to set up features. Large volume knob. Very bright display, and easy to change between aux, standby and tuner. I am very satified with the stereo. I have no need for the speakers so I can not rate them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle
02/06/2013
By ,
Palmer Lake, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the product as a Christmas present. Walmart did a great job with expedient shipping at no cost! I installed the stereo after new years. The stereo worked for 3 days before breaking (error 99). Kenwood customer service stated that my only option was to mail the product to them at my cost. Then to wait for them to repair it and mail back; an ungiven amount of time. If I wanted to pay to mail and wait for the item to be repaired I would have invested that money into a better product. I will never buy another Kenwood due to poor customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 19 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

Outstanding Sale for 49$

05/22/2013
By ,
Fema Regein II, East Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ripped out old Stock HU for this incredible piece of equipment. For the price you cannot even come close to beating it for a Kenwood. Aux input does come in handy for Sirius/XM input. Speakers also thump a bit and can be tuned with the HU.
Only downside is Walmart rarely has Wiring harnesses that you would need.
refer to ebay and order the correct one but in the end result it is definitely 5/5 self installed.
(I recommend having someone install it if you are inexperienced.) Self install took about 1 full hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Kenwood PKG-MP18 CD Receiver with a Pair of 6-1/2" Coaxial Speakers Bundle

More than your money's worth

04/19/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at this unit. It blows away the stock "premium" Ford factory stereo that was in my Ford pickup. Lots of power, and clean sound. The included speakers are good (not great). They don't do justice to the power of this system, but they are essentially free, and are quite respectable-sounding.
Along with adding another set of Schosche 5 x 7 speakers that I bought from Wal Wart, I've got a grand total of about $110.00 in my new system.
I am very glad that I came across this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next