Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Crosman Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

The Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope is a powerful rifle that shoots up to 1,200 feet per second with lead-free pellets. The Crosman Rifle with Scope comes with an ambidextrous stock. This break barrel single-shot rifle features a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight, which ensure you get a clear view of your target for better and accurate shooting. The hardwood-stock Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle requires .177 cal pellets for ammunition. It is also equipped with CenterPoint AR 4x32mm scope with rings. The Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle also features the revolutionary nitro piston, which greatly reduces noise and vibration. Whether you're hunting small game or just out for target practice, the Crosman Rifle with Scope is a smart choice for both experienced and novice hunters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%19 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

This is'nt your granpas pellet gun !!!!

12/10/2013
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this gun....wow! My son(9 years old# was hitting cans at 30 yards with iron sights. Temperature was around -2F....yeah cold. This gun is very solid....the picture they show you makes it look very cheap....nothing could be farther from the truth. This gun is a hard hitter. Just shreds whatever it hits. I like the wadcutters with this gun but hollow point and defenders work just as well#this thing does not care what you shoot out of it...it's accurate). It is a heavy gun....like your average 22LR. It is a little hard to crack the barrel at first but gets easier...heck my wife did it....don't be a sissy. If you are looking for a nice pellet gun....get this one. I just can't believe the accuracy right out of the box. I can't wait to try the scope. It appears to be a very decent scope. I like the fact it has iron sights as well as a scope. That was my reason for buying it. This is a very fine pellet gun....buy it you won't regret you did !! It is very solid and not cheap. Nitro piston is the only way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Can't Beat It For the Price

06/10/2013
By ,
Mount Joy, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent price for a pretty good air rifle. I had very low expectations for the scope and the mounts that came with it are defective, so I haven't been able to use it yet. But it doesn't diminish my overall view of the gun as the open sights work fine for my primary reason for buying the gun – dispatching the overabundance of nuisance rabbits we have here in suburbia. I'm totally confident in this guns ability to make consistent, humane head shots up to 20 yards or so. It is accurate out of the box. The cocking mechanism is much harder than I expected. It takes me 2 hands to complete the motion and I'm a fairly strong person. Perhaps it will loosen up after I break it in a bit? The wood stock is of acceptable quality at this price range as is the noise level – I really don't want to alert the neighbors, their kids or my 5-yr old son to my backyard bunny control efforts. The Vantage is a nice step up from the Crosman pump master and Daisy variable pump BB/Pellet guns of my youth and it's powerful and accurate enough to humanely deal with backyard pests.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP break Barrel rifle

09/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really great gun for the price. Shoots accurate with the cheap scope that it comes with, but I have a better scope I am going to be putting on It once the new scope rings arrive! Make sure you clean the barrel very good before you shoot, it reduces the break in time dramatically. I have put about 100 rounds through it so far and I can consistently hit nickels at 20 yards. Decided to see if I could hit cans at the end of my drive way which where I had the cans it was 118 yards! I hit the cans after a few shots of knowing where the pellets were hitting that was with the cheap scope. Very good product very pleased and this is the second break barrel rifle love this gun and its very quite with the Nitro Piston. This gun is very accurate with the crosman hollow points have yet to try any others I have always liked the hollow points. Overall great pellet gun for $100
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Accurate and good value.

09/11/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this for about 3 months now. Out of the box the box the rifle can take down 2 inch spinner targets at 20 yards or more bench rested and it was loud as a regular spring break barrel. I've shot Crosman Premiere hollow points the groupings got tighter but not consistent on paper. The bundled scope optics where not very good and the rings don't have scope stop screws. I've upgraded the scope rings with scope stop and change the scope to a Simmons 4x32 with adjustable objective. After 3 tin can of RWS Diabolo Classic the rifle is a lot quieter and is grouping 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch at 35 yards bench rested. This gun don't shoot well with cold barrel. You need to leave it outside to warm up, otherwise your shot will be all over the paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Scope will not focus

04/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The gun shoots OK. I found it hard to charge.
The scope would never focus so it was especially hard to zero.
Seemed accurate at 10 yards and pretty good at 20 for bigger targets.
Decided to return this and think about a CO2 instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Crosman Vantage

02/06/2014
By ,
Fairfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gun two years ago from Dicks Sporting Goods. At the time I payed $130 for it and it was money well spent. My scope was damaged in shipping, but the manufacturer quickly replaced it. The scope on this gun has a lifetime warranty which is awesome. If you're wondering how hard it shoots I can tell you it's nothing to shake a stick at. It easily punches through 1/4 inch fence boards and plywood from 12 yards. I have killed everything from small birds to groundhogs with this monster. Accuracy is astounding with this gun. After sighting in the scope I was hitting water bottles at 115 yards, believe it or not, and nail heads at 20. This is truly a tack driving, ground hog killing, accurate son of a gun. This gun, however, is very heavy weighing around 8.5 pounds which makes standing shots very difficult. Remember to use only Crosman branded pellets in this gun for best accuracy, oil the spring housing, and clean the barrel. Unfortunately for me this guns spring broke internally on 2/4/2014 and I now have it shipped back to Crosman for a high powered airsoft sniper rifle. Bit of a downgrade I know, but well worth it to me. Hope this helps to make your pellet gun search a little easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Great value for the money

03/01/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the vantage np a few weeks ago and it is very accurate. I haven't mounted the scope yet but I am able to hit tin cans at 25 yards with the open sights. I purchased this model because of the ability to use either open sights or a scope and I don't regret the purchase. This is also the least expensive nitro piston airgun that I have found (124.99 on Walmart.com). It shipped quickly and was actually delivered a day early. Walmart also gives the option of free delivery to a local store but shipping to my house was only $1.97. The rifle is good quality for the price and Walmart.com was great, I will definantly buy from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope
06/06/2013
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First nitro power break barrel rifle. Very nice product, much smoother then spring power rifles. This rifle is very powerful at 1200fps. It requires less cocking power then spring power rifles and is quite accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Great value for the money.

04/04/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accurate right out of the box. I was able to hit target at 50 ft with iron sights. No adjustments needed. Gun is also very quiet too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Good Air Rifle

04/19/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this rifle for about a month and it is a very nice rifle. It is very accurate especially after the break in period. Most people don't realize that these air rifles require a break in period before they gets as quiet or as accurate as it will be after it is broken in. It shoulders well and feels nice. The scope is a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Nice rifle

04/15/2013
By ,
Peyton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice rifle, hard wood stock, good weight, good feel, powerful shot and pretty darn accurate even before using the included scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Great Rifle But
Posted 05/17/2013
As everyone else has said its a great rifle, great price..
... However i cant hit the side of a house at 25 feet let alone 25 yrds, Open sights or scoped.I am a fair shoot..So i am hoping its not user error lol.. Ive ran over 350 pellets from Crosman, Daisy, Gamo.. Different types as well, points, hollow points,wadcutter,doomed.. They are allllll over the place, and very random even when braced..
I love the gun,and I am hoping the break in period will help. But i am starting to get disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Great target shooter

06/23/2013
By ,
paulden
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took about 6 shots to zero in scope at 50 feet. Now shooting bullseye every time. I did a lot of research on gamo and other brands. Gamo now can be retrofitted with a nitro from crossman. Why not buy a crossman,alot cheaper. Very good for target shooting. Scope is very clear. Walmart has the best buy on this item. Buy good ammo like pointed pellets for best accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Money well spent

06/29/2013
By ,
Slippery Rock Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before spending money on just about anything I do research; the results of my search provided me with a rifle that exceeded my expectations. The wooden stock while not fancy suits this rifle admirably; the barrel bluing is pleasing to the eye; the fiber optic sights are quite visible and if not preferred the 4X32 scope is easy to attach and was easier to sight in; the trigger travel is acceptable and adjustable making this rifle fun to shoot and quite accurate. After a break-in period of about 65 shots, the one stroke cocking became easier and the report(noise) decreased dramatically!! To say that I am pleased with this product is a gross understatement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Great rifle, poor sights and trigger

12/06/2013
By ,
Stillwater, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Crossman Vantage NP .177 is a very good, powerful platform coming from the factory with poor adjustable sights (unusable), and a pretty good scope. Once the scope was mounted I found the rifle much more accurate, although not the "tack driver" it is supposed to be. So I spent another $33 for an aftermarket da Tuna GRTIII trigger which solved the problem of a very poor factory trigger. So I now have a very powerful, very accurate and fun-to-shoot air rifle for about $140 total. To buy a comparably-shooting air rifle that will perform as this Crosman Vantage does now, would be well over $250 to $300. If you buy one of these, be ready to use the scope and change the trigger ... in the long run, it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Crack shot!!

06/29/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and sighted with open sights in moments out of the box and was able to produce a tight group at 30' and 50' without the scope. Very noisy at first, much like a .22 rim fire, but after 30 odd pellets it was very quiet and the kick almost non-existent compared to spring mechanism rifles in the same class. I will never buy Spring Action again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Good pest gun.

07/01/2013
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a lot of varmints around and this gun will definitely take care of them. Very powerful for a pellet rifle. I did have to adjust the sites a little and after that it shoots perfect. I haven't put the scope on, so I can't rate it. It looks like it's a good scope though. The reason I deducted a star is because it is so hard to break open. If that was easier I would have absolutely no complaints at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope
06/15/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As everyone else has said a good rifle for the money.
However, break in for mine took a good 500 pellets to smooth out. If your having trouble with accuracy buy you some Lock Washers and Loctite. Add the washers to the 3 screws that hold your rifle to the stock,apply Loctite as well. This will help keep thoses screws from loosen as you use your rifle and thus destroying your accuracy.
Apply a little to loctite to the scopes screws as well.
As with most pellets rifles,a good pellet helps, Mine likes the crossman hollow points and the Premier, destroyer ex.
Most importantly learn the "artillery hold".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SoCal
LocTite and Artillery Hold?
Posted 08/10/2013
This is an NP AR without the recoil double jerk as is common with "Springers."
Are you actually referring to this NP AR or the Springer version which does benefit from the Arty hold technique?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

This gun was frozen solid

06/18/2013
By ,
Clearlake Oaks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How can you use a pellet gun that would only take a huge vice to break down the barrel? I'm no weakling, OK? But If I applied enough force to open this thing, there would be serious damage to it.
And guess what, this is the second Crosman gun to do this for me. Yes, I've returned 2 of them.
If Crosman can't make a gun that can be used by an average person, then why bother.
I know that the CO2 guns leak after a short while and you have to factor that in with your usage.
Well, I'm through with 'break the barrel one shotters' Crosman has cured me of that. I will look to CO2 guns from now on. Very disappointing experience...both times. Plus, what's this break-in period for? My advice is to steer clear of these type of guns. It's not worth it. Too many problems with them. And for only one shot at a time? C'mon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope

Excellent price and fast shipping!

03/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased an air rifle and ammo. I haven't fired them yet. I can't wait to try them out when the weather breaks.
The rifle appears to be of top quality.
The folks at the store were very efficient and courteous when I picked up my items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP Break Barrel Rifle with Scope
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5