Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

The Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set helps keep food fresh and safe, while camping or going on long trips. This set made from BPA-free plastic and includes one 2.5 gallon container with lid, one four-cup rectangular container with lid and one 2.5-cup deep square container with lid. It also comes with two 2.9-cup square containers with lids, two 3.2-cup bowls with lids, three 1.2-cup twist and seal containers with lids and four 0.5-cup mini containers with lids. In short, the Rubbermaid food storage set can accommodate all types of food and sauces. All containers in this set are microwaveable, freezer safe and dishwasher safe. This is a plastic food storage set every household should have.
Average Customer Rating:
3.323 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation65%20 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

basic set

12/28/2013
By ,
Kentucky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One thing this set has going for it is the variety of sizes of containers. The main container is large, and the smallest containers would hold maybe 1/2 cup. Which is good for those times when you want to send just a bit of something home w/someone, or maybe pack in a lunch.
They weren't quite as sturdy as I thought they would be, but they work well for just basic containers. Would be useful for non-food storage too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Good product for the price

01/01/2014
By ,
55418
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like many others I was annoyed with the 50 different container/lid combos I had in my cupboard. For the price, this was a great improvement. I paid less than 7 per set and bought two. I still need a few of the ones that are 5x9" with the separate compartments that come with other sets for noodles or rice+sauce but I'll buy some of those later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

It's cheap and looks cheap..

11/24/2012
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this thinking that the rest of the containers packed inside would be as sturdy as the outer one. I should have known that considering the price it is unlikely. Everything inside is so flimsy and I was disappointed. They are likely to break when used everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Agree on the inside containers...
Posted 12/12/2013
I agree with you on the inside containers, but just the outer one normally costs $11.92 (on its own), so I found that saving 42% and getting a bunch of containers that I can use at least a few times (or give gifts in), was still good value.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Not what you expected

12/10/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this was a great deal initially as it was for 6 dollars on Black Friday. The biggest box was like what you expect from a Rubbermaid product but the disappointment comes as you open the box as rest of the storage boxes are flimsy and tiny at best. Outer most box had hard cover but rest of them looked liked it could break anytime. I am returning the product as soon as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Consider this before you return it!
Posted 12/12/2013
I agree with you on the inside containers, but just the outer one normally costs $11.92 (on its own), so I found that saving 42% and getting a bunch of containers that I can use at least a few times (or give gifts in), was still good value.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

cheap plastic wear

01/05/2014
By ,
twinsburg, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought these Rubbermaid before, in this set all plastic inside the large piece were the cheap disposable containers. The only one worth saving was the large container.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Exceeds my expectations

12/09/2012
By ,
Holbrook, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The same item at the same price was in the store, but it didn't have the large container, only a cardboard box. This was a pleasant surprise and my daughter will love it. Don't know about it's durablity since it's not yet been used. I love Rubbermaid products, so expect it should be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Re: The other set.
Posted 12/12/2013
I ended up getting some of each set, because while I liked the giant container this one came with, all of the containers inside are of poorer quality. The other set that was the same price but in a cardboard box had all containers of the same quality as the big one here. Just FYI, in case you wanted to pick up some of the others.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Very Happy

01/08/2014
By ,
va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been happy with the Rubbermaid products, and still am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Rubbermaid Takealongs

12/10/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, glad I didn't hesitate on the Black Friday deal. Everything you'd expect from Rubbermaid and was less than $7. Great value at twice the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Great price

12/29/2013
By ,
Des plaines, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Great value

12/21/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a set if my own and a second set as a gift. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Large container is great for the price

12/15/2013
By ,
Douglas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wait every year for Black Friday to purchase this container, the large container is pricey
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Awesome product and price!!!

12/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the variety of sizes that came with the set! And the price was incredible! Great quality as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

Broken

12/10/2013
By ,
louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The largest container has a BIG crack in it from delivery I guess! I'm not Happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set

cheap

12/10/2013
By ,
westminster, md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rubbermaid Takealongs 28-Piece Food Storage Set
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Appearance
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Durability
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5