Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%19 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

A nice remake

12/17/2012
By ,
White Sulphur Springs, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that this was a nice remake of the original and I at least enjoined it. Plus I had downloaded this and had to buy it for my brother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Well done AND funny WITHOUT being campy!

10/19/2012
By ,
Palm Spgs CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first heard that Burton was doing Dark Shadows I was a bit worried. After all, how could it compete with the original?
Quite well, as it turns out. True, the original concept would have made 'purists' happy, but Depp, while acknowledging ALL the built-in comedy, intentionally (I hope) down-plays the humor, making it work even better.
Michelle Pfeiffer was WONDERFUL as Elizabeth Collins-Stoddard! Forceful and pragmatic. And beautiful, of course!
Helena Bonham-Carter (My FAVORITE Ophelia!) was FANTASTIC as Dr Julia... even down to some of the mannerisms used in the TV show...
I must admit that I thought the 'adjustment to the pedigree' was added a bit too late, but after watching it more-than-once (which is EASY to do) it bothers me less each time I watch it.
I must acknowledge the cameo of the original Barnabas, Johnathan Frid, at the 'happening'. NICE touch!
I originally saw it in the theater and vowed that I would own it when it came out on DVD. Preordered. DONE!
I cannot think of ANYTHING I truly disliked about this movie... Nothing at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

PG-13...perhaps not

10/04/2012
By ,
Salem, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this movie, went to see it in theaters because it was the only one my friends and I could agree on. I wasn't sure what to expect but it didn't disappoint but its not a movie to let kids under 16 to watch. I was surprised with some of the scenes and because of them the rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

love it

10/17/2012
By ,
rocky hill, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used to watch it long ago when i was a lot younger, it was scary, now, it's just too funny. actually, you can't appreciate it unless you watched it in the 60s. and i am watching the 60's series on NETFLIX, so i love it even more...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

movie

10/14/2012
By ,
wright, wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone in my house enjoyed this movie. glad i bought it. Wish i seen it at the theatre
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

good movie

06/10/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought the movie cause I love Johnny Depp!
Its entertaining!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)
10/22/2012
By ,
Lincoln Park, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED IT THOUGHT IT WAS VERY FUNNY IT'S A MUST SEE!!!!!! ; )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Dark Shadows

11/28/2013
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your an old fan of the original series be sure and take this for what it is and enjoy it at that. It's years and years of compiled Dark Shadows compressed into a movie with it's own bend and some humor scattered into the mix. It was entertaining. The sets are incredibly rich as always with a Tim Burton film.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

just an ok movie to watch

10/21/2012
By ,
Beaumont,Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was not one of Johnny Depps best movies.Dont get me wrong his acting was spot on as always, but the movie itself surely lacked.It is worth watching I suppose, but it is no where near as funny as the commercials lead it out to be.It only had a few funny scenes to me, I dont know but the movie just really did not do it for me. It was ok to watch I guess but just not what I expected it to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

LOVE, LOVE JOHNNY DEPP

01/21/2013
By ,
GOODVIEW, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED THIS MOVIE, EVEN THOUGH IT IS ABOUT A VAMPIRE, IT IS MORE OF A COMEDY THAN WHAT THE ORIGINAL DARK SHADOWS WAS, BUT LOVED IT JUST THE SAME.........I WATCH THE ORIGINAL DS MOVIES WHEN I CAN, BUT NOW WILL THROUGH IN JOHNNY'S VERSION ALSO!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Covers all age groups

10/26/2012
By ,
Adel, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I grew up on the old TV Dark Shadows so I was happy to see this come out, I was pleased that Everyone enjoyed it not just me. Some darkness, some sexy moments, and funny without being silly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)

Funny

04/18/2013
By ,
Canyon Lake, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A take off on the original Dark Sahdows, wasn't what I was expecting but love Johnny Depp
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)
11/01/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the movie and I really like Johnny Depp's movies. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dark Shadows (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5