Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Back to Basics Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Back to Basics Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Interested in canning to save money? You can also save precious time and energy with the Back to Basics Steam Canner. This high-quality steam canner uses less water than conventional water bath canners, which reduces your preheating time significantly. This 7-quart capacity, aluminum steam canner requires only three pints of water and cuts the preheat time by 50 percent. It also comes with a 15-quart lid that does double duty as a cooking pot. Best of all, this steam canner has cool-touch handles, which makes it easy to transfer from the stove to the kitchen counter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%25 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Excellent canner!

08/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this product so far. It makes canning much easier as far as the time to heat the water and the amount of heat you are adding to your house. Where before with a regular water bath canner I would want to can many batches at once OR not at all. Many times it was NOT at all because I didn't have enough veggies, time, etc. Now I can simply heat up 6 cups of water and get on with the process. I've only canned 5 to 6 batches since I received this canner, but it seems to be very durable and made of good quality materials. I wish it was available in the store but with a savings of $20.00 plus from anywhere else I'd seen the product; site to store seemed like an excellent option. It was the first time that I used site to store and I must say it was very easy and a very satisfying experience. I would (and might) buy this product the same way again. You process your jars the same as with a water bath, the same timing in the canner, however the time you save heating only 3 pints of water is fantastic. Not to mention not having to lift the heavy jars out of boiling water. It is much safer, more efficient!! A+++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Good, inexpensive canner.

09/03/2013
By ,
Athol, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After years of water bath canning and waiting forever for the water to heat up, this is a very pleasant change. Small amount of water equals small amount of time. Way awesome. The length of time for actual processing is exactly the same as the water bath, you just don't have to wait all that extra time for your water to heat up. Cost effective also, since it takes so little time to heat up then you are not afraid to turn off burner as you prepare the next batch. Always afraid to turn off the water bath canner because then it would take even longer to heat up again. This is nice and light weight also. I don't use it as a big pot when turned upside down as it is aluminum and I have other stainless steel stock pots that I prefer. I use it strictly as a canner only. I use it every day during canning/harvesting season.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Works Well

02/09/2011
By ,
Northeast PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my parents who love to can but are having trouble using their old heavy one. They have used it two or three times already and are very satisfied. It's lighter, easier to get the jars in and out, and isn't as heavy or hard on their stove top. They would recommend this and are glad I got it for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

steamer canner

07/04/2009
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite pleased with my steamer canner. I used the tip for vinegar in the water the first time and it did work. Forgot the second time and now I have stains so be sure and use each time. Works fast and easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxford, ct
directions and meats
Posted 04/08/2013
Hello,
I was curious if this canner comes with directions for use and if you can, can meats with it of just fruits and veggies.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Back To Basics

09/14/2010
By ,
Vancouver WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked mine so well that I purchased 5 more for a class I teach in canning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

It makes old fashioned canning fun again

05/18/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had given away all my mason jars and canning equipment because it became too hard for me to lift heavy pots of water and do any canning but I was told by a friend about the steam canner and ordered it to try for myself. Fabulous. Easy to use and is absolutely great for making jams, canning tomatoes and fruits. Very pleased. I now have resurrected all my accessories, bought new mason jars and am back into preserving healthy food again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

no more big pots of hot water

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great way to water bath without huge amounts of water. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

dinged up

11/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pot was dinged so I had to returned it. Think it will work just fine and much easier that what I am doing now.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Steam Canner

11/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this and used after using someone else's . This is very easy to use and product turned out really nice.. Would recommed any canner give it a try..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner
10/02/2011
By ,
Springfield, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleased with product and plan on telling my friends about it. It was great I didn't heat up the kitchen and the canner was easy to use. I am older and can't lift the old canner any more this took care of the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner
06/30/2011
By ,
Beaufort, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this canner in late winter and since the box was sealed and undamaged, I foolishly did not open the box until today. To my disappointment, the dome lid is dented and the rack has one leg that is not welded and other legs that are shorter than others. So, it does not sit level in the pan - it wobbles.
Since I need to use this canner today, I fixed the rack by bending the unwelded leg up and then bent the shorter legs down so that it sits level in the pan. The dent in the dome lid does not effect its performance, so therefore it is just cosmetic... But, for the price, this canner should be made of more sturdy material and have better workmanship.
Steam canning is more economical than water bath canning - but, I would not recommend this product since its workmanship is of poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Steamer canner

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned item because I needed a canner that would process veg's. Clearly stated for fruit and jam.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

So much faster and easier than a water bath.

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You use such a small amount of water. No big heavy pot full of water that takes forever to come to a boil. Easy to load and unload. Very happy with this canner. Every one of my jars sealed without fail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner
09/30/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked better than expected. I made a batch of pickles with it and the lid made a great pot for brining and cooking, then flipped over to cover the jars when I was ready to can. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

SAVES TIME, SAFE TO USE & IS GREAT FOR CANNING

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RECCOMEND FOR SAFE CANNING
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Awesome product!

07/22/2013
By ,
central oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my steam canner! This is my second season of using it. It saves me time, because it comes to a boil faster, and it saves me gallons of water!! My water bather got the job done, but this canner has made canning season a lot easier!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner
07/16/2013
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. So much easier and faster than the water bath style.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

Water Saving Canner.

08/21/2012
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item and saves water by canning with steam. Holds up to 6 quart jars! Really happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner
05/20/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All 5 star except for durability...the handles seem a bit flimsy, other than that, good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Back to Basics 7-Quart 3-Piece Steam Canner

damage during shipping

10/26/2013
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I much prefer this steamer to a water bath canner. I've used this for years. Only complaint is that it was dinted and I had to send it back and get another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next