Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

With more entertainment to enjoy and more exciting ways to watch, the VIZIO M-Series 55" Class Razor LED Smart TV is the perfect upgrade everyone will love. Packed with the latest must-have features — VIZIO Internet Apps (V.I.A.) and stunning picture quality of Razor LED, 1080p Full HD, and 120Hz effective refresh rate — this HDTV turns any room into your getaway to an exhilarating world of movies, sports and entertainment on demand. Enjoying favorites like Netflix, Hulu Plus, YouTube, Skype and more is easier than ever with built-in WiFi and the included smart remote with keyboard. The VIZIO M-Series 55" Class Razor LED Smart TV gives you more of what you love about TV with all of the brilliant picture quality and world-class support you'd expect from America's #1 LCD HDTV company.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%102 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE
04/28/2013
By ,
Warrior,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned about buying this Tv because I had read reviews where it would not work with Directv . Well, I called both Directv and Vizio before buying it to see if they knew of a problem with the two working. They had not had any knowledge of this being a problem so, I bought it and it works fine . The only thing I can think of is maybe the two people that had problem with this connecting is they may not have updated their Directv boxes .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 22 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

We LOVE this TV!

03/05/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We finally took the plunge and updated to a smart TV. This was an absolute STEAL at this price. The picture is very clear and we have really enjoyed the EASY access to Netflix. The very minimal complaint that I would make is the remote control. The buttons are a bit small, especially the keyboard, it's definitely not a dealbreaker though. Fabulous TV, especially for the price.
The review that I read about how it takes 30 seconds to get to Netflix made me laugh. That's like saying it's ridiculous for you to have to wait for your computer to boot up. I've got an extra 30 seconds out of my life to wait for something that's really just for fun ;o)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 23 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Takes too long to turn on & low picture quality

11/10/2012
By ,
canton, ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to replace a 5 year old 52" Sharp LCD. The picture quality was no better. I was really disappointed with the picture quality and the time it takes to turn on. I returned it for a 50" back lit LED 60 Hz Toshiba at almost half the price and I am much happier.
Pros:
$995 for a smartTV isn't bad
Not too wide - good use of space.
Cons:
Edge lit LED picture was no better than a 5 year old Sharp LCD.
Takes about 15 seconds to turn on
Two-sided remote looks cool, but is annoying because you tend to hit the keys on the wrong side when trying to press them on the other.
No simultaneous component & composite in = no Wii & xbox connected at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 11/15/2012
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

GREAT TV & VALUE

12/16/2012
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Family has owned this TV for a month now and we love it!! Picture is top notch, APPS and features are great too!! We have it hooked up to surround sound, but when we do use the actual speakers they're OK... Our fmaily loves this TV so much that we are getting one for our bedroom! Great value for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 25 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Troubles

04/03/2013
By ,
picayune ms
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this Vizio to replace my old Toshiba just to update for all the new things like Netflix, F/b and all the other things you can get on a smart tv. Tv remote was difficult to use had to push the button in and keep it pushed down for a longer period than most remotes. Had to make call to company to fix problem with remote shortly after 2 wks....within 1 month remote is broken. and I can only use tv with cable box and those channels. I prefer to watch netflix if I can but without the remote I can't use this feature!.. The rep said the remote will be sent to me in 7-10 business days. Anyone who knows about business days means weeks........So no I am not happy with my choice. The company in california shouldn't take that long to ship anything....Even though I absoltely love the idea that they are US based and you talk to an American tech delivery of products like the remote shouldn't take weeks. That is so un called for....what's' wrong with overnight on something like a remote.....when you can't use the features without it. Thousand dollars mistake....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 04/18/2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from our customers! We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your new TV even though you are experiencing some minor issues. Please use the following link for answers for your technical questions: http://vizio.custhelp.com/. If the issues persist, please contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, email: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 1-877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Great Smart TV

01/21/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My criteria for buying this TV was:
1. Size (55 inches gives a different viewing experience than a 42 I'll admit)
2. SMART TV capable (much easier to watch Hulu, Netflix, and Youtube online)
3. Price (at the time of purchase I got it for $868. Based on the above features this was a good deal for me)
After purchase I had an issue with the screen within the first week. There was a white line/scratch in the bottom right corner of the screen. No problem though as it was within the 90 day return window and was able to get a replacement with no problem. I cannot blame this on Vizio as it could have happened in the warehouse since the box had small dings and scratches when I picked up the tv from the store.
Suggestions:
1. Keep your receipt for at least 90 days just in case something like this happens to you.
2. Have a store rep test the tv to see if it has any issues with the screen before you leave the store.
After receiving the tv in good working condition I must say I was very happy with it. 55 inches looks much bigger in my house than it does on the show room floor. The color is very good and very customizable. I love the apps and the menus. Very intuitive and functional. After a brief setup I was able to start watching Hulu, Netflix and others in very little time. My only problem was with the HD refresh rate. It can make the images look like a soap opera and doesn't look like how it does in a movie theater.
Suggestion:
1. Turn on the TV's game mode in the settings menu. Easy way to fix this problem but took me a while fiddling with the settings to find this out. The 65 inch version has a dedicated option but the smaller models do not.
The sound is average so I am considering upgrading to a dedicated sound system to get a wider range. But the stock speakers do get the job done.
My only con was that my Brighthouse DVR remote could not connect to the tv to control the volume. I hate using two remotes but I picked up a Vizio universal remote to control the tv and the dvr. Still not 100% happy with this combination though.
Overall the features are what I wanted at a reasonable price and I am very happy with my purchase. I would recommend this to you or anyone else in the market for a new tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 27 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Great set!

10/21/2012
By ,
Newark, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An easy to install and configure TV. I added the Vizio soundbar with wireless subwoofer to get a truly rich sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 10/31/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

So far I,m lovin it

02/16/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased 2wks ago to replace old mitsubishi 60in projection tv. Read a lot of the reviews and compared it to others like it and was pleased with what I came up with. Easy to set up and after we upgraded to a HD Dvr receiver(picture was grainy with old regular receiver), all I can say is WOW!!!!
We love it and are planning to purchase the Vizio sound bar to go with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 29 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Great value for a 55 inch tv!!!

02/05/2013
By ,
Schenectady, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tv for the price. Set up was a breeze. Picture quality is excellent. I have not really used the smart tv functions yet, so I cant really comment on them. Sound quality is about typical for a flat screen. As other reviewers have reported, the tv does take about 20 to 30 seconds to start up(this was not a big deal to me, but I thought I would mention it.) This is my second Vizio tv, I have owned a 37 inch set for about 5 years now with zero problems. I hope this set is as good! I would recommend this brand to anyone looking for a good quality picture at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 30 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Wonderful TV

02/08/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is great! Setup is easy, picture is great, sound quality is good, love the two sided remote, and netflix worked wonderfully. It does take a few seconds for the tv to come on and to load; however, it is not a problem at all for me or my spouse. So far, we have only used netflix but no complaints. I will post later if I have any problems. We just purchased the tv yesterday. I am glad that I read some of the reviews before because we did experience the "soap opera effect" while watching a movie but I just turned the game mode on and it fixed the problem (big thanks to whomever posted how to fix this). And, last but not least, is that you cannot beat this tv for the price with all of its features. Awesome deal!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 31 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE
11/07/2012
By ,
Heber Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV was very easy to set-up and has a wonderful picture. The one complaint I have is about the sound. So, I purchased the sound bar & subwoofer to help with that and now it's like we are sitting in a movie theater!!! The sound system was also very easy to set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 11/08/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Treat yourself!

12/15/2012
By ,
southern ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having ventured to a larger Vizio screen was the next natural step. While close to $900 is a good amount of money to spend consider that the screen size and quality made me say " Can't believe I was watching that small screen for so long!" A very good step towards total home theater enjoyment. Speaker quality ok but spoiled with home stereo speaker system to back up TV sound. Take the next step. You will not regret it.. enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 33 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Great TV for the money!

12/09/2012
By ,
Sunset, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great buy for someone looking to upgrade from a 36"-42" TV. I am a big fan of Vizio and now own 4 of them. As a Vizio fanboy I would have to say that my expectations of this 55" LED fell a little short. Some HD channels look good and some not so good. Color looks to artificial at times and needs tweaking from the presets available. Blu-Rays look awesome! If you can spring the extra money to get the 240hz with a faster response rate I would recommend that one. Picture is still not as good as my 1st gen Vizio 42" plasma. Still a good TV for the price at 898$ Internet apps are a plus to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 34 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Great buy for the price!

04/15/2013
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up very quickly and had no problems at all. Network set up was simple and easy! Value for the dollar is super, with a great picture, even when placed next to a window with bright outside light coming in! I would recommend this TV to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 35 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE
10/11/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice easy to hook up great picture
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 10/21/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Very easy to set up and many features.

02/19/2013
By ,
Harrington,DE.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had an LED tv before, and the picture is excellent, and the quality of the product is great. Compared to other units of it's kind it is a really good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 37 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

I returned this product.

10/29/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality was horrible. The tv would turn itself off at random, which is really bad during a football game. The screen was very blurry especially at an angle. We returned it and opted for the LCD. I have only had the LCD for a few days now, but so far so good with it. I recommend the LCD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 10/31/2012
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Good Buy!

06/12/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this tv for a couple of months now and have no complaints. Yes when you turn it on there is a slight delay before you have a picture, but that isn't really that big of a deal to us. We have it connected to our computer and love being able to watch shows from the internet on this 55 inch screen. The sound quality is not the best, so we bought the Vizio sound bar and wireless woofer--this makes a big difference for the better. The only thing I wish this tv would do is act as a browser, instead it only has specific apps pre-loaded to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 39 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE

Meets expectations

03/20/2013
By ,
Conyers,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, took a minute to set up, but quality and sound is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 40 for VIZIO 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz SMART HDTV, M550VSE
11/18/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Sound only disappointment. Added speakers. Bought a tv stand and mounted on bracket with swivel. Works well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 11/23/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from our customers! We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your new TV even though you are experiencing some minor issues. Please use the following link for answers for your technical questions: http://vizio.custhelp.com/. If the issues persist, please contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, email: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 1-877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 95 total reviews