Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Crosman Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

The Crosman Bug-Out Survival Kit is a key component in total preparedness. The compact .22-caliber air rifle included in this Doomsday Survival Kit has a skeleton stock that is detachable with quick-release and requires no tools, making it easy to use at a moment's notice. The rifle in this Bug-Out Kit shoots up to 525 fps, strong enough for small game, and is multi-pump powered. A supply of pellets and targets, a water bottle, a first-aid kit and a backpack complete this essential Bug-Out kit. The rifle in this Crosman Bug-Out Survival Kit has features that include ambidextrous stock, a single shot mechanism, a rifled barrel, a pump power source, an ambidextrous manual safety and a weight of just three pounds, making it ideal for almost anyone to use. Please note that this Doomsday Survival Kit is made for ages 16 years and up. The convenient size of this Crosman Bug-Out Survival Kit also allows you to have it on hand when it is needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%64 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 141 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

I really only wanted the airgun

04/28/2014
By ,
Oakland County Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the Crosman 2289 backpacker air rifle. My only complaint is I had to purchase the whole package. I could not find the airgun for sale anywhere by itself. As it turns out the first aid kit is pretty good. The kit is now in my JanSport mountain biking backpack. Also I can always use the pellets. A quick sniff of the fumes coming out of the plastic water bottle, and in the trash it went. Also the included backpack is cheaply made, but I am sure I will find some good use for it. The Crosmazn 2289 Backpacker is awesome, it made the whole deal worth while. I have already installed a machined steel breech with the dovetail rail. Then topped it off with a B.S.A. RD30 Red Dot Scope. This air gun looks like a custom build with very little work! My advise BUY IT!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Great Deal!
Posted 08/20/2014
If you were to buy the original stock 1377 pistol you would pay up to $59.99. Then ad on the 18 inch barrel, skeleton stock and the upgraded pump forearm you would be easily into the $140.00 area. The other stuff are freebies. I don't see how anyone could not want freebies. You could buy two of these kits and pay the same price as one modified stock 1377 pistol. Just my nickels worth. Enjoy it. There are many different modifications you can do to this air carbine. Just start cruising the web....you'll see.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Great product except...

02/25/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I must say it is a great product! It could help you survive in a bug out scenario! I owned previously the .22 pistol itself and was quite happy with it.
This model has unfortunately, plastic front and rear sights with the rear sight adjustment that could easily be stripped if overtightened. I'm not so sure how solid it would be used in an outdoor situation if being carried in the pack with other things as well. It could change the zero in between uses if not careful.
As an afterthought once I received it, it would be nice to have included a slide on pistol grip for use as a pistol instead of a rifle or at least available as an add on accessory.
In closing, I like the item and I'm pretty particular! I just wish Crosman would reconsider using metal for the sights as this it pretty important if you ask me...
Now that I have this model, I will be trying it out to the fullest to see how it responds to heavy use. I would recommend this item to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Good Deal

01/13/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Crosman Doomsday Kit is an excellent value. For $70, you get a .22 pellet pistol, which is based on the excellent Crosman 13xx series, and a detachable shoulder stock. Buying this kit is much cheaper than buying the Crosman 1322 pistol and shoulder stock separately.
The shoulder stock for this pistol is not the same shoulder stock for the 13xx series, as it mounts differently.
The one thing I wish Crosman had included with this is a set of pistol grips. However, the grips from a Crosman 13xx series pistol will fit, and you can find them online.
Along with the pistol and stock, the kit includes a backpack, targets, pellets, a water bottle and a first aid kit. The backpack is smaller than I thought it would be, but it's okay. The first aid kit is very basic, basically some band aids, gauze pads and antiseptic wipes.
The price at Walmart for this kit is a lot lower than other places online, and the free site to store shipping is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Inexpensive Varmint Control

03/28/2014
By ,
Cary, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used the .177 pistol version in the past with moderate success. This .22 version delivers a good deal more energy to the target resulting in a more humane kill. I set up a a paper target indoors @ 15 yds on a 1/4" sheet of plywood to sight it in and noticed this difference after the first shot - which went clean through the plywood and embedded itself in the drywall. (A 1000 FPS Gamo break barrel .177 rifle does not pass through 1/4" ply.)
The fixed barrel gives much better accuracy than a break-barrel design. It's a bit loud, but can be made quieter with fewer pumps for 'plinking' practice. (Should do well for teaching basic firearm safety to my kids.) The removable stock 'clicks' into place nicely... no tools required. The stock also gives added leverage for easier pumping. The bag, first aid kit and paper targets were a nice touch. (My wife already claimed the first aid kit for her minivan.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Nice Gun & Very Accurate

12/23/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart had the best price on this gun.
I was amazed at the accuracy straight out of the box with the open sights. I was shooting dime sized groups from a rest at about 10 yards with the included pellets. Very good for me with the open sights.
It is a neat little kit you get here. Not really a bug-out kit really but all of the items are nice and worth something to me. It is really cool how the gun breaks down and reassembles so quickly with just a click.
As I stated below, remember you get the 12 inch barrel on this gun, not the 14 inch barrel which is pictured here. No big deal, just wanted to make sure folks knew this.
This gun appears to be well made, quiet and very accurate. About the only thing I find negative about the gun is that it is a little difficult to pump to 10 pumps. Not too bad but you have to get the technique down. I actually just settled in shooting mine in my garage at 10 yards on 5 pumps and it worked just fine.
I don't think you can go wrong with this little carbine. Very fun gun that should give kids and adults alike many years of fun target shooting and plinking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

I only wanted the gun.

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well , I was only after the gun and stock so the other stuff that came with it was just some items that I got as a bonus, the medical pouch got put in my glove compartment of my car after I added a couple items to it but the water bottle and tote bag are going to be dropped off at the local good will store on my way to work tomorrow as they are both flimsy and cheap.
The only drawback I had with the gun is that it feels cheap and shoddily built but the gun is light and fun to use and it is aesthetically pleasing to me , I had a nice time plinking cans in my back yard .
For the price I believe it is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Great gun Great fun!

12/28/2013
By ,
Fallbrook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gun about six months ago to weed out the squirrels on our property. Since then I have used this rifle three or more times a week. I have been able to thin out the squirrel population. The gun is very inexpensive to buy and shoot and it is accurate. I took the advice of a reviewer and swapped in the peep sight. I have large hands and haven't had them pinched or cut at all. It has been a joy and fantastic to shoot. The only complaint I may have is that it is so powerful that the pellets are through and through the squirrels. They jump into the air and die within feet of where the are shot. That is important to me. I want to be rid of the pests, but I want do it humanely! I would recommend this rifle to anyone wanting to teach young teens to shoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Great minimalist small game weapon

01/02/2013
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a pouch full of pellets you could take small game for months ... Great value on line ($69 vs $100+). Crosman gave this gun (model 1389) a "modular" build so that parts could be swapped out with more expensive, improved (after market) pieces, thus creating a custom gun with better performance. Utube shows dozens of modifications for these crosman pellet guns. You could have a good gun for cheap and later have a great "tweeked" gun for a moderate investment. The other included packaged stuff: pack, first aid kit (add meds) and water bottle are geared toward kids. Switching to a steel breech ($50) and adding a small scope makes a big difference. I'm now looking at the CO2 version (model 2400KT), that doesn't require 10 hard pumps, for target shooting. The trade off is that the required CO2 cartridges ($0.55 each in bulk) only give you about 35-40 good shots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Better than break-barrels

10/25/2013
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went through tons of sighting issues with 3 different break barrel air rifles before getting this one. I've got the crosman dovetail intermounts and a centerpoint 3-9x32 dovetail scope on it. The accuracy is a lot better than the previous guns I had. Using CPHP pellets I'm getting dime size holes at 10 yards ignoring flyers. Good enough for me and good enough for squirrels. I also sighted in the iron sights before putting the scope on. The sights were nearly zeroed out of the box, but without any kind of fiber optics, they are hard to see in the forest so that's why I have the scope. The scope required two business card paper shims to account for the look-down. For hunting, I wouldn't shoot this gun past 30 yards, but that's pretty much the limit for tree squirrel hunting anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Not what is shown in the online picture

01/17/2013
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Do not get me wrong, Crosman air pistols are great. I own 3 already. However I specifically bought this one because the picture made it look like the barrel was significantly longer than the barrel on the 1322 pistol I already own. Well it is not - maybe an inch and half. I wanted a longer barrel for more power and accuracy (not that the 1322 pistol is inaccurate). The picture makes it look 3" or more longer.
Bottomline, when I opened it up and saw the minor difference, it was not worth keeping. Had I know this was the case, I would not have purchased it. I may be at partial fault as I did not look closely at the specs and compare to the 1322 barrel length - I went by the picture - which anyone case see is substantially longer than the 1322 pistol version.
Otherwise, I am sure it would have been fine. So if you don't have a 1322 pistol, this would be a good buy - as long as you understand you do not get pistol grips. This can only be used with the stock, unless you want to hold the gun by the bare frame.
The rest of the items are ok, but the real value is the pistol.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

crosman is always a good product

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ready to have fun shooting stuff. great gun good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Great, light, fun little carbine

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first inexpensive air rifle I have purchased. It was a gamble, but for $75 I figured I could, if needed, just remake its insides and go on. But what a surprise! I just gave the trigger a little adjustment and I have had a blast with this air gun. I bought it because I can't shoot my springer up at 8,000 foot elevation where I spend a lot of time with wildlife. A fire arm is out, its too loud. The springer air rifle can not compress enough thin air so it just like dry firing it. I had to totally rebuild my Diana springer. So, with the quietness of this Crosman Back Packer 2289 that comes in the Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit, I can still hone my shooting skills and not scare off all the woodland creatures. I have nothing bad to say about this item. The pack is for carrying the rifle broke down, maybe some apples and snacks, light jacket, Emergency First Aid kit, and water in the well made Crosman Water bottle, that doesn't Leak, for the short little jaunts away from camp to shoot pine cones, sticks, and little unknowing knot holes in dead and down branches. I use the peep sight side of the rear sight. Its very accurate once you learn how to use this sort of sight. Enjoy your new air rifle, I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit
01/15/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product after reading a review about it in "American Frontiersman". The main reason to purchase this is for the pellet gun, which is very lightweight, easy to pump and shoots pretty darn hard. The entire kit is cheaper to buy from Wally's than it is to buy just the gun elsewhere.
The gun is made of strong plastic ( as expected ). The barrel is slightly loose in its mounting, but not enough to destroy accuracy. I have read that adding clamp on scope mounts corrects this problem, but I haven't tried this yet. The gun does not come sighted in and the sight will need to be adjusted for accuracy.
The backpack, first aid kit and water bottle are cheap but usable items that are more like a freebie than anything else. If you are planning on making a real bug-out bag this kit will be a useful starting point, but more will be required for wilderness survival.
Because of the price, the kit is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

decent idea whose time has come.

12/25/2012
By ,
ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Bug Out primarily for the pump up stocked pistol. it comes with a small in adequate first aid kit that could easily be expanded with store brand triple antibiotic and a bottle of aspirin. to the backpack included with, i added a large tarp in a ziplock bag some aluminum foil and a couple of ace bandages, a multi tool knife plier dealie, a crank operated radio/ flashlight a crank charger for a cell phone a large roll of nylon cord, a lighter, a couple of cans of chili and corned beef hash. the accuracy of the 22 pistol pump gun from crossman is phenomenal, i can light strike anywhere matches at twenty feet. pumped to the maximum it hits within four inches at four hundred feet. it will take rabbits, crows,and other small game, but is tons of fun to make rats into rat bait for larger predators.
for about twenty bucks more than the pistol itself you get a stock that snaps on and off easily and packs inside the kit. with added sleeping bag, my survival knife and it’s kit, plus my tent- it really can keep me alive in Oklahomas fire storms, tornadoes, snow and ice. it serves as what its name suggests- as a bug out kit- grab and gone it could give me a few days shelter till another place can be found. the ability to take game with the kit could keep me going for a long time. Its priced at about what other stores charge just for the pump pistol with shipping added on . You can get it delivered to your front door for less than it costs to start your car five times. Shipping is extremely fast, packaging is superb, and the unit arrives ready for action with a few pellets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

decent pumper but lots of room for improvement

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this because it was cheaper over all than buying the crosman 1322 and adding a stocks and longer barrel. out of box accuracy is ok.. really tightened up after adding the steel breech kit and cleaning the barrel but lacks decent sights and the plastic breech does not have a tight fit w/ the barrel, but adding the steel breech let you use a red dot or other sights. have made a few other additions to the gun like a flat top valve and piston. bigger transfer port for a bump in FPS. Also adding a TKO muzzle break makes it very quiet to shoot. Another plus is most crosman pump and CO2 share parts so you can make something total custom
over all would something good for a young shooter or a base to make your custom air gun with.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

well made, exceptional value

12/22/2012
By ,
San Leandro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to see the Backpacker in production again. Easy to pump and hard hitting at full power (10 pumps). Three pumps for indoor shooting. Excellent value even with the extra stuff you really don't need. Walmart best price hands down!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Good for the price

12/10/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good product with great potential. The bag on the small side but good enough. Great ammo and first aid kit. I like the targets and water bottle. I think the could be better if it included ammo pouch. Overall I like it and recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

Fun .22 air gun!

02/16/2013
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this just for the Crosman 2288. I love multi-pumps because you can shoot them indoors and adjust power to needs. This gun is very accurate, even just using iron sights; and it isn't hold sensitive. You won't be disappointed if you get one!
Things to note:
-Plastic grips, forearm, sights, and breech (steel breech is available as aftermarket upgrade)
-Backpack is kinda small (about 14in x 9in x 8in), so really not useful as a "bugout" bag.
-Included tin of pellets is .22 pointed, 175ct.
-Aftermarket scope intermount is M459. The Benjiman intermount will NOT work with this... the barrel on this is a little wider than the Benjiman's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

My boy loved it as both fun and practical

11/06/2013
By ,
Sarasota, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to my 15 year old son. He loved it. The crosman pistol is of a good quality and will last many years. It works well. Is as accurate as a pistol will be, but more accurate with the stock accessory. It is fun to shoot and similar to the Bejamin air pistol I have had since I was 16. The bag and extras are nice but not necessary. My only complaint is the lack of Pistol Grips to allow the pistol to be used without the Rifle Stock. It is costly and a hassle to try to order them aftermarket. Pistol,Grips should come with the set or as a Low-cost add-on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crosman Doomsday Bug-Out Survival Kit

the gun alone is worth the $69 I paid

01/07/2013
By ,
Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gun can be bought for $58 on sale without the shoulder stock, at $69 for the kit I bought one for each grand kid that was old enough. If I see that I can buy it for $69 again I will buy one for myself too.
The gun comes with a 12 inch barrel and shoots hard and straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next