Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peavey Electronics Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Peavey Electronics Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

The full-size Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy features expertly machined tuners and a spruce top. The Peavey Acoustic Guitar has a rosewood fretboard, pin-style bridge and an adjustable truss rod. The traditional X-bracing, dot inlays and a comfort-shaped catalpa neck give the Peavey Acoustic Guitar a classic feel and great sound. This Peavey Guitar comes with a clip-on digital tuner, which will keep it sounding good, as well as a shoulder strap and guitar picks. The Peavey Acoustic Guitar also comes with 20 free play-along PerformaTrack song downloads, so you can practice.
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation77%10 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Good beginner guitar.

12/23/2012
By ,
Southern,M.S.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I saw this in the store and after looking at the description I decided to give it a try since I didn't feel like the hassle of ordering one online and pay for the shipping,tax,and worry about damage by a carrier.Anyway the guitar is China made acoustic so it's far from a Martin. It comes with a tuner that you clip on the headstock(top),picks,a strap,NO gig bag and this chord buddy which snaps on the top nut.As for construction? good besides the tuners.The back of this guitar is flat black so no natural finish like my old washburn I had but It's ok I guess.After finally tuning it I was surprised how good it sounds with the factory strings which I would change btw It has one place to put the strap on the bottom but nothing to attach it with around the bottom of the neck I guess if you where serious you could drill a hole and attach a strap button later on but why on a starter guitar? If you are just starting out this would be good to try,at least it's a Peavey :D
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

An exceptional deal...an exceptional experience..

12/27/2012
By ,
Alamogordo NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted this instrument for my wife so that we could play our guitars together....So far the experience has been wonderful.....And the future looks bright indeed.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Great guitar for a beginner.

01/13/2013
By ,
Kennesaw, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this guitar by accident. I was searching on line for a Chord Buddy for my son (& possibly my wife) to more easily learn how to play guitar. I have been playing for many years & have never seen a better gadget to overcome usual obstacles than the "Chord Buddy", once featured on the "Sharks" TV show. Found this Peavey guitar that CAME WITH IT for under $100. This is incredible given that the CB would be priced in the $30's by itself. The guitar has more style than any beginner acoustic I have seen. Tone is not bad either. Peavey was a name I have owned before and used to know some folks that worked in one of their U.S. factories. They take pride in their products. Really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Not the chord buddy as seen on shark tank

03/06/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this guitar for my daughter for Christmas. I loved that it came with what I thought was the Chord Buddy as seen on shark tank. However, this is NOT the chord buddy,. It is near impossible to work the app for more songs and you have to pay for each song you want to use this knock off chord buddy with. I went and purchased the original chord buddy and am much happier. The tabs are removable and within 2 months she had worked her way through the instructional DVD and was playing on her own with no chord buddy. So if you just want a guitar I would recommend it, if your looking to learn how to play the guitar on your own... Buy the original Chord buddy, you will be much happier.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Great instrument for price point

01/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good guitar for the price. It has a lot of features that similarly priced guitars often don't, like an adjustable truss rod and an articulated saddle, which means you can avoid a number of problems that are common in cheap guitars, like strings that are in tune when open but sharp when fretted (you will -never- get a guitar with this problem truly in tune unless you can make adjustments that are beyond the scope of any beginner, and that's if the construction if the guitar lets you make them). It has a fairly easy action, which makes it easy to play when your fretting technique is still developing and contributes less to sore fingertips than a model with higher action, so it's a very encouraging instrument for a beginner, instead of a frustrating one. It's pretty plain-Jane in appearance, but the sound quality is acceptable; it makes a very decent starter instrument, adequate to learn the basics without causing bad habits and get you to the point where you know whether or not you're a serious player and a more expensive instrument makes sense.
The included tuner works well, and it's a handy tool when you're still developing your ear, much easier than trying to tune from a piano, tuning fork, or pitch pipe; it's probably about a $10-15 value by itself. Even without it, though, this guitar is a decent deal.
The Chord Buddy is, at best, an amusing toy; if you're really serious about learning to play, don't use it. It's basically for people who think that playing Guitar Hero teaches you something about playing a real guitar -- it might be fun to goof around with, but don't go fooling yourself that playing chords with it means you've learned how to play guitar. I valued it at $0 when considering the price of the package, and tossed mine in the junk drawer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy
01/08/2013
By ,
Tampa Bay, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is sturdy and well made however getting the songs to use with this item is a difficult and convoluted process. Also additional tracks are priced high at $3 each
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

iwannaplay

12/26/2012
By ,
dunellen nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my mom purchased this guitar for me for christmas and i love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Gimmick !!!

12/25/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off there is no instructions on how to use the CB. The CB can only be used on this garbage sounding guitar , There is no real directions to get you started , You have to have a computer or I- device , to get songs to play along with, No instructions on how to strum.
This unit is for the person that knows how to play and wants a cheap guitar that sounds terrible, With a CB that is not able to teach you chords as you can't take the slots out.. NO DVD as in the real CB . Just a plan bad purchase on my behalf , You get what you pay for, I thought I would be able to play a few simple tracks and see if I like the guitar and I would upgrade. Its like any thing else YOU buy garbage its what you get!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 9 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy
01/01/2013
By ,
Honoraville,Al.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Guitar seams to be ok but the Chord Buddy I do not beleve is worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

thank you...

09/07/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
for the tip that while the Chord Buddy is attached to the guitar, absolutely none of the paperwork to go along with it is available with the purchase. I was going to buy it for a gift because the Chord Buddy was attached but since they do not give you the manual and play book, I will not buy it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 11 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Excellent low level instrument

02/16/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was nervous buying this guitar because it was in the clearance isle in the store so wouldn't be able to return it if something went wrong. I'm glad I took the gamble because it turned out better than I had hoped. I was surprised how good it sounded for a beginner instrument after playing with a display model some time ago and it sounds just as good in the quiet of home. If you are a serious musician you will want to invest in a higher quality instrument but it is great for students and casual playing. I was lucky to find it on sale but it is worth the money at full price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy
03/17/2013
By ,
Boston, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good first guitar, that comes with the chord buddy,at a great price. The only problem we had was there was no instructions for the chord buddy. If you want to learn the program you have to purchase it separately for another $30 or so, then you have 2 chord buddies. I got the guitar on sale and purchasing the extra instruction pkg wasn't really a big deal for me. Just a frustration for my daughter who had to wait additional time for the instructions. However , once that came , she was very happy with the guitar and chord buddy system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 13 for Peavey Acoustic Guitar with Chord Buddy

Good

02/11/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As one who daily plays some of the highest end acoustic guitars, this guitar played well. The neck is surprisingly good. The sound can't compare to high end guitars, but for the price, the value is there. The Chord Buddy is a novelty, and does work. Though I think the Chord Buddy has little value, it's why I'll keep this guitar. It's kinda cool to me, and the guitar also plays fine without it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points