Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coby Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

See everything HD has to offer on the gorgeous, low-profile Coby LEDTV5536 Class HDTV. The LED backlight delivers vivid color and contrast for a picture that is simply brilliant. With a max-resolution panel and a contrast ratio of 40,000:1, you'll experience crisp, detailed images that simply pop off the screen! And don't forget the size, because football simply looks better big. Equipped with HDMI for easy digital connections, this Coby 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (1.4" ultra-slim) plays nice with all of your devices. Enjoy digital 5.1 surround sound when connected to a home theater setup. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Coby LED HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.432 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation68%30 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Good for money

12/26/2012
By ,
charlotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very leary buying this tv--first review I have written. this is my 2nd 55 in, last year bought a LG with same options 1080p and 120hz paid at least 400.00 more than the coby. Got the coby for the kids game room --play video game and watch tv and netflix--does it Great. To be honest the Picture w/the hd or xbox is as good or not better than MY LG. The Sound not great---but neither is it with my expensive Lg--which I got A good surround system. face it even if You buy a $3000. tv--you are going to by a sound system. A Sound bar will make this tv Find. For the money This tv is Great and you can alway add a sound bar later, much harder to get another 55 in. And whatever tv you are going to get you are going to at least add a sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 2 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Great TV for the money

11/04/2012
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally do not write reviews but I had to for this one. This TV is amazing if you're using it as intended. Wonderful picture, good specs, average sound (most flat screens will need a sound bar or surround sound system). Instead of pay $1000's I opted to buy this TV but was a little skeptical of the brand name. I also purchased the warranty just in case but I am happy I did purchase and did not listen to other feedback. I wished I would have purchase months earlier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buena Park
COBY is a bad buy
Posted 08/19/2013
I bought a Coby 50". The sound to me is BAD!! You will need a separate system. The picture is GREAT!! There is no customer service from this company at this time. They may go out of business in this country at any time. My 50" lasted 4 months and went out. Coby fixed it and sent it back without paying the return freight ($166.+) Buy a Coby at your own risk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Great Picture

12/22/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality on this t.v. is fantastic. We are really enjoying watching HD programming. Even regular shows/movies look great. The sound is not that great but we bought a sound bar to go with it and that works great. And the sound bar didn't cost much and we saved a bundle on this t.v. so it all worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 4 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Cheap price for giant tv.

10/28/2012
By ,
Woodhaven, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The televisions sound is poor but if your getting a new tv, chances are you'll get a nice sound system to go with. The picture is really nice for hd movies and netflix steaming through my xbox. If your a gamer, the television lags pretty bag and overall would be bad for competative online gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 5 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Great buy for price

06/21/2013
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great buy. The picture is good for price. The sound is better if you go to menu and select sound and turn the SR on. It is off out of package. So turn it on and you will hear the difference in the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536
11/07/2012
By ,
Oakley, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had the TV two days and the picture started going out in it. The sound was very poor quality from the first day. I returned the TV. I would definitely not recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Review 7 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536
02/20/2013
By ,
Columbia, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great TV for the price, I paid about 750 including the 3 year warranty and tax. The picture is great but the sound is horrible, I had read about the sound before buying but it works great with my 5.1 souround, if u buy this TV I strongly recommend an alternative sound system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Pure junk -waste of money

11/28/2012
By ,
Washington DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture is decent but the black contrast is horrible. Even with the 'SRS' the sound is very bad and there is NO 3.5 MM AUDIO JACK CONNECTION for external speakers. You must buy an expensive sound bar with an optical interface to improve the sound. This TV is going back to the store. I'll go to Best Buy for the replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Your issue
Posted 06/09/2013
You dont need to do that you can get the Gefen Digital to analog audio converter.
0points
Customer Avatar
jackson,tn
Colby 55" tv
Posted 04/28/2013
have had tv less than 4 months hdmi went out and then the tv quit ,could not get any satisfaction from Colby. they want to fix a 3 month tv rather than replace it. hope nobody ever buys from these guys again, very poor communation from them...................
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Big Picture, Small Price

03/03/2013
By ,
Huntsville, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed an extra TV and the Coby hit the spot.
Plan on buying an HDMI receiver for the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Go for it!

12/13/2012
By ,
Dallas Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this TV especially considering the price. Great picture. Sound does leave something to be deisred but not all that bad. Mounted it on the wall and it was a breeze!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Great Value!!

03/12/2013
By ,
maryville, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this TV is an awesome value. Picture quality is quite good, and its a BIG tv. I use as my computer screen from my laptop, and can watch tv at the same time, no problem with splitting the screens. Its super clear, with the 120hz, and i love that its so slim at 1.4". My only complaint would be the sound quality is not great. The second show i tried to watch, i had to turn the tv all the way up to hear it. Now I have a surround sound system i wasnt using with my old tv, so i just hooked that up...problem solved. But if you dont have a surround system, you'll probably want one with this tv. Again, overall i would recommend, but be aware of the sound issue.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Returned because of damage

01/17/2013
By ,
Fargo, nd
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Site to store purchase and box badly damaged, should have declined acceptance of tv. Found two cracks in tv frame, seemingly small and possibly inconsequential to how tv performed but also hearing the poor sound and then not having the proper audio out connection, no optical output which is the norm to hook up a sound bar, decided it wasn't worth it to keep with cracks and lack of necessary connections for it to perform better. The return was not a big hassle except for repackaging and lugging it back to the store. Ended up purchasing a 60" vizio smart tv for $150 more and could not be more satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Good Television

04/03/2013
By ,
Plymouth, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have to buy speakers because the sound is awful, but speakers are nice to have anyways. The remote isn't the best, mainly because it is so touchy that it skips over the options when I am trying to change the source, which is just a pain in the but. The HD quality is great, and for me it was worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

get what you pay for.....

03/23/2013
By ,
cincinnati ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this TV and the sound and picture aren't the best... or what I had expected.... and it only has one RCA hook up. I paid 648 dollars for this 55 inch, go I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536
07/19/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent picture quality. Sound is average because speakers are in the back. Get a surround sound or sound bar and you will have the perfect set up. It's worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536
07/27/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the price. Picture quality is as good as any. Sound could be better, but overall very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

distord image

03/19/2013
By ,
glendora Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought once such a great price I said, so excited and I assemble it and to my surprised I can't see the image all I saw was little disctord lines and then I saw a blur , I could hear but I can't sees
I honestly thought it was some how the antenna although I have cable I went up on the roof to move the antenna and nothing, so I returned it, ok I thought o well this one was bad, so I purchased anothjer one online, "wow" same problem only worst this one you could not seee an image at all only distord lines accross the screen it literaly was not worth it, right , I had never had any kind of problems like this buying a tv.
....never again Coby tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 18 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Junk

01/21/2014
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tv from QVC on easy day and after 5 months of owning the tv, the picture started going off on its own. Since Coby went out of business, QVC had to take over the warranties and is giving us a full refund for it. Piece of junk tv. The picture is pretty fuzzy looking when watching cable. Going to spend a little more than we paid ($850 was the QVC price) and get a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536

Poor Picture and Sound

07/23/2013
By ,
Florence, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where do I start. The sound only goes up to 60. The picture is ok if you never had a LCD or LED TV before. I have a 42 inch LCS Vizio & LG that are over 3 years that have better picture than this LED. I would not waste my money on this TV. Pay the extra money and get a Vizio, LG, or Hisense 55 inch LED. I returned this TV and purchased a 55 inch Smart LED TV and the picture is amazing. It is so bright and clear that my 11 month old daughter just stands in front of it mezmerorized.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Coby 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.4" ultra-slim) LEDTV5536
07/30/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor picture and sound qualities, even after all of the suggested adjustment... With so many bad features, the 55 inch tv did not compliment my living room. The tv was delivered early and before the scheduled date. Hooked it all up and had to return it the next day. Went to Walmart and purchased a 47 inch Vizio. Picture quality, price, sounds and more features on that one. The pictures look like they are jumping right at you. I will never purchase a Coby or no name electronic ever again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next