Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

The Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Green Cooler is a dependable workhorse. Designed to hold up to 190 cans and keep ice frozen up to 5 days in 90-degree temps, the 120-quart cooler is ideal for camping and fishing trips, weekend racing and extended roadtrips. The rugged hinged lid features four cup holders and is thoughtfully designed with six ridges on the top to accomodate four 24" elastic bungee cords for secure anchoring to a trailer or truck bed. Two-way handles make transporting easy. Coleman engineered their Xtreme cooler with highly-effective Thermozene, an environmentally-friendly insulation which contains zero ozone-depleting fluorocarbons. A leak-resistant rustproof interior channel drains the cooler with no tilting required. In deep forest green with tan accents, this 120-quart cooler looks cool, too. Enjoy American-built, exceptional value with the Coleman Xtreme Cooler. Let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation72%39 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Very nicely built

12/22/2012
By ,
mich.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Havent used this cooler yet But can say the other reveiws are right on. sturdy although probley heavy when full, plety of room to freeze your own ice blocks and still have room, The cooler I had used was a smaller coleman good for a one day mabye at a beach. But I like to go out for a weekend camping. Like the green one, too blend in with surroundings. Looking forward too spring with this cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Two times failed!

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased one of these coolers right before a camping trip and we were so excited that it was big enough to hold all of our food, drinks, and had the 5 day guarantee to stay cold.... But after less than 24 hours, I realized the edges were not sealing all the way and therefor our ice was melting rather quickly. Ok I thought, I got a bad one and I'll just take it back and get another one. So after the camping trip, I bought a new Coleman Xtreame cooler and decided I would take the other one back later because I was in a hurry. Guess what, it has the same problem and I even bought them from two different stores. Totally disappointed after spending over $50 on a cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

unexpected quality/performance

10/26/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cooler for late summer fishing vacation. I was a little tight on money so went with the cheaper/est cooler of size (100qt.+). I expected this cooler to be only low to mid grade performance because of price, BOY was I WRONG. on our first trip we used it for fish fillet and food storage. Outside daily temps near 80f. Used only 6 bags cubed ice which kept all food very cold for 5.5 days. Next trip we stored our food for a 10 day camping trip in it. We put 4 blocks ice on bottom and then stacked in food on top. Put in additional 2 bags cubed ice on top. With outside temps in mid-seventies I expected to need to re-ice around day 4 or so. 8 days after placing ice in chest we still had enough to keep food cool. This cooler keeps ice amazingly well for any cooler, let alone a "cheap" cooler. It is stoutly built and handles very well. The size allows for storage of a lot of product but not too much so you can still lift the fully packed cooler with two people. That becomes a problem with coolers larger than this one when fully loaded! Overall this cooler has surprised me again and again. Don't waste your hard earned money on any other expensive cooler! This one will perform at least as good as any higher priced model. Thanks Coleman for a wonderfully dependable piece of quality product at an awesome price! -GP Gaston
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Lid Warped

07/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks can be deceiving. This cooler looks so great but after one afternoon on the porch the lid warped so it no longer seals. So, I only got use it twice, then nothing but a storage chest. The cooler was out of warranty even though I'd only used it twice and it looks brand new except for the warping. Coleman's customer service was too tedious and inept to deal with so I gave up.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Coleman Xtreme is extremely worth it.

01/15/2014
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought this cooler for me for Christmas to take with me on a deer hunting trip down in MS. I shot 3 does, gutted, quartered and packed them in ice with room to spare. It fit my tow hitch cargo carrier like it was made for it. Very sturdy. The deer meat and ice was heavy, requiring a friend and myself to lift it using both hands. The handles gave no evidence of straining. I stored ice in it for 5 days and it didn't melt. It's really cool when something is advertised to do something and it really does what it claims. And the best thing, is the cost was less than $80. All in all, hard to beat, by anyone's standards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Great value

11/14/2013
By ,
No Where, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in the need for a larger cooler and was looking for something in the 100 to 120 qt size. For almost the same price this was 20% bigger and was in the color I wanted along with the trusted Coleman name so I chose this one.
I have only used it twice so far but it has taken everything the group has thrown at it ( yes actually THROWN at it ). We had 2 of us sitting on it ( 215+ lb man and 115 lb ish woman ) at the same time with no problem and the built in drink holders are nice. This will get used every week during the summer months and I have no doubts it will hold up as well as the other Coleman coolers I have.
It holds a huge amount inside and I was surprised that 80 lbs of ice stayed frozen solid for 4 days, prechilled the cooler, added a layer of ice and then 300 or so lbs of game meat covered by the rest of the ice.
Warning though, it gets HEAVY fast when filled! The strap inside that restricts how far the top opens tended to twist so it was caught under the lid but taking an extra 15 seconds to tuck it in when closing the lid cures that. The only thing it does not have that I wish it did is a latching lid but a cord from handle to handle works just as well.
All in all I would recommend this to anyone that needs a huge amount of cooling space and cannot\will not spend 100's and 100's of dollars for an icebox fortress like Yeti or Pelican.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Great

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Bought online for Monrovia CA store pickup

05/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cooler #1 was moldy and dripping with dirty water when they brought it from the back storeroom for pickup. I didn't take this one. Cooler #2 had greasy dirt and the lid was warped so it didn't seal. I didn't take this one either. If the coolers would have been handled properly by Walmart they probably would have been fine. However, Walmart's explanation of why the coolers were in this condition was that they store them outside in the garden area next to the freeway. They acted as if this was perfectly normal and I was to expect their coolers to be in this condition and it wasn't their fault if their coolers were in poor condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

If You Need a Big, Sturdy Cooler

04/21/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you can't go wrong with this one. The price on this was a great value. What I particularly like about these coolers (and I bought two of them) is the shape - not as long and thin as similarly sized cooler and I think easier to handle. There are no latches which I've found tend to break fairly quickly. The dark color (the white ones look dirty quickly). I used these to pick up a side of beef (about 150 lbs of meat). It fit easily in these with room for enough ice. They kept the meat solidly frozen for the 220 mile trip from the ranch to home. I couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Hinge Screws too short and did't keep ice fozen

06/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First use out and the left and middle hinges tore right off. Very disappointing to say the least. Also, the claim of keeping ice frozen up to 5 days in 90-degree temps in not true. Less than 3 days and my ice was gone and I was in temps between 40-76F the whole time. Hopefully the Wal*Mart will be problem free.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Astonishing disappointment

01/02/2014
By ,
Fairfax, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this cooler during the fall of 2012 to replace a smaller cooler that we had used for many years, but now too small for its purpose, I noticed the warping and sent the following to Coleman the next day:
"I purchased the 120QT XTreme to replace my Igloo that was too small for our house parties. The coolers are stored indoors during the winter, but placed on the deck under a balcony during the summer for use. The Igloo has been used for several years without issue, except for the size. I purchased the Coleman just last year and used in for the 2nd time this Memorial Day and it remained on the deck under the balcony as usual. I filled it up for our July 4th party and noted that the body and lid of the cooler warped and will not remain closed. I placed weight on the lid and noticed that the lid is warped and will not seal. I purchased this product in large part because of Coleman's reputation, and that it was made in the U.S.A., however I am completely dissatisfied with the cooler and would like to return it. Unfortunately I do not have the receipt, but believe I purchased it at Walmart. Can you assist me with the return, as I do not think a replacement would be satisfactory?"
I received no comment or assistance from Coleman after two attempts, this product is, in my opinion, a complete waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WV
coleman120 qt cooler
Posted 03/10/2014
I bought a new 120 green coleman cooler last year kept it in truck and the lid also warped on it. Will not seal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

coleman xtreme 120 quart cooler green

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got it in the mail and the coners in the back were dented how do I claim it came that way. either shipping it happened or from factory bad shipping. the stricker logo for colaman is also of the oval shape like it was just slapped on their. the hinges look stressed out as well.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

A nice cooler; but

06/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is big, holds a lot of cans and ice; but when half full it takes two strong people to move around and also why they felt like they needed to say it would keep ice for 5 days @90", it only kept it 36 hours @ 70" in the house, could use a shelve in it to keep some things out of the water!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

External RV Storage

05/28/2014
By ,
Merritt Island FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler just fits on our RV rear mounted cargo carrier and provides a large weather proof container for overflow clothes that won't fit inside. Just what we needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green
07/06/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just spent 7.5 days in the heat from 110 degrees in the day to 78 at night. This cooler performed wonderfully. First day had put 2 blocks of ice, food, and 20lbs of crushed ice, only needed to put 40 more pounds of ice in the entire week. A 1/3 of each block of ice was left. Food stayed nice and cold. Only flaw was maybe from the heat and color, it seemed to sag in middle so the sides where they latch pop up a little but still latch. All in all love the size, price, cup holders and handles are strong. I'm thinking of getting one more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Cooler as expected, great size, great value!

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooler as expected, great size, and value. Quick store pickup!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

hire better shippers

04/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered 2 coolers and only received 1, now I have to go through the process of making this right. it would be nice if they got it right the first time
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Great cooler!

05/26/2013
By ,
Plainfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this cooler online as a gift for our son. (Our local Walmart had run out of the color he wanted.) Delivery time was exceptional! The cooler is everything we expected, and we trust the Coleman name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

nice cooler if it is going to sit in one spot

07/03/2013
By ,
Central PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great size cooler. We packed everything for a 7 day trip. The only problem I had was needing to move it in and out of the car. Assateaque Island State park has the wild horses and they require you to keep food in your car. The cooler is extremely heavy when full. I holds ice well even with opening frequently. Everything stayed cold. Well constructed item. Would be great to leave in one spot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Good

04/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is good and very solid product. I will recomend to buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next