Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

The Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Green Cooler is a dependable workhorse. Designed to hold up to 190 cans and keep ice frozen up to 5 days in 90-degree temps, the 120-quart cooler is ideal for camping and fishing trips, weekend racing and extended roadtrips. The rugged hinged lid features four cup holders and is thoughtfully designed with six ridges on the top to accomodate four 24" elastic bungee cords for secure anchoring to a trailer or truck bed. Two-way handles make transporting easy. Coleman engineered their Xtreme cooler with highly-effective Thermozene, an environmentally-friendly insulation which contains zero ozone-depleting fluorocarbons. A leak-resistant rustproof interior channel drains the cooler with no tilting required. In deep forest green with tan accents, this 120-quart cooler looks cool, too. Enjoy American-built, exceptional value with the Coleman Xtreme Cooler. Let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation80%35 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Very nicely built

12/22/2012
By ,
mich.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Havent used this cooler yet But can say the other reveiws are right on. sturdy although probley heavy when full, plety of room to freeze your own ice blocks and still have room, The cooler I had used was a smaller coleman good for a one day mabye at a beach. But I like to go out for a weekend camping. Like the green one, too blend in with surroundings. Looking forward too spring with this cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Coleman Xtreme is extremely worth it.

01/15/2014
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought this cooler for me for Christmas to take with me on a deer hunting trip down in MS. I shot 3 does, gutted, quartered and packed them in ice with room to spare. It fit my tow hitch cargo carrier like it was made for it. Very sturdy. The deer meat and ice was heavy, requiring a friend and myself to lift it using both hands. The handles gave no evidence of straining. I stored ice in it for 5 days and it didn't melt. It's really cool when something is advertised to do something and it really does what it claims. And the best thing, is the cost was less than $80. All in all, hard to beat, by anyone's standards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Great value

11/14/2013
By ,
No Where, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in the need for a larger cooler and was looking for something in the 100 to 120 qt size. For almost the same price this was 20% bigger and was in the color I wanted along with the trusted Coleman name so I chose this one.
I have only used it twice so far but it has taken everything the group has thrown at it ( yes actually THROWN at it ). We had 2 of us sitting on it ( 215+ lb man and 115 lb ish woman ) at the same time with no problem and the built in drink holders are nice. This will get used every week during the summer months and I have no doubts it will hold up as well as the other Coleman coolers I have.
It holds a huge amount inside and I was surprised that 80 lbs of ice stayed frozen solid for 4 days, prechilled the cooler, added a layer of ice and then 300 or so lbs of game meat covered by the rest of the ice.
Warning though, it gets HEAVY fast when filled! The strap inside that restricts how far the top opens tended to twist so it was caught under the lid but taking an extra 15 seconds to tuck it in when closing the lid cures that. The only thing it does not have that I wish it did is a latching lid but a cord from handle to handle works just as well.
All in all I would recommend this to anyone that needs a huge amount of cooling space and cannot\will not spend 100's and 100's of dollars for an icebox fortress like Yeti or Pelican.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

unexpected quality/performance

10/26/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cooler for late summer fishing vacation. I was a little tight on money so went with the cheaper/est cooler of size (100qt.+). I expected this cooler to be only low to mid grade performance because of price, BOY was I WRONG. on our first trip we used it for fish fillet and food storage. Outside daily temps near 80f. Used only 6 bags cubed ice which kept all food very cold for 5.5 days. Next trip we stored our food for a 10 day camping trip in it. We put 4 blocks ice on bottom and then stacked in food on top. Put in additional 2 bags cubed ice on top. With outside temps in mid-seventies I expected to need to re-ice around day 4 or so. 8 days after placing ice in chest we still had enough to keep food cool. This cooler keeps ice amazingly well for any cooler, let alone a "cheap" cooler. It is stoutly built and handles very well. The size allows for storage of a lot of product but not too much so you can still lift the fully packed cooler with two people. That becomes a problem with coolers larger than this one when fully loaded! Overall this cooler has surprised me again and again. Don't waste your hard earned money on any other expensive cooler! This one will perform at least as good as any higher priced model. Thanks Coleman for a wonderfully dependable piece of quality product at an awesome price! -GP Gaston
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Good

04/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is good and very solid product. I will recomend to buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Astonishing disappointment

01/02/2014
By ,
Fairfax, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this cooler during the fall of 2012 to replace a smaller cooler that we had used for many years, but now too small for its purpose, I noticed the warping and sent the following to Coleman the next day:
"I purchased the 120QT XTreme to replace my Igloo that was too small for our house parties. The coolers are stored indoors during the winter, but placed on the deck under a balcony during the summer for use. The Igloo has been used for several years without issue, except for the size. I purchased the Coleman just last year and used in for the 2nd time this Memorial Day and it remained on the deck under the balcony as usual. I filled it up for our July 4th party and noted that the body and lid of the cooler warped and will not remain closed. I placed weight on the lid and noticed that the lid is warped and will not seal. I purchased this product in large part because of Coleman's reputation, and that it was made in the U.S.A., however I am completely dissatisfied with the cooler and would like to return it. Unfortunately I do not have the receipt, but believe I purchased it at Walmart. Can you assist me with the return, as I do not think a replacement would be satisfactory?"
I received no comment or assistance from Coleman after two attempts, this product is, in my opinion, a complete waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WV
coleman120 qt cooler
Posted 03/10/2014
I bought a new 120 green coleman cooler last year kept it in truck and the lid also warped on it. Will not seal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

What I expected

03/13/2014
By ,
Erwin, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cooler came earlier than expected. No problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

If You Need a Big, Sturdy Cooler

04/21/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you can't go wrong with this one. The price on this was a great value. What I particularly like about these coolers (and I bought two of them) is the shape - not as long and thin as similarly sized cooler and I think easier to handle. There are no latches which I've found tend to break fairly quickly. The dark color (the white ones look dirty quickly). I used these to pick up a side of beef (about 150 lbs of meat). It fit easily in these with room for enough ice. They kept the meat solidly frozen for the 220 mile trip from the ranch to home. I couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green
07/06/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just spent 7.5 days in the heat from 110 degrees in the day to 78 at night. This cooler performed wonderfully. First day had put 2 blocks of ice, food, and 20lbs of crushed ice, only needed to put 40 more pounds of ice in the entire week. A 1/3 of each block of ice was left. Food stayed nice and cold. Only flaw was maybe from the heat and color, it seemed to sag in middle so the sides where they latch pop up a little but still latch. All in all love the size, price, cup holders and handles are strong. I'm thinking of getting one more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Great cooler!

05/26/2013
By ,
Plainfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this cooler online as a gift for our son. (Our local Walmart had run out of the color he wanted.) Delivery time was exceptional! The cooler is everything we expected, and we trust the Coleman name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green
06/23/2013
By ,
akron OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very handsome cooler, excellent value and perfect party size, looks great on our deck. I didn't want one with a glaring white top. It is large, so transportation and storage when not in use is a consideration. Kept things very cold for a lot longer than our original smaller steel belted Coleman cooler but not the for 5days as advertised. Don't even try to move it when full of ice and beverages! It creaked a bit when I sat on it but there was no mention in the literature about not using it to sit upon so I trust I didn't do any damage. I'd estimate that it could easily hold (2) 22lbs bags of ice and probably 4 cases of beer cans
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Lid Warped after 1 use :(

06/20/2013
By ,
Roundup, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lid Warped after 1 use :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
nj
Lid warped too
Posted 09/22/2013
I have two different sizes of the Xtreme coolers. They work great if the lid stays closed, this one does not. It has never been out in the sun so it did not get overheated...it is a cooler should be ok in the sun anyway. Going to return it and and try another one. The built-in clips inside the cover do not stay latched which is part of the problem.
0points
Customer Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
Lid warped after 1 use :( :( :(
Posted 08/08/2013
I've been very pleased with all my Coleman products. I'm involved with Boy Scouts as a leader and bought the cooler to take to a week long camp. The ice was melting down after just a day when I looked at the cooler the lid was warped up on both front outer corner edges not sealing completely. I've had it for less than a month and I'm going to return for another and we'll see if it happens again. Hope it was just a fluke
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2013
Ours too! Did you just return it to Walmart without any issue? Looks like our store still has them, but not sure if I really want another one. So disappointing!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Perfect size and price

11/26/2013
By ,
Millstone, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the perfect cooler to make a cat shelter out of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

nice cooler if it is going to sit in one spot

07/03/2013
By ,
Central PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great size cooler. We packed everything for a 7 day trip. The only problem I had was needing to move it in and out of the car. Assateaque Island State park has the wild horses and they require you to keep food in your car. The cooler is extremely heavy when full. I holds ice well even with opening frequently. Everything stayed cold. Well constructed item. Would be great to leave in one spot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Poor hinges

11/13/2013
By ,
Jackson georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The wind blue the top off of the cooler while riding in my boat
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

wouldn't fit

06/19/2013
By ,
50138
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
only turned back because found it wouldn't fit in my trunk of my car
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

Junk

07/26/2013
By ,
Dallas, Or.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so disappointed with Coleman. This chest is an absolute piece of junk. The bottom corners are made of a material so thin that you can push them in with your fingers. They get crushed in if they bump anything while traveling. On the second day of our camping trip the lid quit closing all the way, and the seal started to separate from the cooler wall. This is going back to walmart and I will look at an Igloo instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green

warped lid

08/12/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
used one time for a scouting week long camping trip. The ice was melted after one day looked and found that the lid had warped upwards on the front ends and was not sealing.
Will attempt to return and replace to see if this was just a fluke. I love my other Coleman products, will have to wait and see.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green
01/29/2013
By ,
Mount Ida Ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the .price was right . and the shipping price was right . and the speed of the delivery was very fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 120-Quart Cooler, Green
09/25/2013
By ,
Oscoda mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased for seating and life vest storage on small boat. will use for rope storage and a small cooler inside. Seems sturdy and should serve my purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next