Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

The Vizio's Home Theater 40" Sound Bar lets discerning audiophiles upgrade to premium, high-quality audio. Its sophisticated design and slim profile make an attractive addition to any 40" (or larger) TV, and will make a great complement to your home entertainment center. This Vizio sound bar with integrated front and center channels also boasts SRS WOW HD audio enhancement technology, adding exceptional clarity and definition to your music and movies. Setting up the Vizio Home Theater has never been easier — just connect the included audio cable to your TV and indulge in powerful, immersive audio.
Average Customer Rating:
2.524 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation43%9 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Great sound-no sub-woofer needed.

12/07/2012
By ,
La Crosse, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good looks, great sound, and super easy to hook up. Action movies are really enhanced without assaulting your eardrums.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Great sound bar.

10/27/2012
By ,
Camby, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We upgraded from the old wired speaker surround and this has a better sound quality and takes up very little space in addition to not having run wires under the rugs or around the walls. We have a Visio HDTV we purchased a little less than a year ago which may or may not make a difference but together they are terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 3 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Great value!

12/10/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see that this sound bar gets a lot of bad reviews, I am VERY pleased with it! I have had many friends comment on how good it sounds. I have to admit that I did add an inexpensive subwoofer to it, but the sound bar alone is quite impressive. I totally recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 4 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Better than expected

12/29/2012
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 36 inch Samsung. Sound was awful. Connected up the soundbar today and a big different. Even my wife said it sounded much better and when I told her I was thinking about getting one, she thought the sound on the TV alone was fine. After she heard it, she noticed a big difference. Other review said they had some issues because the product had a defect or something, but overall a great purchase for under $100.
I was also able to find the codes to allow me to control the volume level of the soundbar through my main controller. I programed the aux button. I found it on comcasts forum: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/XfinityTV-and-Equipment/remote-code-for-vizio-soundbar-VSB200/td-p/898865
The remote that comes with it is not that strong, but using my main remote works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Sound bar enhances the sound, and easy to install

10/31/2012
By ,
Ponca City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound bar was so easy to install to our new 47" Vizio HDTV Smart TV, but I cannot get the WOW feature to stay on. Book says the orange light will stay on, the lights are blue, not green. I have tried everything I can think of to get the WOW feature to work, but cannot get the orange light to stay on. The orange light staying on lets you know the WOW feature is working. Does anyone else have this problem?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar
12/15/2012
By ,
Citrus Heights, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For living in apt. and not wanting speakers up in every corner this soundbar perfect!!!!!!!!!!! it fits right up underneath my tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for someone who's trying to save money.

12/31/2012
By ,
miami,fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this sound bar at my local walmart without doing my homework. The price was great,wasn't looking for anything out of this world as far as sound goes just a lil sound boost for my 51inch samsung.The set up was very easy,but because i have no audio output to my t.v, i had to hook the rca cables from the sound bar to my cable box,once soundbar came on i was VERY impressed with the sound,crystal clear audio,no humming or static,when playing music the bass is very deep(no subwoofer needed if its set up in a small living rm)my t.v. has a movie mode and SRS added,so when watching the matrix it sounded as if i was in the theater,but with all those postives i just mentioned,their are negatives!! After ONLY 3 hrs of operation the SOUND went dead!! I unpluged it 3 diff times rehooked cables 3 diff times,tried 3 diff t.v's, still NOTHING!! No sound,the sound bar power was on and the led lights,the vol on the sooundbar indicated the vol was going up or down when pressing the remote,but still no sound,neither less to say i returned the soundbar the same day for another 1,so far the new 1 is ok,but its only been a few hrs. hopefully the first one was a defect. Also the SRS WOW HD light doesn't stay on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar
01/02/2013
By ,
Kansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having issues with this sound bar periodically heating up and tripping the internal breaker. Once the unit cools down it operates fine until the next time it heats up. Have seen other reviews incicating the same problem with this device, so there is obviously some issues that need to be addressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Variable volume and somewhat muddled voice

11/18/2012
By ,
Dade City,Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have purchased 2 sound bars and both have the same problems. One, the volume changes without being adjusted: two, the dialogue(movies) can be muddled sometimes. I've tried using RCA cables and optical connections and had the same problems.Also, if you don't used the the SRS feature(while watching DVDs) the volume is very low.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Underpowered and flawed

08/12/2012
By ,
Central Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this speaker a little over a year ago from Wal-mart. It looks amazing and the price was competitive at around $100.
The first problem I noticed about the system was that it had a difficult time recognizing the remote. I later found out that a design flaw in the grill caused the IR signal to be partially blocked by the grill's "lattice." I removed the grill and snipped off a couple of the plastic lines behind the cloth and it registered much better (although, after all of the incessant button pressing I did before mending the problem, I had worn out the button-cell battery and had to buy a new one). The replacement battery is still going strong. It's been almost a year.
It comes with an "auto volume limiter," but it doesn't perform very well. When it's turned on, it only lowers the maximum volume and does not actually level the highs and lows. It still lets loud sounds pass through while making normal dialogue very difficult to hear, so I am still fumbling for the remote during action scenes.
It has a nice simulated surround feature which adds impressive depth of sound when it's turned on, but doing so makes the volume weak. It works well for music but makes dialogue very difficult to hear in movies and TV.
Since using the speaker, I've noticed that the sound has become slightly muddled since purchase. When new, the sound was crisp (albeit weak). Now, after a little more than a year, I can hear faint distortion even at low volume.
I do not recommend this for use in large rooms (or when placed more than 10 feet away). When I purchased it, I was living in an apartment with a small living room. I later moved into a larger house and the speaker just can't get loud enough for my new 12x15 ft. living room.
It comes with two RCA inputs and one TOSLINK optical input. I configured mine with the optical and never had a problem. I did try the RCAs once - back when I first purchased it - to connect an MP3 player and the sound came out severely distorted. The static was present through either RCA input. I then tried running sound to the RCA inputs with my TV and a different cord to try and determine the cause. The same distortion occurred. Obviously, it was the speaker's RCA connections that were faulty and I haven't used them since.
Overall, it's a nice looking unit, it has a versatile (and equally stylish) mounting kit/pedestal, it's inexpensive and, when used moderately in a small room with TOSLINK, it sounds great. But, in the long term, I'd recommend something more powerful with better design.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 11 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

many problems

12/17/2012
By ,
port st lucie fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
you would think vizio would correct the problems. several reviews are the same. the wow feature does not work. you cannot control the sound level with the remote.sometimes the remote does not turn on the bar. lots of problems. i will not purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Product does not come with required cords

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned product
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 13 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar
10/14/2012
By ,
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i am not happy with this product i purchased with a new vizio flat screen. got everything set up and the sound was no different. thought maybe i hooked it up wrong contacted vizio and was informed that the two items where not compatiable. which made me mad, because they had the two items, paired toghether. electronics associates need to know this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar
10/13/2012
By ,
Atoka, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product and immediately connected it to my television. After approximately 30 minutes the sound bar automatically shutdown due to overheating. I reinitialized to no avail. since it continually shutdown every few minutes. This product is not worth purchasing. I do not recommend it and am taking mine back tomorrow to the WalMart store from which I purchased it for a complete refund. Next time I will do my homework and select a better grade home theater sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 15 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Stay Away

01/06/2013
By ,
IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never write reviews cause I never care. This was one good deal on price. Never did any research and just bought it. The sound was Great, then just like all the other reviews the sound died. You have to turn it off and and wait. Then turn it back on and it works for like 2min then dead again. Taking back. Had it two weeks. Bought at walmart. Saddened that it was such a let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Overheats and shuts off!

08/19/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the VSB201 40' inch Vizio Soundbar as a package with the Vizio 47' inch 3D TV. The original soundbar overheated after 1-2 minutes of use with the TV and/or other audio devices #DVD player, MP3 player, laptop, iPOD#. The 1rst replacement sound bar from Vizio had the SAME PROBLEM! It overheated after about 3-4 minutes! I even set up the sound bar with fans around it to keep it cool but with zero success. Waiting for my 3rd replacement sound bar. After 2 weeks of owning this sound bar I have only had issues and wasted time shipping it via FedEx back to Vizio. Complete waste of money and time!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

Bust

08/14/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this yesterday with high hopes and it was awesome...for 8 seconds. It then make a loud popping sound like the speakers were blowing out and with one final pop, turned off. I then turned it back on and it had a crackling noise then repeated the above process. I'm taking it back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Just Purchased this
Posted 09/26/2012
So i just bought this system today but haven't used it yet. Should I even bother. By the sounds of it its not great quality, but i find that so surprising for $100. Did you have trouble returning it at all??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar

You get what you pay for

12/31/2012
By ,
Alexandria, La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speaker sounded great until it stopped working just two days out of the box. I plan on returning it for another product. Maybe I got a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vizio VSB201 Home Theater Sound Bar
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5