Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Mongoose 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Embrace your street style with the Mongoose Detain 700c Men's Urban Bike. This sleek, simple bicycle is perfect for commuting, or for cruising the streets. The Mongoose men's bike combines the ruggedness of a road bike with the sensibility of a city bike. Its high profile rims are the latest urban style in the market and its front and rear allow breaks are super dependable. With single-speed gearing, the Mongoose detain bike is less prone to need maintenance, and will always be in working order for your commute or trip down the road. The For a practical yet stylish ride, the 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike is a wise choice for bikers everywhere. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Good for the price

12/02/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the bicycles brought damaged tiers and the solution offered by Walmart stores I Puerto Rico was returning the bike and make the purchase again because they were purchased online and the item is not available in stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

nice bike if you like to customize.

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice bike, if you replace all the components.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Worth Every Penny

03/24/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At $200, I have literally tried to beat this bike to death. Great boat bike. Other than replacing runnings with decent $25 tires and heavy inner tubes, it refuses to give up the ghost. With an aluminum frame and healthy welds, making it extremely light, it weighs in at about 26 pounds (ship weight is 32). Silicone spray and plumbers grease it and wipe dry/clean. Loosen the head bolt slightly with an Allen wrench, turn the bars 90 degrees and it lays flat against a wall. For sand, some argue, the tires are too narrow..... kid me not.... even with super wide tires, I am not riding in sand! That is when I want a light bike to 'pack out', geeeesh! No gears either... one speed, easy. Everywhere I stop, people have compliments. Get it at Walmart ASSEMBLED, then re-wrench it yourself to your personal fit. Such as, rotating the handle bars 180 degrees (for tall folks) and switching the front and rear brake levers to match your motorcylcle front brake position on the right.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Outstanding Value

02/24/2014
By ,
frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just returned my Mongoose Hex as it was a bit too small for me and could not be modified as I had hoped. It was doomed to remain an overweight road and path bike with slow knobby tires. I wanted to swap the bars, rear sprocket, and pedals, to take it off-road but the sizes were not standard to other mountain bike parts. I wanted to replace it with the Thruster 700C Black/Red but found a silver version of the Detain in stock for only $99! I was impressed with the weight, gearing, and alloy brakes (not stamped steel). It also offered decent 25C tires and deep rims. Once I got it home I adjusted the brakes and lubed the cables then turned the fork around the right way (it was mounted backwards). It is much faster than fighting the heavy knobs on the hex even though I am now restricted to pavement. The large number of heavy gauge spokes should keep things straight during abusive riding. I would recommend this as a good urban bike or rail trail cruiser that is faster and more nimble than a beach cruiser. It can be setup as a fixie or freewheel based on your taste. I would only recommend a better saddle. This one is firm and narrow (okay so far) and convex in shape (not okay for me). I recommend the Bell Dart saddle as a firm but flexible shell that is slightly wider and flatter side-to-side but not a huge padded sofa. Oh, and my clipless pedals fit on this crank where the Hex did not.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Good Urban Bike

05/02/2013
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing bike for the money it looks more expensive that it actually is. Great bike for the city, easy to carry up 3 flights of stairs. Just try to get a bike like this for under $500. No one comes close to walmart for Bikes firm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Reasonable bike!

08/18/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light, and cool shape of the bike. A little too hard saddle, and poor shock absorption is not satisfactory. But overall, reasonable bike and I like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Seat is a Midieval Torture Device

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only ridden this bike about 40 miles over the last couple of weeks, but I feel like I have a good idea on the quality of the bike. It's pretty standard for what you would expect from a Walmart product. It's not top of the line, but it's not complete junk. It has a nice frame, cheap breaks that took me forever to get adjusted correctly (but once I did, they work ok), and the seat is total garbage. I'm a 5'3 female and the bike is a tad big for me by about 2cm. But nothing to poo myself over. I've had four kids, have a wide set pelvis, and this seat is like a medieval torture device. I'd prefer drop handle bars, but these work. But I mean, this bike works. The tires have not blown out on me in spite of the horrible Atlanta roads full of potholes. Lots of complaints about the pedals, but they work. Nothing to hate about them. They don't look fancy, but whatever. Replace them when they break. I also took off the tacky stickers and cheap looking chain guard.
Stuff I like about this bike:
*I like very plain looking stuff. After I took the stickers off, this bike looked perfect for me.
*I don't like fancy stuff that will get stolen. This doesn't look too fancy. Although some old man shouted at me while I was riding down the street, "Look at that Cadillac!"
*It works as is. I can ride 5+miles without too much worry.
*It's light. I can carry it up and down the front stairs of my house.
*It was cheap. I hate spending money.
*I really like the option to flip the back wheel around from SS to fixie. I enjoy riding SS most of the time, but it's nice to have options.
Stuff that I don't like:
*MY SEAT HURTS. No really. Someone took a sledgehammer to my rear. I can't wait to buy a new seat. I've been riding for the last two days without touching the seat. Ouch. But this will probably be different for every rider. Obviously. Behinds are different.
*Chain guard. What a waste of time and money. So cheap looking.
*Breaks needed some serious love and care, and after I finally got them just where they needed to be, resigned to the fact that my kids have better breaks on their bikes than I do. Will need to replace sometime in the future.
*Something is squeaky. I think it is my back wheel or something. Needs further investigation and some lubricant.
*Stickers were over the top. Totally an easy fix with a little bit of elbow grease and goo gone.
*And of course, I am looking forward to replacing the handle bars to drop bars. But that's just me.
All in all, it's working great and I'm pleased. Thanks to the reviews, I pretty much knew what I was buying and got exactly what I expected. Internet purchase success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Great frame.....

02/25/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh ,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Swap out the
Crank
And the bottem bracket
Then you have an ok bike
Change the brakes
Wheels
Bars
Stem
Tires
Seat
Grips
You have a great bike
I have done delivery work on this bike for close to a year
Also I have been hit by a f-150 (dent in fork and trued the wheels)
Still a good bike
Long story short good strong frame with a long reach and a tight responsive feel and is crazy stiff
Walmart goofed up and made a good cheap frame
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Good Bike, will need some extras to be great

09/12/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is great for city dwellers in flat areas (e.g. Chicago).
Take off all the stuff you do not want and put on what you need.
Pros...
Looks great once the labels are taken off.
Works well when put together right.
Cons...
No room for a back rack or storage.
Got a flat tire on first use use due to metal shavings in between the tube and the wheel.
Rear flats are a pain to fix without quick release...invest in some tubes with the slime stuff to make sure you aren't aways fixing holes. Walmart does not carry those tubes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Great bike for the money

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is great for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Excellent bike for $180

05/09/2014
By ,
Manchester , CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing bike. I got this last month and so far I am very happy. I had a schwinn bike before. Best of all this costs less than $200. If you are in the market for a good street bike then go ahead and order this bike. I replaced seat with my favorite Selle Italia . Good luck !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike
07/10/2013
By ,
Santa Barbara, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this bike. it got stolen a few months ago and decided to buy the mongoose sinsure fitness bike but it does not compare to the mongoose detain. Mongoose Detain bike is faster and great. i loved it so much and am going to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

Parts missing

12/29/2012
By ,
Delta B.C. Canada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Received my bike took it home to assemble my self only to find handle bar bolts and hold down clamp missing
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

good bike

05/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
is a good bike and look great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike

I would not recommend purchasing

03/22/2014
By ,
Porterville, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sense I have purchased, during every ride the rear tire goes flat. I have road twice replaced tube and the knocking noise in the crank is getting louder.. It has turned out to be a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike
08/21/2013
By ,
Detroit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will not buy any more bikes from Walmart or Online. The tires wouldn't inflate, I had a big gash on my frame. I took my bike to a bike shop to be professionally assembled and ended up having to buy some new inner tubes because the ones that came with the bike were faulty.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike
04/03/2013
By ,
cleveland,ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the rims are cheapy made.the back tire been popping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 700c Mongoose Detain Men's Urban Bike
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5