Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Schwinn 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.408 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%45 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 122 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Excellent Ride!! Loved it.

12/20/2012
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this delivered straight to my house. It was very easy to assemble as it already came pre-assembled. All I had to do was attach the front wheel, the hand rail, and the pedals. It took me less then 20 minutes to assemble. After that, my first test ride was great. No issues what so ever. The ride was great and it was very easy changing gears. The on thing I wish it had more of was the ability to attach lights in more places. I ride during the evening here in the east coast. It's currently winter and so I attached a few lights. I ride along heavy traffic in a small rode with no walk way or bike path so I have to ride along with cars. You can definitely get two lights installed easily and 1 in the front but I wanted at least two more to be extra safe. Since the break wires and gear wires come in the way, I was unable to put additional lights. No worries. Otherwise bike is awesome for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Schwinn 700c rider in Princeton, NJ
Posted 05/09/2014
Get yourself a helmet with a light on it. That would help out a bunch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Good design, several quality problems

05/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like this bike but couldn't recommend it. Lightweight frame, looks good and the stand over height is perfect for my short legs. Shipment came quickly and was well protected with a double box.
Here's why I rated it only fair overall and poor for ease of setup.
Frayed rear brake cable. Had to replace.
Damaged chain. Bent in one spot. Had to replace two links.
Cones on rear wheel were tightened too tight. They were compensating for a slightly bent rear axle.
Derailleurs were way off (front and rear) and looked like they were just slapped on and not adjusted.
Slight out of true on front wheel.
Good news is that I took it to a pro who fixed all the problems except the rear axle. These problems should have been caught at the factory. I could have returned the bike but my experience is that bikes bought over the internet will need some work. Plan on it. Unless you are very lucky, you will need a professional to tune the bike before riding. It's $75 well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Excellent bike but poor factory test on quality

06/12/2014
By ,
redmond
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike, smooth ride, perfect design for me - not to stretch forward much because of the back issues, smooth and quick gear switching,light weight!, very comfortable seat, very comfortable ride for 6ft /32 inseam.
Cons: extremely poor factory test on derailleurs.
my story:
ordered schwinn dsb and seventh ave. dsb arrived with damaged rim and rear tube was off the rim. clear scratch from heavy hit on the rim. package was not damaged at all. returned it.
seventh ave. came in a great condition, 15 minutes to assemble, check bolts/nuts. adjusted breaks quickly.
problem: duraillers were off completely. the chain was scratching not only front gear on different positions but also scratching rear dureiller small wheel, visually was off on seventh gear (the small rear gear). decided to go to shop versus adjusting myself: +75$.
did look like nobody even tried to tune it at the factory at all.
- just dropped on the components and that is it.
overall, i'm very satisfied to have a great bike for less than 300$.
components are inexpensive but very much better than competitors in the same price range hybrid bikes of 230-299$ at retailers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

A good bicycle for anyone

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this bike extremely quick! I used ship to home service. The setup was a breeze, but i have assembled plenty bikes from boxes. The part that was surprising was that i didnt have to adjust much in the way of brake placement, or shifting. I still would never expect a bike to come in a box and not need adjusting, so this was a nice change. The shifting on this model seems very quick and smooth. The seat is comfortable. Lots of people complain about seats being uncomfortable, but they dont give themselves time to get used to it. Honestly, when we first started driving, our foot was quite uncomfotable holding down the pedal because we werent used to it. So be patient with any bike seat and start off with 15 min ride then gradually move up in duration and your ability to tolerate any seat will be greater. This bike has the sadle post shock, spring seat, and front fork shocks so it takes quite a bit of the bumps for you. Very good bike for the price. This bike helps you to get a rode bike feel without discomfort in your shoulders, wrist, and neck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Baby boomer Weight loss machine

06/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Knowing the height weight and age of the reviewer is important in the decision on which bike you choose. I'm age 57 weight 209# male 72.5" tall. I am not an expert.I Do not work for any of the companies involved or it's competitors. It is tall enough for me. if you are more than 74" well..? Shipping; well packaged, box inside box tape 5 stars. setup; out of the box you put the front wheel on and the seat.Yea,Your gonna need an expert for that ( Sarcasm). I tweaked the breaks a little. I was impressed with how much the hand breaks have improved in 40 years since my last bike. Durability, I've only had it for 3 weeks, can't comment. What's Hybrid about it? It has off road suspension, springs on the fork,spring on the seat neck, springs under the seat. The tires are road tires. Off road bikes have noisy, slow tough tires.for obvious reasons. The seat is more cushy that a road bike. handle bars are off road. You are likely giving up speed for comfort with this trade off. Buying a bike was the best decision I've made for my health in a long time. Buying this particular bike, value wise,was a good choice.I wanted more gears for hills. My buddy's bike cost 600 but he is much taller than I. Perfect bike for my age weight and height. If you are 50 pounds heavier it should still be good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Nice bike weight is only 35 LBS

04/03/2014
By ,
Big O
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bike,easy to put together,weighs only 35 Lbs which is prefect for my bike rack which holds 70 Lbs that i have on the back of my travel trailer. All the gears worked great straight out of the box didn't have to adjust on the 2 bikes i bought. Did have one tire go flat after short ride. Called Schwinn they sent new tube. Bike shop charged $13 for a tube can buy online for $6 took me awhile to find the correct size 700 x 28-35 27 x 1- 1/8 x 1-1/4 hope this helps if you want to buy a spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

It's the bike meets all I need

01/23/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously purchased a 26" hybrid for cruising down a leisurely bike path, but I felt that the wheels are a little bit small for me in terms of riding comfortably, even though the 26" is easier to turn around that why most of mountain bikes come with 26". I returned the 26" and purchased this one, it turned out the 700c is much smoother when riding in the paved roads. I heard a lot, even from some sales men, that the 26" wheels are as same size as 700c. but this is wrong! 700c wheels are 3 inches bigger/higher than 26", i myself compared two side by side, that makes the 700c more comfortable and smoother. Does it make sense? The bigger wheels make the bike higher, of cause, but its perfect for me even I am a short guy only have 5'5 as long as you set the saddle in the lowest position. The saddle is the only thing I'd complain that makes me uncomfortable after riding for a while, this is a common problem when I read some reviews. However, you could spend $18 to change to a comfortable saddle. This bike is made of aluminum for the frame, so its a little bit lighter that is an advantage of it. I've owned this bike for one month and riding every couple of days, I really enjoy it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

good for a comfortable commuting

05/07/2013
By ,
san jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was reviewing schwinn seventh avenue and schwinn solitaire for my ride to office.
I have choosen schwinn seventh avenue for following
i am 5'6" ,
I can comfortably sit in upright position unlike a road bike where i have to lean too much;
I can comfortable rest standing on the bar at signals and place where i have to stop. Gear shifting is very good. Walmart assembled the bike and is decent.
For the same route when i used a mountain bike where i have to change gears but with schwinn seventh avenue i can comfortable go in one gear with ease.
This bike lacks mudguard like in schwinn solitaire and front wheel is little bit noisy.
Frame quality is decent;
In the begining front fork is very hard and also while riding i can feel the road very hard may due to new tires, after increasing tire pressure, seem ok but still little hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Fantastic Hybrid Bike

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the look of the frame and the spokes! Assembly was very straightforward. Even the tires were seated on the rims. Was able to ride the bike without adjusting anything at all (brakes, shifter, etc.). I will switch out the hand grips for the more comfortable style. Especially happy with the comfort provided by the shock absorber and by the more upright seating position of this Hybrid. Delivery was just 3 days to my home and cost only $5!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Good Value for the Cost

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my old $600 Bike Store hybrid with the Schwinn. The old one had several problems. The Schwinn was easy to assemble and I had no need to adjust the gearing. The components seem to be decent quality. It rides great. I am amazed at the quality considering the reasonable cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Awesome bike.

05/24/2014
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really love the aluminum wheels and the bike is light. Love it. Exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Not Sure I Would Buy On Line Again

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike came with messed up derailleur and brakes that rubbed. When I called for instructions on repair they told they had no service and I could take it back to the store for a refund or they would send a new one and I had to pack the old one to send back. Luckily when I took it back to my local Wall Mart a customer service lady went over and above and said she would have their bike guy take a look at it. He did and fixed it in a minute. Without them I would have not been happy but all's well that ends well I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike
10/14/2012
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had same features and was the same weight as $500 bikes at a bike store. Front derailier needed adjusting but rear derailier was adjusted correctly. Bought a softer seat to be more like a cruiser. Seat that came with the bike was more of a street seat which is fine if you want that type of seat. Seems well made and has screw blocks for mounting accessories, which some of the $500 bikes didn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike for the price

09/20/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike mainly for commuting. I did a little research and I was a little undecided between a road bike and a hybrid. Of course a road bike is faster but this bike is comfortable to ride and it is also quite fast. Assembly was quite simple, but it did need some adjusting, which I was expecting. For a mechanically inclined individual, this should be fairly simple to do. But taking it to a professional to get it done might be better for some people. After I did all the necessary adjustments took out for a ride and it shifted quickly and quietly. The breaks worked great. The rapid fire shifters are so much better than the grip shifters, so that is a big plus. The only bad thing that I noticed while adjusting the bike was that the fine tuning barrel adjuster for the foward derrauiller was broken. This did not affect the performance on the bike whatsoever because it is used for fine tuning. I just wanted to add this on because I contacted schwinn's service department and they sent me a new shifter assembly at no cost to me. So schwinn does honor their factory warranty. That saved me the hassle of returning the bike. To sum it all up, this is a great bike for someone around 5'10" to maybe 6'1. I"m close to 6' and it fits me perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike, description

07/08/2013
By ,
NorthEast, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, the good:
- For the price, the bike is a fantastic buy
- It has decent components
- It is lightweight
- It arrived quickly and and easy to assemble with minimum fuss
- Good for road and slight off-road tracks.
Now the bad:
- It is much bigger than the description lead me to believe. I couldn't stand comfortably over the bike so it is going back
- it comes with 28" wheels - description doesn't mention that
- The seat is not comfortable. I would change to something else or put a cover if you plan to go off-road.
If I was taller, much taller, I would definitely hold onto the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Spokane
It's a 700C
Posted 09/06/2013
The description lists the wheel as a 700c (27.56")
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Have to get used to a more rigid ride.

07/26/2014
By ,
Bad Axe Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike came in good shape double boxed. All parts were in good condition (was a blemish on one rim which I sanded smooth so as not to wear out the brake pad - this was also true on my wife's seventh avenue. Greased everything with extra grease where I could then took out for a ride after assembly. I took my time with the assembly 3-4 hours even tightened the spokes that felt loose, no rush. I"m 6' tall and this belt felt strange like I was sitting straight up and uncomfortable.. I put the handlebar pivot to 10 degree as far as it would go and moved the seat up as far as I could and still touch the ground safely and that felt much better. They should add about 1 inch in length to the frame and not put so much bend in the handle bars. I like to be leaning forward a bit and then sit up when I feel like it. Double check spoke tightness they don't need much turn to make them tight clockwise to center of wheel. Like my wife's seat a little better but I feel like I can get a gel cover or something : Please get fenders as sand and grit throws up from the tires all over your legs and sticks to everthing with grease or oil. Didn't have time to go shop at the store so will be looking online tonight for fenders for both mine and my partners seventh avenue. Soon to be enjoying a nice ride together. I might just try out a few bikes at the store and see if any fit me better. shame I was really .. almost positive this would fit like a glove from the review.. and it does, but with out any margin.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Bad Axe Mi.
Suspension not a problem with Fenders.
Posted 08/03/2014
After installing fenders for this bike I noticed that the front fork suspension and the bolt hole for the front fender are seperate so you can get some full fender sets. Also measured the distance from center of seat post to handlebar on my old bike and on this bike .. This Bike was over 2" shorter !!! That's really odd. I have to get used to riding higher the large wheels make me feel like I have been swinging on a swing.. I don't like that feeling.. need more time to get used to this bike. My wife's seventh avenue you try and put a 24 oz bike bottle in the bottle holder and it will not fit so I ordered her a 12 oz bottle for her bike .. she really likes hers but the bar above the bottle holder could have been raised a 1/2 inch.. it's just odd. My gears make some strange noises that sound more like something is not right.. have not had time to do the fine print reading and adjusting.. praying it's just some simple adjustment and not a flaw. I stand pretty firm on a 4 star review.. my wife's would get a 4 1/2 .. Decent bikes if the moving parts have integrity and last.
0points
Customer Avatar
Bad Axe Mi.
update
Posted 07/28/2014
measured my inseam then times that by 1.09 to get length from seat to pedal stem in low position- gets you real close where you should be there is an "instructables" on how to set seat height. Also my gears also were not set up good at factory and are noisy and I have not had time yet to adjust them. If you buy fenders you must get a pair that works with suspension forks and there is not much to choose from I shopped for a while and finally chose SKS Velo 55 Cross 700c Fender Set for around 20 bucks now have to wait to see how they work. Bought the "journey" rack. I know these handlebars are going to need something like new grips and maybe some kind of add on to give me another hand position so that is work to do. All in all not bad but you have to do some work on this bike to make it work. Still not tested over any distance yet. Also not getting any gel pad am going to let my rear get used to this seat which I had to adjust the pitch on a little.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

So far so good.

08/01/2014
By ,
Vancouver Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike. Women's was unavailable but wife likes this one. Has the important "trigger" gear change. Arrived complete and in good condition. Good quality and good performance, excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Great Schwinn Bike

06/09/2013
By ,
Sanger, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this bike, an awesome bike, the who shipment of this bike was well packed in it's box. I really didn't have to put too much into it to start riding it. But this bike is comfortable and has a smooth ride and is very light. I definitely would recommend this bike to my friends. I take it to work and all my friends like the bike. First of all it's a HYBRID BIKE!!! And I'm happy with buying it online through Walmart...I have no regrets...Thanks Walmart and Thank You Schwinn bikes...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Very Satisfied

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bike 10 months ago. It was shipped to my local store. I had not worked on a bike for years, much less put one together. With the instructions in hand, it took me only about 45 minutes. I had read reviews and knew that I immediately needed to take the bike and have it professionally set up(derailers adjusted, brakes, etc). Total cost was about $40. After initial setup, I started riding. Six months later I can say I am totally happy with this bike. I have friends who are a little more into biking than me and spent $1000 more than I did on a TreK who are completely surprised with the quality and durability of this bike. From what I can tell, my bike might weigh 5-6 pounds more than theirs, but I saved $1000!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 700c Schwinn Seventh Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Smooth Ride

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well equipped for a smooth ride. Sporty and classy looking!!
Had to change the seat was a narrow seat. Did not come with a bottle holder like most bikes.
Would highly recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next