Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Schwinn 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%23 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Very Good Bike, Great Deal!

10/06/2012
By ,
Corning NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a beginner to the cycling world. I've been biking long distances (20+ miles) with a mountain bike that I outfitted with hybrid tires. I upgraded to the schwinn varsity road bike and my rides have been great. I've ridden road bikes of the past but this is certainly a much smoother ride. I am now easily able to ride (50+ miles) a day with no difficulty.
The bike is a mans bike but I've been facing difficulty as a young woman finding a bike that fit me well... I'm only 5'5 but I have a 32' inch inseam... so I'm all leg. This bike is a comfortable ride for me, but if your inseam is less than 32' you will not be able to straddle the bar...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Some issues..
Posted 10/27/2012
I don't regret my purchase, but it wasn't as great as what I hoped for. I was realistic in my expectations, so I knew not to expect too much quality for such a low price. I managed to assemble the bike from its out of the box state. Then I found the issues. The biggest, the back brake had a bad spring. I tweaked and tweaked but I couldn't figure out what was wrong. When I took it to the local shop, they filled me in. OY. Luckily, the mechanic was awesome and hooked it up with a new brake and didn't charge("Orange 20 Bikes" if you're in LA!!). The handle bars were off center and the screws were stripped in and really took some muscle to twist and align. And like every new bike purchase, and consistent with all the reviews I read, the gears needed some tuning. The mechanic also warned that these types of derailleurs are known to slip the chain overboard. I'd say pretty manageable fixes for a bike at this price. That's why there is no regret here. Just a bummer to have a couple bad parts sent from the factory. Hopefully the bike holds up well, but in the meantime, I'm excited to have my first road bike and glad it's cheaper. I can learn more about how bicycles work, like when it inevitably has problems, and can decide if l want to get into cycling a bit more.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

SO LIGHTWEIGHT! AWESOME road bike, Top Value.

09/07/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best road bike i have ever ridden for $250. I have owned the infamous GMC denali bike, and this schwinn blows it out of the water. I swear this bicycle feels like its under 20 lbs. Its SO light weight next to the other road bikes walmart carries. The shifters shift fine after adjustment. You WILL have to adjust the high and low screws before you hop on for a long ride. The back brake came PERFECTLY adjusted, the front break just needed a squeeze with a tightening of cable tension and its good. If you want a perfectly adjusted derailleur you may need to take it to a shop, which im debating to do or not.
I'm 5'11, 200+ pounds and it fits my legs fine with proper raising of the saddle. If 6 you're any taller than 6 feet, you may feel slightly uncomfortable. I like these style shifters VS the twisty shifters on the GMC denali. I actually Love the saddle, it feels perfectly padded without going overboard. The front wheel is a quick release, which is very convient for transporting in my car. This bike comes with pedal cages, reflectors, but not a water bottle cage. You can order a schwinn water bottle+ cage and it will fit perfectly.
Its a sharp looking bike. VERY impressed with it, especially how light it is for being under $300. If you're around 6 feet tall and looking for a legit road bike, get this. Pay the extra 90 bucks over the GMC denali.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

not what i expected for the price

06/27/2013
By ,
miami fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this bike a month ago because it said Aluminum and it looks nice,but thats where it ends,the bike feels light enough but when i ride it it feels like it weighs a ton.As soon as i stop pedaling the bike slows down considerably unlike other schwinn bikes ive had in the past,i bought a used schwinn after i purchased this one and its ten times better,nice and smooth and feels light and does not slow down when i stop pedaling.i have checked everything on this bike and its just not worth the money they charge for it,im thinking about selling it and buying a used bike.I would recommend that if you are thinking about getting into bike riding dont buy this bike,go online and buy a used one that has been tweeked in a bike shop,it will feel better than this one,if its just for casual riding then this one is ok.i hope this review helps those of you thinking about getting into bike riding.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
louisville KY The Bikester P.B,
comment on mr. not what i exspected ! in miami !
Posted 07/02/2013
I own other way more exspencive bikes! But for the money u cant beat this 700c Schwin Varsity 1300 Mens Road Bike ! doller for doller this is it just a few adjustments out of the box and this bike is thunder on the road ! Your not going to get eney more bang for your buck new out of the box or already put togeather !!! Its a solid wonderfull Road Bike !!! ....
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Glad I purchased

03/19/2013
By ,
Newport News , VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband saw a gentleman riding this bike. He liked it so much he had to stop and ask questions. He Liked the fact that the bike was light weight. When he inquired about the price and where it was purchased, he was surprised as well as shocked at the price and that it came from Walmart. He immediately headed to the local Walmart store. He was a bit disappointed when he found out that the bike was sold only at one store in the area, and that quantities were limited. Of course the store was out of stock and though he was offered an alternative, he have had to refuse. I went online and found exactly what he wanted. We opted for the site to store offer and received the bike in about eight to nine days. Assembly was not as bad as he expected, make sure you have an Allen wrench. He showed it to his brother who in turn purchased one also. I recommend this bike. It makes for a great Christmas, Birthday, or Father's day gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

I strongly recommend this bike!

03/23/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered mine online shipped to my door so the assembly and initial tune-up was up to me. I own a bike repair stand and tool set which makes the set-up feasible so I adjusted the brakes and derailleurs plus pumped up the tires before I rode it. The factory settings (out of the box) may not be "road ready" so I'd suggest properly adjusting the bike or taking it to your LBS for help if unable to do it yourself. I also stripped the factory handlebar wrap and re-wrapped with a red and black camouflage cork wrap to trick it out a little and added the Schwinn frame accessory bag. I am 5'11", 200# and find the bike to be a perfect fit. This bike is light, smooth to ride and looks awesome. The seat is comfortable, very attractive and has great stitching. If you're looking for a drop-down bar road bike for under $300 this is the best bike I've seen for the money. Happy riding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Great Bike For The Money

01/27/2013
By ,
Eustis, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, It's a really good bike! I got it for about 300 dollars, including a warranty. The only problem that I have with it is with the rear derailleur. It will not shift to 7th gear. It all works fine, I just need to take it to the shop to tune the shimano's correctly. Walmart assembly isn't the best. Overall a great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Good to learn on, I guess

07/03/2013
By ,
Lake Charles, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike with no prior experience in road cycling. Did a little research before hand, so I knew I wasn't buying anything special. After a quick youtube session, I had the bike fitted to me (other than I'm way too short for the frame) and I was on my way. Having nothing to compare it to, I thought the ride was nice and I was able to maintain a fair amount of speed at ~19-20mph. I now know that isn't impressive at all lol. After that first ride, I did some more youtubing and got my derailleurs set up right and my brakes to where they'd stop me in a reasonable distance. Now that I have more than 150 miles on it, I'm looking for a new bike. The bike was great for someone who doesn't know if they will keep with cycling and doesn't want to spend $1000 on an "entry level" bike, but if this is something they'll do for a while, I'd suggest skipping this step and just get a real bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Opps, just one small problem

04/18/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As good as hopefully expected but...
Bike came w/ defective tire tube (near stem). Called warranty and 2 new two tubes were shipped/arrived in two days.
Everything OK now
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Good Starter, Great for Learning How to Upgrade

02/12/2013
By ,
Corsicana, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great bike for the budget tinkerer/engineer. I have an older (2009, "natural" aluminum with yellow and black) version of this bike. It had languished outside the store until the price was $160. I used this bike to learn how to build and rebuild a bike by using better quality but inexpensive parts. The only original parts are the frame, headset, and fork--but the fork and headset will be changed this year. I used a microSHIFT Centos groupset (which is available here on Walmart.com) to upgrade from the Shimano A050 shifters to brake/shift levers and low-end Shimano front and rear derailleurs. This also allowed me to go from a 7- to 9-speed casette, which meant that I needed a new rear hub, as these 7-speed hubs are older-style freewheels, not freehubs--so I learnt how to build a rear wheel. Again, a good bike for a tinkerer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Great bike for everybody!!!!

09/21/2012
By ,
long beach, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best road bike option! I will say just buy this one don't waist time trying something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

A great Bike for its price

09/12/2013
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my bike for a month already and there more i ride it the more i love it. at the beginning was a little disappointed because some parts are not as good as i thought they'd be, but after take it for a couple of rides i realize it just do the job. besides, it's great price compare what you get elsewhere. I would definitely recommend it to a beginner rider that is just looking to be fit and recreational use (a professional rider might consider it a piece of junk). It's easy to put together, however some adjustment has to be done in order to ride, the chain keeps falling off until you fix it, but after you tune it, it just runs smoothly and comfortably.
I read some bad reviews that it is not worht it, but I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike
09/12/2013
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike a couple of weeks ago and have about 100 miles on it. I completed a tri with a 14 mile ride last weekend on this bike and it performed great in race conditions. The course was very hilly (much different that I am used to). Shifting was easy during the race with the Shimano components (I think I used every gear going up and down the hills). I did get it up to 34.7 miles/hour at one downhill part of the race.
I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting to get into a road bike without spending $700. Schwinn makes a quality product. The bike is light and easy to ride. The assembly was easy and I had very little issues (I had to adjust the front derailleur, but it was easy with a twist of a screwdriver). To make it feel like more of a racing bike, I removed the reflectors from the tires, front and back and the plastic protector from the rear wheel hub (I read that someone else did this from another review).
Additions:
• Schwinn water bottle that I bought from Target (sorry Walmart).
• Cateye Micro Wireless (CC-MC200W) (bought from Amazon (sorry Walmart)).
• I also bought a Schwinn tire pump off of Amazon (sorry Walmart). The tires require 100 psi and I would recommend checking it each time you take off for a ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Porsche in a old volkswagen motor

09/13/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike is absolutely beautiful until you start ridding it. I was wandering around looking from store to store for a new bike I could afford. I just about gave up till I ran into this bike. I thought no way too good to be true. The bike weighs 25-30 pounds. Sounds light, right? I rode another expensive bike and these two bikes arent even in the same league. The wheels stop as soon as you stop pedaling. If your serious about getting into the Road bike world, I would recommend saving for a little longer and buy yourself a better bike that performs good. If your a casual bike ridder this bike is perfect for you, but if your serious about ridding through the city dont do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Beginners road bike

09/02/2013
By ,
Miami, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After ridding my mountain bike for a while I decided to upgraded to a Road Bike. I started asking a couple of friends about road bikes and its amazing how they would all say to get an entry level road bike that would cost me aprox $600.00 USD. I went through several websites and found the same answer, they recommend a beginners road bike of USD$600.00.
To me that was insane because all I wanted to do was exercise and not compete in the Olympics. So, if you are looking for a good road bike for exercise no need to go any further this bike is just fine. At the end of the day you still have to pedal in order to go around the block.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Great bike for a novice rider

07/25/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't ridden a bicycle in 30 years and wanted to get back into it as a form of exercise. This is a great starter road bike for someone who doesn't want pay a lot of money. The bike is very light weight. I purchased at the store so it was preassembled. A Walmart employee tuned the brakes for me. Other than that it was ready to go. I removed the foot traps because I wasn't very comfortable with getting my feet out of them when I needed to stop. All in all I am very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Great bike for the price

08/06/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this bike.
Pros: sleek, slim, light, fast, looks cool, and great for the price. Some places wanted $3000 and up for a bike I felt that was just as good, yeah right maybe if i was lance armstrong. Psh
Cons: bike assembly was difficult due to vague instructions, bike was missing one front brake pad upon delivery, and the bike does not handle bumpy roads very well I had a flat tire within the first week of urban riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike

Nice Bike

08/17/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It´s a very nice bike, not too heavy, it´s a good value for money deal.
The only thing I disliked is the shifts are very old fashioned, you can´t see them online, they are simple plastic, big and attach to the top of the maneuver, which makes it difficult to reach.
If that isn´t an issue, I would recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike
08/25/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,very light weight....loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 700c Schwinn Varsity 1300 Men's Road Bike
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5