Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Schwinn 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation79%11 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Terrific bike for getting around town!

10/14/2012
By ,
Pasadena, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Schwinn Hybrid "Comfort" 21 speed bike prior to this purchase. This 5th Avenue Schwinn is more comfortable (to me) with the suspension seat and it has the shock absorbing forks as well. It is a very nice looking bike with the blue frame and brown seat and handle bars going together quite nicely. This bike is a 7 speed, which is better for me as most of my riding is on level or slight incline in the city. I never used all 21 speeds on my previous bike. The tires on this are narrower as this bike is meant for city and not mountain use. The frame is very strong and I especially like the features like the rack on back for strapping things. The bike was very easy to put together; all you need is a hex wrench, a small box or open end wrench and maybe a phillips screwdriver. The only parts you need to put together are the handle bar to the bike (2 hex bolts), the front tire to the front forks (comes with the quick release), the front fender (2 smaller hex screws, a small box wrench and phillips screwdriver), and you also need to adjust the brakes somewhat. The rear wheel, rear storage rack, rear fender and all cables are already attached. You will need to also inflate the tires. If you plan on riding it at night you are going to need a headlamp & tail light as there are not many reflectors on this bike and you wouldn't want to get run over. The only disappointment for me was the fenders are made of plastic. In the old days of course you would have got metal fenders but hey they serve the purpose. But I would have preferred metal fenders. Other than that I am very happy with this bike and I would recommend this to anyone thinking about using this to ride about town. I'm sure you can ride this off-road as well but I would not recommend this for riding up rugged hills or anything. This 5th Avenue is made for city commutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Best Bike I've Ever Owned

04/29/2013
By ,
Waycross, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike at our local Wal Mart after my old one was stolen. I love the shocks on the fork and seat and the ease of shifting gears. Even though it's only a seven-speed, it's more than enough. I have no trouble keeping up with my friend and his 21-speed.
This bike is rock-solid dependable. I've had absolutely no problems with it after riding it every day for four months. It's heavy, but fast. I don't think the weight gets in the way at all. As a matter of fact, the steel frame gives a much more solid ride, more comfortable and has more "Glide," if you know what I mean. Aluminum frames are light, but the ride is vibratory and flimsy.
This bike was made for comfort, but it's plenty fast. The attractive blue color is a plus. Everything on it is wel made and sturdy. I can't say enough about it. Having only one sproket on the front (It's a seven speed) makes the gear shifting dependable and quiet. This is the smoothest shifting, smoothest riding bike on the planet.
This is an old-school bike, solid, comfortable, and sturdy. Also FAST, faster than you'd think!
Buy it, you won't be disappointed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

I'm so glad I bought this!

09/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! I hadn't ridden a bike in years so I shopped around. I guess I'm just not sophisticated enough to tell the difference between a $700 local bike shop model and this Schwinn Fifth Avenue. (I'm sure there are differences; I just don't know what they are.) So I ignored all my bike friends who told me to skip the big box stores and listened to nowbatting19 & Harbard from the reviews here. I picked it up at a local Walmart already assembled, put air in the tires at the gas station next door and rode 10 miles home. I've been riding 25 miles round trip to work 2 to 3 times per week for the past 2 months and I love it! If you had told me I'd be doing this, I would have thought you were crazy. What a great way to get exercise that doesn't seem like exercise. I replaced the seat (too hard), added lights, and a rack top bag in back. I had to adjust the handle bars and brakes once. Only nit: you can't shift gears once your hands get too sweaty so you need either gloves or a paper towel. That's it. Great bike! I take it almost everywhere now. Reminds me of when I was a kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Great Bike

12/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this great bike 2 days ago at Walmart for some reason it had a price ticked on it for $200 but was marked down to $100 what deal it much have been there a while it had a little rust on the one of the sprockets which I easily corrected with WD 40 I love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Didn't meet my needs

07/01/2013
By ,
Ocean View, DE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a bike where I would be able to sit upright and one with a comfortable seat. The seat on the bike is comfortable. When trying to adjust the handlebars I found that they could tilt forward or back, but they cannot be raised. The stem is fixed in the fork. I decided that the handlebars were not high enough for me. Helpful hint...when trying to adjust the tilt of the handlebars, use the adjustment underneath, not on the sides. The instruction book was not clear about that. I had been unable to try out the bike before buying as it was not in stock in the store and had to order it. Return was very easy, thanks.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Great bike for the casual rider

09/10/2013
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect bike for my son's first adult bike. We only ride casually on paved trails and this bike rides well. He likes the carrier on back to put a bottle of water on or carry a small cooler or backpack. He likes the blue color too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Surprisingly nice bike!

07/21/2013
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike along with a Schwinn trailer for my kids. I wanted a simple, comfortable bike for fitness and fun. This is the perfect one for me. It is very comfortable and 7speed is just enough gears. It rides great on paved and dirt roads..the front shocks absorb the bumps to provide a smooth ride. If you are looking for something to cruise around town, ride some trails, and ride in comfort this is a steal at the current price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Don't buy online from Walmart

04/15/2013
By ,
Titusville, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My bike came with two scrapes on the frame from the girl running it into the door bringing it out. I rode the bike 1 day and the next day the front tire was flat from the valve being faulty. I bought a replacement tube the day I bought the bike but the size you sell is a presta valve not a Schrader valve which fits the Schwinn bike. Walmart does not sell those valves but do sell the bikes. I was told by a Walmart employee that Target sells the correct inner tube which I went to and bought my replacement tube. I wish I would have bought my bike there as well. Not a good experience! The faulty inner tube was not a Schwinn product. It was cheap and defective!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike
12/22/2012
By ,
Homestead
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for recreational purposes. It is perfect for people of my age (sixty and up).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike

Iffy, at best.

12/13/2013
By ,
ORANGE, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tried to adjust the nadle bar height (front fork) and guess what?
There is no height adjustment! A tall guy is supposed to just stay
scrunched over? For God's sake, this is a street bike, not a racing
bike.
Too, the usually difficulty in adjusting to the largest cog.
Too, it's always a good idea to have a spare inner tube so I went
down to Wal-Mart which had none in stock - had to order one.
Bummer !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daytona Beach
Ah...but you can adjust it
Posted 12/19/2013
My fiance just bought one and he adjusted the gooseneck to raise the handle bars to a comfortable level. At first he said it did not appear it could be done but once he looked it was done with ease. He said all gears shift easily AND he got an awesome deal on it. I do like the idea of a backup tube though...thanks for sharing that thought! :) Happy Holidays! Hope you work it out with your bike and either return it or learn to love it! Either way I wish you a wonderful holiday season with health and happiness! God Bless
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for 700c Schwinn Fifth Avenue Men's Hybrid Bike
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5