Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

0
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation76%16 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Good entry level mountain bike.

12/10/2012
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First impressions are this bikes build/design/assembly quality are acceptable.Clean welds,tight tolerances,practical design.
Not really an aggressive hardcore mountain bike;but fills a segment of market for beginner or mild riders.
Delivered partially assembled.
Shifters are twist style Shimano Grip Shift;I prefer the thumb style shifter but this was a budget decision.Factory set but minor adjustments for proper function were needed and this is outlined in their owners manual.
Front disc brakes are Zoom brand.Adjustment(loosen mounts,pull brake and tighten mounts) and break-in are necessary.Rear brakes are standard caliper pulls.
Seat is ok but questionable for long rides.
Rear axle kickstand is new to me and could be a problem to some.
Turns wider than a 26" but rides over bumps etc. easily.
I owned a 20" Mongoose over 30 years ago and it was almost indestructible.If this bike is half as tough I'll be pleased.
This bike is designed or distributed or marketed by Pacific Cycle.IDK what the full relationship with Mongoose is.
Can't comment on durabilty for many miles to come.
Overall a great deal for the $
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 2 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Good sturdy quality for the price

10/11/2012
By ,
Northville, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike for the size and price. Excellent on both counts. Once I received the bike through FEDEX (super fast delivery) I replaced the handlebars and seat for personal comfort and aesthetics. (also had to repaint it because I wasnt particularly interested in the color it came in) After riding the bike for over 100 miles here are my findings:
Pros: Smooth, comfortable ride. The bike frame is solid.
Amateurs: The rear wheel is slightly larger than the sides of the rear frame, making the rider constantly have to adjust for wheel locality. (this problem will probably go away once the rear tire gets slightly worn, but I had to address this issue)
Beginners: It comes with mastergrip shifters, which is fine, but I personally prefer shimano shifters just for the ease of shifting. Mastergrip shifters tend to slip out of its handle after a year or so of wear, so just be aware of that.
Overall its a pretty good quality bike for the price they sell it for. I'd get the 3 year service plan with the order just to be completely safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Read the manual!

10/03/2013
By ,
Auburn, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike to ride to and from work daily. It works very well for that purpose. The dual shocks absorb any size bump. I go over 4 railroad tracks each way. Ride is relatively smooth for a mountain bike on pavement. I do recommend that you pay attention to the manual when it states that you should not ride in the highest gear at all times. I left my bike in 21st gear in order to strengthen my legs, but this caused too much stress on the chain and sprockets and caused the chain to pop off when I would start pedaling from a stop. Also, the assemblers at Walmart did not properly adjust the gear changers so my bike would reach the highest gear in each graduation by the 6th selection instead of the 7th. I was able to adjust this, but it should have been right at purchase. One last problem that I experienced was the crank loosening and eventually coming off. I believe this too was because I was starting off while in the top gear all of the time and over-stressing the crank. I had to add lock washers to the crank to keep it from working itself off while riding.
Other than these self-imposed problems, the Ledge 3.1 is a great workhorse bike. By the way, I weighed 260 when I started riding and the bike handled my bloated body without flinching... ( I weigh 230 now. :-) )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike
09/14/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have received my new bike and I really like the way it looks and function. I'm not too keen on the small contoured seat but that can be replaced. It would be nice if you could have some input in how you would like to tailor the bike to your needs before receiving it being that it's a special order; That way you would not have to have added expenses in making the bike functional for your needs. Overall; I'm pleased with the purchase and the timelyness of receiving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 5 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Overall Great Product!

11/14/2012
By ,
Westfield,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bicycle is a great investment. I use this bicycle as my main form of transportation everyday. I ride both on and off road and no problems at all with the bicycle. The frame is lightweight but still very solid and durable. Shifting between gears is easy and effortless. The shocks make the transition from road to off road flow smoothly. Everything on the bicycle is easily adjustable. The price on this bicycle is a great deal for the products overall manufacturing and design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Initial Review

07/08/2013
By ,
Russellville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rode this bike 20 miles past weekend, it performed very well. I would recommend if you buy this bike to go ahead and purchase the memory foam seat as well, you will be glad you did. I know they say your backside will toughen up with riding, but I would just as well get the memory foam seat, and not have to suffer the pain. lol Bike shifted fine, brakes worked well, I did adjust them just a bit. I purchased the 3 year warranty with it, and I got the bike for $159. So overall, I am very pleased with it. would have given full 5 stars, but I havent owned it long enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 7 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

200 mile check up in about 1.5 month

08/02/2013
By ,
san antonio texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been using this bike. No major issues. Had to do minor adjustments to brakes, rear shifter cable - too tight but nothing anyone could learn to adjust. Other than 2 flats, bike is doing great over rough terrain. So far no bearings feel worn out in the crank, or headset (steering) or wheel hubs. So far getting my moneys worth. Seat hurts but getting used to it and think seats hurt everyone in the beginning. Really looks nice with additional light accessories, front bag, and foot pump mounted on frame with cords. For a budget bike it turn eyes and do think the 29" fits a taller person with long leg better than a 26". Use this bike every other day with a min of 10 mile ride
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

good for beginner

08/27/2013
By ,
long island, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the bike gives u a decent amount of components for the money but this is not a bike for someone who will be doing anything more than intermediate trails. I bought this bike for my younger brother. We usually go on trails rated for beginners to intermediate so for now it works but I can already see that he will outperform this bike within a year or so. But I also didn't have $500 or more to spend at a bike shop for the type of bike that can keep up with him. By then he should be working and he can buy it himself lol. This was one of the best options after a "little" research for a new bike that was in the $200 price range. Other than the fact that I already know ill have to replace the rims and tires as they will not hold up to some of the intermediate trails the bike is a pretty good bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike
09/05/2013
By ,
levittown,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sharp bike....I am 6`2 290 lbs. and it works for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike

05/20/2013
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bike to be delivered to my house, and it arrived early. Only took about 20 minutes to assemble it and it works great. I am 6'1", 245lbs, and it easily takes my weight. By far the most comfortable riding bike I have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike
09/28/2012
By ,
Mobile, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my son. Very nice bike, well built. Like it so much I'm going to order another for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Too many little problems

08/08/2013
By ,
Newark
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this bike for about a month now and the tires have already worn down ( they dont give much tread to begin with ) and the back brake never really worked and the brake pads in the back wore down really quickly. Another problem is that the chain is starting to skip in the higher gear so you cant stand up and pedal. I have rode this bike normally. seeing how it hold up on the road makes me not want to take it on trails. I think for the price its not worth it because for 220 dollars there was to much " trying to fix it ". Overall the bike looked like a good and quality built bike but dont let that fool you...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike for the price!!

05/26/2013
By ,
Belmar, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the bike for general riding not off road. The bike handles great has nice style and I really like the 29" tires. Just a Great Bike for the Money!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 14 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Awsome Bike!

09/01/2013
By ,
Manchester, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I got this bike I took it out on a 15 mile intermediate single track and I was astounded at how well the bike performed for the money...it rides like a 1500 dollar bike. the front disc brakes and rear pull brakes work great on steep downhill's, the shifters and derailleurs worked in sync for smooth shifting, and the seat is just as comfortable as any other seat you will find on any mountain bike. Also, when you get the bike make sure you tighten all the nuts and bolts, and the brakes will need to be adjusted to your liking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Terrible.

01/07/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very displeased with this particular bike. Gears are inadequate at best... Seat is uncomfortable and not durable at all. (My seat got a rip, simply from my sitting on it - I weigh 175 pounds). The suspension isn't as responsive as they claim. This bike is priced about 100 dollars too high in my opinion. 1 star, only because there isn't a zero star option.
-I ultimately dropped down to a 26" Schwinn Sidewinder, and it is an amazing bike. And no, I have no affiliation with Schwinn; I'm just saying that Schwinn clearly makes a better product than Mongoose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 16 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

good for the price

06/25/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bike but, I had to change the seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Nice Overall Bike for the Price

04/18/2013
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it took ordering two of these bikes (first one came and frame was not straight), it was worth it as the second bike has performed very well in intermediate riding. The 29" wheels make a huge difference on the trails for smoother and more comfortable ride, as well as performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Do Not Buy!!

08/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interested in this bike based on size & price & eOrdered two of these online & ended up having to order it twice...1st bike came with a damaged crankshaft & faulty gears....replacement bike came with a short rear brake cord which caused the brake to be applied when the handlebars are turned to the left. 3 times will NOT be a charm! Going to a reputable bike shop & will pay a bit more but it will be worth it. AVOID THIS PRODUCT!
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 19 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

good for the street

10/02/2012
By ,
cumberland R.I.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this bike has the wrong gearing for riding in the woods
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
marrero, louisiana
3.1 lege bike
Posted 11/13/2013
I bought a 3.1 ledge about 6 months ago and put 6" riser bars and a gell seat. About a month after buying it I started having trouble with the rear derailer adjustment and the gears jumping and noticed on a coast the rear sprocket would wobble around. So mongoose sent me a new rim and rear sprocket which fixed the problem, but now 4 months lated it doing the same thing. I am 59 and ride the bike on city streets for exercise for 1-1/2 hrs in the mornings I am off. There customer service is great, but I don't know why it keeps doing this. They are sending me new parts again, but I'd like to find out what is causing this. I had a mongoose before that I wore out 2 sets of tires and the bearings on the back rim with no problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Horrible bike

07/22/2013
By ,
Dodge city Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too many problems
I give up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
-9points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next