Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

The 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike is right in step with the latest trend in boys' freestyle bikes. This single speed, single brake boys' freestyle bike touts a rear only rotor-free alloy U-brake, putting more control in the rider's seat. Hell tear up the the trail and BMX park on this 20" Mongoose Bike. The single speed bike is the perfect boys freestyle bike for the confident rider ready to take freestyle riding to the next level. Suitable for ages 8 to 12, the sleek black bike boasts Mongoose Bike's sophisticated R.I.D.E design. Short for Rider Inspired Design Evolution, R.I.D.E. is an initiative that guides Mongoose's designers in choosing the best geometry, components, and styling for BMX and boys' freestyle bikes. The 20" Mongoose Mode 540 is sure to deliver major thrills. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will require assembly upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

best bike ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!!!!!!!!!this is the best bike i have ever had it is light weight the hub sound is loud and the hand grips are very comfortableit has cool tires because of the red on the side and the treds the brakes work very well and it is easy to do wheelies or any other tricks that you can do .the bike can really take a beating.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 2 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great bike for People to start out with

06/02/2014
By ,
Waukesha,Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dad got this bike for me, and it was perfect. Everything on it was strong and perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Gets it Done

12/25/2012
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this 540 at the store and really liked the overall feel of the bike and also noticed that there were decent parts on it compared to other models. Has good crank on it and nice matching colors throughout. However I do suggest that you order it and put it together yourself that way you can assure that it is ready to rock and roll without the handle bars flying off. Although the bike has a little weight to it I find that it doesn't impede the performance. My 8 year old loves this thing and rides it like there is no tomorrow, and to be honest this bike is perfect for any kid that just wants to ride and do a few jumps here and there. Overall this Mongoose gets it done and looks pretty good too, and if you are thinking about whether or not you should get this, just get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 4 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Excellent Quality 20" Mongoose Freestyle Bike

10/29/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for the 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Freestyle Bike. Color black and red. Bought as a birthday present for my 11 year old son. Bike is well made with very good quality parts that look strong enough for freestyle bike riding. Price is a little more than what we had intended to spend but we found this bike to have a better build quality, a nice paint job and finish, with an easy to adjust brake system, and because every bike part was well made the bike was easy to put together and assemble.
Hope to update review later with ride and use information after his birthday in November.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+78points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
buckeye
dope for a wal mart bike
Posted 11/04/2012
yeah this bike is really cool, my custom Fly tierra 3 was stolen, i wasnt down to throw down another $2600 to rebuild that bike, i went to wal mart and saw this, and i fell in love
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Amazing Bike For The Price!

12/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dont let the fact that its from walmart fool you this bike is sturdy lightweight and can take a beating. i used to love mongoose when i was a kid and they were really popular i would see pros riding them but as i got older i just saw them at walmart then when i needed a bike i saw this and loved the color and gave it a chance and i regret NOTHING about buying this bike its great the build is solid the break works perfect just take off the chain guard kick stand and your good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+48points
Review 6 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

very great for an average biker.

12/13/2012
By ,
Gaston,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just go one and i have no problems with it. its very light and the grips are really soft. the breaks work perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 7 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Mode 540: A step in the right direction

01/10/2013
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally don't buy on impulse, but this bike caught my eye, I picked it up, and it was very lightweight compared to the bikes I'm used to seeing at walmart.Very good quality parts,Handlebars and tires on this one are what sets it apart from the rest! The design is identical to a 2012 verde cadet bmx right down to the tires, (cadet bike costs $300 base price) google it. As a person who has purchased several bikes from walmart and bike shops throughout my younger years, I can honestly say that the Mode 540 is definitely a step in the right direction for walmart and pacific cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Solid bike and uses same parts as some $300 bikes

01/01/2013
By ,
Dickinson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend down the street bought his son a HARO from a local bike shop
and it has alot of the same parts like wheels, cranks, neck and grips. His
cost over $300 and the mongoose was half of that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Augustine
Mongoose 540 Red and Black bike
Posted 12/04/2013
Where can I buy this bike. Says it's out of stock on line and doesn't give info as to if or when they may have it back in. Please help if you know a store that has it. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

awsome

12/20/2012
By ,
Denver,CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is very great for the price.....it is overall excellent except for the fact that the bearings arnt sealed....good bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

best bike for its price lightweight 25lbs

06/03/2013
By ,
san gabriel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had this bike for 2 months now and its going very well! its a very nice bike and lightweight which is like 25lbs, hub sound is very loud & cranks can take strong impact. i fell from an 8ft quarter pipe and sent the bike flying and now there is no damage on it. the frame is very strong and the bike can take very strong hits without making damage to the bike. its has very good brake systems the tires on the bike is 20x 2.3 .this bike is the lightest,strongest and most stylish bike for its price. i really do recommend it to a friend
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

good bike for the money

12/01/2012
By ,
Kingman, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is a fair value for the money although it doesn't have some of the extras some of the less expensive Mongoose bikes have - like the device that allows you to spin the bars 360 degrees, the seat tilt is NON adjustable and the angle that it is at doesn't really work for an 8 yr old. The brakes don't really have any instruction on how to adjust them properly but our local bike shop helped in that department anyhow (you can have Walmart build it also).
Even with these less than desireable features it is still a good value and it seems to be a quality frame and decent components. We opted for this model because in our home town Walmart they only stocked a limited variety of color options and we wanted something that the other kids in town may not have.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 12 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

mode 540

02/13/2013
By ,
Plano,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great bike so far. i got it today and its holding up real well. the hub is real loud. the brakes need a little adjustments. the cranks are strong and i like the 8 in rise bars. everyone at my neighborhood thinks it is a great bike. the 540 meets my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great

03/28/2013
By ,
Fort wayne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect im 17 and almost ready for. A sponsership i can 360 bar flat with this bike its the best mongoose has had and im used to pro from danscomp so im thrilled. When they comme with a. New color as long as the crank stays 3 piece
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike
02/05/2013
By ,
91303
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is one of the best BMX bike that i have ever seen at walmart when i picked it up it was light wait and the tires wer so cool i recommend this bike to every body
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike
08/21/2013
By ,
Brooklyn Center MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves it - Although after 2 days of having it the tire went flat and had to go buy a new tube. I'm not very handy so it was a difficult task for me. The bike wasn't in the store or I would have returned it so I didn't have to replace the tube and go through the hassle.
He loves it because he can do tricks on it and its also faster then his last mongoose. I never knew that the smaller the round metal piece is, that makes the chain turn, the faster the bike goes...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Gray version

08/29/2013
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theres a grey one and its way better than this color and cheaper http://www.walmart.com/ip/20-Mongoose-Mode-540-Boys-Freestyle-Bike-Gray/26999372?adid=22222222227000000000&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=19880599990&veh=sem
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Horrible seat

09/01/2013
By ,
Leawood, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bike a few days ago at a local Walmart store. It would normally get 4 maybe 5 stars from me if not for the horrible, non-tilt adjustable seat. No human would ever feel comfortable with a seat position like shown, especially a younger child like my son. Okay whatever, so I purchase a replacement seat, from Walmart (around $16.00) and come to find out that the existing seat post wont come off the current seat. So now I need to purchase a new seat post ($ amount unknown) which Walmart does not cary. Why Mongoose chose to put such a lame seat on an otherwise nice bike is beyond me. If I knew this ahead of time, I don't know If I would have bought this bike. Buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 18 for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike

good for a walmart bike

01/04/2013
By ,
palm coast, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 inch rise bars light bike its really good for a walmart bike
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Boys' Freestyle Bike
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5