Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

The mountain trails are calling and the Mongoose Men's Mountain Bike is the perfect mens mountain bike to take you there. The Mongoose Mountain Bike is a great option for those interested in off-road action at its finest. An aluminum suspension frame and alloy rims lend the 26" mountain bike lightweight stability and responsiveness needed for the trails unexpected bumps and turns. The four-bar linkage, full-suspension frame offers a comfortable, controlled ride while providing a stable base. The serious rider will appreciate the linear pull brakes and Shimano rear derailleur which allows for precise shifting of this rugged mens mountain bike. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, Ledge 2.1 Mongoose 26" Bike will require assembly upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.254 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%112 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

The bicycle was inexpensive in price and in make.

12/02/2012
By ,
houston, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The gears changes did not work and I returned the bike
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-33points
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price. More than what I expecte

06/17/2013
By ,
Adams County PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for a month now.Which I ride every weekend about 10 miles. For the price it is a good bike. The first thing I would do to the bike is add a mirror for safety reasons. (Which I did) Second up grade the seat. I am a man 5’9 and 240 lbs. I will tell you that seat needs some help. When it comes to shifting I had problems. But I think that was mostly due to me not knowing what I was doing after not having a bike for 20+ years. I watched some you tube videos on how to shift a 21 speed bike and that seemed to help. I have not had any trouble shifting since. When you first get the bike I would recommend checking the air in the tires. When I got the bike the tires where only 25psi. They should have been 50 psi. I would also recommend going to the store and looking at them. This is because they have more colors at the store then what the show online. Bottom line I would buy this again and recommend it to a friend. videos to watch ie. http://youtu.be/cNnKvVzzGw0
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great, but

04/26/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the bike is great, but the only problem I had was that the front and rear wheels were somewhat bent/deform. It's not a big issue, I still ride my bike and is very comfortable. The shock observer is great. I'm Carlos, and I recommend this bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Best bike in it's price range!

01/01/2013
By ,
Pace, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a new, economical bike for Christmas, and had researched bikes for a month before deciding on this model. Having been an avid bike rider from years ago, I new all the good features to look for, and this bike is packed with features only found in more expensive models and brands.
One of the key features is the light weight aluminum frame and wheels. Light weight means everything in cycling. I love the newer twist gear shifters too, combined with the shock absorbers makes for a very comfortable ride.
The necessary partial assembly was easy. The other reviews I have read that complained about the initial setup, could have been easily solved with the easy to read instructions on how to fine tune the bikes parts, gears, chain, and shifters.
My only disappointment is that this model does not have the factory screws for mounting a water bottle cage.
I am now so excited about getting back into cycling with my new Mongoose Ledge 2.1 bicycle! Without a doubt this is the best bike on the market in it's price range!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Alot better than the Havoc 26"

10/06/2012
By ,
Royal Palm Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought the Havoc 26" mens mountain bike. It would not shift properly or keep air in the tires. I returned it for the Mongoose Ledge 2.1. This bike shifts smoother and rides overall better than the Havoc. The front shocks seem to be a little better than the Havoc also. It seems to be a smoother overall ride compared to the Havoc. I am 6'3" 240lb and this bike is perfect for my size/weight. I did change out the seat for the Bell memory foam seat. I raised the handlebar, pumped up the tires and adjusted brakes before riding. I have not had an issues yet. I like this bike a lot better than the Havoc. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $6 for this bike if you are looking for something in this price range.
I am a newbie at bike riding so this is my starter bike. I am hoping this bike will last me a while till I get the itch for bigger/better bike, but so far so good and happy with my Ledge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent value at this price point

04/28/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching for a mountain bike for my teenage son when I saw this bike that had a recent "price rollback".
It has a Shimano rear derailleur, but the other components are not. For this price, you cannot expect high-end components. It does have 21-speeds and came pre-adjusted with nothing needed out of the box except front-wheel, handlebar, pedal and seat attachment.
Anyone with basic mechanical knowledge and some allen wrenches and wrenches can assemble it.
For a full-suspension, with an aluminum (not steel) frame, I would say this is a very good value. The wheels are a lighter alloy as well and are not your typical Huffy heavy weight rims. Yes, I know the difference because I have owned Huffy's in the past and they are heavy bikes.
As the other reviewers have noted, the seat is a bit uncomfortable, but can easily be fixed with a seat gel-pad or replacing the seat altogether.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great mountain bike (MTB)!

01/31/2013
By ,
Concord, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this bike. I'm 5'11", 185#, and the bike fits fine. I purchased at a local Walmart; it was assembled perfectly for only $4 more than the online price ($135).
The only thing lacking is predrilled waterbottle screw holes! This is a mountain bike -- riders need hydration -- put screw holes in it!! I was able to put two waterbottle holders on the bike with a Topeak waterbottle attachment.
I also replaced the stock tires and tubes (which are thin but fine for normal use) with thorn-resistant tires and tubes, because we have a severe trail thorn problem in the Spring. The stock tires are fine for most riders, however.
I don't think any purchaser would be at all disappointed unless they were a hard core trail rider; then more expensive components might make sense. But don't be scared off by the low price on this bike -- it's great for most!! --
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
10/06/2012
By ,
Eastern Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned this bike for a month now and the only thing I have had to do is get a more comfortable seat.The stock seat is a bit hard for me on rides.Other than that the bike rides good shift's great and if you take care of it don't believe you would have any problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great for trails, road, and dirt roads.

09/02/2012
By ,
Central Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew this wouldnt be a high end bike, that isnt what it was meant to be, it did however survive much more rigorous tests than the last bike i bought at mor ethan twice the price of this one, i lost the disk brakes on the last one in the first 5 hours, this bike had a much more stressful first test, about 60 miles, some tar roads, some dirt bike paths, and even a few hours of heavy biking on mountain bike specific trails and difficult singletrack, the only problems i have had are with the haldbar assemblies, the screw clamps on them werent able to grip when i stood up, since up hills the force of pedaling pulls the bike to each side and handlebars are used to balance so that doesnt have effect. They repeatedly came loose until i tightened them as hard as i could and that worked until the clamps that made it so the handlebars stayed perpendicular to the wheel came loose and I am not sure whether to see if it is an easy fix or if i will have to replace the bar mount or send it back to get fixed by walmart, and i would honestly rather fix it myself so i dont have to go weeks without a bike.
However, this was much more stressful than most people would use this for, it is just as good quality as my last bike which lasted 5 years mostly on dirt road and simple bike path use. i did use it on single track and more difficult trails in the last year but at that point it was already 4 years of wear and tear. that was also a mongoose of similar design.
The seat on this bike is simply aweful, at least on long rides, it is 3/4 to 1 inch too narrow and has very little padding at all, as my friend said when he tested it out, "its liek sitting on a brick" but anyway i swapped it with the seat from my old bike which is a more comfortable mongoose seat.
The shimano derailers and parts are good quality for a bike in this price range, and the frame and shock/suspencion system on this bike are very nice ompared to others this cheap. You dont find bikes at 140$ with metal pedals (very nice) and shocks that are good enough to not move much when i sit on the bike (170lbs) and still do a great job cushioning rocks and pot holes. The brakes are also very good for the basic liniar pull brakes they are, and if they wear out, they are very cheap to replace, unlike disk brakes that cost 300-500$ new.
The frame on the bike is a smaller frame, probably too small for what i needed, as i am about 6'4" and probably would be more comfortable with a 29er or at least a frame with a taller seat post support/mount. the post on the seat is long enough so that i can tolerate it with my long legs.
The bike looks great, the cobalt blue and nickel silver are a great combination, and the bike looks very sleek and clean.
"you get what you pay for" i think in this case you get a little bit more, not much, but enough so i am very happy with it even with the negatives that came with it, and i tested it mor ethan most people will need it. give it love and you will get love back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+185points
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Good 4 price

01/17/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had the bike for a couple of months now. It seems to be holding up pretty well for the daily use i put on it. (about 5 miles a day) The first thing i noticed was the frame length. When you turn sharply the front tire will scrub your foot. This bike is definitely suited for a shorter person. (I'm 5' 8") The gear shifter works okay no adjustments needed. The seat is not comfortable. If you're not a regular bike rider and will only use the bike recreationally you will want a seat cushion or a new seat. It has steel pedals where most are coming with plastic. (bonus) If you are basing any part of your decision on the fact that it has the rear shock know this. Unless you are doing some serious off road biking with large drops this is not something you need. I ride in an urban / sub-urban area with lots of curbs, medians, grass hills, etc. and it does nothing for the bike but add weight. Front shocks are good enough. My last bike was front shock only and worked exceedingly well. Also the bike seems to lean to the right really bad when I ride with no hands. I do this allot to keep my back upright. Much more difficult to keep in line than with my last bike. I wish I had just went ahead and bought the same bike I had last tome. Shwinn Alumicomp. 26" http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schwinn-Aluminum-Comp-26-Men-s-All-Terrain-Bike/16913452 This is a much better bike! (Minus the plastic pedals, no biggie!) SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY!!!!! Trust me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
04/15/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is pretty much what I expected. It's a fairly reliable, cheap little bike. For the price it's hard to beat. I haven't had much to complain about, except that it's a bit hard to get the gears properly adjusted and it feels a bit small on my 6'1" frame compared to the last 26" bike I owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Carolina
Both front and back tire out of balance
Posted 09/08/2013
Becareful with the bike, check too make sure they tires in the front and back of the bike is not rubbing the brake pads by spinning them, they are out of line..I had to take my after one day of riding too a bike shop to have them, lined up. It was rubbing my brake pads in two different area on the bike in the front and back tires. Now it cost me another 35.00 to get them line and balance back up too spin straight. Just becareful and check out the tires by spin them before buy this bike. I hope that all the bike shop fine wrong with it..I guess I should have looked little longer, that three weeks before buying a bike. I am paying for my mistake..cost me another 35.00...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

best in the price range!

05/20/2013
By ,
Rockford Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a road bike for some time now and decided to get a mountain bike so i can go off road, i wanted something cheap that will last me a year or two, and this bike is doing its job, 250 miles and it still rides like it did the first day, seat is a bit to hard otherwise a great bike, i got it for 120 dollars which is i think a great value, the reason why i chose mangoose is because a friend of mine has had one for like 6 years, and still rides great, amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike.

01/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike for my boyfriend for Christmas. He had an excellent time taking it for a spin. The only problem he had with the bike is that the seat is a little uncomfortable but it is fairly easy to switch it out for a more comfy seat. Other than that the bike was affordable and and well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent for General bike riding

04/12/2013
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is perfect for regular bike riding in the neighborhood or to the park. I have not yet taken it Mountain biking so I can't give any recommendations on that. This bike is very sturdy and can support even us larger guys. I'm 6ft 225 and it supports me just fine. The shifting is smooth with the Shimano shifter and it was easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent cheap bike for mountain biking.

03/18/2013
By ,
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike lived past my expectations. It has a nice deep blue with striking silver. The front dual shocks are very smooth but the back shocks are a little harder. The seat is very comfortable compared to other Mongoose bikes. The gears are fine and worked great. It was better than my old red Schwinn. This is overall a great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent - dial in your drivetrain

01/31/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent bike for the price. I needed a cheap and reliable beater bike, and I got more than I could have imagined with this one. It rides smooth, it tracks straight at any speed, and it is very agile. I've been on many mid-grade mountain bikes, and this bike performs closer to the mid-grade bikes than the low-end ones. Not to mention the fact that this bike is sexy! I took off all the decals, and it looks like it means business.
If you look at the Mongoose website, you can see that this is the equivalent to the Status 2.2 frame, while the Status 2.0 supplies the forks, controls (shifting and brake), and pedals. The drive train and the headset is the same on both bikes. So, the Ledge 2.1 is a hybrid between the Status 2.2 and the 2.0, and the upgrade is the frame. The front suspension is essentially the same, but the forks on the Status 2.0/Ledge 2.1 are not designed for disc brakes.
The Status 2.0 has an MSRP of $179, and the Status 2.2 has an MSRP of $209. So, you do the math!
BE AWARE...multi-speed bikes need to be dialed in properly!!! I bought this from a store fully assembled, and of course there was a minor issue: the bike was ghost shifting (shifting on its own when I hit a small bump). The derailleurs needed to be adjusted. If you know what you're doing, it takes 10 minutes. If you don't know what you're doing but you know how to use tools and follow instructions, it takes 30 minutes. If you don't know how to use tools, then take it to a real bike shop and have them adjust the derailleurs for 20 bucks or less, and you have a $180 bike with an upgraded frame (or a $209 bike with downgraded forks and pedals) that was professionally setup for $160 or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pa.
Remove decals!!
Posted 04/02/2014
It never even occurred to me to remove the stickers, until I saw your review. I have owned this bike for a little over a year with no complaints, but I always thought it was missing something. As it turns out, it had too much! I read this, jumped up and ran down to the garage and ripped every single decal off as fast as I could! It was just over decorated! Now it looks even better, thanks for sharing such an obvious detail that I never even would have thought of!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
05/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what was described. Easy twenty minute assembly and fine tune. I have been riding for over two weeks now, on and off road, and have no major concerns. Would recommend for anyone who wants inexpensive bike but great quality. Worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike

10/04/2012
By ,
Babylon NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the money, rigid and beefy. Great for trail riding and off road use. Cant go wrong with a Mongoose!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike

06/13/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rides really well. I've had a Mongoose before and this one shifts gears much more smoothly and takes bumps like a Cadillac. It fits me... and I'm 6'7". I had it mailed to me, I received it on time and it was pretty easy to assemble ... but you're gonna need your own tools. The color looks even better in person. Overall I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
04/24/2013
By ,
rochester,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i'm no bike expert by any means but i give this bike a great rating for my purchase experience, ease of assembly and quality of the bike itself. i bought it as a means of exercise and to tool around the neighborhood on with my kid.
if you're looking for the same experience, you will likely be very happy with your purchase.
about the only thing i could think of as a short coming would be the seat. it is a bit stiff but then again i.m a big guy and it's probably not broken in yet.
bottom line..i would buy again. no regrets or issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next