Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

The Ledge 2.1 Mountain Bike is great for those who are looking to start pushing their limits on bike trails. The four-bar linkage, full-suspension frame offers a comfortable, controlled ride while providing a stable base. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation73%22 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Save your money!

11/15/2012
By ,
Orlando, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike for my son. It is horrible. We put it together with our brains as there were no instructions with it, the brake wire was too tight on the front tire and the brake was rubbing the tire rim. The handlebars will not stay tight, even after tightening them several times. The tires were flat when we got it and already the back tire is flat again--we have only had it about 2 weeks. I have purchased other bikes from Walmart and understood they were inexpensive. I knew going in that you get what you pay for, however, this particular bike was $135.00 so I had presumed it was a better quality than the ones that are $89.00. I am very dissapointed with this purchase and will be returning it for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-19points
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Do NOT buy! The wheel WILL bend!

06/21/2013
By ,
Atlanta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks great! But it is JUNK. Wheel bent without hitting anything. Bike came with missing parts that I had to request from manufacturer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great for our needs

06/07/2013
By ,
Aurora,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike to replace my growing sons 20inch bike. Upon receiving the bike, delivered via FedEx, the bike came partially assembled, all we had to do was put on the handle bars, seat and pedals. Set up took all of 15mins. My son loves the design and comfortable ride. I like how well the bike is constructed, very sturdy. The bike is lightweight but you can feel the high quality of the materials used to make it. Mongoose is a top name in off road mountain bike racing and I was happy to find this one for such a low price. We are very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

For a $120 bike it's a steal, but it has caveats

05/31/2013
By ,
Troy NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this bike on sale online, and wanting to get back into cycling I bought the bullet and picked one up. I wasn't expecting an amazing bike, given it's only $120 who would, but I figured I would buy it and check it out, and if I didn't like it, I'd return it. I can definitely say that I got my moneys worth from the bikes, but it definitely has it's downsides:
Pro's:
-Cheap,costing as little as it did, I couldn't pass it up.
-Dual Suspension - This bike rides surprisingly smooth even on uneven ground. I haven't hit any serious holes with it, but I think it would handle great!
-Easy to pedal. Once you get your seat and handlebars set right, it pedals very smoothly.
-Good braking. While there are some issues with the brakes, once adjusted a little you can stop QUICK (even from 30mph...yes I had it going 30...)
-Quiet derailleur. Even though I had to adjust the derailleur myself, once I did and you get the gear positioning right this thing is VERY quiet in all the gears.
-Good size. I stand 6' 170lbs, and this bike being 26" works well for me. I feel I have more controller over something slightly smaller so I think this is perfect coming from my 12 y/o 24"
Con's:
-Had to adjust the rear derailleur. It wasn't bad, but I knew it could shift smoother. Self-adjusted it, and it runs like a top! (stay out of the no-no gears ie 1-7 and 3-1)
-Seat is uncomfortable. I plan on buying a replacement eventually.
-No water bottle holes pre-drilled. I had to zip-tie my water bottle holder to it.
-Brakes don't seem to want to center, one always likes to stay close to the wheel, sometimes dragging slightly.
Overall though, for the price, I don't think that these issues warrant me taking a star away from it. Honestly buying a bike from a big box store, all of the issues I have with it aside from the seat and the no holes being drilled can be fixed by taking the bike to a professional servicer. Which face it...buying a bike from walmart you should consider doing anyways unless you self install it! Buy this bike! You won't regret it if you have the patience to put a little time into it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

No local bike shop can give you what this offers!

06/04/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good overall bike after you consider cost. Normally we will spend more for quality but we couldn't justify paying 4x's more for high good quality bike. This bike offered similar features for a lot less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Performed well right out of the box

02/16/2013
By ,
west palm beach, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brakes needed daily adjustment until worked perfect. Bike should come with center-pull brakes, or give me the option for disc brakes without going over $200.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
06/30/2013
By ,
Limington, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike for my son and I will now be buying one for myself as well. For the price, you get a very solid bike that performs well on rugged terrain. The bike came nearly entirely assembled. All we had to do was put the handle bars, front wheel, seat, and pedals on which took very little time when following the easy-to-follow instructions. The reason I had to give it 4 stars instead of 5 is for 2 cons: First, the seat is VERY uncomfortable. We will be looking to replace it. Second, we had to spend significant time getting the gears to operate smoothly. They came assembled but one gear off and we spent significant time tweaking it to get it just right so there is no grinding/clicking while riding. However, for the price, I won't gripe too loudly and I am going to buy a second one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike

07/25/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike so that we could go riding together as a family. We read lots of other reviews before purchasing this bike and there were a lot of great ones. One thing that is almost a must is replacing the seat with a more comfortable one!! We have rode several times already and the bike is wonderful. The gears shift great and it is def a smooth ride with the extra shock system. My only complaint is that when the bike was delivered the front tire was flat and the tube wouldn't hold air ~ BUT, Walmart replaced it with a new one with no difficulties or dilemmas!!! The brakes needed to be slightly adjusted also but that was an easy fix!! Overall, We would def recommend this product to friends and family!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price.

07/01/2013
By ,
ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was great., The almost full assembly was a relief. I only have to say I thought the front wheel was going to be quick release and I think the handle bars could be better. Over all a good buy and Walmart makes it incredibly convienant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

great bike

07/12/2013
By ,
marshfield,ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is great for someone getting into mountain biking or just wanting a cheap way of transportation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE COMPLETE GARBAGE

05/26/2013
By ,
UC, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this bike put together very easily went to ride and handlebars fell apart tightened the screw on front of bars as tight as i could rode again had to tighten the screw every 10 minutes wrecked once because handle came almost all the way out of neck have tried everything but handlebars wont stay tight will be returning this piece of garbage soon oh yeah and the seat is unbelievably uncomfortable
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
07/28/2013
By ,
Milpitas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted a bike I could put a child seat on the back and take my daughter for family bike rides, and this was a great one for the price. Shifting is easy, and the ride is smooth. Assembly was not too challenging according to my husband. Love that the seat is so easy to adjust, too! I would recommend a softer bike seat though. We picked one up for a great deal, and now we are ready to ride regularly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

fell apart

04/01/2013
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am guessing that it was inexperience in assembling this item. the bike fell apart at many areas. The seat wouldn't stay on, the shifters were not functioning well and falling apart. I think this would be a good bike if properly assembled.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-11points
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
04/24/2013
By ,
Brooklyn N.Y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great!! My son loves it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Frame very small

03/25/2013
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not buy this bike because when I looked at it in the store, I noticed the frame is very small. It almost seemed like it's a 24" frame with 26" wheels. I'm only 5'8" and the frame was too small for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Better than expected

08/12/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike for exercise....on special for $119...did not expect much. This bike has so far impressed me. Ordered it on-line...arrived two days earlier than expected. It was well packed in two layers of boxes...came nearly fully assembled...mount front wheel, seat, and handlebars...easily done. As with other reviews, the seat is narrow and hard...needs replacing. Only two weeks, have taken two 12 mile trips and two 5 mile trips....no real problems. The derailleurs need to be fine tuned, a little, and the linear brakes need to be centered, but bike seems heavy duty and rides, well. It is better and more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Broke within 75 ft

05/04/2013
By ,
East Stroudsburg PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brake failure within 75ft.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike
07/23/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bike is fine,but the online purchase resulted in the theft of my credit card info. I will never buy from Walmart again!
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike, once you work out the kinks

08/16/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike is great overall, but the instructions need to have a little more info in them. I had to take it to a repair shop to get the breaks properly aligned, and they where actually installed backwards from the factory. Otherwise, its great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Ledge 2.1 Men's Mountain Bike

Good quality for the money!

07/12/2013
By ,
Homer, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, just know the nuts are metric. Seemed to be well constructed, instruction information was complete, accurate, and easy to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next