Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.338 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation88%123 out of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Excellent Bike for the Price!

12/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only complaint I have is the bike did not come with a kick stand, there is a spot for one to install but I wish it came with one because once the training wheels come off I dont want the bike just laying on the ground. Other than that I am super happy with the quality of the bike! (-:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great color, great fit, and great price

12/30/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the bike for my 4 yr old for Christmas. We bought it online and did the store pick up to save on shipping expenses (also to avoid any assembly that it may have required). The price for the bike is great! It's a neon orange, comes with training wheels, handle breaks, pedal breaks, front wheel pegs, comfy seat, and reflectors on both wheels, front handle bar, pedals, and back of the seat. This bike comes with more features than some of the character themed bikes and at a significantly better price! To go with the bike, we purchased a "Bell" black helmet designed with neon green paint splats. The neon colors go great and can definitely be seen on the road. My son is very pleased with his big-boy bike :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

GREAT BIKE!!!!

08/15/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I bought this bike and had it shipped to our local store for pick up as it was not available. It was very easy to set up for a first time assembler until we got to the front wheel/brakes. The booklet the bike comes with has instructions for multiple types of bikes so it was not helpful at all, but we ended up figuring it out and my 6 year old son LOVES his new bike!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great Value

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased for our 5 year old grandson and it is a top notch bike; well built, great paint job and will give him several years of use. Compared to bikes which cost much more, this is a bargain! The training wheels and adjustable seat were important feature. I highly recommend this bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great beginner bike!

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for 4 yr old Grandson. Bike is exactly what we were looking for. Fits his size perfectly and the bright orange/black colors make is look like a "dirt bike". He loves his new ride!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Good value

11/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1. Solid construction, good quality and good design.
2. Instruction booklet not specific for this product so it was a challenge assembling it.
3. Pedals seem a bit stiff but might loosen up with use.
4. Overall, initial impression is good. Kids love it although they can't break it in due to time of year as we are in November. So will see how it holds up next summer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great looking good little bike!

08/01/2014
By ,
Burlington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old son picked this bike out for himself. His favorite color is orange and you couldn't get much more orange than this. I put it together myself and it was very easy to assemble. We didn't need the training wheels since my son already knows how to ride without them and I loved that the seat went down nice and low so that he could easily touch the ground with both feet. So as soon as I was done putting it together and pumped up the tires he took off on it. We have since gotten tons of complements on it and several people have asked us where we bought it. I am extremely happy with the purchase of this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Left in the rain

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I prepaid for this bike and picked it up at a Walmart near me. Picked it up and while in store looked it over. Wherever there was chrome, there was rust. The attached handbook looked like in had been dropped in a bucket of water and allowed to dry hanging on the bike. I guess this bike was in stock outside, a LONG time, and in the rain. Went straight to the return counter and gave Walmart there rusty bike back. I wasn't going to give it to my grandson!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Looks good, but heavy and not the best fit

07/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son turned four and he wanted a bike so I purchased this after reading reviews. Reviews had stated that people were putting children as young as two on this bike. That's a bad idea in my opinion. The crank arms are simply way too long for it to be a good fit. My son is plenty tall enough for the bike, but he has to bring his knees up high in an exaggerated motion to pedal. A 12" bike is too small, and a 16" is too big, in my honest opinion. I wish there was something inbetween for 4-5 year olds that was a better fit, considering these 16" bikes are listed for up to 8 years old.
Oh yeah, and this bike is HEAVY. It is as heavy as my adult 29" mountain bike (also purchased from Walmart). I don't know how they packed that much weight into a small children's bike, but it's there, and I think the kids suffer because of it. My kid only weights 35 pounds or so, and the bike weighs as much as him. I don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Perfect Boys Bike!

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 5 year old's first bike! We wanted something he could grow into, and that wouldn't seem 'babyish' to him in the next year or two. The seat adjusts AND it looks like an olders boy's bike because of the lack of kickstand and pegs which my son LOVED! His first day on and he wanted to show me a new 'trick'! My first bike was a Mongoose, 15 years ago, they have amazing products and we are beyond please with the price of this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
10/28/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike arrived quickly as was promised. My husband put it together with no problems. It is for our grandson for his 4th birthday. I'm sure he is going to love it. Orange has always been his favorite color. I like that it has coaster brakes and hand brakes. I can't wait to see his expression when he sees it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

great for the price

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike my son loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Sturdy

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built, my son loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Grandson loves it

10/12/2012
By ,
Raymond, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike met all expectations and was the hit of my grandson's fifth birthday party. The only thing I would change is I would add a kickstand. My gandson didn't need the training wheels and doesn't want to be setting it down on the ground. Very awsome paint job, looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
09/04/2013
By ,
Keystone Heights, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for 4 year old grandson. He loves it. Already trying to be a little daredevil from day 1. Best part is, except for the training wheels, it is very similar to his older (10 yrs old) brother's Mongoose, so he definitely feels like one of the big kids! I was aware the bike did not have a kickstand (from other comments), and I agree this would be a great addition to add to the box since the training wheels won't be needed forever. This bike should last for a couple of years before he grows into a 20" bike. Love the REALLY bright orange color!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great for the money

08/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A nice bike. My boy loves it. I shopped and researched a bit before I decided on this bike. Like everyone I guess, I wanted a decent product without paying a lot. Is it the greatest quality bike in the world? Of course not, but it is pretty good compared to a lot of other reviews I read where parts break easily or they're missing. My son has had it for 2 weeks and it's working great. I assembled the bike myself and it was pretty straight forward except that the preload on all of the bearings was set too tight - so wheels, pedals, and front forks would hardly move. I had to loosen and reset the bearing preload for everything prior to assembly. Once that was done, it went together easily. The paint was very nice. Some of the small decals were put on a little sloppily but not too bad. Overall really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Much better than cheaper bike

09/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We initially bought our son a blue Micargi bike, which was about $20 cheaper than this one. It really was pretty cheap. It was sparkly and arrived in great shape but ultimately rusted very quickly when wet, has relatively very short cranks which made it unnecessarily hard for him to get it up even relatively gentle slopes, and came with very cheap tires that were pretty much bald after a few months of very occasional, intermittent riding with training wheels.
By contrast, for a mere $20 more, this bike seems to be made of better-quality steel, has longer cranks, comes with pegs (although we're certainly not going to put those on there yet!), better tires, and has both front and rear caliper brakes, which is something most bikes don't. In all ways, it's better. It is a little heavier and the seat is made of hard plastic which I think he finds less comfortable, but it also makes sense in that kids end up leaving their bike out in the rain occasionally no matter how hard you might try to convince them otherwise. I bought this for my son when he just started riding without training wheels, around his 5th birthday. He's been an avid rider for several months now and so far this bike has held up perfectly for any number of 3 to 5 mile rides, including some light trails / singletrack. And he's learning how to control the bike with the calipers rather than the pedal brake, which is a great technical skill to have as he improves.
Overall, I have to say, this bike - at Walmart's price for it, anyway (it is far more expensive on Amazon) - is the best value around. There may be other bikes, but for the advanced rider with training wheels or the new rider without training wheels, this bike is just very, very good, and has all the sturdiness I think it'll need to stand up to my son's abuse... and maybe even his two younger brothers as well! Hopefully it'll only need a new set of brake pads and tires before being handed down to the younger siblings!
Happy riding...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

5 yr old loves it

04/26/2014
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to get a bike that could grow with our 5 yr old and this bike seems perfect! He is learning to ride without training wheels and it is sturdy, yet not too heavy for him. I think it's a good price for the bike. We ordered it for pick up and it was ready to go immediately and already put together. I do love that about Walmart. Would definitely recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Awesome bike!

08/04/2014
By ,
Ceres, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
❤ My five year old grandson loves his new bike! He loves the black and orange as we are all big SF Giants fans! Entire shopping experience was so nice and convenient! Found this great bike online, paid for it and made sure they had it in a store near my work. Picked it up on my lunch hour and was on my way in fifteen minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

no kickstand?!?!

06/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK bike for the price but it didn't come with a kickstand?!? It's a pain to put away nicely and to teach my five year old how to take care of his toys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/29/2014
If a kickstand is an issue you can buy and install a kick stand for under $10. It's fairly uncomplicated. I have yet to find any 16" bike that actually has a kickstand already installed.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next