Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%103 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Excellent Bike for the Price!

12/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only complaint I have is the bike did not come with a kick stand, there is a spot for one to install but I wish it came with one because once the training wheels come off I dont want the bike just laying on the ground. Other than that I am super happy with the quality of the bike! (-:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great color, great fit, and great price

12/30/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the bike for my 4 yr old for Christmas. We bought it online and did the store pick up to save on shipping expenses (also to avoid any assembly that it may have required). The price for the bike is great! It's a neon orange, comes with training wheels, handle breaks, pedal breaks, front wheel pegs, comfy seat, and reflectors on both wheels, front handle bar, pedals, and back of the seat. This bike comes with more features than some of the character themed bikes and at a significantly better price! To go with the bike, we purchased a "Bell" black helmet designed with neon green paint splats. The neon colors go great and can definitely be seen on the road. My son is very pleased with his big-boy bike :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Good, but...

07/13/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike is sturdy, attractive paint-job, has solid braking system front/rear and is equipped with the additional coaster brake. Training wheels are sturdy also. BUT, for the relatively high price (never see this bike on sale) when compared to lesser name-brands with comparable quality 16" bikes, Mongoose could have included a kickstand and bell. Grandkids love the bike. However, based solely on high cost, I'll probably stay away from the Mongoose brand in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great looking good little bike!

08/01/2014
By ,
Burlington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old son picked this bike out for himself. His favorite color is orange and you couldn't get much more orange than this. I put it together myself and it was very easy to assemble. We didn't need the training wheels since my son already knows how to ride without them and I loved that the seat went down nice and low so that he could easily touch the ground with both feet. So as soon as I was done putting it together and pumped up the tires he took off on it. We have since gotten tons of complements on it and several people have asked us where we bought it. I am extremely happy with the purchase of this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

no kickstand?!?!

06/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK bike for the price but it didn't come with a kickstand?!? It's a pain to put away nicely and to teach my five year old how to take care of his toys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/29/2014
If a kickstand is an issue you can buy and install a kick stand for under $10. It's fairly uncomplicated. I have yet to find any 16" bike that actually has a kickstand already installed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

5 yr old loves it

04/26/2014
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to get a bike that could grow with our 5 yr old and this bike seems perfect! He is learning to ride without training wheels and it is sturdy, yet not too heavy for him. I think it's a good price for the bike. We ordered it for pick up and it was ready to go immediately and already put together. I do love that about Walmart. Would definitely recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Looks good, but heavy and not the best fit

07/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son turned four and he wanted a bike so I purchased this after reading reviews. Reviews had stated that people were putting children as young as two on this bike. That's a bad idea in my opinion. The crank arms are simply way too long for it to be a good fit. My son is plenty tall enough for the bike, but he has to bring his knees up high in an exaggerated motion to pedal. A 12" bike is too small, and a 16" is too big, in my honest opinion. I wish there was something inbetween for 4-5 year olds that was a better fit, considering these 16" bikes are listed for up to 8 years old.
Oh yeah, and this bike is HEAVY. It is as heavy as my adult 29" mountain bike (also purchased from Walmart). I don't know how they packed that much weight into a small children's bike, but it's there, and I think the kids suffer because of it. My kid only weights 35 pounds or so, and the bike weighs as much as him. I don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great first bike

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We haven't had it a long time, but both of my boys love riding this bike. So I gave Value and Durability a 4, since I won' t know those true answers til later. But so far, so good. My 3 yr old chose a 12" Thomas bike at ToysRUs while my 5 yr old chose this orange bike for his birthday. When we got to riding, my 3 yr old 'confiscated' the orange bike and loved it more than Thomas, so we returned ol' Tom and got another orange Mongoose. And they lived happily ever after.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

javione

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this bike. He loves the style and how it handles and stop. Great bike for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great bike

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike my son loves it !!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

crank was broken

06/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bike did not pedal- very unhappy 5 year old
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

COOL bike, but..

06/24/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike as a surprise and when it was assembled is when it was realized that there is NO kick-stand --just training wheels. So, I searched Wal-Mart and the Mongoose website and Google, for a 16" kick-stand, to no avail. So, I have to try and obtain a generic or branded kick-stand such as one produced by BELL, to have one. Without it, my son has already dropped his bike down on it's side where the rubber Mongoose handles are already damaged after only a week of ownership. A kick-stand is highly recommended to purchase Before gifting and assembly --as once assembled, the child will want to Immediately make use of this COOL bike..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great bike

07/13/2014
By ,
Big Apple
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble & adjust.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

great bike for the price

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read a lot of reviews and took a chance on this bike for my 4 yr old son. He loves the bike and rides it well. We don't use the training wheels so I can't comment on those. I had to modify the bike setup - some items ( brakes) were on backwards. Was easy to setup if u are mechanically savy t
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
10/28/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike arrived quickly as was promised. My husband put it together with no problems. It is for our grandson for his 4th birthday. I'm sure he is going to love it. Orange has always been his favorite color. I like that it has coaster brakes and hand brakes. I can't wait to see his expression when he sees it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Nice bike and good price

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our 5 year old son who just learned how to ride a bike without training wheels. We were worried it would be too big but he picked up on the change in size with no problem . The bike is durable, easy to put together and looks even cooler in person. It is nice too that it has both pedal and handle breaks to help them learn. Would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered online. Shipped to local store. Fast and easy. Twin #2 loves color and new bike. He is the talk of the block.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
09/04/2013
By ,
Keystone Heights, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for 4 year old grandson. He loves it. Already trying to be a little daredevil from day 1. Best part is, except for the training wheels, it is very similar to his older (10 yrs old) brother's Mongoose, so he definitely feels like one of the big kids! I was aware the bike did not have a kickstand (from other comments), and I agree this would be a great addition to add to the box since the training wheels won't be needed forever. This bike should last for a couple of years before he grows into a 20" bike. Love the REALLY bright orange color!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Grandson loves it

10/12/2012
By ,
Raymond, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike met all expectations and was the hit of my grandson's fifth birthday party. The only thing I would change is I would add a kickstand. My gandson didn't need the training wheels and doesn't want to be setting it down on the ground. Very awsome paint job, looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great bicycle for my Grandson!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so surprised that the bike was assembled when we got to the store to pick it up as I had just ordered it the same morning. We had to drive an hour and 1/2 to get to the store to pick it up for his birthday party the next day. When we got there 4 hours later, the bike was assembled. Unfortunately, we did not need the training wheels that were on the bike when we picked it up, but they were easily taken off. I don't think my grandson would have appreciated getting a new bike with training wheels. My fault that I did not specify that we do not need training wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next