Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
42
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation90%170 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
42
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Excellent Bike for the Price!

12/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only complaint I have is the bike did not come with a kick stand, there is a spot for one to install but I wish it came with one because once the training wheels come off I dont want the bike just laying on the ground. Other than that I am super happy with the quality of the bike! (-:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great color, great fit, and great price

12/30/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the bike for my 4 yr old for Christmas. We bought it online and did the store pick up to save on shipping expenses (also to avoid any assembly that it may have required). The price for the bike is great! It's a neon orange, comes with training wheels, handle breaks, pedal breaks, front wheel pegs, comfy seat, and reflectors on both wheels, front handle bar, pedals, and back of the seat. This bike comes with more features than some of the character themed bikes and at a significantly better price! To go with the bike, we purchased a "Bell" black helmet designed with neon green paint splats. The neon colors go great and can definitely be seen on the road. My son is very pleased with his big-boy bike :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

GREAT BIKE!!!!

08/15/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I bought this bike and had it shipped to our local store for pick up as it was not available. It was very easy to set up for a first time assembler until we got to the front wheel/brakes. The booklet the bike comes with has instructions for multiple types of bikes so it was not helpful at all, but we ended up figuring it out and my 6 year old son LOVES his new bike!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Good starter bike

06/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good 1st bike for our 5 year old son. He only rides it around the neighborhood. Have had to adjust the training wheels a few times after he's ridden for a while. My husband put it together and I know the handlebars and post connecting them to bike were not assembled correctly at the factory. He was able to reassemble and fix though. The bike is quite loud, which is probably just the training wheels on the pavement, but not a big deal. Our son loves it and it seems to be sturdy for him, and he gets lots of comments about what a great looking bike it is.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

My son loves it, perfect fit

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Looks good, but heavy and not the best fit

07/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son turned four and he wanted a bike so I purchased this after reading reviews. Reviews had stated that people were putting children as young as two on this bike. That's a bad idea in my opinion. The crank arms are simply way too long for it to be a good fit. My son is plenty tall enough for the bike, but he has to bring his knees up high in an exaggerated motion to pedal. A 12" bike is too small, and a 16" is too big, in my honest opinion. I wish there was something inbetween for 4-5 year olds that was a better fit, considering these 16" bikes are listed for up to 8 years old.
Oh yeah, and this bike is HEAVY. It is as heavy as my adult 29" mountain bike (also purchased from Walmart). I don't know how they packed that much weight into a small children's bike, but it's there, and I think the kids suffer because of it. My kid only weights 35 pounds or so, and the bike weighs as much as him. I don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Pretty good bike

06/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this for our son's 4th birthday. He absolutely loves it! Orange & black are his favorite colors, so this was perfect. Assembly was a bit confusing, but not too bad. The worst part was adjusting the brakes- even with both me & my husband tinkering with them for over an hour they still weren't perfect, but they work. It took about 3 hours to assemble, including the 1.5 hours with the brakes. It is a super sturdy bike and rides really well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

nice little bike. grandson loves the bike.

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used PayPal to buy the bike on line. Was fast and easy to make the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

For the money can't be beat

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little starter bike. Quality is not bad, easy to assemble and kids get a bang out of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great starter bike

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike came mostly assembled. It was easy to complete the assembly and the kids love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Mongoose

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great bike for the price

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my son's 4th birthday and he loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Birthday

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Son whom is 5 loves his new bike
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
10/28/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike arrived quickly as was promised. My husband put it together with no problems. It is for our grandson for his 4th birthday. I'm sure he is going to love it. Orange has always been his favorite color. I like that it has coaster brakes and hand brakes. I can't wait to see his expression when he sees it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

A Great Bike

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this bike very sturdy and well worth the price at Walmart. The color and all the accessories were very appealing. I purchased 2 and both of my grand-kids loved the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great little bike.

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never had a Mongoose bike when I was a kid, but I always wanted one.
Seems now, 35 years later they still make an excellent product. The frame is solidly constructed and assembly was fairly straight forward (biggest problem I had was trying to set the hand brake system... never did get it to stay centered right, so I have to take the bike in to have a pro fix that). Apart from that one assembly SNAFU, though, this bike is awesome and would have totally been a 5/5.
And even after youtube videos and such, I find hand brake systems are tough to get right, even when you know what you are doing. So I don't fault Mongoose for that, I just wish there were an easier way to do it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Perfect bike for us

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing holding us back from moving our son up from th 20" bike that he started on was the astronomical price of kid's bikes.
And then we found this bike. For the price, it can't be beat. It is solid, but not too heavy for my 5 year old to manage (without training wheels). We will definitely get our money out of this bike! We are very happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Much better than cheaper bike

09/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We initially bought our son a blue Micargi bike, which was about $20 cheaper than this one. It really was pretty cheap. It was sparkly and arrived in great shape but ultimately rusted very quickly when wet, has relatively very short cranks which made it unnecessarily hard for him to get it up even relatively gentle slopes, and came with very cheap tires that were pretty much bald after a few months of very occasional, intermittent riding with training wheels.
By contrast, for a mere $20 more, this bike seems to be made of better-quality steel, has longer cranks, comes with pegs (although we're certainly not going to put those on there yet!), better tires, and has both front and rear caliper brakes, which is something most bikes don't. In all ways, it's better. It is a little heavier and the seat is made of hard plastic which I think he finds less comfortable, but it also makes sense in that kids end up leaving their bike out in the rain occasionally no matter how hard you might try to convince them otherwise. I bought this for my son when he just started riding without training wheels, around his 5th birthday. He's been an avid rider for several months now and so far this bike has held up perfectly for any number of 3 to 5 mile rides, including some light trails / singletrack. And he's learning how to control the bike with the calipers rather than the pedal brake, which is a great technical skill to have as he improves.
Overall, I have to say, this bike - at Walmart's price for it, anyway (it is far more expensive on Amazon) - is the best value around. There may be other bikes, but for the advanced rider with training wheels or the new rider without training wheels, this bike is just very, very good, and has all the sturdiness I think it'll need to stand up to my son's abuse... and maybe even his two younger brothers as well! Hopefully it'll only need a new set of brake pads and tires before being handed down to the younger siblings!
Happy riding...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great Bike Great Price

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old son outgrew his 12" since last fall, so it was time to upgrade. Found this online and seemed like a much better deal than others we had looked at. Gave it a shot and I am glad we did! Assembly was pretty straightforward (if you're at all mechanically inclined) Arrived quickly in perfect condition, and my son loves it (orange is his favorite color). Everything seems of great quality, Very happy with the purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

My son loves it!!!

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it for my 5 year son. He just loved it. Right height.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next