Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Mongoose 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Average Customer Rating:
4.289 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%79 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Excellent Bike for the Price!

12/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only complaint I have is the bike did not come with a kick stand, there is a spot for one to install but I wish it came with one because once the training wheels come off I dont want the bike just laying on the ground. Other than that I am super happy with the quality of the bike! (-:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great color, great fit, and great price

12/30/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the bike for my 4 yr old for Christmas. We bought it online and did the store pick up to save on shipping expenses (also to avoid any assembly that it may have required). The price for the bike is great! It's a neon orange, comes with training wheels, handle breaks, pedal breaks, front wheel pegs, comfy seat, and reflectors on both wheels, front handle bar, pedals, and back of the seat. This bike comes with more features than some of the character themed bikes and at a significantly better price! To go with the bike, we purchased a "Bell" black helmet designed with neon green paint splats. The neon colors go great and can definitely be seen on the road. My son is very pleased with his big-boy bike :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

poorly packed and no instructions

04/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I received the bike and inside there was a broken plastic piece I first thought oh no I don't have time to get another one in time for my grandson's birthday, but it happen to be a piece that was just used in the packing which was packed like someone just threw it in the box, the manual that came with it was also no help I had to put it together without it, because it showed nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great beginner bike

04/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seem to be on of the better quality bike at the cheapest price for one I found and free shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Nice bike and good price

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our 5 year old son who just learned how to ride a bike without training wheels. We were worried it would be too big but he picked up on the change in size with no problem . The bike is durable, easy to put together and looks even cooler in person. It is nice too that it has both pedal and handle breaks to help them learn. Would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Loved It

04/11/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was all ready in one day for pickup and it was put together very well. I wheeled it out to the car, and my grandson was riding it that evening. Its his favorite color too. Surprised that I could get an orange bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

cheap starter bike, nothing more nothing less

04/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheap starter bike, nothing more nothing less
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Looks good, but heavy and not the best fit

07/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son turned four and he wanted a bike so I purchased this after reading reviews. Reviews had stated that people were putting children as young as two on this bike. That's a bad idea in my opinion. The crank arms are simply way too long for it to be a good fit. My son is plenty tall enough for the bike, but he has to bring his knees up high in an exaggerated motion to pedal. A 12" bike is too small, and a 16" is too big, in my honest opinion. I wish there was something inbetween for 4-5 year olds that was a better fit, considering these 16" bikes are listed for up to 8 years old.
Oh yeah, and this bike is HEAVY. It is as heavy as my adult 29" mountain bike (also purchased from Walmart). I don't know how they packed that much weight into a small children's bike, but it's there, and I think the kids suffer because of it. My kid only weights 35 pounds or so, and the bike weighs as much as him. I don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Nice bike

04/01/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Putting it together wasn't so bad as long as you have the tools (allen wrenches) for it. My son had a hard time getting used to the brakes handles because they were a bit hard but otherwise, he enjoys his bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

bent front rim

03/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike was for my sons birthday and I put it together and the front rim is bend out of shape, now we have to pick a different bike cause our local store doesn't carry the bike in the store
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

WAY too heavy

03/25/2014
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for our son and brought it back as soon as it was put together. It is WAY too heavy. Heavier than my bike. Also I didn't like the color at all. I showed my husband the other option of the less expensive Rocket and we both agreed it was much better for our son. We returned this bike and purchased the Rocket which was perfect for our son and he loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
09/04/2013
By ,
Keystone Heights, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for 4 year old grandson. He loves it. Already trying to be a little daredevil from day 1. Best part is, except for the training wheels, it is very similar to his older (10 yrs old) brother's Mongoose, so he definitely feels like one of the big kids! I was aware the bike did not have a kickstand (from other comments), and I agree this would be a great addition to add to the box since the training wheels won't be needed forever. This bike should last for a couple of years before he grows into a 20" bike. Love the REALLY bright orange color!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great bike

03/30/2014
By ,
SACRAMENTO CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his mongoose!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

very recrational

03/29/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Great for shorter kid

02/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a 16" bike for a shorter kid. Most bikes have a more horizontal bar, but this one worked well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike
10/28/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike arrived quickly as was promised. My husband put it together with no problems. It is for our grandson for his 4th birthday. I'm sure he is going to love it. Orange has always been his favorite color. I like that it has coaster brakes and hand brakes. I can't wait to see his expression when he sees it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Buy It at the store!!!!

03/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The wheel came bent so don't waste your time buy it at the store assembled save yourself the hassle & disappointment of your child's face when they can't ride it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

great bike!

03/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my grandson loves it. Quality is great and assembly was perfect. Took it home And he started riding. Had to do nothing to the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

Not a good bike

03/15/2014
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't recommend this bike the first one we got the chain snapped. The second one the rear wheel was bent and had to take it back. This all happened in one week. My 4 year old road the bike once each.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 16" Mongoose Mutant Boys' Bike

good value meets expectations

03/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very easy shipping...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next