Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

This AT&T Pre-Paid Phone is simple to use, yet it has the features you might need on the go. This AT&T Bluetooth Phone can connect to Bluetooth headsets and earpieces for hand-free use on the go. This AT&T ZTE Phone Z431 has a 2 megapixel camera with up to 5x zoom and lets you receive email while out and about. Capable of both text and picture messages, this AT&T Pre-Paid Phone also has a code scanner and wireless Internet access. AT&T Social Net and AT&T Navigator come pre-installed for your convenience, and the battery can last for up to 4 hours of talking, or 9 hours on standby.
Average Customer Rating:
3.188 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation56%9 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Just a phone to message with

08/29/2012
By ,
Bethany Okla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a calling plan but didnt want to go out and buy some expensive phone just yet and decided on this ZTE. I just put my sims card in it and i was off. It has easy texting features and calling as well. The camera is a bit fuzzy compared to my last one but it still takes better than some i have seen. The screen is great for looking at things cause it is not small or you can actually change your font size which helped me. I like the weight and size fits perfectly in to a pocket or a purse and with the weight you know it when you feel it. so over all i am happy for this purchase it has meet all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 2 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Great Bang for the Buck!!!

08/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hard to find phone is a great deal at $49.99 if you can find one at your local Wal-Mart. It has a 2.0 MP camera, 3G, Brew MP operating system, a code scanner, etc. Even though the phone has a operating system, it is not a smartphone and does not required a data package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
ZTE Z431
Posted 08/26/2012
Really dig the phone. It's like the old "blackberry" but no data plan needed. Plugs into computer and you can easily move pics, movies. or music to external storage. Not the greatest for texting if you have paws as apposed to fingers. hahaha But the T9 is easy to get used to and finishes most words for minimal typing on text. PLZ DONT TEXT WHILE DRIVING. Battery seems well over a day with normal use and the only downfall so far is I cant find a matching skin for it because it's so new. Thnx
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Great workhorse phone

10/27/2012
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call clarity is excellent, and texting is easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth
09/05/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife needed a replacement phone, so instead of entering into another contract, I got her this phone after I showed it to her on the WalMart site, and in the store. She has had it a couple of weeks now and has had no problems so far. She uses it basically for an emergency phone and a few texts a month.... so far, so good, can't complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 5 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Everything I expected it to be with a few extras

11/09/2012
By ,
Oneonta, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and foremost, I gotta say, the battery life on this is phenomenal. I use this on Bluetooth for work calls, sometimes making 3-4 hour calls for work and my headset will die 7 or 8 times before I have to charge this. Headset lasts like 5 hours; which is to say I leave it on all the time and only have to charge this every couple of days of severe usage. If I only text with it and make the occasional call without the headset it will last me a good week. It even outlasts the Pantech Link p7040 which is saying something.
Has a 3.5mm jack and music quality is 480bpp which is better than CD quality so I can use it as a MP3 should I choose and I have a 16gb micro sd card in it and it cranks tunes into my ears all night on the job without needing a recharge as soon as I get into the car, I can leave the charger at home which is nice.
If you pay for the data package you can tether it for an additional 2gb of otg laptop tethering, great for sending long drawn out emails when you don't trust or can't use public wifi for work related things.
All of the extra applications are simply that, they feel like extras and not part of the core experience (which I like). It doesn't try to shove anything down your throat and if you accidentally press the middle button it opens a menu and not the browser. so if you don't have data, you don't have to worry about accidental overages.
The back comes off a little too easy for my taste, one thing I muss from the Pantech Link P7040 was that the battery door on that was almost impossible to remove, on this it falls off with the slightest slide of hand or when removing it from my pocket, not to mention that it has a little lip on the door which catches on my pant pocket to further aid in the pulling the door off. The battery doesn't come out easy or fall out too easy, but neither did the Pantech.
Better camera than the Pantech p7040, so a definete upgrade there, but the OS itself feels a little more sluggish, but that's because it isn't a vendor OS it runs the same Qualcomm Brew MP OS that is being installed across mass produced devices you see these days. It has been coined as the last surviving dumb-phone os for low end phones. Nothing is really being developed for it, and there are other choices in the market such as low end Android with data disabled, and Open Phone OS which outpace this OS both in speed and development. Does this make this phone a failed device? Not in the least. But Qualcomm requires that you pay hefty fees to develop for this OS Android and Open Phone OS do not. I expect this phone to be discontinued within a year or two just like the Pantech Link P7040, specifically because of the rising costs to support such a device.
It doesn't feel too cheap except for the back, the videos are horrible. The pictures it takes are passable, and with the 2MP camera it takes nice crisp pictures if the lighting is right and you hold still enough.
It is a phone and messaging device first and an application and media device second, which is to say, all devices should be like this. Getting sick of all these pocket computers which don't last a full day so I cant use it for real work.
Overall it has 1 or 2 pitfalls, but its near perfect for being a low end cell-PHONE, not cell-COMPUTER, not cell-iPhone, not cell-Android, a cell-telecommunications device for communicating with other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 6 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Great phone for a younger kid.

10/04/2012
By ,
Granger, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 12 y/o brother when i put him on my AT&T plan. He likes it. If he breaks it, its not an arm and a leg to replace. Works good. He likes the keyboard on it. It seems to get better service than my i*hone does. The camera isn't to bad either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Nice non-smartphone for the price!

09/20/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was sick of my smartphone, just so much stuff on it that I never used. I wanted a basic phone to text and make calls. Since my upgrade isn't until 2013, I decided to try this phone. I haven't had any problems with it. It's a nice size, not big or bulky. I would recommend if you are looking for a non-smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Worse phone I've ever owned.

09/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for 2 days when it decided to constantly restart and not work at all. I basically brought it home, took it out of the package, charged it and activated it and then it sat on my table for those two days it worked. So nothing should have caused it to freak out like it did other than the poor electronics inside of it. I brought it back and exchanged it for an AT&T prepaid LG phone and it has worked fine ever since. If you're only getting this to save some money, avoid the headache and go with a phone made by a more reputable maker. AT&T's customer service was a pleasure to work with and had me all set within minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Great look, sounds clear...but

09/19/2012
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone was so excited because it is exactly what I am looking for in a phone however sometimes I sound like I am under water and there has been times that I can't hear the other person yet they can hear me.
So I am looking for a new.. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth
09/29/2012
By ,
Patterson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after couple weeks of using it does'nt let me go back to my txt messages right away and my screen turns black, takes too long to go from txt messages to contacts. its not a good phone gets really annoying.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth
08/31/2012
By ,
Lowville NY....
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The buttons constantly stick
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
batesville arkansas
Posted 09/02/2012
does this phone have convorsation veiw?
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth
09/10/2012
By ,
adairsville ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone was not worth 50 bucks. it deleted half of my numbers and i could not customize the phone the way I wanted it i could not use short codes it had no games at all and was very slow and even on a full charge the battery lasted about an hour
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Review 13 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Good phone for city use

01/06/2013
By ,
Casa Grande - Maricopa Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is terrible in rural areas. Callers report background sound like swishing water all the time and very hard to them to hear me. I replaced the phone under warranty and had the same problem with 2nd phone. ATT researched and found that there were no cell phone towers close to my location and I was told that any newer phone is made for city use and won't perfrom as well as the older phones do in rural areas. My previous flip phone worked good for basic communication so I am going back to the old phone. Sure the camera is great, screen is larger than the basic flip phone, and texting is a little easier but for communication in rural areas - don't bother with this phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth

Good phone but not what i was wanting.

12/01/2012
By ,
chatsworth ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i ordered this phone after speaking with at&t to verify it didnt have to have a data plan, then after i got the phone and activated it.. it had to have a data plan, now i have to send it back.
THANKS AT&T!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for AT&T ZTE Z431 Pre-Paid Cell Phone with Bluetooth
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5