Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Schwinn 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Experience a new kind of freedom while cycling on this Schwinn adult tricycle. With a low-standover, easy step-through aluminum frame and rear folding basket, this silver Schwinn Meridian adult trike can safely and smoothly get you where you need to go. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn Meridian adult trike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%120 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great Bike

11/13/2012
By ,
Los Alamitos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 57 year old, 200lb lady that had fallen off my two wheel bike, therefore I was afraid to ride one again. My neighbor bought a three-wheeler and I decided to try one for myself. We ordered it site-to-store and requested it be assembled which they did for free. It was $80 cheaper than the same bike my neighbor purchased at a bicycle store. I love it! I feel so good to get some exercise and have fun at the same time. Plus it is a good looking bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+201points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

nice bike

06/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The package was delivered damaged. There is a dent in the fender.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

AFFORDABLE OPTION For Developmentally Disabled

06/03/2013
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching for months for a reasonably priced adaptive 3-wheel bicycle for my 9-year-old son with Autism, I took a chance on this bike from Walmart. For $289 plus another $32 for a three year warranty, this was the most affordable option. Our son's Occupational Therapist had him "fitted" twice for an adaptive bicycle with a special-needs bike vendor, and then suggested we seek out charities to help pay the $3200 price tag. Yes $3,200.
We opted for (faster) Site to Store Free shipping, and was pleasantly surprised when our local Walmart offered to assemble the bike for free in just 48 hours. So we rode all day Saturday & Sunday, probably about 5 miles total. My son is 4' 8" tall and about 115 lbs.
I'm glad we bought him the 24" and not the 26" (even though the 26" was $20 cheaper online). The bike works great so far. He seems to love it. Occasionally the cheap aluminum chain guard has bent into the chain, you know it's happened again by the rubbing-noise, it's just a matter of bending it back an inch. I suspect his foot keeps hitting it getting on & off the bike. I love the fact that we can ride as a family now, and he is able to demonstrate his ability. The first few times we went downhill he was happily shouting "wheeee...wheeee" and laughing.
Life is often hard, though not as hard as in the past. Our son is becoming more independent and communicating more. This bike gives him something to do, increases his activity (as his meds contribute to his weight), and gives him a way to play & have fun with us, and he's really loving it.
I have to coach him though and remind him to pedal harder, or tell him "hand brake" to stop or slow down. I don't think he realizes yet that the bike is wider than it feels, so sometimes he gets close to parked cars on my street - and I cringe. LOL.
The bike fits & rides well on a standard sidewalk, though I allow him to alternate to the road a lot when we ride as a group. He's doing great for just two days experience. He hasn't been able to ride anything for two years when his size became too much to utilize training wheels.
I can't recommend this bike more for someone with issues with balance and coordination. It's a Schwinn. I hope that still means what it did when I was a kid 30-40 years ago. If you can afford an adaptive bike, that's great, and since they are made specifically to "fit" the rider, they may be the better option. In our case, we opted for the most affordable route, and so far it's been a great decision.
:Walmart.com
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sonoma County
Thanks so much!
Posted 07/03/2013
I'm in the same situation - looking for something for my almost 10 year old son with autism and I was hoping to find a tricycle that wasn't thousands of dollars. I really appreciate your review and the update - I'm glad your son wasn't spooked from his fall. I think we'll give it a try and I hope our local Walmart will help assemble it. Please keep updating with any advice - thanks!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
South Jersey
WOW - One Month Update....
Posted 07/02/2013
Our son still rides this bike daily, and is loving it. Even in that rain (as we got 10 inches of rain in June here in NJ). I think he's lost some weight too. He had one major spill where he stood up on the pedals to go up hill, and lost his balance and fell off the Tricycle, and it flipped on top of him. Yes a freak accident. I was right behind him and saw it all. Thankfully he wasn't too hurt. Just a skinned knee. He always wears a helmet. My point: the Trike didn't break or bend. He jumped right back on - and never tried that move again. I was disappointed to read so many unhappy reviews this month. So far our experience has been great. I will update again - should anything cause our opinion to change.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Finally I can ride.

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im twentysomething with mental differences and haven't learned to ride a bike, so I saw a trike as an opportunity to skip the falling over, save gas and get in better shape. To this end, it hasn't disapponted at all. The only difficulty during setup was with the back chain. It's a bit tricky to get it on and adjusted properly but it was worth it. Ihighly recommend putting slime in the tires or getting different ones. One of the fenders did show up bent (probably happened during shipping) but was easily fixed with some hammering. The basket is very sturdy and great for taking a few groceries home. The 24" tire version was right for me since I stopped growing at 5'2". Irecommend the 26" if you're going to get any taller or have long legs.
Very fun to ride. Since my disability is invisible I've been laughed at a few times by adults while riding, but all it took was one kid commenting on "What a cool bike!" for me to not care about that. Happy riding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Be proud!
Posted 06/11/2014
Don't worry about those on two wheels looking down on you. A three wheel bike is heavier and you must work harder to ride it. Because of the three wheels on ground you have more traction which also leads to more work on the part of the rider. The two wheeler riders are taking the easy way out!.
Be proud of what you are doing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

MERIDIAN SCWINN ADULT TRICYCLE

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike itself seems to be great. We rec'd it and found there to be 3 dents on the frame and tire guards that could not have been caused in transit/shipment with UPS and therefore most likely made in production OR when put into the carton for shipment. This was disappointing. Putting the bike together took several hours so was not an easy task. The seat stem didn't seem to go in it's slot nice and easy as suggested. When removed to re-seat it was scratched all over from insertion and removal and we found a small piece of metal in the shaft that was scraping it. In the photo it showed one colour of blue but when received it was a gray blue. We will keep it anyway but wanted the blue. The seat tends to move no matter how we attempt to tighten it. Will be contacting Schwinn directly about this issue. Was disappointed not to find a Bike Bell with product but will purchase one separately. REMINDER: Make sure to contact the local police dept and have your bike registered so that in case of theft your information is on file.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

great bike for a novice

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the trike is finally set-up, we did encounter some difficulty with some of the parts. On one of the parts we had to take it in to Sports Chalet and have them adjust the chain. The chain that came with the trike had two of the same links which made it impossible to assemble the chain. We had to have Sports Chalet fix that problem by providing the accurate link of chain to make it stand in place. Then we had to deal with the handle bars. The torque on the nut was extremely tight and again we had to have Sports Chalet adjust our handle bars. Other than that we finally have our trike and are able to ride it. I recommend the enjoyment on one of these bikes but if I were to do it again I would buy it somewhere else for the simple fact of having missing parts and still have to have Sports Chalet or any bike shop fix a problem that could have been done at home provided that Wal-Mart would have sent in the correct parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Easy to ride and comfortable

04/01/2014
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was better than I expected. I live in a flat town where I can walk to everything, but wanted a faster way to get around and something I could use to carry groceries. I also have two small dogs and like to have them with me but walking two spoiled dogs is a pain! They like the ride and fit side-by-side in a bed that fit the basket perfectly. Though I considered that it might be harder to pedal or less comfortable than a 26" trike, not being a heavy person myself and 5'8", I chose the 24" to have the smallest non-folding trike, and I am glad I did due to the ease of handling it through my small gate and yard. Don't know which rides better--this 24" is great. I didn't even add a gel seat cover as I usually do for my bikes and I was not sore after my first two mile ride. You should try them if that makes a difference to you. For me, envelope size was more important. Slightly smaller makes a little difference in weight and shape in every direction, but a big difference in handling it, plus, the frame looks nicer. I rated "ease of setup" as excellent, because the Walmart staff did the work for me, a very important selling point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Wonderful Bike ~ No Regrets - Only Smiles!

12/30/2013
By ,
Gilroy, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had two of these 3-wheelin' cruisers stolen from me ~ they are a very popular item :). These are not the smaller, foldable models you see senior citizens riding - this is one cool cruiser! I bought this last one for my mother. She suffered a small stroke last year and has had her driving privileges revoked but is so frustrated at her lack of independence. This is just the answer! Love this bike ~ Can't say enough about it. Perfect for someone who isn't quite comfortable on a 2-wheeler (balance issues, injuries, etc.) but still likes to ride.
My experience with Wal-Mart has been 5-star with each purchase. I order online > Ship to Store > they assemble it for me (free) and all I have to do is wait for the phone call to pick it up.
Take my word ~ if you are even slightly interested in this bike you should go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Specs should include single wheel traction.

05/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is a problem that nobody is mentioning except for some 2 star comments about the steering.
The steering bias is due to the fact that only the right rear wheel is connected to the pedals, with
the same result as if someone pushed the tricycle on the right side of the basket. This makes the
trike want to go to the left, so you have to constantly favor compensating by steering to the right.
This single wheel traction also allows the right wheel to spin in gravel or sand or grass.
Of some 20 manufacturers of trikes, none is including this specification of whether the pedaling can pull one wheel or both rear wheels. In cars, this problem is solved by a differential box, but the
more expensive trikes don't say how they solve this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

loving my bike

07/19/2014
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bike and I had them to ship it to the store .. Walmart but it together for me .. and even help me with it to the truck .. the gentleman who put it together was so kind .. I am loving my biike and riding it all over town .. the bike is pretty it is a cross between blue and grey mix ..only thing wrong with it there is noise on my right tire ( but think it is the fender rubbing the tire ) so I think it might need adjusting a little ) If you are looking in buying a 3 wheel I recommend that you do buy this one ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Excellent adult tricycle for the price

10/15/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my wife who has balance issues with a bicycle. After some research several people really liked this tricycle (or the 26" model) but couldn't stand putting it together. My wife found a review that said Walmart put theirs together for them. I asked my local Walmart and they confirmed that they could assemble for free. All I had to do is have it sent to the store, sign for it when it arrived and ask for them to assemble it.
I looked and called around to several bicycle shops and asked them how much an adult tricycle might cost and the cheapest I heard was $600, and the guy even said it was huge and barely worth the money. This tricycle isn't cheap but after tax in my state at the time of writing this review $265 versus $600 is well worth it, especially if (like in my case) your Walmart can assemble it for you.
My wife and I have been out riding several times and the more she rides the more she loves this tricycle. She gets plenty of compliments while riding from how nice the trike looks. I would easily recommend this tricycle to anyone with balance issues.
For me the tricycle is a bit big and slow, but I knew this going in and the trike is for my wife. I cant say enough how much my wife enjoys cruising in this tricycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great Tricycle!

06/20/2013
By ,
Burlington NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new trike. I am a middle age, plus size women with back problems from an injury. I wanted a way to exercise that would not put so much strain on my back. My trike is the perfect answer. I don't have to worry about balancing it and it rides so smooth. I am already up to riding over 1 1/2 miles per day in less than 3 weeks. My 2 small dogs are learning to ride in the basket with me and love it as well. Don't hesitate to purchase this bike if you are looking for an alternative to a regular bike. My husband is always waiting to ride as soon as I finish every night. My back doesn't hurt from riding on my trike.
I had my bike shipped using the Site to Store option. My local Walmart put my trike together for me at no charge.
My only regret is not purchasing my trike sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Extremely Difficult to assemble

01/27/2014
By ,
central Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Each side of the bike has the need of a different size tool. Each wheel has a different size bolt to attach, each fender has a different size screw, etc. The directions are vague at best and do not tell you step by step how to assemble. Once we finally got it together (about 2 1/2 hours later) this is when I found that the pedals are too far back and very hard to pedal. I have arthritis, and it's painful to bend my knees so much. If I get a different size bike, I am afraid I will not be able to get up on the seat. I have the seat in the lowest position on this 24 inch and I have to climb onto it, so a 26 inch would be a struggle to get on the seat.
When I did test ride the bike, I noticed it turns by itself almost, and is difficult to stay on the road. I thought it may just be me, not fitting onto it correctly, so I also had my son test it and he went straight into the ditch with it. Something is not correct about this bike.
It is a nice looking bike, but it is made for a person who is about 5 foot tall or shorter
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Wonderful exercise

02/19/2014
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product and Walmart assembled it for free! I recently had a knee replacement and am enjoying moving again. This was easy to pedal and easy to operate. I did not feel I was going to fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

I'm crushed that this is unrideable and useless

10/29/2013
By ,
OKC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I desperately needed this tricycle to work for me. The way the seat is set up it is too far forward and the handlebars hit my knees when I try to turn. (I know you have to slow way down to turn a trike.) Changing seats didn't help--it's where the seat must be located that is the problem. My husband and neighbor proposed making a homemade seat and doing all kinds of welding to add appropriate braces and such so the seat could be mounted further back. Well, why buy a brand new thing for almost $300 and then have to drastically alter it to get it to work properly. I'm only 5'0", he's 5'11", and this problem affected both of us when we tried to use this tricycle. I'm so depressed. I needed the exercise and independence I hoped I'd be able to get. Why didn't any of the other reviews point this out? I'll be returning it. I can't walk let alone run, and have no access to water exercise most of the year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

not bad for the price.

08/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I took about 2 hours to complete the ensemble, like the color.
When I ride it the first time it take a block and start clicking in one of the rear tires.
I couldn't localize where the noise is come from.
the pedal is too close to the back tires, so when you try to start pedaling, the rear tire scratch your leg, It happened every time you start the chain with the pedal, so try to start it with the pedal on the top. I need to get use to get down from it for the front instead of the back as I use to do it.
The basket is not very sturdy, I did not carry nothing yet, but I think more than 35 lb could damage it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great Deal, Fast Delivery and overall happiness

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my mother and not only was price reasonable, but came just in time as it was ordered and delivered in tight time window. It's reliable, durable and had to be sent out for buildup. There was a small dent in one of the parts, however it was nothing the bike builder couldn't fix. Overall a very satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great tricycle for this Grandma.

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! I'm 68 and never owned a bike. It's easy to ride and is great for exercise besides being fun. Had a friend put it together with no problem. Have a few neighbors that want one now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Fun plus I get exercise

08/19/2014
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 5 ft and overweight. This tricycle is perfect. It provides the low impact exercise that my 69 year old body needs. It pedals easy and brakes safely. The bike is easy to ride but it gets my heart rate up. I put a pillow in the basket and my little maltese doggie loves to ride. We had it shipped to the house and my husband put it together. One thing too that surprised me is how well it pedals in a grassy area. However, I ride it on concrete driveway put I like to take off through the grass too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Easy to assemble!

07/22/2014
By ,
Tazewell, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was much easier to assemble than I thought it would be. The frame is substantial and looks like it will last several years. The bike was much more than I had hoped to spend but my handicapped daughter has been unable to learn to ride a 2 wheel bicycle. Now she feels like she's really accomplished something.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next