Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Schwinn 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Experience a new kind of freedom while cycling on this Schwinn adult tricycle. With a low-standover, easy step-through aluminum frame and rear folding basket, this silver Schwinn Meridian adult trike can safely and smoothly get you where you need to go. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn Meridian adult trike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.23 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%98 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

AFFORDABLE OPTION For Developmentally Disabled

06/03/2013
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching for months for a reasonably priced adaptive 3-wheel bicycle for my 9-year-old son with Autism, I took a chance on this bike from Walmart. For $289 plus another $32 for a three year warranty, this was the most affordable option. Our son's Occupational Therapist had him "fitted" twice for an adaptive bicycle with a special-needs bike vendor, and then suggested we seek out charities to help pay the $3200 price tag. Yes $3,200.
We opted for (faster) Site to Store Free shipping, and was pleasantly surprised when our local Walmart offered to assemble the bike for free in just 48 hours. So we rode all day Saturday & Sunday, probably about 5 miles total. My son is 4' 8" tall and about 115 lbs.
I'm glad we bought him the 24" and not the 26" (even though the 26" was $20 cheaper online). The bike works great so far. He seems to love it. Occasionally the cheap aluminum chain guard has bent into the chain, you know it's happened again by the rubbing-noise, it's just a matter of bending it back an inch. I suspect his foot keeps hitting it getting on & off the bike. I love the fact that we can ride as a family now, and he is able to demonstrate his ability. The first few times we went downhill he was happily shouting "wheeee...wheeee" and laughing.
Life is often hard, though not as hard as in the past. Our son is becoming more independent and communicating more. This bike gives him something to do, increases his activity (as his meds contribute to his weight), and gives him a way to play & have fun with us, and he's really loving it.
I have to coach him though and remind him to pedal harder, or tell him "hand brake" to stop or slow down. I don't think he realizes yet that the bike is wider than it feels, so sometimes he gets close to parked cars on my street - and I cringe. LOL.
The bike fits & rides well on a standard sidewalk, though I allow him to alternate to the road a lot when we ride as a group. He's doing great for just two days experience. He hasn't been able to ride anything for two years when his size became too much to utilize training wheels.
I can't recommend this bike more for someone with issues with balance and coordination. It's a Schwinn. I hope that still means what it did when I was a kid 30-40 years ago. If you can afford an adaptive bike, that's great, and since they are made specifically to "fit" the rider, they may be the better option. In our case, we opted for the most affordable route, and so far it's been a great decision.
:Walmart.com
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sonoma County
Thanks so much!
Posted 07/03/2013
I'm in the same situation - looking for something for my almost 10 year old son with autism and I was hoping to find a tricycle that wasn't thousands of dollars. I really appreciate your review and the update - I'm glad your son wasn't spooked from his fall. I think we'll give it a try and I hope our local Walmart will help assemble it. Please keep updating with any advice - thanks!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
South Jersey
WOW - One Month Update....
Posted 07/02/2013
Our son still rides this bike daily, and is loving it. Even in that rain (as we got 10 inches of rain in June here in NJ). I think he's lost some weight too. He had one major spill where he stood up on the pedals to go up hill, and lost his balance and fell off the Tricycle, and it flipped on top of him. Yes a freak accident. I was right behind him and saw it all. Thankfully he wasn't too hurt. Just a skinned knee. He always wears a helmet. My point: the Trike didn't break or bend. He jumped right back on - and never tried that move again. I was disappointed to read so many unhappy reviews this month. So far our experience has been great. I will update again - should anything cause our opinion to change.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Easy to ride and comfortable

04/01/2014
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was better than I expected. I live in a flat town where I can walk to everything, but wanted a faster way to get around and something I could use to carry groceries. I also have two small dogs and like to have them with me but walking two spoiled dogs is a pain! They like the ride and fit side-by-side in a bed that fit the basket perfectly. Though I considered that it might be harder to pedal or less comfortable than a 26" trike, not being a heavy person myself and 5'8", I chose the 24" to have the smallest non-folding trike, and I am glad I did due to the ease of handling it through my small gate and yard. Don't know which rides better--this 24" is great. I didn't even add a gel seat cover as I usually do for my bikes and I was not sore after my first two mile ride. You should try them if that makes a difference to you. For me, envelope size was more important. Slightly smaller makes a little difference in weight and shape in every direction, but a big difference in handling it, plus, the frame looks nicer. I rated "ease of setup" as excellent, because the Walmart staff did the work for me, a very important selling point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Extremely Difficult to assemble

01/27/2014
By ,
central Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Each side of the bike has the need of a different size tool. Each wheel has a different size bolt to attach, each fender has a different size screw, etc. The directions are vague at best and do not tell you step by step how to assemble. Once we finally got it together (about 2 1/2 hours later) this is when I found that the pedals are too far back and very hard to pedal. I have arthritis, and it's painful to bend my knees so much. If I get a different size bike, I am afraid I will not be able to get up on the seat. I have the seat in the lowest position on this 24 inch and I have to climb onto it, so a 26 inch would be a struggle to get on the seat.
When I did test ride the bike, I noticed it turns by itself almost, and is difficult to stay on the road. I thought it may just be me, not fitting onto it correctly, so I also had my son test it and he went straight into the ditch with it. Something is not correct about this bike.
It is a nice looking bike, but it is made for a person who is about 5 foot tall or shorter
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Wonderful Bike ~ No Regrets - Only Smiles!

12/30/2013
By ,
Gilroy, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had two of these 3-wheelin' cruisers stolen from me ~ they are a very popular item :). These are not the smaller, foldable models you see senior citizens riding - this is one cool cruiser! I bought this last one for my mother. She suffered a small stroke last year and has had her driving privileges revoked but is so frustrated at her lack of independence. This is just the answer! Love this bike ~ Can't say enough about it. Perfect for someone who isn't quite comfortable on a 2-wheeler (balance issues, injuries, etc.) but still likes to ride.
My experience with Wal-Mart has been 5-star with each purchase. I order online > Ship to Store > they assemble it for me (free) and all I have to do is wait for the phone call to pick it up.
Take my word ~ if you are even slightly interested in this bike you should go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

great bike for a novice

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the trike is finally set-up, we did encounter some difficulty with some of the parts. On one of the parts we had to take it in to Sports Chalet and have them adjust the chain. The chain that came with the trike had two of the same links which made it impossible to assemble the chain. We had to have Sports Chalet fix that problem by providing the accurate link of chain to make it stand in place. Then we had to deal with the handle bars. The torque on the nut was extremely tight and again we had to have Sports Chalet adjust our handle bars. Other than that we finally have our trike and are able to ride it. I recommend the enjoyment on one of these bikes but if I were to do it again I would buy it somewhere else for the simple fact of having missing parts and still have to have Sports Chalet or any bike shop fix a problem that could have been done at home provided that Wal-Mart would have sent in the correct parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Wonderful exercise

02/19/2014
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product and Walmart assembled it for free! I recently had a knee replacement and am enjoying moving again. This was easy to pedal and easy to operate. I did not feel I was going to fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Excellent adult tricycle for the price

10/15/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my wife who has balance issues with a bicycle. After some research several people really liked this tricycle (or the 26" model) but couldn't stand putting it together. My wife found a review that said Walmart put theirs together for them. I asked my local Walmart and they confirmed that they could assemble for free. All I had to do is have it sent to the store, sign for it when it arrived and ask for them to assemble it.
I looked and called around to several bicycle shops and asked them how much an adult tricycle might cost and the cheapest I heard was $600, and the guy even said it was huge and barely worth the money. This tricycle isn't cheap but after tax in my state at the time of writing this review $265 versus $600 is well worth it, especially if (like in my case) your Walmart can assemble it for you.
My wife and I have been out riding several times and the more she rides the more she loves this tricycle. She gets plenty of compliments while riding from how nice the trike looks. I would easily recommend this tricycle to anyone with balance issues.
For me the tricycle is a bit big and slow, but I knew this going in and the trike is for my wife. I cant say enough how much my wife enjoys cruising in this tricycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great Tricycle!

06/20/2013
By ,
Burlington NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new trike. I am a middle age, plus size women with back problems from an injury. I wanted a way to exercise that would not put so much strain on my back. My trike is the perfect answer. I don't have to worry about balancing it and it rides so smooth. I am already up to riding over 1 1/2 miles per day in less than 3 weeks. My 2 small dogs are learning to ride in the basket with me and love it as well. Don't hesitate to purchase this bike if you are looking for an alternative to a regular bike. My husband is always waiting to ride as soon as I finish every night. My back doesn't hurt from riding on my trike.
I had my bike shipped using the Site to Store option. My local Walmart put my trike together for me at no charge.
My only regret is not purchasing my trike sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

I'm crushed that this is unrideable and useless

10/29/2013
By ,
OKC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I desperately needed this tricycle to work for me. The way the seat is set up it is too far forward and the handlebars hit my knees when I try to turn. (I know you have to slow way down to turn a trike.) Changing seats didn't help--it's where the seat must be located that is the problem. My husband and neighbor proposed making a homemade seat and doing all kinds of welding to add appropriate braces and such so the seat could be mounted further back. Well, why buy a brand new thing for almost $300 and then have to drastically alter it to get it to work properly. I'm only 5'0", he's 5'11", and this problem affected both of us when we tried to use this tricycle. I'm so depressed. I needed the exercise and independence I hoped I'd be able to get. Why didn't any of the other reviews point this out? I'll be returning it. I can't walk let alone run, and have no access to water exercise most of the year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Easy to ride

04/09/2014
By ,
San Benito, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put together the trike and it is easy to ride. There is only one problem, there is a noise coming form the back controlling wheel. Can't figure out what is causing the problem because all we had to do was put the wheel on the axel and tighten the nut.
Friends have tried riding it and they also like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Just What I NEEDED!

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being an adult and not knowing how to ride a bicycle is a little discouraging especially when your little ones can ride one. This did not stop me from purchasing this and I have NO regrets! I used to have to power walk while my boys rode their bikes, and now I can ride right along their sides. I've had this for a week now and I LOVE IT! It is smooth, easy to ride and I love the basket. The boys and I ride to the bike and play baseballs and it is nice to be able to put these in the back seat. It is very convenient and I would definitely recommend to any adult who is wanting to ride along their little ones if a bicycle is not in the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Bought for 14 yr old special needs granddaughter

11/05/2013
By ,
Las Cruces NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was worried that this might be to hard to peddle in a single speed and I thought that the three speed option was too much for her to deal with. Our neighborhood has some slight hills and the bike is geared so that she has no trouble going up or down. The two hand brakes are easy for her to understand and ergonomically easy to use even for small hands. The only problems I have are that the rear wheels are not as true as they should be. And there are no markings on the main frame to assure that the rear frame is properly aligned. So you're left with your own measuring ideas to see if you have the rear frame assembly square to the main frame. For those less mechanically inclined I would recommend having the store do the assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/14/2013
Sorry. Hit wrong button. I found this review helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

expectations not met!

04/06/2014
By ,
L V, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the look and had one week of fun riding this trike around my neighborhood. Now it makes horrible sounds especially when I turn corners. Not sure what is wrong with it, but taking it somewhere to get worked on is a real pain, it will have to be taken apart to put in my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Perfect bike for older persons.

04/07/2014
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age appropriate. That's the major for the purchase, and for exercise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Perfect for what I needed.

10/30/2013
By ,
Clio, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased to use on northern Michigan trails instead of a mountain bike. Test run was very successful except for loose sand which would be a challenge for anything muscle powered. I haven't ridden a bike in many years and after several miles on dirt, no sore muscles. I may investigate a smaller sprocket at the pedals for my purposes as I will never need to ride on hard payment.
The box was broken open when I picked up the trike but all the parts were still in the box just like the Walmart employee said. A couple wheels were slightly warped, not enought to be a problem, but I expected perfection from Schwinn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Love My Tricycle

03/21/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered it online and had no problems. When I received my email that it was ready to pick up my husband went to Walmart to see if they could put it together for me. Since I ordered I had my name on the order form so I had to go back with him to ok that he could pick it up after it was put together.
I love it and I have lights for the front and back for safety. Thank you Walmart for making my life so much better because I now ride my bike 3 times a day (when is isn't raining) and my neighbors love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

great bike

12/14/2013
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the bike. I'm 69 an it is easy to ride an I do not worry about tipping over on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Great Bike

11/13/2012
By ,
Los Alamitos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 57 year old, 200lb lady that had fallen off my two wheel bike, therefore I was afraid to ride one again. My neighbor bought a three-wheeler and I decided to try one for myself. We ordered it site-to-store and requested it be assembled which they did for free. It was $80 cheaper than the same bike my neighbor purchased at a bicycle store. I love it! I feel so good to get some exercise and have fun at the same time. Plus it is a good looking bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+198points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle

Tons of fun!

04/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son has ridden his new bike almost non-stop since he got it! The quality seems to be good and he loves the stability of having three wheels. The large basket is a huge plus too!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 24" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle
04/05/2013
By ,
Dexter, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this adult tricycle for my needs. I tie my dogs to the basket and off we go. At 60 yrs old it is nice to not worry as much about tipping over on a two wheeler after hitting a stone or pothole. I would suggest that if you have a lot of hills you would need at least a three speed to help with the inclines. This bike is much better on flat streets. Don't forget to buy a helmet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next