Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ION ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

ION ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

The ION Tailgater Compact Bluetooth Speaker System is a portable sound system that includes speakers, amplifier, audio inputs and wireless Bluetooth technology in one durable cabinet that has handles for easy transport. This ION Tailgater Speaker System comes with wireless technology so that kids can keep their iPad, iPhone or other Bluetooth-enabled device right by their side as they blast their music over the powerful speaker. If they'd rather listen to their favorite radio station or to the big game, just dial it in on the built-in AM/FM radio. This speaker system for iPad has a built-in battery with a charge indicator, and will provide up to 12 hours of cordless sound. Use the included power cord and rock out as long as they want. The enhanced bass output on the ION Tailgater Compact Bluetooth Speaker System creates full, rich sound that's perfect for a party, tailgating or any other place they want to crank up music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%18 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Best bang for the buck and I did LOTS of research.

01/05/2014
By ,
DC metro area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With all the variable types of bluetooth speakers out I wanted something my 8 year old could use with the tablet to sing Karaoke with which it does very well. I was originally going to buy a Karaoke only device and was closing in on $250 for one that wasn't a total piece and I didn't want to HAVE to use the TV for the karaoke display. PLus after looking into the available songs and ease of downloading and buying I found that the Android based phones/tablets you have MULTIPLE FREE APP options and can even get new music not just older songs. Using Youtube so far is the easiest. Just search for the song you want with lyrics or karaoke. Super Easy. Now the other GREAT selling points are the cordless (built in battery) is great for me. I used to wear a set of bluetooth headphones so I could stream Pandora while working in the garage. Now I use this speaker which is plenty loud and move it around no wires. Has a built in AM/FM radio which has a digital tuner and works very well too. IF and I mean if I had to say anything bad is it is a little bigger then other similiar ones but is solid and nothing feels like it'll break easy. You'll appreciate the size when you hear the sound quality. Anyone who knows speakers knows small speakers in a small housing don't make good sound generally. I plan on using it camping, the beach, all kinds of activities. Well worth the $129 I think I paid for it. Don't let the fact that it doesn't say Sony, Samsung, or Beats scare you. Another tidbit just to show how much I really like it I have never submitted a review before. I read tons and use them for most my purchases but this one actually got me to do a review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Very happy with purchase....

03/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the ION tailgater with bluetooth after reading many positive reviews online......I have had it for 2 weeks now, and used a total of 40+ hours, and I must say I REALLY like it. I have been building a shed on a remote river property I recently purchased, and have had it playing for over 8 hours at a time. When I turned it off for the day, it still showed full charge. It has good sound, is plenty loud (even outdoors I haven't needed or wanted to turn it higher than about 3/4 max volume thus far#, and my son loves to play with the included microphone. I was impressed that it also comes with an audio-in cord in case you are using a device that doesn't have bluetooth, and it has a usb plug to recharge your phone/mp3 player while you are using it. It seems to get decent radio reception (not what I bought it for) with the attached antennae fully extended. Don't get me wrong, it doesn't have head-splitting bass and it can't be heard from miles away, but for all the features of this unit, I am VERY pleased for the price. My family will def have a lot of fun with it at the lake this summer and while hanging out at the river!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

A very helpful product

02/25/2014
By ,
Grayson, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Good Product

02/15/2013
By ,
Montebello, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product comes in handy. its portable, no need for power outlet, has battery life of 12-15 hrs. everything about this product is good but my only complaint is the bass. It for sure needs waaaayyyy more bass. its loud and clear but bass is weak which is why i gave it a 3 star. too much $$ for this product, price should range from $70-$90. I have had the Logitec subwoofer that was stronger and that was for a pc.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology
05/28/2013
By ,
Lagrange Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system really surprised me.... great for use by the pool! Everybody always has their own tunes on their phones, so this makes it perfect with the bluetooth! very clear sound and gets louder than needed! over all! glad i made this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Great speaker system for the money.

01/02/2013
By ,
Pineville, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ION Speaker System fits my needs almost perfectly...would have liked to have remote control for at least the volume. Still, the Tailgater with Bluetooth is a bargain and now I don't have to build an "ice chest" sound system to take camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Great product!

02/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it! Great sound quality and doesn't take up much space!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Great, Inexpensive audio player

01/19/2014
By ,
Baltimore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used my Ion Tailgater to teach a CPR class. The microphone was loud and clear and I was able to play music easily and clearly from my iPhone via Bluetooth. I highly recommend the product! WalMart's price was the best I found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Everything I expected...

11/08/2013
By ,
Nashville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my speaker in 2 days. The description of the product was right on. Overall very pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Great Product!

01/13/2014
By ,
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a Christmas gift for my mom and she loved it! She was very impressed with the sound quality and surprised by how easy it was to dock her iPod or iPhone to the device. She also loved that it was easy to travel with from Zumba party to Zumba party.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Item advertised is not what store has

08/21/2013
By ,
Clemson, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
READ THIS BEFORE YOU PURCHASE. Very disappointed. Walmart needs to change their online advertising of this product. The online product description is: "ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology". I picked up the item yesterday, and it is actually the "ION Tailgater Compact Speaker System for iPod". NO BLUETOOTH OR WIRELESS TECHNOLOGY ... with no price discount for lesser product that is advertised online. Will keep this, reluctantly, since I will not be able to order the bluetooth model and have it in time for the event I need it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newburgh, NY
interesting
Posted 08/21/2013
Maybe they put an ad for the wrong item just brought this item last Friday and it worked great with my IPAD. It was very easy to connect and I had no issues.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Excelent for music, good for karaoke.

09/04/2013
By ,
Wenatchee Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this item for my boys living room and it's excellent with bluetooth devices, clear sound, super powerfull speaker and clear sound with any kind of music, this little speaker its easy to carry, the only one thing what I'm not really happy with this, is the microphone volume because we love to sings and this item on music heards more than microphone, so! but still good. I really recommended this for music on parties, picnics anywhere with out cables, and also for karaoke but for me I think needs a little bit more of power and clear sound in microphone only.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Love it!!

08/21/2013
By ,
Newburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not really familiar with ION products but I wanted a portable speaker for a party at my back yard. I didn't want to spend from 200 - 500 on speakers for my ipad. I was ready to return the product if it didn't sound great but to my surprise I was pleasantly happy with the product and people at my party kept asking me where did I get it that the sound was great and at that it wasn't all the way loud. It is very easy to connect to a wireless device. Now for the microphone I didn't use it but when I test it the sound wasn't so loud but I don't care for that feature that's not why I bought it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker

12/29/2013
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my son for his birthday - he asked for it - and he's already taken it all over the place with him. Next it will be going back to college with him. Very portable and has great sound. And, it couldn't have been easier to get. Ordered it from Walmart online and picked it up instore 2 hours later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

ROCK ON

12/29/2013
By ,
Apopka, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This made an excellent Christmas gift for my son who works in construction, when he used it everyone at the site wanted to know where he got it as they all wanted one. Has a great sound and the battery lasts 50 hours. Would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Very Nice.

12/25/2013
By ,
Clifton Park NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas Gift for my husband and he loved it. A very nice sound for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

I returned this it was not what I wanted

12/23/2013
By ,
bethpage, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wrong item
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Great speaker

11/25/2013
By ,
Winter Springs, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First saw this speaker at a football tailgating party. Sounded great so I purchased for a party at my home. Really amazed at the sound and the volume. I use it with my iPhone and iPad. Definitely recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Really comes in hand when music needed for a party

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It comes in handy for any parties
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ION Tailgater Bluetooth Compact Speaker System with Wireless Technology

Defective unit

08/18/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this to replace an old boombox style mp3 player. The tailgater has better sound then i expected, plenty loud and good rich, quality. Unfortunately the unit would not work without being plugged in. Possibly a bad battery.
Returned the unit, and i "might" try again, but would hate to go through the hassle af an online return if the next one is also funky. Ion is an iffy brand, but this product is great (so long as its working).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next