Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Pioneer Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

The Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod provides 400W of clear audio reproduction and state-of-the-art technology. It's the perfect entry-level receiver to let you experience Pioneer's heritage of quality sound reproduction and innovative technology in your home system. The Pioneer receiver seamlessly brings your iTunes music library where you want it: your living room. Plus the front panel USB port is ready for the newest sources for music: smartphones, tablets, most Android devices and thumb drives, and has been upgraded to handle CD quality, uncompressed 48KHz/16-bit MP3, WMA and AAC files. The VSX-522-K supports the latest high-definition audio formats like Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio to give your Blu-ray Disc soundtracks unsurpassed audio quality. Pioneer also includes all Dolby and DTS surround formats best suited for the wide variety of available entertainment sources, including the newest Dolby Pro Logic IIz height channel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation78%14 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Entry Level Receiver

05/24/2013
By ,
Nashua NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to power a set of outdoor speakers. After looking around and reading the reviews it seemed like a good deal, even though I was originally looking for just a stereo receiver.
I have a higher end Pioneer for my TV room, so I was familiar with the setup which definitely helps. It did throw me for a couple of loops though. For example, you must use component or RCA video to the TV to get the onscreen menu to work. Don't immediately connect DVI out to the TV and wonder why it's blank (as I did for 20 minutes). Take the time and load the CD onto your PC to work through the setup instructions. 20 minutes up front will save you lots of frustration later. Even though I had done it before (a year or so ago), there were lots of differences in this model.
I was never able to get the optical connection to work with my Apple TV box, but the box worked fine through a DVI connection.
Sound/Power is fine for the money and I'm able to power a pair of TIC outdoor GS3's without any problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Check Compatibility with your devices

10/28/2013
By ,
Seattle, Wa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Discovered the hard way that this model is not compatible with the ROKU 2 XS. I could get video but no audio through the AMP only through Pass Through and then it would only come through the TV speakers so whats the point. Read a bunch of tech blogs and discovered I am not the only one to figure this out. I played with this thing for a day to try and get it to work but I ended up taking it back and got a comparable Sony model for about $30 more. Went through the same set up procedure on the Sony and all is well now. I know its weird that a receiver would have a compatibility issue with a device, but I guess as devices get more sophisticated that possibility will become more pronounced. I also had to update the driver on my home theater PC Sound card to get it to work with the Pioneer unit but by then I was already decided to return it since it would not play nice with all my devices. My Chromecast worked with it flawlessly so it wasn't a total bust I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Not designed for a casual stereo set-up

08/14/2013
By ,
El Dorado, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found that to get balanced sound especially in the low bass region, you must plan on using a subwoofer. It would not provide any usable bass frequencies to the front (left/right) stereo full range speakers no matter what settings that were input during the set-up for the receiver. I also found the FM radio tuner to be weak compared to other FM radio receivers in my home. I believe that if the main purpose is to use as a home theater A/V receiver, then it would be a good choice using the full 5.1 speaker system! But I do not believe it will provide a satisfying full range sound without a subwoofer as part of the system set-up. Because I had planned to use it as a stereo for music, and did not plan to add a subwoofer, I returned the receiver. I did find the USB port very satisfying, and the remote control of the connected iPod worked great! I was just disappointed in the lack of bass without a subwoofer connected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Great buy for the price

07/02/2014
By ,
Palm City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pioneer makes a quality product.
This receiver is perfect for a family room setup as it has lots of HDMI inputs, and the power
to handle large or small speakers.
For the price you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Do not buy

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had to replace this unit once 60 days after I purchased it and it just quit working yesterday. It will not power up...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Great price, great quality

05/29/2013
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great receiver for a great price. The sound quality and channel separation is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

The Pioneer A/V Receiver is Awesome!

09/16/2013
By ,
Reading PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This receiver like I said is awesome, the first thing you need to do is put the CD into your computer, I printed my book out, which is best. I did find that I could not use my other speakers, even though they were from a prior 1000 watt system, they weren't the right Ohms, so I purchased an entire speaker system with sub woofer, and for better sound buy professional speaker wire, as for the amount of speaker wire needed depends on how your setting up your speakers, for my set up I had to buy 150 ft for the size of the room the system is in. For anyone out there that is hard of hearing, you can program the speakers for the voices, and with the speakers I purchased I was even able to have voice sounds come out the rear speakers as well, with the bass controls on the sub woofer is awesome in itself, then add the bass this Receiver offers and you'll have mega thundering bass, you'll feel it through the floors, and everything is crystal clear. just make sure you don't buy a cheap speaker system. Using this Receiver with an HDMI T.V. is the best, you can do so much with this Receiver it's unreal and I love it, and I won't be returning it.
If you can afford to buy separate components then this is a must have, you'll hear things in any movies that you have watched before in a whole new concept you'll hear things you didn't even know was in the movies before, I even play my Mp 3 music through this unit, it does everything I need it to do, and if you play Star War movies you'll feel the fighters ships are in the room.
You don't need to have the system loud to hear everything.
The unit is a bit tricky to set up make sure you read the book carefully, and if you find you cannot do it yourself get help from a friend or even call Pioneer and they will help you out, just go slowly in hooking your system up read, read, read the book on the CD. and have high end cables, to get the most from the system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Excellent product

07/02/2013
By ,
Oldmar, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations....Set up was a little challenging, but I'm an old analog guy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

purty guud

05/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i dont like complicated things. this isn't. works good, easy to set up, make sure you know what cable you need afore hand. got no issues with it other than i dont know what half the buttons do but thats what my kids are for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod
06/28/2013
By ,
Prescott
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well, good sound but instructions were not the best.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Pioneer VSX-522-K

11/05/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the receiver and think the quality is very good, I would have liked a switched outlet on the back though, I think the unit has excellent features and it powers the surround speakers with ease, it has plenty of inputs and outputs, the best feature is the HDMI in and out jacks, it produces very clear and crisp digital sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod
07/12/2013
By ,
Lake charles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound is wonderful and price is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

good sounding system

01/02/2014
By ,
Granbury, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up with the included microphone
plenty of power
great looks
brings HD audio tracks on Blu-rays to life
on screen display (for set up only)...must use the composite (RCA) Monitor video out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Great buy

08/24/2013
By ,
Pomona, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up & great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

took a while to figure out.

08/19/2013
By ,
Durango, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You need the manual to set up this product and the only manual is on the included CD or off the web and you have to print it out and study it before you can properly set up this unit with your TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod

Great base for home entertainment

07/23/2013
By ,
Commerce CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy incredible sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod
08/28/2013
By ,
Montgomery TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned this item unopened .... changed mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver for iPhone/iPod
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5