Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Greenworks Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Greenworks Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Dont make your yard work a challenge. With the Greenworks 10-Amp Split-Boom Trimmer, yard work can be easy and effortless. This Greenworks Electric Trimmer is attachment capable and features a dual-cutting line, protective line safety shield, bump-line feed, and adjustable balance handle. It also features a safety switch operation to keep you from any harm. Its durable construction is made of a plastic housing and features a handle with an aluminum body. The handle has a comfortable grip for complete control. The 18 inch cutting path enhances performance and gets your jobs done quickly. This trimmer is great for trimming weeds, grass or other plants in your yard. The Greenworks Electric String Trimmer comes with a four year warranty. Some assembly is required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Reasonably powerful for an electric.

07/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer works well for a plug in electric. Not as convenient as a cordless, but a third the price.
Not as high maintenance as a gas model.
I didn't mind dragging the cord around. I dragged about fifty feet of 12 gauge and 14 gauge cord around and it didn't have a problem.
The cutting head, however was a big problem. It didn't bump feed as it was supposed to. The first time I used it, the cord broke off, as is normal, but when I bumped it, nothing happened. I tried to take it apart to find out what the problem was. I could open it at first. So, I read the fine manual, and found that the head on mine is not what the manual described. I finally googled it, found a manual for the head itself and saw that it has a secret chinese puzzle squeeze release. I have to open it up and unwind string every time it needs it, just like we did in the last century! When I find one, I'll get a better head that actually works.
Other than that, it works well. I waded through some knee high grass over the septic tank. It cut slower than a gas one would, but did the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Looking for the perfect replacement

04/08/2013
By ,
The Colony, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Several years ago I bought a small inexpensive weed eater that was perfect. For what I paid, I got more than my monies worth over 7 years. This weed eater is the 3rd replacement since the original stopped working 3 years ago and it still isn't what I'm looking for. I tried a Black and Decker auto line feed and wanted to run over it with my car because the auto feed never worked. This model is supposed to be a bump feed so I expected better results. Not only is keeping the line fed a problem, the shaft where the weed eater attaches to the power source never stays tight. No amount of twisting and tightening will keep it in place. So as you work the weed eater starts to change position relative to the handle and power source. It's a waste of time and money, it's going back. The only positive thing I can say about this model is it is powerful enough for my lawn but I have a small lawn and I'm not cutting through any tall or thick brush.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

A good trimmer, but it depends on your preferences

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had string trimmers since they were invented, and have had a few electrics and one gas. This is a corded electric model. My preference since every rechargeable tool I have owned always ended up to be a problem. Be prepared that this is a heavy duty implement and its weight is considerably more than the usual electrics, but it has power to spare, so much so that you need to be careful around tree and shrub trunks. The motor is located behind you for balance like a gas powered model. The motor has some torque that you can feel. The lines (2) are larger diameter so it really cuts well. The line feed system is the type that you have to tap (bang) on the ground which is a type that I have found to be most reliable compared to the "automatic" which tend to actually turn out to be "manual" in real use. I loaded some line into after a couple of uses and although a two reel type, it had a feature that held the lines secure as you reinstalled instead of that annoying tendency to unwind as you try to stick the spool back in other brands. So, the pluses are it is solid and heavy duty, but as such it is also heavy in weight. It cuts better than most electrics you can buy at twice the price. The only negative I have found is that the switch is two stage. There is a trigger on top of the handle and on the underside and you must depress both. I put a piece of tape on the top trigger to hold it down, otherwise my hand became very fatigued trying to hold both just right to keep it turned on. Be sure to hold it over your head in the yard and make Neanderthal grunts at your neighbors so they will be appropriately envious.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

very powerful but hard to hold very long

06/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super cutting strength, but non ergonomic handle made my wrist/hand hurt incredibly. I had to return it- but loved it's ease of use, and tremendous torque!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Excellent Electric Trimmer

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having used electric string trimmers for over 15 years, this is the one I have been looking for. The power and balance holding the machine are what I have always thought they should be. For tough Florida grass, this machine works very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Review of Greenworks Trimmer

05/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it much since the replacement line reels are difficult to find. Only found one place on line, ordered reels in April and are still waiting for them. Hopefully this is not one of the models that will be discontinued and the replacement unavailable. One would think that the seller of the item (Walmart) would carry the additional items but they don't
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Greenworks Sting trimmer

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sturdy, powerful tool. Handbook needs better illustrations to guide the novice through threading and loading string onto spool. And the routing of power cable through the anchor points could use some guidance, its not intuitive. For the money, it rips through stubborn stuff cheaply.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Greenworks 10amp Trimmer

05/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poor cutting and trimming process. String feed constantly jams.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Worth the money

05/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all, I think it is worth the money.
Likes: The 10 amp motor is ever bit as strong as a gas trimmer , in my opinion. Also like the long Pro style shaft. I'm tall and that helps my back.
Dislikes: The hand grip and trigger should be at a more ergonomicly comfortable angle. A pistle grip style would be great. Your wrist gets tired having to be bent forward like holding a sword pointing straight out. Also, the string feed system is typical and sucks. No falt of GreenWorx. Within the first 10min. of use the string broke off too short and the end pulled back into the coil housing. Do your self a favor and as soon as you get your GreenWorx trimmer, remove the string line coil mechanism and replace it with a trimmer blade type. The GreenWorx will work great for hours (as long as your Wrist holds up).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Great trimmer for those who can handle the weight.

04/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer was just what I was looking for. The 10 amp makes for a very powerful trimmer. This also makes it much more heavy than a 4 or 5 amp trimmer. This is great for me but others might like a smaller lighter trimmer. The only drawback is the time wasted with the bump feed system used in most powerful trimmers. Sometimes I seem to spend more time on clearing the spool than trimming. This drawback was present in my last gas trimmers.
I purchased the trimmer on-line with free shipping to my local Walmart. I was very pleased with this option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Greenworks 10 amp string trimmer works great

08/17/2014
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Greenworks grass trimmer did an excellent job of clearing out an over grown garden plot. I had no problems with the trimmer and I've used for 2 days already catching up with this years growth. I also received this trimmer 3 days earlier than expected using site to store delivery. I'm a very satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Powerful

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only used once but it's more powerful and easier to handle than my troybilt gas trimmer. I look forward to it being more dependable as well. It is well worth the bother of using an electric cord.
Very high reviews on Consumer Reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

This thing is a powerhouse

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to replace a Black and Decker that while not too old burnt up after 1.5 hours of continual use. The motor on the B&D is down on the trimmer head, like most electric string trimmers. This made it unbalanced and also led to the cooling passages getting filled with weeds and dust. Bad design IMO. Also the shaft was too short, I'm tall and had to hunch over to use it.
This Greenworks tears. it. up. It feels twice as powerful. I'm using it to clear a variety of overgrown weeds on a half acre property and I can get twice as much done in half the time, no joke. It's built solid, has a long enough shaft to actually reach the ground and the motor is so torquey it just tears through everything without bogging down like a gas trimmer might. I also don't have to worry about maintenance, just plug it in and go. It's pretty light, for being so powerful the motor isn't bulky. The motor is at the right end so it won't get clogged up with weeds and dust again.
It isn't perfect. The handle feels a little weak and uses a plastic nut to tighten, I imagine I'll have to replace this nut at some point. It may be my 4 foot weeds but it may be because of the design of the shield, the head will get wrapped up with weeds fairly often and I have to pull them off. The trigger mechanism isn't a positive action like I would hope, I'm a little nervous about this wearing out quickly.
I would certainly buy it again though. It does it's job very well and so far my quality concerns haven't led to real issues in several hours and a couple spools of use. I wanted the biggest, baddest plug in electric string trimmer I could find and I think this is it. The fact that it was barely more than most of the other options and cheaper than any decent gas trimmer makes using it that much more satisfying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Mo' power!

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer rips!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Will never go gas again...

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, amazing. I can't believe how much power this trimmer packs. Having to use the 12 gauge extention cord makes it A bit heavy, but is totally worth it. Assembly was easy, after that it's just 'plug and play'. Note: For those of you that have trouble with the whole 'tap and feed' line mechanism, I recommend purchasing a Grass Gator 8010 four string cutting head for it. It's easy to attach to the trimmer and makes loading the line so much simpler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

A little heavy. String release difficult

05/08/2014
By ,
mt airy, md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very powerful. Like a gas trimmer. It is a bit heavy. I've only used it once, but I found the string release did not work very smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Greenworks 10-Amp Electric Split-Boom String Trimmer

Had been opened prior to my purchase

04/03/2013
By ,
DFW
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was missing the screw that goes to the handle to keep it tight. Also, what about selling the rest of the attacvhments?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.